We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Experienced Team, Great Diving, Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Ranked #77 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Experienced Team, Great Diving, Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week dive holiday with Oonas Dive Club. I had an amazing time and can't give enough praise to the dive team who made my stay special and who took care of me during my stay. I did the EFR and Rescue Course during my second week and was instructed by Jonathan. We had a lot to get through and at the outset I found the prospect of what lay ahead to be a little daunting. Jonathan was brilliant and put me at ease and made quite a serious course into a thoroughly enjoyable, fun and rewarding experience. Thanks Jonathan.

Even before I arrived at Oonas Corrie (Centre Manager) was responsive to my string of email enquiries and her assistance to me continued and was constant throughout my stay until the moment of my departure. Thanks Corrie.

The team at Oonas are professional, helpful and sociable. After each day's diving there is a tradition of meeting in the bar/restaurant adjacent to the dive centre which makes a for great opportunity for completing logbooks, sharing contact details and photographs of the dives and generally debriefing and chilling out after a day on the boats. It's an aspect of Oonas Dive Club that makes this centre stand out from many others as the commitment to their customers extends beyond working hours and gives this dive centre a very personal feel. As a woman travelling alone I was able to dip in and out of the ready made social scene that thrives at Oonas and enjoy a beer/coffee/snack in a friendly and hassle free environment after a good day's diving.

The boats used by Oonas are excellent. They have two boats of their own and if these get full they will charter additional boats. Obi Wan was just out of dry dock during my stay and it is an impressive vessel. Spacious, comfortable, with unlimited tea, coffee and soft drinks available for 25LE (around 2.50GBP) per day or 50LE including lunch. The lunches were delicious and plentiful and freshly prepared on board usually consisting of rice, pasta, potatoes, bread, salads, dips, meat/fish providing a rich buffet between morning and afternoon dives and sometimes there is freshly baked cake or do-nuts on the way back to the jetty at the end of the day. Hooligan is their other boat and that too was a delight with plenty of room to relax between dives and the same arrangements for food and drinks. The crew on the boats were friendly, helpful and great at dolphin spotting!

I spent quite some time on the house reef during my rescue course, snorkelling on gassing off/study days and also for a night dive and was amazed at the variety of life so close to shore. On the house reef alone I saw 2 Eagle Rays (there are often 3 spotted in the sea grass area of the reef), Stonefish, various types of Puffer and Porcupine fish, Needlefish, Cornetfish, different types of Moray (including 'George' the biggest Moray I have ever seen and who put in an appearance out in the open during my night dive), a resident family of Blue Spotted Stingrays, a regular group of juvenile Batfish, Lionfish, Squid, Cuttlefish, Crocodile fish, Clownfish, Network Pipefish, Boxfish, Scribble Filefish, different types of Shrimp as well as the usual suspects - Parrotfish, Surgeon fish, Butterfly fish and Wrasses.

I have to take a moment here to give a mention to Amy - she has the eyes of a Hawk and is an expert creature spotter. Her talent for spotting obscure, minuscule and wonderful things is truly amazing. Her enthusiasm for and knowledge of the the marine environment and its inhabitants are exceptional. I would love to spend a day seeing the underwater world through her eyes, how marvellous that must be!

During my two weeks I had dives led by Jonathan, Warner, Amy, Peter and Alex - all of whom have a wonderfully relaxed pace of diving which was great for me as a novice photographer who likes to bimble along taking photographs of just about everything. All of the instructors would point out interesting marine life during the dive. They are an experienced team and keen on safety, never cutting corners and always abiding by safety standards especially regarding dive limits, buddy pairs and surfacing at the end of a dive etc.

The hotel accommodation may not compare to the big resorts that flourish around Naama Bay but the rooms have the essentials for those of us who go to Sharm to dive, eat, sleep and dive again the day after. I stayed in a twin room and then in a suite for one night (the twin wasn't available for my last night, I had to change rooms). The bedding, linens and bathrooms were clean in both rooms. The second room had accumulated a bit of dust on some of the lesser used furniture but it didn't detract from the general feeling of comfort. All rooms have a good sized balcony, satellite TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. If you need a hairdryer you will need to bring your own.

Wifi is available in the bar/restaurant area and the password changes daily. The hotel rooms though have separate wifi provision. I did not have internet service in my room for the entire time that I was there. This was a disappointment as it would have been nice to catch up with friends and family in the comfort of my room some evenings or to stream a movie on my laptop. I was given various reasons for the internet not being in service and just as many assurances that it would be fixed however it wasn't fixed and I see from other reviews that this appears to be a recurring issue at Oonas albeit not a huge one. I pause here to mention that the hotel is managed separately from the dive centre and so this issue was in the hands of the hotel management to resolve and not in the control of dive centre staff.

What's nearby - Oonas is right on the doorstep of all that Naama Bay has to offer. There are lots of great places nearby that offer good food and entertainment. It really is just a short walk along the beach promenade to take you to the heart of Naama Bay. Very close by there are cash points and a Thomas Cook travel agent for changing money. Some of the big hotels change money too. If you are a fan of the 'Golden Arches" there is a McDonalds just across the road. If you don't want to leave the bosom of Oonas Dive Club then the food in their restaurant & bar is good quality and very reasonably priced.

I fully expect that I shall be a regular visitor to Oonas Dive Club in the future. I am very happy to have discovered this little gem in Naama Bay. Thanks to the dive team for making this a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bops67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    57
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
52
107
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have just returned from our week stay at Oonas dive club.
We've got to say that this has been our best trip to Egypt.
Being happy with the hotel that we normally stay in, we thought
we'd take a gamble, and booked with Oonas Dive Hotel.
But the gamble worked a treat, we had a great time.
We were met at the airport by a staff member, and were guided through
security and had a visa in hand in minutes.
Within 30 minutes of arriving we were at the hotel.
The rooms are basic and clean, but it was fine for what we needed.
The restuarant in the hotel provides a good braskfast in the morning, and
good food at lunch/dinner for a good price, with great service.
What we came for was the diving.
The dive operation is well run, with great guides/instructors, good crews
and boats.
There is nothing negative to say about Oonas.
We've only been back 48 hours and we've booked again for October.
Can't wait!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinmanjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boughton-under-Blean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Returned to Oonas on the 29th Dec for an 8 night / 6 dive day package, we also enrolled our 13 year daughter Poppy on her OW course. Having had such a positive experience in august we were not surprised that nothing had changed, its still excellent in all areas, Poppy had Warner as her instructor who was such a cool guy, poppy learnt with ease due to Warners easy, professional manner and on completion of her course was diving with us. We hope to return again in August for Poppy to complete her advanced course, I cant reccomend Oonas highly enough. A previous contributor made reference to the restaurant staff/hygene.. Having visited Egypt 12 times i can say ive had a dodgy tummy a couple of times but never at Oonas and we use the restaurant most days..Keep up the good work, and see you soon ...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Booked the 7 nights/3 dive days package and stayed here in January 2013. I was very pleased with both accommodation and diving. The package was great value for the money.

The service is excellent, starting with the complementary pickup service where the hotel's receptionist greeted me immediately after entering the terminal building, _before_ customs and immigration.

Rooms are good, clean and with balcony, A/C and a large fridge. The attached restaurant serves the breakfast and is also open all day until 22-23 for lunch and dinner. The hotel is situated on the eastern end of the beach promenade, which gives you plenty of options for dining within 10 minutes walk.

The dive center is in the same building as the hotel/restaurant and is also a very good choice. Good instructors, spacious, practical and comfortable boats and great service. They offer free nitrox if booked in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

The dive club is very professional and all of the staff are both friendly and very experienced.There is a good social atmosphere after returning from a day's diving and many guests head off for a group meal in the evening. There is also a bar and restaurant on-site. If you are travelling alone you need not be lonely. As you are not likely to spend much time in your hotel room it is more than adequate. Packages include airport pick-up and drop-off. A great diving experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizzythetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel during Dec 2012.

A small good clean well run hotel with a dive center attached to it. The rooms were cleaned daily (towels not changed tho). The location is at the far end to Naama Bay but only a ten minute walk at best, but less noise.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and most of the staff are helpful, there is access to a private beach.

Only two issues, the hotel is advertised as having wi-fi but this at best was hap-hazard in the rooms. The restaurant has wi-fi which can be used when within. the second issue was with the restaurant, some of the staff on using the toilet would neglect to use the wash facilities.

I would def stay at the hotel again but so sure about the restaurant !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kb036Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Basic hotel, nice clean rooms, large bathroom. TV, fridge, kettle , comfy bed.
A clean beach towel is included in the daily rate so that saves having to bring one.
It is not posh or 5 star , but it's clean and tidy and more than adequate.

A great set up, with the hotel being above the dive centre, restaurant, and Hotel reception.
Hotel is the last building at the end of the promenade, so it's quiet, but it's only a 10 min walk to the very busy, noisy centre where there are some great restaurants.

A great bunch of customers, a real mix from all different countries and backgrounds. You are always made welcome.
Brilliant diving in different dive sites. The company own their own boats and the crew are fantastic. I went on my own. I've had a brilliant time. Next trip is already planned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank civiladele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.8 mi away
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
Camel Dive Club & Hotel
#76 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#30 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#56 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#154 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halomy Hotel
Halomy Hotel
#153 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oonas Dive Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Property: Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11341, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oonas Dive Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated at the beach at the quieter end of Na'ama bay Oonas Dive Club's spacious, air-conditioned, and comfortably furnished accommodation offers a choice of suites, single and double rooms, with some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Na'ama Bay and the back drop of the Sinai Mountains. With bar and restaurant facilities on site, free wifi and only a short walk to the main centre with all its attractions, Oonas is an ideal hotel for those seeking personal service and a relaxed sociable atmosphere. Our PADI Dive Centre provides an extremely popular choice for groups, individuals, children and families who seek a friendly, informal and professional environment in which to experience the best the Red Sea has to offer. Sharm El Sheikh Airport is only a 20 minute drive away and an airport meet and greet transfer service can be provided at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your Oonas Dive Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oonas Dive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing