We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better available!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Club
Ranked #207 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Level Contributor
1,577 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Much better available!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Very low grade hotel notwithstanding it's self proclaimed 4 star rating- it is really a 2 star hotel ! Basic facilities in rooms and in hotel. Promised 4 bars but only one open- an outside bar who h is very cold in winter. Food poor quality and restaurant better described as a canteen!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    168
    149
    62
    124
See reviews for
63
259
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I will start with the pros of the hotel and that is that it is fairly near to the beach if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk. Near Naama Bay shops and restaurants, most staff were friendly and the room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels.

The cons - It isn't a 4 star and doesn't boast any luxury. The staff at reception couldn't really understand a lot of basic requests in English and where assistance was need for something in the room, it took a long time to be resolved. The Breakfast was the same everyday and although there was a decent selection it very quickly got boring. I would have appreciated more authentic cuisine choices and not just a continental breakfast, restaurant is over staffed as soon as a plate is finished its taken away which isn't bad but you felt over watched. Atmosphere and ambience was non-existent with the same 70s-80s music played daily. They mentioned their own beach area one that eluded us they only had a shuttle bus to 2 beaches one that was a public "beach" which didn't technically have a beach as it was rocks with stairs leading to the coral floored sea, only benefit was the beautiful coral and fish to be seen by snorkeling which was owned by a bar and restaurant so no outside food and drink was permitted and the other charged €3 per day and weren't in the Naama bay region. There was no evening entertainment provided or that was made aware to us at any stage and the bar staff entertained them selves with obvious signs of toxicity to the point were they were unable to make a Mojito cocktail on the very first night we had arrived. The telephone didn't work and the satellite TV only had one English channel which was BBC world News. This hotel over sells itself and is only good if you want something basic and plan to spend as little time as possible in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily_S927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked a last minute break in the sun - struck lucky with this hotel. Position within walking distance of Naama Bay life - take a jumper for evenings. Food great, from breakfast pancake chef to so many potato dishes in 2 weeks. Room spacious and clean with plenty of hot water. Found staff very friendly, from massage arranger to on site owner. Two pools, one noisy, one quiet. It was out of season, so not many guests. Great value, would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Will keep this brief: On the plus side - Food was good. Staff were helfpul and friendly. Rooms were nice and clean. On the minus side - Outside Bar closed at 11pm, nothing else doing. Entertainment when it happened finished at 10pm. There are no inside bar facilities or seating. Temperature dropped at night so it was cold. Unless you went back to your room there were only two mens/two womens toilets which are located in the restaurant, hardly ever had any toilet paper in them, which I would think is a pretty basic requirement in a restaurant toilet. Overall the holiday was OK, we met some nice people and the weather was brilliant. This hotel is located very close to Naaama Bay with a good shuttle bus service to the beach. Having said all that, the price we paid for 11 days, we could have got a far better hotel resort for the same money.

Room Tip: Make sure you take some warm clothes for the night as there really is nowhere indoor bar or entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janinski17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Don't expect it to be luxury it's a good basic hotel with large rooms 2 nice but small pools ,pool bar is ok if a little under stocked sun beds are good and the young pool boy extremely helpful.
The food was not the best having said that I only had breakfast ( toast and coffee) as the rest didn't look to appetising
The hotel itself has nice gardens and is only about 5 mins walk to the main part of Na'ama Bay
In reflection think I'd go back as its a great place to base yourself

Room Tip: From what I saw all rooms look to be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was a terrible holiday experience. It is near a rubbish tip and our room was dirty and attracted flies. There was no mattress cover on the bed and the sheets were grey, the bed smelt awful. We lasted one night before paying extra to move. Food was poor and the kitchen looked dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and very clean, staff can't do enough for you. Pool area was clean and tidy and there are lovely fresh towels every day.
The food was very good and we stayed over the New Year, the entertainment was wonderful and the food was laid out like a 5 star cruise.
Will definitely be going back next year I went with Friendship Travel and we were really well looked after. Hotel is very close to the bars of Naama Bay

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar area are possibly best but we had no trouble sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#104 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#144 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#156 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Shine Hotel
#10 of 27 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Oasis Resort
Royal Oasis Resort
#17 of 27 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Club

Property: Viking Club
Address: Peace (Salam) Road, Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viking Club 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viking Club Hotel Overview. Our unique boutique hotel overlooking the picturesque Sinai mountains provides a selection of 130 comfortably appointed guestrooms, including suites and family rooms for those who need more space to go with their comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Club Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Viking Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing