We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible first experience of egypt” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Cyrene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Cyrene Resort
Ranked #92 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible first experience of egypt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

My friend and I were put in the Sol Cyrene after our room at the Amarante Garden Palms was not available.We were told we were being up graded to a 5 star hotel but I wouldnt even rate it a 2 star. The room was ok but I had a bed that was so hard it didnt even dip if you sat on it and I am a large lady! The cleaner(Ahmed) was lovely and produced some spectacular towel art for us,Mohammed our waiter was great and always had our table waiting for us and barman Hassan and Sherrif were great but we found the management and some of reception very rude and unhelpful as they didnt seem to want the English there! The food is absolutely disgusting and I spent all my holiday apart from 3 days really ill with food poisoning as the food leftover from dinner appears recycled for lunch.I lived on rolls and yoghurt and for last 3 days of my holiday on just water! Everything was cold or lukewarm and either swimming in water or oil! The pool is ok but very cold and we were told that it was the Italian and Russian pool and we shouldnt be using it!! The beach was dirty and every morning we saw dead cockroaches on the paths.I wouldnt wish this place on anyone........even my worst enemy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmax51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    152
    72
    28
    41
See reviews for
206
154
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Hotel itself looks really nice, but this is not defenitely 4,5 star hotel. Food was boring, everyday was the same menu, service not very good - they speak only Italian or Russian, very little English; sometimes we had to wait for drinks during dinner far too long. Swimming pools clean, beach quite small and busy but close to hotel.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank monsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

From the 1st impression when we go to make check in it was very nice man we didn’t stop laughing till his college take us to the rooms We spend nice time in there specially in the loopy bar and the pool bar nice bar men there good food friendly staff a lot of Russian and Italian the mother travel agent Italian I thinks as we spend there we was the only English people in there the rooms very clean with nice view on tiran island otherwise so far from the city and shuttle bus always no places you should reserve 1 day before the staff work so hard they should hire more staff they always ask you where you from when you speak in English. to spend the evening time you should go to sol sharm the sister hotel they work as 1 hotel but as they tow if you take any thing in sol sharm be sure they will make you bay for it the snacks not like that you expect in 4* hotel the all inclusive time should be more any way its nice hotel missing some little things like transportation to naama bay " don’t go with hotel taxi it so expensive " and there missing thing always the guest relation not on her disc in the loopy in any hotel you found her in the loopy but we never see her in this hotel when we ask about her they say'' she's in the office we can give her call ''so if you have any thing you want to say you should write it and they will check it or say it to the reception. Room service take along time so if you hungry in the night you should order it early be sure you will not lose any thing there I lost my I. pood & in the same night I found it will go back if I have a chance hoping to see some change in this little thing

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyuan, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

All in all I thought that it was a beautiful and charming place. The food was good and the service was good as well. The only thing that I didn't like was some of the staff hitting on me and my friends and making us a bit uncomfortable. I suppose it might be that way wherever you may go but still... I also didnt really like how expensive it was to use the internet since you are already paying to stay there. I liked the location because it was right next to the Red Sea! It also made it possible to go to both Cairo and Jerusalem in day trips. It was very clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

There is no doubt that the hotel is clean and tidy but the location is very poor the food is not for the English. After asking various members of staff for help in English the reply was mostly "we are here for the Italians and Russians". There are a good number of other hotels and I would certainly not go back here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrbr126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed here for 10 nights B&B this month.
I had read the other reviews on Trip Advisor but was still suprised at the lack of English at the hotel. Lots of Italians and Russians.
The food seemed geared towards the Italians which was fantasic as lots of variety and the standard was superb for Eygpt which seems quite low in some other hotels.
Pool was gorgeous but freezing. I was the only person swimming lengths each day and I had to brace myself to get in! I'm sure it will warm up as the weather gets warmer.
The staff are great. They all work like Trojans and are polite and friendly. The gardens are beautiful and well kept and the rooms cleaned to a high standard.
There was some Italian 'Animation' which was extremely loud by the pool. I think they mainly target the beach where most of the younger Italian guests go but they need to tone that down a bit I think.
DO NOT GO B&B to this hotel. Extremely expensive to buy bottles of water etc. The All-Inclusive option is a must, particularly with such wonderful food available. Also, don't expect Room Service to be good. I complained about this poor service at reception and they said that they did need to look at this.
Otherwise, had a lovely stay and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pestofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

Me and a friend stayed b&b at this hotel and were pleasantly surpised. The staff are great - really friendly and helpful. At first they all demand to know where you are from but this is just their way of being friendly. The room was fairly basic but clean and pleasant. Good views of the mountains and the sea and/or the pools.

A few tips: we found the excursion rates fell as the week went on so if you can wait, do so. The Agent "Italy Italy" in Naama bay was the cheapest we found. Be careful of booking an excursion through the VIP Massage guys - ours fell through and Khaled tried to deduct his taxi fare to the bank from our refund!

The breakfast is good but my experience of the evening buffet was dreadful. And I got charged twice for the meal on check out so make sure you check your account carefully if you're not all-inclusive. The hotel staff were really helpful in rectifying the error, however, and it all got sorted out in the end. The best meal we had was at TGI Friday in Naama bay and it was cheap.

If you need a taxi - use the guy based at the hotel - MUCH cheaper than the town-based taxis. This really friendly guy even let me use his charger for my phone!

The location of the hotel in relation to Naama bay and old Sharm towns isn't great and the bus service is a bit limiting if you want to spend more than a couple of hours at either or a night on the town. But, if you just want to laze by the pool or the beach (sunbeds and umbrellas free) and do some snorkelling then this could be the perfect hotel for you!

On check out day, again the staff couldn't have been more helpful - allowed us to store our luggage, use the hotel facilities and even gave us a shower room and towels!

On the whole a great experience and I will be coming back to Egypt again!

  • Liked — Very helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — The location in relation to the towns
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora Sharm Resort
Aurora Sharm Resort
#110 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
7.6 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
Melia Sharm Resort & Spa
#80 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sharming Inn Hotel
Sharming Inn Hotel
#144 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Coral Beach Hotel Montazah
Sharm El Sheikh Coral Beach Hote...
#138 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Cyrene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Cyrene Resort

Property: Aurora Cyrene Resort
Address: El Montazah Area-Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Hotel Sol Cyrene)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Cyrene Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Cyrene Resort enjoys a unique location at Ras Nosrani Bay, with a spectacular view overlooking the entrance of Aqaba Bay and Tiran Island. The hotel enjoys a beautiful 400-meter sandy beach with an easy access to the sea and the Coral reefs, just a 5-minute walking distance from the main building with shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Cyrene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cyrene Hotel
Sol Melia Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing