We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shores Golden Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sharming Inn Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Desert View Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Falcon Hills Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Otium Hotel Amphoras(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Sharm Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Resta Club Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
149
159
73
42
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
159
73
42
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamnaama bayold marketnight showswater poloall inclusive drinksspecial thankskids clubholidayadel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This hotel almost ruined our holiday, we signed up to a second diving course so that we didn't have to spend more than 1 full day in the hotel.

Before you read the rest, we did do this on a budget and were not expecting any luxury, so not just being fussy.

The biggest issue was the room, ours was facing the main pool on the ground floor. Something stopped working everyday for the week we were there, including the toilets, lights and on many occasions, the lock on the balcony door.

Each time we had a fault we had to go to reception, who were not very friendly. About 50% of time someone turned up to fix our problems.

Also we had a problem with ants, they sprayed the room with poison most days but the ants just keep coming.

The cleaner was ok but never cleaned the shower, dirty shower curtain and hair from previous guests.

Noise is an issue, even with earplugs as you will feel the bass till about 2-3am every night from the pool. Cheesy Italian entertainment, nothing English. Italians don't have the best taste in music. (they also don't understand queuing or holding doors, but that is just a cultural difference).

All inclusive drinks are ok, just the usual. Only problem is no diet drinks so you don't want too many.

Food is average (although I did have a juicy Caterpillar in my salad), but the snacks are very poor. Do eat at the poolside restaurant (booking required) as the food is slightly better.

You can get a shuttle bus to Naama Bay but it may not bring you back. We got stranded there, and all the hotel staff said, after we managed to get a local bus then a taxi home was that, was that 'sometimes the police don't let them stop there' - would have been nice to know that before leaving.

Is in walking distance of a local shopping arcade, although most the stuff is more expensive than the uk. McDonalds is actually worth a visit though as they do a 'double big mac'. Apparently other hotel guests said they would deliver to the hotel (shows how popular the hotel food was).

If your on an Italian 18-30's then you might be ok, otherwise go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trojo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This is a late review but a review none the less.
We stayed at the hotel in October 2010, when we arrived and were shown to our room, we discovered there was no lock on the balcony doors - we were ground floor. We asked to be moved and were told we had to wait for the manager. Staff seemed to be reluctant to let us speak to the manager. We moved rooms again - ground floor - same thing - no lock. By this time we were fed up and were told the manager wasnt here until 6 - after storing our luggage in the luggage room all day (this was now our 2nd day) we returned at 6 to speak to the manager, and were brushed off by another member of staff..again. My parter then demanded to speak to the manager and raised his voice - then out pops the manager from the room behind the counter. We went inside and sat down and the manager refused to look us in the eye. We told him after 2 days of going back and forth we were angry that no one tried to help us and kept fobbing us off, then we demanded a pool side room for the inconvenience. We got it, and could then enjoy our holiday.
Food wasnt great and i was also ill from the food - some of which was undercooked. Spirits do taste like industrial paint stripper, the wine is okay, the beer isnt bad. Apart from the odd unhelpful staff member, the barman in the outside bar and one of the bell boys in particular were very friendly and very much warmed to us.
Entertainment is zero unless you are russian or italian - animation know what nationality you are depending on the colour of your all inclusive wristband. None of the animation team spoke to us until we mentioned out loud as one walked past - then strangely - they wanted to involve us.
We met one other english couple at our hotel who we often sat with by the pool. Russians and Italians dominate the hotel as the Shores group is apparently owned by an italian. We found them rude, i would often open doors for people or hold them open out of courtesty - only to be gruned at.

Barter with everything - taxis mostly, they will rip you off. I would go to Shores Amphoras and try thier fish restaurant, (we often sneaked over to Amphoras - this hotel is lovely - animation team - excellent - they love the english and quite often favoured us as we took part in the entertainment.)

We made it quite clear to the manager that we were not goin to be taken for a ride and after this - their attitude changed, he even came to see us off and shook our hands. Overall we enjoyed our stay the weather was great and there is a lot to see, afew of the staff really made our holiday - other than that i would suggest another hotel until mangement decide to wise up.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odds0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We arrived here on 22nd December for Christmas and New Year, and i have to say i had the best 10 days of my life!
The hotel was lovely, the food very tasty, (im a fussy eater) and was pleasantly surprised.
Rooms were spotless, maybe we just hit it lucky? The only downside was the mosquittos, but you have to expect this in a hot country, we sprayed our room liberally with a mosquitto repellent every night before we went out for dinner as they were very active after dusk, however it didnt stop us being bitten sitting by the pool after dinner, i needed medical treatment.....an injection, anti-histamines and ointment.!
The staff were very friendly, well mannered and helpful, a small "tip" ensured we had a table reserved every night in the restaurant from the begining of our holiday to the end.
New Years Eve was wonderful, the "hotel management" pushed the boat out, to an extent that "wine" was provided free of charge, and even the "cocktails" had alcohol in them, the Christmas Eve ones were just fruit juice, the only drawback was the "alcohol" strength in the spirits, it was very weak, my partner however enjoyed the brandy, the beer i tended to stick with, but we didnt do much drinking as we were in bed by 11 o clock to ensure we got as much sunshine and heat during the days as it was the "winter" technically, and as such the sun was set by 4.30-5 o clock, u will need a light cardigan for evenings as it did get nippy. I would definitly return to this hotel, perhaps we were 2 of the lucky ones, as a couple we met there, were not impressed with the place.
Its true to say, its full of Russians/Italians, we found them rude especially at mealtimes, they tended to push in, but once made to realise that it wasnt just them waiting for food, they tended to be more civilised about it, its also true, it is "out of the way", but we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday, Namma Bay proved to us we made the right choice plumping for a quiet hotel! And for those of you that want to go, a taxi ride from the "hotels taxi service", will ensure you get there and he will return for you if you pre-arrange a pick up time. I would return to this hotel as we found the staff very friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roisin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We visited Shores Golden in Jul/Aug 2010 and at first we were pleasantly suprised! The pool area looked nice and our room was nice and clean, but then we did arrive at night.
We dont go on holiday looking to complain so this is a very fair review. The hotel is quite out of the way, and you need to get a taxi if you want to get anywhere, if you just want a poolside holiday then thats great,but we wanted to see a few people every now and then!
The hotel is FULL of Italians and russians, and when i say full id say 98%, and the 2% us Brits, who stick together!Thankgod!!! I have nothing against other nationalities but they were rude and the entertainment was geared up for them 100% and you cant have much fun with about 6 other british people...
The food is extreamly boring, and repetitive and under cooked chicken was on the menu until complaints were made. Id say everyone got sickness and diarrhea , I got it extreamly bad on an excursion, so dont eat on the camel excursion!We had 2 excursions booked through the hotel which were with thomas cook and I got extreamly sick on the first one,and when I had to cancel the second due to my illness, I got told i could rebook it for another £60! How generous considering I got sick on their trip....
When my boyfriend told the reception staff that I was seriously sick, they laughed and said everyone gets it, which wasnt what the doctor said when he put the drip in my arm!
The drinks were GOD AWFUL and I can drink cheap alcohol but this tasted like paint stripper and thats being nice. The beer was really warm and they would pour a beer (not from the fridge) and leave the rest in the bottle on the side in 40 degrees heat until you go up next time for your 2nd delight! The only drinks available on all inclusive were fizzy drinks and we were so fed up of them in the end, we eneded up paying for tea, and also water, which I wouldnt class as all-inclusive.
The beach is a fair walk away and isnt a beach it is a man made beach on rocks which drops into extreamly deep water, very scarey.
The sprinklers were very smelly also.
The fitness centre is hilarious it looks like an outdoor kids play area from 1976, and the beauty parlour may be ok for grooming your dog, wouldnt risk it myself!
The cleaner at first seemed nice and friendly and made us some cute animals out of towels, but then we were bombarded by his begging for money, and also my boyfriends shorts!!! which he tried to take from him on our last day!! Awful!!!
The men in Sharm are absolute perverts and are discusting and letchy, no understatement. They have no respect,and are aggressive, even if you are with your partner. How many camels for your wife?!
The shops will badger you and tell you a sob story to get you in, total idiots, and really annoying.
There was a shuttle bus that ran from the hotel to the town, but you could only stay 2 hours, which wasnt really long enough so we ended up paying a fortune in taxis. And beware of taxis, because they will rip you off!!! Tip: If you havent booked transfers from the airport to the hotel, Be really careful of the taxi drivers, They will take you to a dark oart of the car park and be aggressive and rip you off. we paid 100 more than we should have.
Theres a nice chinese restaurant in the arcade in Sharm.... thats about it!!!Oh and Mc Donalds have massive burgers ( couldnt handle the food in the hotel any more!)
If you want to use a beach in sharm you have to pay also.
The hotel had one up side, our pool guy was a lovely guy and helped us out no end. Very nice guy.
All in all, I would not go back to the Golden Shores , and wouldnt reccomend it to any of my friends, or enemys! Theres loads of nice 5* hotels not far away,and although I wouldnt personally go back to Egypt, Id say go to those hotels instead.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrieandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The hotel itself is nice, the pool is lit up at night and looks amazing. The rooms are average and have all the basic facilities that you will need and the buffet restaurant seemed to cater for all tastes. BUT as for the the majority of the staff in the hotel.... they are so rude and have no basic manners. If you are an attractive female, you are in danger of having men speak about you blatantly in their native tongue and eye you up and down like you are a piece of meat.... They have no regard for the partner you are standing next to. My fella is a big fella but i had waiters walking around me and hissing in such an inappropriate manner it was awful. There is a real lack of respect for women and there are no female staff to outweigh the balance of the immaturity that the men so often show. MOSQUITOS!!! Be aware that if you normally get biten abroad, they will eat every bit of you herer. Protect yourself or cover up. I wouldn't go back personally and if you look around, there are better places to go for the same money. And yes... we both got the bad stomah that is common of travellers to Egypt!!!

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sbegum79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews