We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing place and super clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyrene Island Hotel
Ranked #93 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed here for 10 nights B&B this month.
I had read the other reviews on Trip Advisor but was still suprised at the lack of English at the hotel. Lots of Italians and Russians.
The food seemed geared towards the Italians which was fantasic as lots of variety and the standard was superb for Eygpt which seems quite low in some other hotels.
Pool was gorgeous but freezing. I was the only person swimming lengths each day and I had to brace myself to get in! I'm sure it will warm up as the weather gets warmer.
The staff are great. They all work like Trojans and are polite and friendly. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the rooms cleaned to a high standard.
There was some Italian 'Animation' which was extremely loud by the pool. I think they mainly target the beach where most of the younger Italian guests go but they need to tone that down a bit I think.
DO NOT GO B&B to this hotel. Extremely expensive to buy bottles of water etc. The All-Inclusive option is a must, particularly with such wonderful food available. Also, don't expect Room Service to be good. I complained about this poor service at reception and they said that they did need to look at this.
Otherwise, had a lovely stay and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pestofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

Me and a friend stayed b&b at this hotel and were pleasantly surpised. The staff are great - really friendly and helpful. At first they all demand to know where you are from but this is just their way of being friendly. The room was fairly basic but clean and pleasant. Good views of the mountains and the sea and/or the pools.

A few tips: we found the excursion rates fell as the week went on so if you can wait, do so. The Agent "Italy Italy" in Naama bay was the cheapest we found. Be careful of booking an excursion through the VIP Massage guys - ours fell through and Khaled tried to deduct his taxi fare to the bank from our refund!

The breakfast is good but my experience of the evening buffet was dreadful. And I got charged twice for the meal on check out so make sure you check your account carefully if you're not all-inclusive. The hotel staff were really helpful in rectifying the error, however, and it all got sorted out in the end. The best meal we had was at TGI Friday in Naama bay and it was cheap.

If you need a taxi - use the guy based at the hotel - MUCH cheaper than the town-based taxis. This really friendly guy even let me use his charger for my phone!

The location of the hotel in relation to Naama bay and old Sharm towns isn't great and the bus service is a bit limiting if you want to spend more than a couple of hours at either or a night on the town. But, if you just want to laze by the pool or the beach (sunbeds and umbrellas free) and do some snorkelling then this could be the perfect hotel for you!

On check out day, again the staff couldn't have been more helpful - allowed us to store our luggage, use the hotel facilities and even gave us a shower room and towels!

On the whole a great experience and I will be coming back to Egypt again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed 3 nights here for a short weekend getaway (we are American residents in Cairo). We read the reviews here and we thought we could trust it. But boy, we were really really amazed and surprised. We didn't expect the hotel to be this nice for the bargain we received. Positives & negatives follow:

POSITIVES:
We asked for an upgrade to a seaview room and we were given one without any hassles. Our two kids (2 and 4 years old) were free, and they gave us extra beds for them at no cost. The grounds and hotel premises were very clean and well-done with lots of green, trees, and shrubs. Our ground floor room had a beautiful balcony and terrace that gave us a seaside view (although the hotel is not directly on the beach), and immediate access to the pool. However, in December the pool which was not heated was way too cold - but the beach was much warmer.

You should know that the Sol Cyrene, the Sol Sharm, and the Sol Resort (under construction) are from the same hotel company and all next to each other as sister hotels. If you book at the Sol Cyrene, the facilities are open to all guests of any other Sol lodging. We went to the Sol Sharm and had an amazing time in the kids' outdoor section (playground, ping pong, pirate ship, ampitheater, outdoor African-type lounge). [Just check websites and find out which is cheaper, then book the cheap one and you can share the facilities). The Sol hotels also have their own private beach which is just a 300-meter walk from the hotel or there is a constant shuttle bus to/from the beach and hotel. At the beach, there is a beach club with volleyball nets, additional kids and adults pool, beach bar, etc. We enjoyed the kids' program at the beach every morning (kids' paint, basketball, legos, snowflakes and paint, etc.) Our kids loved it. There is also adult activities all around the beach and hotel. I didn't do all of them, but my wife enjoyed the stretch class, water aerobics, yoga. I saw also ping pong, beach volleyball, dartboard, and I'm sure much more which I didn't see. My favorite was the private walkway pier from the beach to the mini coral reefs out in the sea. I bought a simple snorkel mask in town for $5 USD and was able to snorkel my heart's content all for free at the beach. It was great. Amazing fish of all sorts and shapes and colors. I was circled by a whole school of yellow/silver fish. I got a little scared :)

In the evenings, there is a kids' mini disco at 9:30 pm and then an animation show for adults at 10:00 pm. We only had breakfast included. It was simple, nothing fancy, but at least they had an omelet station so you can make your custom eggs and omelets from the chef. He also made fresh hot crepes if you asked.

NEGATIVES:
There were some negatives, but only a few:
-Upon check-in, the bill was an extra 10% commission from the travel booking agent. This was never shown on our internet printout, so we showed them, and they copied our receipt and didn't charge us the 10%.
-no concierge at this hotel. We wanted to know about different activities in town and what was offered for kids, but no concierge. We had to find things out on our own. HOWEVER, the last night we discovered that the Sol Sharm has all of that. There was a concierge there in the lobby, so just walk on over next door and ask away. The Sol Cyrene was really like a 3 1/2 star hotel, because it didn't have all the 4-star amenities (like concierge), blow dryer in the room, supplied mini-bar (although they'll fill it if you ask them). But the Sol Sharm has all of that.
-There were no towels at the beach. You have to get them at your hotel and carry it with you to the beach. No big deal, but why not just have some at the beach also for people who will be using the beach?
-These hotels are far from Na'ama Bay, where all the nightlife is. You'll have to taxi for about 20 minutes. Sorry, don't know how much it would cost, since we had our own car.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cairoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

i have just got back from a one week stay at the sol cyrene. It was our first time in egypt and we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel. it looks gorgeous and is very cleam throughout. It has 2 pools, one of which was quiet and hardly used and the other had music playing all day and various actitvities such as water polo and l'aqua gym. we had a sea view room and the view was fantastic, we over looked the main pool and at night it looked stunning and the mountains in the back drop were amazing. cleaning staff could not be faulted, rooms were done every day and they were very friendly. My partner and I were not all inclusive and felt as though the staff in some areas of the hotel didnt take much notice of us for this reason, got the feeling they saw us more of an annoyance. Th major gripe i had was the food, we ate in a restaurant by the pool on the first night and had to send it back eventually because the fish was rotten etc, for the remainder of the holiday i had major bowel troubles that somewhat ruined my experience of the place, we did our best to avoid the buffets at dinner as the food made us ill. we even resorted eating in the sol sharm next door which is alot nicer. Maybe im just being picky but alot of people didnt seem to have problems with the food so i guess its just down to luck really.
barter for everything including taxis, we were over charged for the first 3/4 days without realising we could get them for cheaper. The hotel do a cheap service. The beach was amazing and the bar was alot more atmospheric than the ones in the hotel pools. the shuttle bus comes in handy from time to time but its only a 2 minute walk. Overall a good holiday with only food and buffet staff spoiling the experience for us. if you havent already booked check out the conrad hotel and baron resort to see if they are better options.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We have just returned from Sol Cyrene,what a super hotel with super staff.Yes we tipped waiters etc but they just could not do enough 4 u.Even before the tip.Two huge pools excellent food,towels put out 4 us every morning,drinks always full,heaven.Will go back time and time again.Get taxi from hotel to bustling Naama Bay,do not pay any more than 100legp,you can barter 4 anything even price of drinks at some bars.Go and enjoy.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank fergie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

I have just returned from a holiday with my girlfriend in the hotel of Sol Cyrene, and my general experience there was very pleasant.

When we arrived our air con was not working, and in July it is very very hot in Egypt as you can imagine. So I went to reception. They were very efficient and sent a very friendly engineer up with in 20min and fixed the problem strait away.

The room was nice, big and comfy with a balcony overlooking the pool with a sea view. The room was cleaned very day, they put fresh towels up for you. Every day are cleaner made something interesting with the towels for use to fined when we returned to are room. We had a swan, crocodile, and various shaped flowers and so on, it was a very nice touch.

The hotel in general was always kept very clean. There are two pools each with a bar to get a drink from. One had music playing buy it but not all the time, some of the music was not to my taste but you can’t please everyone, it was a good mix all the same. You can get involved in some water exercises if you wanted to. The hotel owns part of the beach which is a 4-5 min walk away, or you can jump on the shuttle bus which runs from the beach to the hotel all day, but we just walked most of the time as we could enjoy the weather a bit more. The beach itself was a but crowded but was not a problem, we always found a couple of deck chairs to lie on. There is also a bar on the beach, where you can also get ice cream. The beach was also kept very clean.

The food was average but allot to choose from. If you are a fussy eater you will always fined something that you like. If you felt adventures then you can try some of the Egyptian dishes that they did. The service was also always very good.

The only bad thing about the hotel is that it’s very Italian orientated, and where not many English people to mingle with. But that was not a major. They did have a Italian dinner evening but the English where very welcome to come which we went to and felt that we were very well looked after.

Generally the hotel is very good the staff are very friendly and always said hello to you when passing them. I would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We have just returned from the Sol Cyrene after a 2 week break, it was the first time we had been to Sharm el Sheik and also to this hotel, although we have been to Hurgardha for the last 3 years. We found the room with a sea view (paid extra) to be very pleasant, but our balcony was in the shade all day. We also overlooked the larger pool and this wasn't a problem, as after around 6pm in the evening it went quiet. The food we found was of quite a good standard , with plenty of choice, and we always found something to eat. There was the usual omelets, boiled and fried eggs, pancakes, salads, cheese, meats,fresh fruit, rolls and bread for Breakfast along with mashed potatoes, baked beans and a host of egyptian dishes that i never even tried. For Lunch and Dinner there were soup, salads, pasta cooked while you waited along with a roast meat some days, and then there were various cooked meats which tended to be chicken either roasted or in a sauce, pork, beef, various vegetables, some roasted or boiled, fish, and again other dishes too numerous to be mentioned. Then there were the beautiful cakes and sponges which really looked amazing, some tasted the same and as i am a cake aholic i tried most. There was also fruit. The beach was fairly crowded and although we usually use the beach, we did seem to be kidnapped by the chap who looked after the larger pool Mohammed, but i must admit he looked after us for the first week, and then he went home. The chap on the pool bar who also worked in the bar inside the hotel at night was very friendly and did his job well. The waiters in the restaurant who served us really did look after us and were very friendly and polite and did their utmost to give us their best, even at times when other guests seemed very rude towards them. There were activites such as arobics and water arobics and volley ball, we were asked the first day, to which i refused and then we were largly ignored intil the 13th day when i was asked again, i can't do anything too physical because of health problems, but did feel a little left out as they also chose not to speak to us either. On the whole staff say they like the English and wish more visited the hotel, the hotel was mainly visited by Italians and some Russians, but the hotel is geared more towards the Italians which is a little bit of a shame as i feel they could definately build up the English trade as it is a beautiful hotel. It was generally clean and the chap who cleaned our room left us a grand sculpture made out of towels every day and as it was my Partners birthday while we were away, he dressed the bed up beautiful with various designs along with toilet tissue and flower petals. On the whole we had a good two weks and as Mamood at the pool said to us on our last day, "he has never seen two English people so relaxed for two weeks" but as we said to him "that is what we went to do"

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Lilo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#172 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,423 reviews
9.9 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#60 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,407 reviews
10.9 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#61 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyrene Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyrene Island Hotel

Address: El Montazah Area-Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Hotel Sol Cyrene)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: £16 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cyrene Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cyrene Island Hotel enjoys a unique location at Ras Nosrani Bay, with a spectacular view overlooking the entrance of Aqaba Bay and Tiran Island. The hotel enjoys a beautiful 400-meter sandy beach with an easy access to the sea and the Coral reefs, just a 5-minute walking distance from the main building with shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Cyrene Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cyrene Hotel
Sol Melia Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing