We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small pool best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otium Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Otium Hotel Golden
Ranked #138 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“small pool best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

On arriving at hotel man took bag to room then when tryed to give tip wasnt sure about money so offered 10egyption bad idea then offered 20 ended up giving 30 later found out this was two much . cleaner best even after been ill . pool man great and clean towels every day .beer poor especially the cococola cups it came in and mostly frooth .why cant they get plastic glassesss. entertalnment would have been good if we could speak italyion . all got egyption tummy .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_neaves10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    149
    71
    39
    32
See reviews for
74
158
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had a brilliant holiday at the shores golden hotel. Hotel was very clean, good value for money and friendly staff. Weather was very very hot but air conditioning was great in room so was able to cool down after walking back from the beach. Food was good although it did become repetitive towards the end of the holiday although it is cheap to eat out of the complex. The sea was amazing lots of beautiful fish although the beach itself wasn't the best i've been to in terms of the sand and fact its on a cliff although was very clean.

Namma bay and Fantasia were good for nights out although the hassle become quite annoying however from what I understand its like that everywhere in Egypt. Hotel entertainment wasn't well suited to English and Italians were very loud although we did enjoy the fire and belly dancer show.

Would definately recommend the quad biking trip it was amazing to go out into the desert and stop off in a bedouin tent where I got the chance to ride on a camel without being ripped off. Overal we had a fabulous holiday and would definately return to egypt!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseC2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

When we arrived at the hotel and my partner was signing for the room, a member of staff came and offered to carry both our suitcases up the stairs for us which wouldve been a great help but we refused simply because when we were gettin on the coach from the airport n another guy had put the cases in, he hassled my partner for money which he was not owed. We later come to realise that in the hotel, it is different to the shops and everywhere else outside, in the hotel they like to help you but not too much, they're not in your face like at the shops, and they will do it all for free. With all-inclusive, it is true that the only drinks included are fizzy pop, water which tends to be warm but cant be helped with the climate, some juices, beer and wine. Also, it is wise to take into consideration their religion. I made the mistake of walking thru the reception in just my bikini with a towell wrapped around my waist, where I come from this is perfectly acceptable, but as I did so, it was then I noticed the small notice on the door saying it is not permitted to walk through reception bare-chested or bare-footed. Room is cleaned everyday. The mini fridge in the room was really handy as we kept out big bottles of water there. Dont get too carried away with the 'all you can eat', we got a little ill eating too much lol, so hard to resist all the nice varieties of bread and delicious deserts, num num num. The waiters are really lovely, we gave one a tip and had a photo with him as he was our main one all week.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wums25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here in the last week of September with my fiance. We'd only booked a fortnight previously, and all we were looking for was a week away, somewhere hot and somewhere we hadn't been to be before. Arrived late on Saturday evening; check in was very smooth and we were given welcome drinks which were much appreciated before we were shown to our room. We had room 408; it was absolutely fine although it was two single beds which couldn't actually be rearranged without difficulty. Nevertheless the room was a good size as was the en suite which came with complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer (word of warning gets very hot to touch after a while so go for the au naturel look unless you fancy burning your hands on a regular basis!). Housekeeping came every day and kept everything spick and span. We had a balcony which did look at on to the main road so we just used it as a drying area for wet swimwear etc. The room has got a TV with limited English channels, plus a fridge which they can stock for extra, or do what we did walk 2 minutes up the road and stock it up yourself!

No need to bring towels with you; you are provided with towels for around the pools, or use on the beach (it is not directly accessed from the hotel and it is a reef beach), plus the ones provided in your room. All inclusive - yes it is but there are exceptions. Branded alcohol plus bottles and cans you will have to pay extra for but there is free flowing dispensers of bottled water, and soft drinks. Cocktails aren't all inclusive either. Food was better than I expected although there were signs of repetition and it can get very busy - note the hotel is popular with europeans who don't understand queuing!! Recommend trying the dine around program which gives you the opportunity to eat in the not all inclusive on site restaurant, or at one of the other restaurants in its 2 sister hotels. We went to The Mermaid at Shores Amphora and really enjoyed ourselves. We didn't pay anything for the meal, but paid around LE140 for a bottle of wine, and water plus taxes.

The only downside to this hotel is the entertainment program; Italians equate to about 75% of the hotel population so the first language is Italian for the entertainment which can be a problem although it does give you great opportunities to go out and visit the local attractions, like the Old Market, Neama Bay or El Mercado.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hotel - formerly an Italian 18-30 hotel so lots of young Italian holidaymakers on organised trips. Large pool but blighted by dance music played at high volume. Better second pool which was smaller but quieter. Music finished at 12 each night. All inclusive - food excellent but numerous rules over drinks and all spirits tasted the same spoilt this. Advertised as near a beach - not really true. Its near a cliff which you can use to dive off a platform so unsuitable for those with young children. All entertainment in Italian but easy to follow. Would recommend to young people due to music situation. Staff good but had little English. Sister hotel across the road named Shores Amphoras supposed to be better for English speakers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inca06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

After much debating about where to go in Sharm found a deal through Thomas Cook at around £150 less than everyone else. The Hotel is very clean and excellent pools. The larger one being the more trendy one and the relax pool by the restaurant for us grown ups!! It is all inclusive as long as you know what you are doing. The local drinks and spirits you get by the larger pool and soft drinks, tea/coffee by the relax pool. You get the 3 mealtimes - breakfast/lunch/dinner and can have local drinks with lunch and evening meal. There is a snack back by the relax pool and I believe something by the larger pool in the day but never ventured over there. In the brochure you can also get something from the beach at the sister hotel but far too hot to go down there to find out. The food is plentiful and you will find something to suit all, a lot of people said the food was poor quality but you have to remember if from the UK we cook and eat differently, you are in another country which is worlds apart from the UK, so go with the flow. All the water, soft drinks. ice are all from bottle sources so I had no problem with any of the drinks, the salad and veg are sterilised and cleaned with food disinfectant (whatever that is) but you cannot taste anything from this cleansing process and again was fine. I stayed in room 248 (apologies recently submitted as 428) which overlooked the larger trendy pool, great views and lovely gardens, although a little noisy start earlyish about 10am and goes through til the late hours. So if you want to sit and relax on your balcony or sleep through the day not the best one to be in but then again if you are going to stay in your room all day what is the point of going on holiday!!! people made a point of mainly catered for the Italians and yes the trendy 18-30 area probably was but I had no problem, if you go abroad why do you want to feel like you are in the UK with British people round you?? you would feel like being at home. I did not find them rude or loud, there were also a few Germans, Russians and other European people dotted about but no-one was rude or pushy at meal times. The staff could not do more but their English was a little difficult but we got there in the end. Housekeeping on call 24 hours and at your door within minutes. Rooms cleaned and washed down each day and little statues made on beds of animals/flowers etc. Naama Bay on the other hand was a let down, the main street is fine but veering off to the road where you catch a taxi was like Blackpool illuminations with fairy lights and noise and loud music. You get the hassle of shopkeepers but then you always will in Egypt and other places like, they do not mean any harm it's just their way so be firm smile and move on. As most people went to the Camel Bar on the main strip where you had a few floors to go on we opted for the roof top bar everytime, great place to people watch. The sea is crystal clear and you do not have to like snorkelling to watch the fish in the water, you can paddle or sit on the jetty and see them easily. Overall a great relaxing place to be for adults, not sure if it is for small children as nothing much for them to do , they would not be able to go into the sea as sharp coral everywhere and you need some kind of footwear to paddle and in heat 40 degrees above very hot for them. There was only one small child at our hotel and she was very good but for family fun maybe chose somewhere else. I would go back any time just to relax and sunbathe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope1harleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

My Girlfriend and I have just returned from Shores Golden and we had a brilliant time. The two pool areas are fantastic and as has been said already, offer a relaxing pool and a pool with music being played. Activities take place in the larger pool on and off lead by the Italian Animation Team but there is no mider to take part so it is easy to do your own thing, also the pool is more than big enough so that there is always plenty of room in the pool regardless of what acitivity might be going on. The little jacuzzi areas dotted around the large pool are lovely.

It is mainly Italians with some Brits and a selection of other nationalitles and we found them all perfectly fine.

The staff throughout are great and a small tip at the start to the waiter ensured we had a table waiting with drinks when we arrived for most meals and drinks were brough to us regularly through the meal.

The Shisha in the Bedouin tent is something fun and worth trying (we are both non smokers yet really enjoyed it). One of the highlights though is being able to walk down the road to the Shores Aloha and use their beach and jetty. The snorkelling is amazing, you can sit on the jetty and watch many of the fish if you don't fancy the snorkelling. Snorkelling gear is available on the beach for a reasonable price. The AI drinks and bar snacks are included too.

The food is reasonably varied if slightly orientated to the none Brit guest but there was always something nice and the pasta bar and huge babrecue style outdoor grill were great.

People have mentioned the Italian entertainment, whilst it is mainly Italian they throw bits of English in and we found the entertainment quite funny even thoguh we didn't understand a lot of the language.

The free bus (or cheap taxi - insist on no more than 30 Egyptian pound there or back) into Naama Bay meant we had a few good nights out, with a mix of Egyptian/Arab/Western culture, the bars, most of which had entertainment were good fun. As mentioned previsouly mentioned the Camel Bar is good as is Zaza and it is worth going to one of the Shisha bars for a bit even if you don't actually do the Shisha (they serve alcohol) as the blokes do their dances to arabic music along with costumed dancers to keep you entertained. It might be best to avoid going into the shops in Naama (we didn't go in any in Naama Bay except one) as we were warned about this as they can be very pushy, just say no and keep walking and generally it's fine. The Tavern bar is an English bar with Karaoke and this was good.

Whether you want a totally relaxing holiday or a holiday with some lively nights out I would recomend it, especially for Couples/Adults.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#87 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#99 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#91 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#101 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sharm Reef Hotel
Sharm Reef Hotel
#110 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Hotel Golden

Property: Otium Hotel Golden
Address: Om El Seid Cliff | 110 South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Shores Golden)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#117 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Otium Hotel Golden 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Otium Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Golden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Shores Golden Sharm El Sheikh
Golden Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing