We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any school considering running a dive trip must use 321 dive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Ranked #83 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Any school considering running a dive trip must use 321 dive!”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Spent one week in Sharm at Oonas dive club with 8 6th form students. The trip was arranged by 321 dive, our tour operator. Toby Weeden at 321 dive sorted out many issues before the trip with student numbers and cancellations. Nothing was ever too much trouble, excellent service, quick responses to queries. All risks assessment for the LEA was sorted out through 321 dive. Staff, parents and students all reassured with excellent information and advice via the 321 website. Already planed a trip next year with same company and same hotel.

We were met at Oonas by our local representative, students and staff briefed on what to expect during the week. All staff at the centre from managers, instructors to waiters and bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Oonas both to school parties and regular travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_forber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    59
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
53
110
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Initilally I was happy with Oonas as a budget hotel option right on Namma bay. The rooms are basic but clean and it's a great area. At night, however, it is very difficult to sleep because there is a club right next door that plays every night till 4-6 am. When I asked the desk about when the club shuts down, they seemed oblivious that it was a problem. If you are anything but a heavy sleeper you should not stay here. Also they will rip you off if you use a credit card. They charge 3% for credit card transactions, which is fine, but then they use a horrible exchange rate which ends up being another 10% fee. I didn't know this until later because I didn't know offhand what the exact rate was- if I has known if they would end up charging an additional 13% on top of what my card charges to charge in another currency. This is a dirty tactic in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slammie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The only thing which did not work was mould in the water boiler, and it was not properly cleaned (I asked for a new one.). Probably most cleaning personell don't look in water boilers so I was not upset. Otherwise, very nice place. I had a 3x4 m big terass, and since part of it has no ceiling, you can see the stars and the incoming airplanes as you chat with your friend on you laptop, use your binos to check out the guests at the tables below, and listen to the quite wisely selected music from the restaurant. Big room, clean, and window down to the floor. The beach is a good one, you can swim along the jetty and see fish while training in the morning. Breakfast is OK but nothing special.

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChristofferR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Since 2005 we have been going to this hotel, i personally think guests forget it is there and do not realise that it isn't just a divers hotel, but the fact anyone can stay here. We always stay at the sonesta beach hotel, but every day, sometimes twice go to see our friends at the Oonas. Although we have not stayed in the rooms as yet (will be this December), i will give you some positive thoughts on the place as a whole.

The hotel is situated at the end of the promenade strip between the Sonesta Beach Hotel and the Sofitel hotel. If staying at the Oonas, you get to share the beach with sonesta beach, sonesta club and the sofitel.

The bedrooms to the Oonas are situated up some steps, the same steps to get to the roof top which shows you amazing views across Naama Bay, it is the only place that gives you the great views as well. More on that later in my review.

The bedrooms come in singles, doubles and suites with a separate lounge. They have fridges, showers etc and mostly everything you need except a hair dryer. All the rooms are sea view facing. Cannot comment on the firmness of the bed as not slept in them yet, but will write another review when i get home in December.

The Oonas is a diving hotel and is run by British people, i have seen them around. They are a very good dive school and good rates. I have known people in the past go with them.

The food is cooked in the kitchen adjacent to the dining room/bar area. It is b & b basis but you can upgrade to HB if you wish. The food is very good and the same menu is in different languages depending where you come from. The Owner now of the OOnas is called La toyah (spelling i know isn't correct sorry), he has loads of staff and our friends are Agassi that we call Mr Cairo, Mohammed (there are several Mohammed's), The guy on the roof who does the shishas does not speak much English but loves trying, his name is Sherif. There is a little shop next door, again a Mohammed's runs it with another guy, he has mostly everything you need.

The Oonas will give you towels to go to the beach, so no need to bring your own. There is big TVs in the dining/bar area to watch sport channels and the same in all bedrooms.

Upstairs on the roof top are places where you can sit and chill and see the view on little sofas, kick your shoes off and relax. There is a bar, and if you wish you can eat up there as well. In the winter they have heat lamps, and believe me you do not want to leave. We often chat at the bar and swap stories. All ages can go up there, in the summer months it is open from dawn til dusk, but in the winter from 5pm till around midnight.

Well i hope this helps you in your decision making, we are not divers as well. Look them up on the website put in Oonas diving in sharm el sheikh, it gives you the rates of everything, any questions please ask.
We look forward to seeing you all on the 29th November 2010.

Michelle & Sam xx

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derwentrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

It is easy to miss Oonas as its right at the end of the Naama Bay beach front promenade. If you are facing the sea go left until you reach the end of the promenade just before the entrance to the Sofitel hotel.
Oonas is a dive club & hotel. The restaurant & reception is on the ground floor with rooms above and a roof top terrace at the very top.
I am not a diver so cannot comment of the dive club & hotel part of Oonas, but I have eaten there many times over the years and its one of my favourite places to eat.
The food is freshly prepared and competitively priced. Staff are friendly and service is spot on. I could happily eat here every night - the green salads are lovely!
You can eat inside or outside and they often have lovely chilled music playing in the background and footage of underwater sea life showing on tv screens.
The rooftop terrace is a great place to go at sunset to watch the sun go down over Naama Bay and the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Muppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Toby, Nick and Corri sorry this has taken so long to put on here!!!!!!!

We were a small school group travelling from the Lake District only 10 in number. We arranged the whole trip through 321 Dive and everything was completed for us and any problems we had were dealt with fantastically by Toby. We will be using this company again next year.

We arrived at the airport and were met by the dive club rep who helped us all through customs and visas quickly and efficiently. Then on to the buses and whisked off to the hotel only 10mins away. At the hotel we were met by Corrie and the restaurant staff and we were given our first meal. We stayed Half Board as it suited the group. Even though it was quite late in the evening we all chose our meals and they turned up shortly after. Then our rooms were sorted out and off we went to bed.

The rooms were great. We had a couple of suites and three other rooms and they were all comfortable and clean.

The food was outstanding. We could eat a different meal every night from the half board menu and there was something to suit everyone and if someone wanted a variation then Mr Artoya (hope that’s right) would sort it out.

The diving: All of our group were here to do a course of some sort from open water to rescue diver. Again I cannot fault the staff they were fantastic and married the groups to their instructors brilliantly. Mo and Amy the students thought you two were great and you will get a special showing of your dance in an assembly very soon. Horizontal Matt. Your two thought that you were the bees knees. Johan. You had the hardest job of us two staff members but it was fantastic, we learnt so much and had so much fun. We also had a DVD made which is awaiting its premiere. Thanks to Ilaria for that. Nick and Corrie thank you for all of your help during the trip. Nothing was too much trouble.

The evenings were spent chilling out on the roof bar and having a walk along the promenade into Naama Bay about 15 mins walk.

One evening (educational bit now) was spent with a lecture from the dive staff about reef awareness and what we can do to help. This was followed by a quiz (I’m sure I should have won). I think we may have started something as most of the people in the restaurant we watching and then afterwards wanted to have a go at the quiz a well. Great presentation and really informative.

When we were due to leave our flight was delayed by 6 hours so they took us back to the hotel and gave us our rooms back even though they had been made up again. That is service for you.

I think this says it all about our trip and I would recommend it to any group. I cannot praise them enough for all the service and help we received from Oonas Dive Club and 321Dive.

WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I have stayed and dived with Oonas divecluband hotel several times and have never been let doen. The hotel is in a great spot at the end of the bay, by the beech and wi th the Naama Bay toen centre a very short walk away along the promenade. Breakfast is exactly what you want before a day of diving and the divign is excellent with great guides who help to create a family atmosphere with everyone getting together at the end of the day for "beer o'clock". If you arel ooking for a fantastic divign holiday Oonas cannot be beaten at all!! Highy recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanicIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.8 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#160 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Naama Inn
Naama Inn
#203 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#15 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh
Dessole Cataract Sharm El Sheikh
#163 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#7 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oonas Dive Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Property: Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11341, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#63 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oonas Dive Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated at the beach at the quieter end of Na'ama bay Oonas Dive Club's spacious, air-conditioned, and comfortably furnished accommodation offers a choice of suites, single and double rooms, with some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Na'ama Bay and the back drop of the Sinai Mountains. With bar and restaurant facilities on site, free wifi and only a short walk to the main centre with all its attractions, Oonas is an ideal hotel for those seeking personal service and a relaxed sociable atmosphere. Our PADI Dive Centre provides an extremely popular choice for groups, individuals, children and families who seek a friendly, informal and professional environment in which to experience the best the Red Sea has to offer. Sharm El Sheikh Airport is only a 20 minute drive away and an airport meet and greet transfer service can be provided at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oonas Dive Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oonas Dive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing