We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad bad infinity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyrene Island Hotel
Ranked #97 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We used to travel to sharm el sheikh for several times per year, so we can measure very well the hotel level , we traveled last week to " Sol Cyrene" – Sharm El Sheikh , , the hotel looks great , the rooms are clean ,the pool as well , but due to the package we faced and had been shocked by the following:
 
1-      The buffet is very limited ,which means the salad bar is recycled ,it was very obvious on each item.

2-      The dessert bar are the same in daily basis , it never change , may be only the item of the fruits is changing.

3-      The flavor of the vegetables and the rest of food is not so good.

4-      The rice is not well cooked .

5-      One day , they were making kofta on grill  , they use only one grill which contains around 20 fingers , so you had to wait your turn to got your two pieces of kofta allowed.

6-      At the same day , they were making turkey , they were cutting mini slices to each person , and of course I get embarrassed to ask for more.

7-    One day ,they were making rice kofta in oil , so the Maker asked me "How Many Do you Need?????"

8-      The ice cream , is only for one hour for kids (is that all inclusive for kids or what???)

9-      The leprosy   exist everywhere on wall with all sizes (outside rooms) 

10-   The last thing which let us explode on our mood really ,and it never never never happen on a hotel , when they asked us for the PLASTIC  BRACELET , they told us it’s the hotel system you should give us the plastic bracelet before leaving or you will pay for the day expenses, setting in your consideration that our bags were at the lobby , so we already made the check out. 

 
I understand that the package is great , but you can reduce the items not the quantity.  

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Popo011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

poor food Quality, ugly lobby, to reach the beach u have walk about 10 minutes and if u r all-inclusive they only have poor quality local drinks even the alcoholic ones...!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarveyEskander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The overall impression of the hotel is fine. The rooms were large and clean, however it is not a 4 star hotel, but more like a 3 star hotel. However the walls are VERY thin, and we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the room next door- hence we did not get much sleep.
The breakfast and dinner buffet's weren't very good, and and it was the same low quality food the served every single day. The big crowds of noisy Russians who were very eager to get to the buffet came off very impolite, and pushy cutting in front of people etc.
One night we decided to go out for dinner at one of the other hotels in the area (Baron - however, there are two Baron hotels- we had dinner at the 5 star one), and meal was very good, and the standard of the hotel was much higher. It was a totally different experience, and the staff who waited on us seemed way more professional.
So if I am going back to that area, I would def. stay at that hotel, it seemed absolutely lovely.
The staff at Sol Cyrene, are friendly, but at times often "too friendly" and did not come across as professionals, which does not seem very charming. Its lovely when staff are being polite, helpful and friendly, but not cocky and flirty, and asking about my personal life, my marital status and ask for my e-mail, that's where I draw the line!!
The staff working at the front desk were very polite and friendly.
The pool were great, large and clean. (negative: when they start playing loud music at the pool every day).
If people want to listen to music while sunbathing bring an ipod!!
So to sum up, the hotel is okay, but not more, and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hrg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Synopsis of a stay at Sol Cyrene
7th October to 14th October 2010.
(All inclusive) at the 4 star Sol Cyrene Hotel, Montazah - Sharm El Sheikh – Egypt

Our party of 4 were met at Sharm El Sheikh Airport at 6.30pm 7th October 2010 by the hotels representative. The transfer by Limousine took approximately 15 minutes. Meet & greet at the airport was arranged with the front desk Manager Mr Amr Anrtar.
The check in formalities were completed quickly, we reached our sea view rooms 5137 & 5138 which were located at the far end of the complex. Both rooms overlooked the main swimming pool. The rooms were very clean and each had a large balcony. After a quick check of the room, balcony and bathroom we concluded that both were of a high standard. The furnishings were simple but adequate, there was a safe but no tea making facilities, iron or hair dryer. The TV was just 21” and programmes were quite limited. The following morning we had a surprise as the room boy demonstrated his artistic skills by making various birds utilising the towels & bougainvillea petals! Each morning there were different birds, crocks & monkeys! We enjoyed this very much.
As time was getting on we had a quick drink at the pool bar and continued for dinner. The restaurant was split into two sections and the buffet was located in the centre. The dinner was quite disappointing and we soon learnt that the hotel catered for regular mass package holiday makers from the former Soviet Union!
The following morning we explored all the facilities of the hotel including the private beach which was about 500 meters from the main restaurant (Ghadamis) there was an additional restaurant, “The Le Gourmet” which served A La carte menu. This restaurant also catered for a light late breakfast, & afternoon snacks which could also be taken between 10.00 – 13.00 hrs & snacks tea & coffee between 15.00 & 17.00 hrs. Most of the accommodation was quite some distance from the main Restaurant and lobby.
There were several bars spread around the complex including one at the beach. There was also a disco & bar located half way to the beach which opened for business at 11pm nightly. Two swimming pools one by the main Restaurant and the other at the location of the accommodation blocks. There was a swim up bar at this location.
The hotel ran a shuttle bus service at various times of the day starting at 10.00 to Naama Bay & old Sharm, fares were reasonably prices at 2 & 3 Euros return respectively. The last bus back from old Sharm was at 23.45hrs. The taxi cab fare back was 15 Euros. The shops accepted foreign currency in preference to Egyptian pounds.
Back at the hotel adjacent to the main lobby was a very pleasant lounge & bar at the opposite end a television lounge. Although the hotel was full there was never a time that any of the venues were crowded. Much of the time the there were no guests at the pool, sun loungers were in abundance.
In conclusion
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Manager Mr Amr who I met on several occasions was very polite & offered his help. I also had the pleasure of spending time at reception all respective employees did their best to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. The Restaurant Manager & supervisor was also very helpful and often went out of their way to meet guest’s requests.
The Waiters in each Restaurant couldn’t do enough for us and I got to know Mahmud, Mohammad & Ali. I also spoke with other waiters in the restaurant all were always very attentive and nice.
The food in general was kind of poor to moderate particularly the breakfast, the same can be said for the alcoholic & soft drinks. The red and white wine was of very poor quality . Beer served was quite acceptable.
I took particular note that the reception staff worked very long hours (as did all staff) they executed their tasks from a standing position behind reception counter throughout the long shift staring into very tiny computer monitors. This must be like computer work from hell! What’s more they were very polite and smiled all day. I hope in future the management will provide these dedicated personnel with high stools so that they can sit comfortably and do their work. None of them complained but appreciated my concern for them. I do hope that Mr Anatar will do his best and speak to the general Manager & get some high chairs so that work can be completed less painlessly.
The room attendant Ahmed cleaned our room daily to a high standard and was always willing to please. The Pool attendant Salih was also very helpful and laid out sun loungers and towels daily ready for our arrival at the pool.
The maintenance throughout the hotel was to a very high standard and each facility was spotlessly clean. The bathrooms (WC) were located near each lounge, bar, pool, lobby etc were also to a very high standard.
All in all the staff were extremely helpful and polite as you can very well see! at all times eager to please which also included the Limo driver who first met us at the Airport.
Ratings for each facility:- Poor – moderate – Good – Very Good - Excellent – Outstanding –
Management: Very Good – Waiters: Outstanding- Reception: Excellent to Outstanding
Facilities in General: Excellent – Pools: Good – Pool Attendants: Excellent
Food: Breakfast very poor: General meals Poor to moderate
Internet: Not free charges apply
Transportation arrangements at hotel: Good- Bus service at hotel: excellent
Beach & restaurant: Very Good
Disco: Excellent
Presented by: Mr Neville Fleming Kent England Mobile: --

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank United327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I have just come back from 2 weeks at the Sol Cyrene, Sharm el sheikh and had a great holiday. The rooms were big and clean, the pool was huge and very refreshing, and the beach was just a short shuttle ride 100m from the hotel (you can walk it but its so hot and its slightly up hill on the way back!) We were the only english couple there for the first 10 days which was great, we had totally got away from it all, it was mainly occupied with Italians and russians who were all very friendly. But the staff is what makes this hotel so lovely, they are all so friendly and will go out of there way to help you. We joined in on Aqua aerobics in the mornings or afternoons and everyday at 5 we played water polo, this is what made it so friendly as you would then speak to everyone you played with that day that night in the restaurant. As there was so many Italians, the evening entertainment was all in Italian, they tried to translate for us, but it was no good. The food was lovely but did get a bit samey after about day 8-10 and the drinks were always warm, apart from draught beer which we didn't mind! I can definatly recommend this hotel if you want a break from everything back at home and meet some new friends along the way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear “SurreyHayley”;

Thank you for choosing Sol Cyrene hotel and for posting your so positive review. We appreciate your feedback and really pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations.
I’d like to express our special thanks for your positive comments concerning the hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sol Cyrene in the nearest future.

With best regards,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Only stayed in this hotel for one night during the beginning of the volcanic ash fiasco. It was the only hotel we could find to take 18 of us (5 families holidaying together) and were grateful for a roof over our heads. Offered us an extension to stay a few more nights but we declined. Ripped us off with the price of the room, £100 (sterling) per room with 2 adults and one child and that was only half board! We didnt bother to upgrade to all inclusive for another £40 per room as only there one night, which meant dinner did not include any drinks - not even water and they charged about £3 for a can of coke!

Hotel was full of Russians, the only other English families were those that had been stranded and then there were only a few! This wouldnt normally bother me but the food catered for Russians, I am not fussy but even i didnt like it. However breakfast was nice -usual fresh omelettes, eggs cooked to order, croissants etc

Staff were ok, but nothing special. Apart from the porter who was very helpful. Lobby area was small and uninviting. Rooms were spacious and clean with lovely balcony. Late at night , till bout 1am, we could hear noise from a disco or open air bar.

Hotel is in middle of nowhere so need taxis to get anywhere. Although there is another hotel directly next door and I think you can flit between the two and use facilities but not drinks and food if all inc.

Would nt recommend it unless you enjoy Russian food and I wouldnt return. There are far nicer hotels in Sharm for a similar price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear “paulandSally”;

I thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write us your constructive comments and observations. Letters such as yours are of the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible problems or misunderstandings that may exist throughout our hotel.
Regarding the main restaurant we are very sorry if the food served in our buffet did not match to your taste even though our daily shared guest questionnaires’ results show the satisfaction of the majority of our international clientele. Also take in consideration that restaurant manager was at your full disposal to support and he will be glad to follow you up by daily special food, prepared according to your request. We also acknowledge that there is always room for improvement. Please rest assured that we will take your feedback to heart and we hope to pleasantly surprise you with the food and service on a future visit.
Again, it was to our great delight to read your lines and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for a future visit.

Yours sincerely,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Arranged through Trip Advisor, pretty much went according to plan! Slight delay at Bristol, not sure if that was volcanic or just Bristol. That made for a late arrival at the hotel via our private airport/hotel transfer & with our 2 mother-in-laws in tow [one 63, the 84]! Hotel reception staff were brilliant, quick and easy transferred to our rooms/2. Our in-laws needed a change of room the next morning however purely because of steps to climb & not condition, relocated to a ground level, pool located room with ease & suitcase transfer by staff. It did become quite obvious from the first morning at breakfast that we were in fact the only English at the hotel of mainly Eastern European & Italians. This not a problem for us as we were treated by ALL members of staff with the utmost of politeness and never without a smile! The 'All Inclusive' food & drink package could not really be faulted even though very much geared toward the more prominent clientèle but lets be fair we English can be a little set in our ways, including trying out foodstuffs! For my part there are no complaints however by the last couple of days our in-laws searched for some home food & the restaurant manager Hesham, along with Chefs came up with a blinder for us all.....Fillet steak, mushrooms, toms & chips [chips could be got throughout] starting with soup [soup was always plentiful] "Happy Days". One or two, maybe all waiters took a shine to us but again you only get out what you put in, Ali was such a waiter & we nicknamed him 'Top Banana' and the work they all do is really unbelievable! If you should go AND you really should ask Ali has is he getting on with the 'Faherinet' after shave..LOL. BRITS be warned about the mosquitoes, you will really need to take the relevant steps to prevent being savaged. My mother-in-law was particularly bitten but again to the rescue came the staff with Adel Omran/General Manager coming to the rescue, getting his own doctor to visit and duly 'stab her in the cheeks of bottom' with much needed anti-biotic & cream. If being in a minority group worries you, you'll be put off but even when we visited the next door sister hotel Sol Sharm which was 65% English, I much preferred the Sol Cyrene for it's quality & relaxing environment but again that's what I was looking for! From Front of House to Cleaners, Gardeners to Waiters, Housekeeping, Pool Attendants, Bar Keepers, Hassan & Kadry & Chefs to Managers, to Adel....101% for a very great holiday. I have and will continue to recommend to friends & Family of like minded requirements. Good Luck for the future & hope we meet up again. Tony, Karen,Maureen & Betty. Oh by the way the weather was brilliant [although not in their control] However be warned, the Taxi drivers are outrageously mad when it comes to driving even so good fun....better than the speed boat trips!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonySeaBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Cyrene Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear “TonySeaBass”;

Thank you that you found our hotel and staff “brilliant”.
It is always to my great pleasure if I can read memorable and impressive lines like yours as in Sol Meliá we believe that it is only through the personalization and individual care that we can achieve constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again.

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#178 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#111 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,429 reviews
9.9 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,209 reviews
9.9 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#46 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cyrene Grand Hotel
Cyrene Grand Hotel
#92 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Island Hotel

Address: El Montazah Area-Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Hotel Sol Cyrene)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £15 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cyrene Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cyrene Island Hotel enjoys a unique location at Ras Nosrani Bay, with a spectacular view overlooking the entrance of Aqaba Bay and Tiran Island. The hotel enjoys a beautiful 400-meter sandy beach with an easy access to the sea and the Coral reefs, just a 5-minute walking distance from the main building with shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Cyrene Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cyrene Hotel
Sol Melia Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing