We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location”
Review of Tropitel Naama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropitel Naama Bay
Ranked #85 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice location”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Arrived the week of the riots in Cairo, no hint of any issues in Sharm as the resort is for holidaymakers and not Egyptians.

Firstly the welcome was really pleasant and led directed to the restaurant which was much needed after a long flight.

We weren't particularly pleased with the position of the room but given a choice of rooms which had us moved within a day.

Initially the hotel seemed to be overtaken by loud Russians which made the first few days unpleasant, but as the holiday progressed they went home and the English were the majority.

The restaurant below the 900 block was definitely nicer but was closed on the last few days of the holiday due to lack of holidaymakers which was a shame but understandable as even the main restaurant was quiet.

One of the issues which made walking around in the town awkward was being harassed by the shop owners, literally walking after you down the road and on occasion getting annoyed when you say no, in fact you actually didn't want to walk out at times due to the annoying abuse.... learn "La'a Shukran" (no thanks) comes in handy. If you need a taxi you'll be fine but if you don't you'll soon be peed off with one being offered outside the hotel!

Fags were as cheap in the airport on the way back at 180 egypt pnds for 200 and at least you know your getting the real deal.

As anywhere, some staff were more pleasant than others and don't always expect better service if you tip, choose wisely and it does make life smoother than if you don't. Tip the barman and towel guy a couple of times in the olympic pool and your set for the holiday, drinks were brought over first thing but the quantity of money helps, min £2 we found, a quid will just get you a nice smile!

The entertainment guys were very nice, but if you want a quiet life best don't lay by the slide pool as tended to get pestered to play ball games and they wont always take no for an answer which gets annoying!

The rooms in the main hotel seemed to be nicer than the blocks outside, huge beds and great views from the ones at the top.

all in all, food was good, sun was shining and will definitely go back as was a nice hotel and a good place to stay and going back you know the routines.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    657
    259
    118
    126
See reviews for
580
741
75
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

holiday from hell food always cold seriously ill for most of the holidayhygene poor would not recommend this hotel to anyone complained to management but no action taken as told this hotel does not cater for english mainly russians and italians. you could not leave your food for a second as flock of birds would be all over it. swimming pool heated to over 30. would like to hear from anyone else who had problems with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamichael52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

3 of us traveled but we had a double room booked through the travel agent. on arrival when we asked if we could get a large room, mohammed at reception upgraded us to a superior room (triple room) free of charge! it was in the resort area, further away from the main building but the room was really nice so a slight walk didnt bother us and the exercise is good considering the amount you eat!
when we read the previous reviews about the food served in the restaurant we were a little worried. to our surprise the food was amazing! there was a huge choice, something different every night, to cater for everyone's taste! i dnt understand how people can complain with such a vast choice. we tasted everything and not one of us had a bad stomach during the week we spent there.
the location of this hotel is amazing. you walk out and your in the middle of everything. its in the center of the party, fun and shopping. although i think old town is probably better for bargains. the hotel location was ideal for us, it was the 2nd time we visited Egypt and decided to stay here so we didnt have to travel in or walk, as this place is were we spent most our nights in sheesha cafes.
our room cleaner was nice but he would always forget to do something, like leave extra towels or toilet paper, regardless one phone call to reception and it would be sorted.
all the staff were lovely, the restaurant staff, poolside staff, at the lobby staff, they couldnt do enough for us.
this hotel was perfect for us because we enjoy the hustle and bustle. its definitely not a quiet location and the pools get very busy. slightly disappointed with the hotels private beach- a bit too small.
i would definitely consider going back to Egypt for the 3rd time and stay at this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We arrived late on Thursday night. The distance from main reception to our room seemed very long: out by pool, into lift to 3rd floor, down a corridor, up 30 steps then a golf buggy journey to our room. Rang reception for a room closer and were told earliest they could possibly move us was 12:00 the next day. Room 738.
Went out on balcony to have a look. We were looking right over Naama Bay and the Olympic swimming pool. Could hear (barely) music from the street/nightclub. As a result we decided not to follow up on room change. Our room had everything we needed but the shower took a bit of adjusting before using. The room was cleaned daily and we got plenty of fresh towels.

Next day, we see how close we are to the heated olympic swimming pool. The lovely 'Executive Restaurant' is very close and it only takes 5 mins max to get to the main reception. We are also only a few steps from kids swimming pool which has 3 slides. The beach is across the road from the hotel and we had a look but seemed very crowded with sun beds close together and very large umbrellas blocking the sun. Opted for staying at the pool, lots of beds, quiet and peaceful and the Sunshine bar serves food and drink. Hi to Sayed and Ahmed.

The array and selection of food available in the 'Executive Restaurant' was great, whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner. Cereals, eggs, omelettes, pancakes, salads, sauces, chicken, beef, potatoes, veg, pasta and pizza to name a few. Drinks are also available . Hi to Ibrahim.

The lobby is quite busy most of the time and the bar is small but usually had 2 staff working so no waiting for a drink tea or coffee. There is a Tex-Mex restaurant and pub attached, (didn't visit) & Little Buddha is a restaurant by day and a nightclub in the evenings. Friday night is ladies night with free admission and complimentary cocktails. The hotel also has its own Spa centre, quite expensive but prices can be negotiated.

Once you step out of the hotel you are in the centre of all that is happening in Naama Bay. Opposite the hotel is a shopping centre, to the left are the 'Shisha' tents and shops selling everything from a needle to an anchor, the street by the right of the shopping centre has restaurants, cafe bars, shops etc. For a lovely meal, 'Fawaness Oriental Seafood & Steak House' is well worth a visit - on the 2nd floor of shopping centre. Be aware that imported drink is very expensive, i.e. a botle of Bulmer's costs in the region of 11E !!! but the local beer 'Sakhara' is perfect.

Only negative is that the hotel did not provide food or ever tea/coffee on arrival or departure & you have to buy bottled water out on the street.

All in all a great, central hotel with lots of facilities, friendly staff, heated pools and restaurants with lovely selection of food. I would return to this hotel without a doubt.
We have been in Egypt twice before in very good hotels but this one tops the bill at the moment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2011

we stayed 9/1/11 19/1/11 should have stayed until 23/1/11 but got a flight home could not stay another night if you want to stay in a disco for 2 weeks this is the hotel. we had to listen until 5 30 am every night.the food was not good it was either warm or cold not very nice a poor quality food it was like being in RUSSIA i would say 90% were RUSSIAN could not get a sun bed after 7 30 am i would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy it was horrible

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This hotel is fantastic! It is really central, you just step outside and you are in the centre of Naama Bay near bars, restaurants, shops etc. Everything is walking distance.

The staff were exceptional, all really friendly and couldn't do enough for you! Especially Mohammed in the Lobby bar and Shweb by the Pool!

The food is better than many of the Naama Bay All Inclusive Hotels, don't go to Egypt if you are expecting British Food.

The entertainment wasn't great but as everything is on your doorstep you can go and find your own entertainment so don't let that put you off.

One major downside was our room was situated near the Little Buddha Nightclub so it was noisy, next time I will be requesting a room away from this.

Overall we had a really great time at this hotel and will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffysunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Starting by impolite front desk staff ,who are very aggressive and vulgar to the incredible bad room service . I want to add that it doesnt have private beach, not even connected to the hotel , you have to leave the hotel and cross the street , and walk 10 mins on a side walk with your swimming suites to reach the beach which is shared with another hotel ,and you dont have a 1 star service at the beach. I would like to describe the experience as one of my worst vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keshka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#97 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#60 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,751 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Naama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Naama Bay

Property: Tropitel Naama Bay
Address: PO Box 61, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tropitel Naama Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the world's repute resort destination of Sharm El Sheikh, Tropitel Naama Bay is the cornerstone of its most famous of bays, offering breathtaking views of the warm Red Sea and the golden Sinai mountains, yet, a split of a second away from the exceptional dining and nightlife attractions of Naama Bay. With an impressive collection of alluring restaurants and cool bars, pristine beachfront and modern stylish rooms as well as numerous leisure facilities, Tropitel Naama Bay blends cosmopolitan architecture with warm Egyptian hospitality to deliver you an experience which is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tropitel Naama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Naama Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tropitel Naama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing