We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Ranked #83 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good budget choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Booked the 7 nights/3 dive days package and stayed here in January 2013. I was very pleased with both accommodation and diving. The package was great value for the money.

The service is excellent, starting with the complementary pickup service where the hotel's receptionist greeted me immediately after entering the terminal building, _before_ customs and immigration.

Rooms are good, clean and with balcony, A/C and a large fridge. The attached restaurant serves the breakfast and is also open all day until 22-23 for lunch and dinner. The hotel is situated on the eastern end of the beach promenade, which gives you plenty of options for dining within 10 minutes walk.

The dive center is in the same building as the hotel/restaurant and is also a very good choice. Good instructors, spacious, practical and comfortable boats and great service. They offer free nitrox if booked in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    57
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
52
107
112
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The dive club is very professional and all of the staff are both friendly and very experienced.There is a good social atmosphere after returning from a day's diving and many guests head off for a group meal in the evening. There is also a bar and restaurant on-site. If you are travelling alone you need not be lonely. As you are not likely to spend much time in your hotel room it is more than adequate. Packages include airport pick-up and drop-off. A great diving experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizzythetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel during Dec 2012.

A small good clean well run hotel with a dive center attached to it. The rooms were cleaned daily (towels not changed tho). The location is at the far end to Naama Bay but only a ten minute walk at best, but less noise.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and most of the staff are helpful, there is access to a private beach.

Only two issues, the hotel is advertised as having wi-fi but this at best was hap-hazard in the rooms. The restaurant has wi-fi which can be used when within. the second issue was with the restaurant, some of the staff on using the toilet would neglect to use the wash facilities.

I would def stay at the hotel again but so sure about the restaurant !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kb036Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Basic hotel, nice clean rooms, large bathroom. TV, fridge, kettle , comfy bed.
A clean beach towel is included in the daily rate so that saves having to bring one.
It is not posh or 5 star , but it's clean and tidy and more than adequate.

A great set up, with the hotel being above the dive centre, restaurant, and Hotel reception.
Hotel is the last building at the end of the promenade, so it's quiet, but it's only a 10 min walk to the very busy, noisy centre where there are some great restaurants.

A great bunch of customers, a real mix from all different countries and backgrounds. You are always made welcome.
Brilliant diving in different dive sites. The company own their own boats and the crew are fantastic. I went on my own. I've had a brilliant time. Next trip is already planned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank civiladele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Where do we start? We have just returned from two weeks staying and diving with Oonas Dive Club. In our opinion, and we have been coming to The Red Sea for 20 years, the only place to go. As divers, and a couple, the accomodation meets our every need, bathroom en suite; clean linen; fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and we had a balcony with a sea view. The staff are friendly, efficient and professional. Location at one end of Naama Bay is excellent for a leisurely stroll along the bay in the evening. The dive operation is professional, dive guides passionate about the diving and the environment, unlike some operations we witnessed this holiday. The boat and crew brilliant with our comfort and safety paramount. Well done Oonas, keep up the great work, we will certainly be back in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of this fantastic dive club/hotel. I visited many years ago when under different management and returned and I'm extremely glad I did!
The hotel itself is fairly basic with air con, balcony, sea view (ish!), fridge and tea and coffee, but is spotlessly clean with nice big bathrooms.
The hotel, and the accompanying restaurant is a bit off the main Na'ama bay drag, which is no bad thing as unfortunately, this part of Egypt won't win any awards for character or charm.
The dive club staff are professional beyond measure and way beyond any level of helpfulness and enthusiasm at any other dive club we have dived with. The food in the restaurant is good and the breakfast is nice. The food on the boat is excellent, and great value with drinks. The staff on the boat go way above and beyond the call of duty!
The greatest testament to their service is the fact it is hard to find someone diving there for the first time.... once you go, you inevitably come back!
So... we are already planning out next trip.
There is however one bad point that I think should be mentioned:
The payment is ostensibly in any currency (euros, egyptian, UK etc) but the conversion is always to Euros and at a terrible rate. If you pay by card, there is 3% commission, plus converting your currency to Egyptian pounds by your bank and then conversion to Euros (at a terrible rate!) meaning it won't work out at the cost you thought!
In short- if at all possible, change money in your home country at the best rate into Euros to pay (which they do advise when you book!) to avoid losing out. I'm sure you can do better than the rate offered in Na'ama bay by Thomas Cook. That's what we will be doing next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Incredible service minded staff. Exact pickup from hotel. Obi Wan boat is supercool staff nr1.
We enjoyed 4 days incredible dives thanks tó Coreen and Emy ( hope we spelled your name correctly). Briefings webre made ön boat, all first class. We felt completely safe during áll dives, because they were well planned. The food ön ObiWan is a chapter for herself.
Their video production which was made during our dive is first class made.
Many other dive clubs should learn from Oonas, regarding keepimg firm control over the economical issues, everything was nicely documented, nő hidden fees and other "surprizes". Thanks Nick!
Should we choose Oonas again? Without hesitation! We booked everything online - incredible fast repült from Nick. We did nőt stay in their hotel, but enjoyed a few beer afterwords there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Szinbad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.8 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#72 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#30 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#56 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Halomy Hotel
Halomy Hotel
#153 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#154 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#13 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oonas Dive Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Property: Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11341, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oonas Dive Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated at the beach at the quieter end of Na'ama bay Oonas Dive Club's spacious, air-conditioned, and comfortably furnished accommodation offers a choice of suites, single and double rooms, with some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Na'ama Bay and the back drop of the Sinai Mountains. With bar and restaurant facilities on site, free wifi and only a short walk to the main centre with all its attractions, Oonas is an ideal hotel for those seeking personal service and a relaxed sociable atmosphere. Our PADI Dive Centre provides an extremely popular choice for groups, individuals, children and families who seek a friendly, informal and professional environment in which to experience the best the Red Sea has to offer. Sharm El Sheikh Airport is only a 20 minute drive away and an airport meet and greet transfer service can be provided at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oonas Dive Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oonas Dive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing