We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we've ever been!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Ranked #77 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place is spot on. We booked through Thomson and could not have had a better 2 weeks. The room that we stayed in was a family room and was nicely furnished throughout and had everything that we required. The service upon arrival and throughout our stay was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you. From reading other reviews, i felt it necessary to defend the Reef Oasis. If you go to another country, you have to accept that the local wildlife is a bit different. It was a pleasure to have exotic Geckos on our external walls at night eating flies as oppose to spiders and woodlouse. We saw one cockroach the whole stay and as this insect lives in warmer climates, can be expected. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard (though i didn't go round poking my finger into any crevices with a white glove like some people appear to do whilst on holiday). The food was very good and had a varied selection and i would recommend the fish restaurant for a change and also the Kebabgi restaurant. The main buffet was good and had a different theme food wise every night and the waiting on staff could not be more helpful.
If i had one gripe on this holiday, it was other people taking towels from the booths and claiming them so that they could claim a lounger very early morning and not use it until afternoon. I will not resort to this, so on occasions i could not get a towel at one of the pools or the beach. This is not due to the hotel facilities but simply down to other holidaymakers. The sea is excellent for snorkelling but i did see people feeding the fish and walking on the coral (again,down to the holidaymakers though the staff did their best to control it). The swimming pools are nice and i agree that they are on the cool side but what does this matter when the weather is scorching. At the end of the day your going in the pool for fun or to swim, not have a bath.
Overall i highly recommend the Reef Oasis and would like to thank all the staff for ensuring that we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience while visiting our resort. We are indeed delighted that you've enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future, Warm Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,465 - 3,471 of 6,140 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Got back on the 15Th October 2010 after 2 glorious weeks
Have been to this hotel 3 times and again what a brilliant hotel everything from the rooms to the Staff made our holiday the best.
Liking the lift down to the beach a very welcomed addition.
My husband is a diver and has been with the hotel diving in the past and again had a wonderful experience with them again thanks guys.
Would like to say a special thanks to Ahmed in the Caribbean bar he was brilliant.
The management were great and anything we asked for we got even a cake for our anniversary.
well done again and will be back next year

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we do appreciate it and we are delighted that your holiday was enjoyable, I will personally pass your compliments to all involved, we thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back to our resort in the nearest future. Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a fantastic holiday with my wife and two daughters, 10 &7, during the last two weeks of August.

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking I knew the hotel was going to be of a high standard, my only concerns were for the heat and the possible sickness.

The weather, whilst very hot, was very manageable after just one day and with the number of parasols available, you could always get a bed in the shade.

As for the food and sickness, all I can say is it wasn't an issue for any of us. The selection on offer was good and varied and I can't recommend the Italian restaurant highly enough.

Without repeating what you've already read I agree with all of the positive reviews and my main reason for only giving the review 4 stars, was the lack of evening entertainment. It is on offer, but after two visits we preferred to stay in the pool to watch the stunning sunset, go back to the room, freshen up, go out to get something to eat, and then back in our room before 9pm.

What's seems strange is there's a large abandoned outdoor theatre near the main pool and restaurant, which could easily address the nightlife, but it goes unused....come on Blue Bay, this seems to be the only area you get criticized on, and you've already got the facilities there !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for you kind comments, we do appreciate your feedback either way, It is the only way for us to improve. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. We all look forward to have you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

this hotel was absolutly brillant, great food service and housekeeping we could not fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J555Gosport_Hants_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience while visiting our resort. We are indeed delighted that you've enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future, Warm Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned home from yet another wonderful holiday (our 3rd at this beautiful hotel), we were allocated the room we had requested which got our holiday off to a great start.
As normal all the staff made us feel so special especially Ahmed,Tariq and all the guys in the Panorama Terrace bar, the guys at the Relax pool and the waiters in all the restaurants. It amazes me that they remembered us after a year when they meet so many people.
We spent our days at the relax pool which was lovely and it was great to have the new mattresses. The pools and gardens were kept very clean by the numerous pool guys and gardeners.
We ate in all the restaurants, they were all of a very good standard, good selections and great service. The Fishermans is a lovely place for breakfast and a great start to the day.
It was a shame that the Kabadgi was no longer buffet style for the main course, we had really enjoyed the Meze style previously.
We have never felt you have to give tips to anyone, but we always have done just to show that we appreciate them and the great service they give to ensure that you have a great holiday.
I have been trying to email the hotel direct to pass on my thanks but all emails to
bluebay.fo@reefoasis.com.eg, bluebay.rd@reefoasis.com.eg,
bluebay.gr@reefoasis.com.eg and info.bluebayresort@reefoasis.com.eg are failing to get through, even though I had been using them in September.. If anyone can advise how i can contact the hotel, I'd really appreciate it.
Hope to return again next year.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe room as this enable you to have a lovely relaxed breakfast at The Fishermans and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. It is obvious that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we did taking care of you. We are indeed delighted.
and please if you want to contact us send to (bluebay.eam@reefoasis.com.eg) and i will respond myself, We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Warm regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Getting there:

We booked our holiday through Thomson and flew out a few weeks ago. We were squashed in like sardines on the flight which made the flight really uncomfortable especially considering the flight time.

When we arrived at the airport, we had our passports stamped and were offered the opportunity to buy a visa – this isn’t necessary if you don’t plan on leaving Sharm although this is not explained to you by Thomson.

As others have said you will be expected to give the man who puts your bag on the bus some change. The hotel was close, which was good, only 15 minutes away and check in is pretty quick. They provide a drink and cold towel on arrival, golf buggy to your room. All good.

Good points:

Excursions :
We went on a few excursions whilst we were there, two through Thomsons – both of these were enjoyable and reasonably priced. We went ice skating in Soho Square and to pubs/clubs etc on Friday night feeling in Naama Bay. We also went on a submarine boat, but we did this through the hotel as this was cheaper (EGP280pp v £35pp through Thomson). This is definitely worth doing, but again we were expected to tip.

Weather:
Weather was amazing, late 30’s every day not a cloud in the sky, sun was out by 6:00am, sun does go down early later in year.

Resort:
The resort itself is lovely, lots of nice pools (leisure, relax, infinity - although slightly on the cold side) and a beautiful beach. As others have said, the resort was dimly lit at night, but this wasn’t something that bothered us. The gym is probably one of the best hotel gyms we have ever used and the views are fantastic. You also have free use of the sauna and steam room. We paid EGP140 each to use the hydro-pool which we were expecting to be quite hot but it wasn’t, it’s probably not really worth the price, although you have use of it for a full day. If the hydro-pool is something that interests you, I would suggest using it along with some treatments as they have packages where this is included.

Bad points:

Room:
The room we were staying in was of a good standard, however, it was right by the Arena Bar, we had to listen to Russians murdering Abba songs on the karaoke until 1030pm. We were also woken up at the crack of dawn by light shining through from the bathroom into the bedroom through a frosted window, so we didn’t have much sleep on the first night.

We asked to change rooms due to the noise, but we were talked out of it as we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room and if we moved we would have a worse room. We thought about this for a while but asked to be moved anyway. We ended up in a much quieter, better and bigger room (no light from the bathroom to the bedroom). Our room was adequately cleaned each day, however rubbish was regularly left outside in the bushes and plates and cups were left outside for days. The sculptures left on the bed were impressive but we would have preferred no sculptures and the plates/rubbish to be removed from outside the room.

Food/Drink:
For dinner we tried all of the restaurants (apart from the French restaurant). The Kebaggi restaurant was the really good, I presume this is because this is Egyptian food therefore they are very good at making it, the service was also good here. We only ate here twice though, as there wasn’t really much choice. The Fisherman’s restaurant was the next best, and again the service here was good (especially Omar). We again only ate here twice, because the choice was also limited (for all inclusive). The Al Dente restaurant was OK, but nothing special. The buffet restaurant is where we ate breakfast and lunch every day, we also ate dinner here on a few occasions. The food here was worse than what you’d find in a canteen, the place was also unclean, I found strange bits of food stuck to my cutlery. The service here also wasn’t great, on one occasion we sat on the edge of an area which apparently wasn’t open at lunch times (we had not been directed where to sit), so we were asked to move, along with about 5 plates and cups! The person that asked us to move realised he shouldn’t have quite quickly so then told us to stay where we were. He was then ultra friendly for the remainder of our stay.

Bars:
The bars were all OK, my boyfriend drank the local beer Sakara which he thought was fine, the cocktails however were pretty poor and about a choice of 6 which weren’t made very well. If you think you going to lie on your sun lounger with a fancy cocktail in hand, don’t, you get a potion which gets you drunk (quickly). Some have commented that the staff were happy to make cocktails that weren’t on the list, we asked for a mojito, blank looks, no joy, pointed to list of options on the menu.

General:
We had to get up at 7am to reserve a decent spot round the pools. I can only think that the hotel was a lot emptier when the other people visited. Also one of the days we left some sandals by the pool, when we asked if they’d been handed in the next day they hadn’t. The pool boy we asked claimed not to speak English, however, a few days later he spoke English fluently “where are you from Manchester, London, blabla “- get lost.

Shops:
Our first experience of the shopping area was with a man that referred to my boyfriend as “whitey”, although he was probably only having a bit of a joke, it’s pretty rude and my boyfriend probably would have pulled his skinny arms off had we been in the UK! He then tried to persuade us to buy something – very annoying. Osama who worked in one of the shops, was very helpful and friendly which shows the personality of each member of staff really makes the difference. We also visited the pharmacy a few times due to stomach upsets and bites (the hotel claims stomach bugs come from change in climate and drinking alcohol – we regularly go abroad and have never experienced this before).

Leaving:
Our flight was late in the evening, so we had to pay for late checkout, which cost €45 (we couldn’t even stay until the 6pm checkout time we’d paid for as they needed to clean the room at 5pm). It’s a bit of a rip off seeing as the day we got there it was late also, so in essence we missed the first day then had to pay to stay late on the last day. The hotel use golf buggies to transport bags to people’s rooms etc and when he came to pick up our bags we asked if we could jump in up to reception and he looked at us as if we had just asked him for a pint of his blood. He then resigned to the fact he was going to give us a lift then on the way to reception picked up some random woman aswell so why have a face like thunder when we asked in the first place. We also had to pay £12 to Thomson to guarantee seats together on the plane! Poor.

Overall:

Overall I would say we had a good holiday as the resort and weather were fantastic. However the food, service and cleanliness is definitely not 5star, it is at most 3star. Our review sounds a bit negative but this is due to the fact we believed the reviews and expected too much, if you go expecting amazing weather and a nice chilled time, you will be satisfied. Put the reviews in context when they state “the best food ever” and “the best hotel I have ever stayed in”. If this is the best food some have ever tasted they must live on chicken nuggets and chips, and if it is the best hotel they have ever stayed in they must go to Benidorm every year.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance and ask not to have a room by the Arena bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with the Reef Oasis ■ Blue Bay Resort & Spa.Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We visited this hotel in mid September. Standard room was very comfortable & clean. All staff very friendly & helpful. Adult pool as it stated was very relaxing especially the sunbeds in the pool. The staff at this pool (Big Mohammed & little Mohammed) were very polite & attentive & always happy to help. The main restaurant was always clean with a wide selection of food available. The waiters in this restaurant (Mohammed, Osma & Aymen better known as Tom Cruise) provided and excellent service & always made sure we had plenty to drink. Would also recommend the Italian, Fish restaurant & grill bar. We often sat outside in the open area near the pub where again the staff in particular Ismail made sure we always had a drink. The caribbean bar with disco that started at 11 was always nice although a little quiet & DJ always happy. The only disappointment to our stay was a visit to the Sea Breeze restaurant one lunch time when after being shown to a table & waiting for 10 minutes we had to ask to get a drink. Also as this restaurant is open & not air conditioned it gets very hot although the food available was a wide selection & very nice. Overall the hotel, staff & facilities were excellent and we hope to return to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managment99, Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. It is obvious that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we did taking care of you. We are indeed delighted.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future. Warm regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.3 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,401 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,903 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#44 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Re...
#61 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#58 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa is one of the most beautiful resorts of Sharm El Sheikh with the magnificent views of the Sinai Mountains hidden amongst the colorful shades of the desert. The Hotel is overlooking the famous Red Sea with clear crystal blue waters and beautiful corals with the most amazing colored tropical fish. Our highly experienced trained staff and Management Team are available 24 hrs with extended knowledge of the resort and qualified to provide our Guests with the most professional and exceptional service. Our Priority is you at all times during the day and night to help make the most of an excellent and enjoyable holiday. We have a wide range of facilities including a 24hr bar serving drinks and snacks, a beautiful Panorama Terrace to capture the most amazing sunset views for those perfect kodak moments to save a lifetime of memories. We have many Swimming pools to meet everyone's tastes, have fun in the sun with the family's at the leisure pool or relax reading a book chilling by our adults pool at the Relax we have it for all ages. Teens hangout room including play stations, games machines, air hockey and billiards or join in the activities with the Animation Team. Treat your self with one of our Royal Tents with complete privacy, waiter service, direct access to the sea for relax time including drinks, fruit for a small additional charge or lounge on your sun bed at the beach at your leisure with 350 m of sand and try our snorkeling from the jetty to spot little Nemo with a trained instructor the choice is yours. If you would like to make your stay extra special we have many other room types to upgrade, our Honeymoon Suite being the most popular choice and highest category. This option is by far the best choice and we can guarantee you won't be disappointed, pure luxury with direct sea view, the moon the stars the sunset all in one. Your very on private double jacuzzi, separate living room, walk in wardrobe, marble bathroom, DVD player with surround sound and wifi with many other benefits included. All for a small supplement. Easy access to the other resort areas to visit during your stay by taxi or shuttle you will be anywhere in a short time to grab your bargains shop till you drop or chill in one of the famous shisha cafes we can direct you. Upload your memorable photos on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram whilst enjoying your holiday with our new extended wifi or Skype your friends at home to show them the wonderful Hotel your staying in now available in various areas of the Hotel free of charge. If you fell active during your stay why not try a discover scuba dive or complete your padi and become a certified diver with our very own dive centre on the beach or get active in our amazing gym and learn all the exercises with a trained and qualified fitness instructor ,. If you prefer to pamper your self relax in our steam room or sauna free of charge. Don't forget to reserve your Ala Carte Restaurants with our Guest Relation Team who are available in the lobby to make your dining experience the most enjoyable one, sample our tasty delicious 4. Course meal with complete tranquility in our La Romantique Restaurant special offers apply. We are truly confident by choosing the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa you will not be disappointed. If you have any further questions or queries we would love to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming our Guests soon. Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing