We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need to choose your rooms carefully!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Ranked #24 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You need to choose your rooms carefully!”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We went to Sharm el Sheik on 28th January for one week’s holiday with First Choice Travel Agency staying at one of their Hotels/ Holiday Villages, the Holiday Village Red Sea Resort. Not to be confused with the Coral Sea Hotel a few doors along the road!
We usually source our holidays on the Internet but found that, in this instance, it was competitively priced.

The Holiday Village was huge and mainly aimed at Families, because they offer free child places. In fact the Guest Liaison lady told us there were over 200 school-aged children staying in the Hotel that week, even though it was not during a school holiday time!! The children were well catered for with their own eating area and food in the main buffet restaurant and lots of First Choice staff running clubs for three different age groups of kids. The kids (and Staff) always seemed happy and to be having fun.

We hadn’t stayed at a “Holiday Village” before and it took us a couple of days to be certain of where we were going, it was so big! There was a huge pool near the beach but as this was cold water, not many people actually swam in it. However, we spent part of every day lazing there and the bar was open by the pool. There was another pool which was heated, and it was designated a “Quiet Pool”. However, as everyone was using that pool, because it was more children friendly being a heated one, it was a very noisy area! There were lovely manicured gardens and plants, 3 al a Carte restaurants as well as the main buffet one, a number of pools and the beach. There was some accommodation, which had “swim up” pools, which could only be used by the residents in these apartments. However, as the water was all rather cold we did not see anyone using these areas the whole time we were there, so the expensive premium paid for these rooms would have been wasted at this time of year.

The hotel had a nice large beach and a jetty reaching about half a mile out (they call it a pontoon). Unlike the other nearby hotels our jetty was available to all, so there were often people sunbathing and congregated at the end who were not residents of our Hotel. The other jetties have notices saying only their own hotel guests can us them, so ours was a free for all. It was marvellous for a walk and then a snorkel off the end. We found lots of fish there – a gurnard type of fish, angelfish, puffer fish, a very large Sea urchin and lots of coral. So we didn’t need to take a diving trip, and didn’t see any sharks!

We were very impressed with the constant availability of food. Also the fact that there were three al Carte restaurants, which you could visit once, each restaurant each week of your stay included in the “all inclusive” format. One was a Chinese, one an Indian and the other specialised in Fish dishes. The other thing was that the one that specialised in the fish dishes was also open during the mornings for “Adult only” breakfast. This was very relaxing, with all the same food available as in the large main buffet restaurant.

The only problem we had was with our accommodation. We were put in Block 14, which is the largest block with 129 rooms over three floors. The design of the building being made of concrete and tiled floors means that every sound echoes loudly. A lot of the people staying in this, the cheapest accommodation, appeared to be young people who were out at night. They would return from clubs and discos anytime from 12.30am up to 5.30am. There would be shouting, crying, laughing and always doors banging! For the first three nights we had very little sleep. We ended up complaining because the girls in the room next to ours insisted on having loud music playing with extremely loud base and would sing (shout) along to it. When they found out we had complained (how did they find this out?) they threatened to kill us, so we asked to move rooms. We were then given another room in block 10, which still were noisy with 87 rooms in that block.

So when we go again, we will save up and book a room in a smaller block. The cleaner (was there one?) in our second block was terrible. All the toiletries in the bathroom were empty containers; he only gave us one bottle of water a day, instead of two and the cleaning was not done. Even glasses of water were left beside our bed for three days. Nothing was dusted or wiped. Even three light bulbs were out! I do feel rooms should be thoroughly checked when guests move out, doesn’t take long to turn a light switch on & off!

So a bit of a mixed review.

But one VERY good thing to mention is how switched on they are with diets. I am Coeliac and First Choice had informed the Hotel of this. On our second day we were invited to a meeting with the head chef. We didn’t do this, as by that time I was very happy with the whole eating thing. In the main buffet restaurant there was always an area well signed with a selection of Wheat Free food, including at least two main dishes, Bread rolls and two deserts. When we booked the Al Carte restaurants, the chef came out and told me exactly what items on the Menu I could eat. Amazing! Why can’t the UK be so well informed?

However, we would like to go back again to this complex. At this time of year too. We will just be more aware of which blocks we stay in and perhaps have to pay a bit more for that!

Room Tip: You need to select and maybe pay more for a room p
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,046
    1,478
    492
    188
    104
See reviews for
3,523
1,675
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,834)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

we stayed in this hotel in may 2011. from the time we arrived to the time we left we could not have been made more welcome.all the staff were great the management could not have more helpfull even ringing the room to make sure every thing was ok . The rooms big and very clean the food very good the whole site was first class the swimming pools clean and water clear best hotel we have stayed in. Something for every one recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

On reading some reviews I wonder if other travellers have been to the same resort , but one can only comment on one's own experiences. It's usual at the airport that some locals will try to 'assist' to put your luggage on the bus and hold their hand out ,which usually contained a coin, and brazenly ask for money - NO is the easiest response or just ignore them. Other than that, we did not experience any staff at the resort holding out their hand , or loitering for a tip . We did tip, but none of the staff 'pushed' for one .
( This was a pleasant change from what the staff were like in Tunisia ) . The bar ,beach ,pool , restaurant staff were all excellent ,smiling and helpful without expecting tips . Food was plentiful and varied and if anyone could not find anything to eat they must be very fussy.
We had a junior suite in block 4 which was kept spotlessly clean and well serviced by the friendly cleaner. Having two televisions , one in the main room and the other in the separate lounge/bedroom was useful as we had our 11 & 15 year old grandchildren with us. We woke early on our first morning by the sunlight streaming in but when we found the blackout curtains were pulled right back behind the net curtain there was no further problem. We did not have any tummy problems and did not speak to anyone who did .The resort was meticulous about hygiene with hand sanitisers at the entrances to the restaurants and even the beach bar . But the hotel cannot control guests who do not use them or who squeeze the bread rolls to find one they like !
One of us had a couple of insect bites which were not serious and we don't know if they were caused by mosquitoes or something else. The staff went around the resort each early evening spraying the foliage presumably to kill any bugs . We used the beach each day and never had a problem finding loungers .
The only fault we found was that the air-conditioning in the lobby bar was set too cold to want to stay in there for long.
Don't be kidded by being told you have to buy a visa. A visa is only necessary if you intend leaving the Sinai Peninsula i.e.to go to Cairo or Luxor for example. The immigration stamp is valid for the Aqaba coast & St.Catherines for 15 days & which also covers boat trips .
All in all , we had a great time and would not hesitate in returning again .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elvis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Holiday Village for 13 nights over Easter; we got a fantastic deal with First Choice and would definitely recommend this resort.

Apologies for the long review but I wanted to cover everything to help you with your choice; if I have missed anything please just ask me.

The flights were as expected; meals on the plane were satisfactory; leg room was a bit cramped but we all expect that on these flights don’t we!!??

We got though the airport quickly; there were Egyptian men loading the luggage on the coach – yes they wanted a tip but we didn’t give them one!! The transfer was easy and straight to our hotel.

The hotel was fantastic; all the staff were really friendly and helpful. As previous reviews have mentioned it was all men (although I did encounter one lady employee – apart from the reps of course) we didn’t have any problems with them; they like complimenting women and I got a bit sick of being told how beautiful I was; but my boyfriend found it amusing so we managed to joke about it and we didn’t feel threatened or uneasy by any of them.

Check in was easy; Our room was fantastic; very spacious and clean. The view from the balcony was excellent; we overlooked the activity pool and the beach. (We were in block 2 in a select room) There was a walk in wardrobe, safe, fridge with mini bar which we got emptied to avoid temptation, tea and coffee (although the maid didn’t replenish these) and a DVD player which we didn’t actually use as there were English TV channels showing great movies and programmes.

Each day you get 2 bottles of water in the room; we kept the empty bottles and filled them up each day at the bar as 2 bottles wasn’t enough.
Towards the end of the holiday the maid presented us with towel designs; they were fab!! We tipped him on the last day £10 LE and he was really grateful.

The Main Restaurant (Dine Around) was great; there was so much choice with something for everyone. Everything was fresh and replenished regularly. We didn’t have any problems and we tried everything.

We ate at each of the 3 al a carte restaurants; Chinese, Indian and Mediterranean; they were all excellent.

We didn’t dine at the seafood restaurant but heard great comments about it and we walked past some evenings and the choice of fresh seafood looked lovely.

There is also a Stonegrill restaurant (outside next to the al a carte restaurants) we didn’t discover this place until late into our holiday and we didn’t have time to visit it. We spoke to some people on the way home about it and they said it was fantastic and we were gutted we didn’t go…they have a choice of steak, chicken or seafood and they bring it to you and you cook it on a hot slab; it was excellent value for money too as this wasn’t included in the All Inclusive!!

The pools were great; the main activity pool was lively with different activities throughout the day - i enjoyed the daily quiz. The quiet pool was only classed as quiet as there were no activities here; it was heated and it was a bit too warm for us. We spent most of our holiday on the beach; the bar staff came round and offered us drinks regularly (and we didn’t tip). There isn’t much coral at this resort but we saw plenty of sea life at the end of the jetty; but if it’s the coral etc that you want we would recommend a trip.

We booked with Aquarius (on the beach at the hotel) it was great value for money; we did the ‘find dolphins by speedboat’ (although we didn’t search for or find any dolphins to my disappointment) but we snorkelled at two lovely spots and being in a speedboat was a great experience. We also booked on the Quad Biking (getting a discount for booking 2 trips) which was the best bit of our holiday – we went on our own with a guide and it was amazing.

We also had the Spa Package at the start of our holiday - they will come round promoting this; if you are not interested just say. But we decided to have it after speaking to other guests. It included a full body scrub (1 hour) and a massage (1 hour) we had these over two days and were in a room together which made it that little bit special - would recommend this!

We ventured out of the hotel a few nights; a trip to Naama Bay was £15 return for four of us (we got our taxi from the security guard at the gate); Soho Square was £8 return for 2 of us (I would recommend going there for an evening) and we felt quiet safe wandering around on the main road outside the hotel; although we constantly got pestered.

Next door to the hotel (left side of the beach) there is a Bar / Club called Pataya Beach – we recommend this for young couples if they want a night out. The music did go on till quiet late and could be heard in our room but it didn’t bother us as after a couple of nights we were use to it.

We didn’t see much of the hotel entertainment as it was mainly for kids; but the Sports Bar and View Bar (adults only) were great. Our drinks were filled up without asking in the Sports Bar; the wines and beers tasted really nice which I don’t expect on holiday – even the cocktails were yummy!! The View Bar had quizzes; live music and karaoke. There was an outside terrace which was great to sit under the stars and relax.

I got a bargain in the onsite shop – GHD’s for £26 they are copy ones but look and work just the same. One of the reps has even registered hers online on the GHD site. You can take them away and try them if you want and he also offers a guarantee so if you want some I would buy them at the start of your holiday just for peace of mind then if there are any problems you can take them back.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely recommend Holiday Village for families and couples; we are hoping to return as this resort exceeded our expectations. The only thing that annoyed us were a couple of people moaning about the children – if you don’t like children then don’t book into a family friendly hotel; we dont have children but they didnt bother us at all - the facilities available for them were fantastic (some activites they did made me wish i was a kid again so i could have joined in).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cazzaharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Booked through first choice, didn't start well as we had to wait in a coach with kids for an hour while we waited for the next flight to arrive in Sharm.
However upon waking up, saw what a beautifully maintained resort it was.
Food is average. But some night better than others. The main buffet hall is a bit canteen-esque! So try to book into the restaurants when you arrive.
Lovely pool, beach, crèche also very good, british staff working in creche.
We stayed in a fab family with kids den. Great to have to have my little one in a separate room within the room.
Seafood restaurant on beach is lovely.
Not sure if this is still happening but we had to move rooms when we were in block 5 as every night the club next door played banging music.
Shops nearby to get baby essentials.
We stayed in the resort and basically enjoyed the sun!
Lots of kids activities and different pools, I think the one by block 10 is warmer.

Room Tip: Don't go in block 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TW1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Having read the mixed reviews I was concerned after booking - especially as there appeared to be comments about another Coral Sea hotel. However, my fears proved unfounded. For clarification to anyone reading this review, we stayed at HOLIDAY VILLAGE CORAL SEA - have a gander at the First Choice website. Our room, whilst basic was functional and clean - the bed was MASSIVE! Room service and towel changes every day. The hotel is sprawling with 14 blocks around the complex and this is broken up by beautiful gardens and lovely paths to walk through. The main restaurant was very noisy and a bit chaotic - perhaps the management should consider one waiter for every four or six tables? I found the choice of food to be very good - but then I'm a grubber and will eat almost anything, whilst my husband is fussy! But hey, it's only for a week or a fortnight and you can chose to eat off-site if you are so inclined. The a la carte options were very good - with the exception of the Bamboo (Chinese, for the uninitiated). The food wasn't good and the service was dire, whereas both food and service in Sari (Indian) and Mediterranean were excellent. We did not sample the fish restaurant as said hubby is fussy and won't eat fish - unless it's from the local chippy! The kids club activities were superb - our seven-year old daughter had a great time. She did snorkelling, raft building, archery, water walking and lots of other things. Take note, people - this hotel is predominately aimed at young families. If you are looking for a really quiet and relaxing hotel, then this is NOT the one for you. You have been warned! The reps were friendly and chatty and more than happy to answer any questions. The spa staff were a bit forward, but if you are polite but firm and tell them "no", they take the hint. The pool boys were very friendly - and funny. The bar/wait staff were wonderful and remembered our drinks each time. Don't expect branded spirits..... the first few sips of the local stuff are rough, but then you get accustomed to it. I noted some comments with regards tipping. We were made aware of this practice before travelling. Whilst some staff certainly do put their hand out the majority were not so forward. Given what these people probably earn, I certainly didn't grudge any of the British pound coins we dispensed (though one guest we spoke to said she had been advised to take US dollars). I guess some people are just too miserable to tip. On the subject of money, when in any of the shops in the complex, don't be afraid to haggle. If the shopkeeper says 50, knock him down to at least 35 - as a general rule of thumb, whatever he asks for don't give him more than 75% of his original price! Oh, and barter with Ibraham - the sandman. He's sited in a corner outside the main restaurant. The only down side for me was that the poolside and bar toilets were a bit of a let down - a bit of maintenance, soap, hand towels and hourly mopping of the floor would improve this drastically. Obviously, reviews will vary from person to person - for me, however, as long as the room, bed linen and bath towels are clean I'm happy, and this hotel made me happy! We had a lovely stay and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierretteSmirnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSRHotelManagement, Owner at Coral Sea Holiday Village, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review, your wonderful comments and for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination. We are all so happy that you had such an amazing stay and appreciate you having taken the time to share your experiences on this site. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again. With very warm regards from all of us at the Coral Sea Holiday Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Excellent facility for families. Food really great, loads of variety, hot and well maintained. Egyptian and English staff all very helpful and friendly.

We had a swim up room-excellent! Great if you have young kids, you have everything within reach. No need to load up and walk to the pool, it's all at your finger tips. The pool also slopes in so lovely to sit at
the edge and play.

Huge resort, beautiful gardens and very well maintained. Very clean everywhere.

Only thing we had not come across before at an all inclusive was the tipping ( thought the idea of all Inc was not to carry cash!) we did our tipping at the end of the holiday and still received good service!

Crèche and child care facilities are brilliant, the staff care.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjow117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.7 mi away
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh Imperial
Club Magic Life Sharm el Sheikh ...
#18 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,795 reviews
11.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,136 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#20 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#52 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5,952 reviews
7.2 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,515 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Holiday Village

Property: Coral Sea Holiday Village
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#16 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the unsurpassed panoramic views of the Red Sea, Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort presents a comprehensive under-one-roof concept that meets the need of every discerning leisure traveler. This 5-star resort houses: 484 elegant guest rooms with modern amenities, superbly-designed facilities and 13 exciting dining and lifestyle choices for a multi-dimensional experience. It is our privilege to enchant our guests with courteous and attentive service that is the hallmark of Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort; we deliver only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Holiday Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing