We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Just had an all-inclusive week here and hard to fault. No mosquitos, excellent food and restaurants, plenty of sun beds. Very well staffed with people who can't do enough for you - especially our room boy Baligh who worked very hard to make our stay special. We took an upgrade with Pelham Tours and for £25 total extra, we got a sea view with balcony, extended check out, bowl of fruit and f ree meal in Taba Casa which was a super restaurant who spoiled you rotten. Do try the Mahaba restaurant too as it was also excellent. The main resturant had a good food selection too but was not as intimate as the others. pool cleaning and surrounding area was meticulous and at least once we saw the entire pool emptied and re-filled. Nice beach areas too. The snorkelling was to die for - fab house reef yards off the beach and equalled the maldives - maybe exceeded because the coral was varied and as extensive as the fish. Range of ages and nationalities made for a pleasant stay. Varied entertainmemt - superb dance troup one night - and every night a little guy (well, big actually!) did a solo show of a range of popular songs which which was very good. We even managed a few dances to him.
Hotel was smart and modern and classy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Many thanks for your TA Review.

Great to see you enjoyed your holiday. We are fortunate at the Hotel as the staffing levels are very different from the UK.

We operate the hotel on a balanced nationality mix.

Each evening Ahmed (the larger man) performs from 8.30pm to 10.00pm before the next entertainment starts at 10.15pm, which can be from dance troups, belly dane or even Mojo and his team playing bingo (Egyptian style)

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

Everything was just perfect: location, staff, hospitality, food, animation, entertainment, service, rooms, cleanliness, etc...
My family and me have spent the greatest vacation ever, we have enjoyed our time very much .
Many thanks to the management for your great efforts

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haidi-Mikhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and kind words.

I will ensure that your comments are passed onto all the team members at the Hotel.

I am glad that your family enjoyed their holiday and we hope you have the opportunity to return in the future

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I spent a wonderful week at the Hilton Taba with my husband my sister and her husband. The staff were amazing always helpful and nothing was ever to much trouble. Our room was top class the young man who came in every day to clean our room was extremely polite and when ever I requested more bottled water (which was free) it arrived. The 1st evening we spent eating in the main restaurant which was ok , but much preferred using one of the other three restaurants on site, these normally have to be booked at 1pm the day before but we always managed to get a table by just checking with the restaurant staff that day when leaving the beach. The hotel manager Martin was always about and approachable. I did see a group of young men getting quite noisy one afternoon at the pool bar, Martin was there a quick as a flash and got them to keep the noise down. I would recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone who wants to rest and relax and just catch some rays.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Thank you for your Ta review and your kind comments.

All the additional inclusive restaurants (Marhaba and Nelson) operate on a reservation system, which can be booked at 1pm each day.

It can be challenging watching the behaviour of some guests and protecting the coral reefs.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Good value, nice beach and pool set-up but the food in the main restaurant was limited and not very good. We also saw the chef on the grill outside mixing up raw and cooked chicken with his hands and the same utensils. We all got Egyptian tummy unfortunately. The Mahraba restaurant was excellent though. Tip the Bedouin lady who makes the fabulous flatbread. Some of the staff at the bars were very attentive, but some could ignore the males in our family for ages (unless you were female like me!) and they were really polite AND tipped! No fancy cocktails during the day so if you're used to smart hotels in the Carribbean you will be disappointed. The all inclusive cocktails in the Rainbow Bar in the evening were rather inconsistent and there wasn't much choice. Also, be aware that they serve alcohol to teenagers which is a great plus point for them but if you don't keep tabs on them can get way ou of control being all inclusive!! However, for what we paid (an offer through the Daily Mail) it was excellent value. My husband had to get up at 6.45 every morning to be sure of a place on the beach which was a pain. Be careful of people invading your space round the parasols - very annoying. You definitely need plastic shoes or flip flops at minimum to go in the sea but there are lots of fish to see. My husband is a scuba diver but found the diving a bit limited but enjoyed what he did.. Don't worry about mosquitoes - there were none when we went and it's incredibly hot - 115 degrees so don't pack jackets! We didn't go to Israel as it's a bit of a palava with taxes and visas and the other excursions are a bit far if you're only staying a week so be prepared to stay put apart from riding on the resident camel - just give the Bedouin a few Egyptian pounds or a couple of dollars. It's a lovely location and you can see Israel, Jordan and Saudi Arabia. If you're used to five star luxury and really good food you may be disappointed (apart from the Marhaba) but for a cheap week and you're not too fussy then it's a very good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GetawaygirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review, your comments are appreciated.

I have passed your comments onto the Head Chef concerning your outside grill experience.

Cocktails are available from 11am to 11pm (from the Rainbow and Pirates Bar) and there is a selection of 7 different cocktails.

You are correct that the temperatures are very high at the moment and we keep stressing to all guests to take care and do not go outside in the sun (or shade) continually all day as this always leads onto heat exhaution and dehydration (and this is not a pleasant experience). The temperature is 45 degreees in the sun and in the shade.

It is a shame that you did not venture into Eilat as it is another great location. The initial throught of crossing a border is something that must be completed for security reasons, however this is the only security check point you would experience and within 10 minutes you are in the centre of Eilat.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Got back from this holiday last week. my boyfriend and i spent two weeks at the hilton taba and i have to say it was lovely. We upgraded to the Nelson village part of the complex which is beautiful. The rooms are spacious and overlook the goreous clean beach. Unlike other hotels in egypt the hilton provide you with a large bottle of the mineral water everyday which is definatly needed as in july it is hot hot hot! The staff are all very friendly and willing to help, and there is no pressure to tip.

The complex is large and very clean and there are three restaurants to choose from. The main buffet restaurant which is nice, there isnt a huge choice of food but there is enough to please even th fussiest off palates. There is also a tex mex restaurant (nelson pub) that serves things like nachos etc this is reservation only. The third restaurant is the mahaba restaurant which is a traditional egyptian style place. We didnt have the best experience in this restaurnant but im sure it was a slight hiccup. In taba their is only the hilton and the movenpick thats it! you are really quite isolated which is nice for a relaxing holiday. The hotel offers a diving and water sports club and also has its own shopping mall and casino. The entertainment crew are very friendly and you soon get used to the phrases vollyball and aqua aerobica quite soon , and if you say no they leave you alone!
The hotel manager is very friendly and can usually be seen walking around the hotel.

all in all this hotel is great , it lives up to its 5*s and i would definatly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellejay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review, your comments have been appreciated.

Having a choice for restaurants in the evening has allowed all our all inclusive guests to decide on which restaurant they prefer. Sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience in the Marhaba (this is the highest scoring all inclsuive restaurant on our guest surveys), however it means that we still need to keep pushing service improvements at all times.

The shopping mall has become very busy with the guests (especially the night before returning home) . I am sure most guests can find something in the 40 bazaar shops etc

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Taba from 15 – 22 June 2009 which sadly meant just one week.

Our room was number 723 in the main hotel which had a stunning seaview and the scenery was breathtaking. You can see Jordan, Saudi Arabia and Isreal all whilst relaxing on your own balcony. Recommend an upgrade just for this reason alone! Don’t forget your camera. In the room you are left a litre and half bottle of water everyday, if you need more just ask. Evelyn and Crabtree toiletries are really good touch.

On the plane going over to Taba we have to fill in a landing card so take a pen with you. Also if you are a member of the Hilton Honors scheme take your number with you in hand luggage as you should be able to claim the points.

Check-in itself at the front desk is simple and straight forward you are given an wrist band to wear for the duration of your stay so the staff know if you are half board or all inclusive. We made the mistake of exchanging our cash in the UK for LE (Egyptian pounds) and wished we had waited until we got to the hotel as the rate was 9.23 which is a lot more than we got in the UK! We were informed in the UK that the smallest note you can get is a LE100 note (if in doubt take some smaller US$ notes). I would say just take one of these and ask the front desk when you check-in at the Hilton to break it down for you for tips. Then change any other English cash as you go.

The staff at the hotel are genuinely friendly. There is a guy near the pool who sells English newspapers and these cost roughly LE40 (roughly £3.60).

We ate in all of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed the food in them all. Well worth five star quality. We just wished we had had the second week to go back to the Marhaba and the Nelson restaurant. All the restaurants (The Palm, Nelson, Marhaba, Casa Taba) are well worth at least one visit. For lunch you can again go to the Palm where you have breakfast or head to the Nelson where you can sit under an umbrella and enjoy the view of the sea.

The Casa Taba is not part of the AI but you must head there. We went on the Sunday night before we flew home as a treat and wished we had gone sooner as we would have ate there a few times. The quality, presentation and service of the food was simply brilliant. The atmosphere was perfect. Our meal cost £45 for a four course meal and a few glasses of good quality wine. We spend more than that in the UK on pre-prepared rubbish.

Pirates Bar was the one bar we mainly went to as the Rainbow Bar is indoors and was filled with smokers the few times we went there. Hany, Mina and Tarek at the Pirates Bar were great company and will take care of you very well. Hany is a little trickster so take some puzzles over with you as he loves them!

My boyfriend and I took our own snorkelling equipment but you can buy this for around about £6 at the shops behind the hotel. Snorkelling is well worth doing to see the beautiful coral and the fish. I also took a few books with me to read and lying on the loungers was truly relaxing.

We did very few excursions but went on the 2 hour Sunset Cruise to Pharoahs Island and the 1 hour Glass Bottom Boat where you can see the coral both with Aqua Sport who are on-site at the Hilton. We headed to Eilat which going there was not a problem coming back we queued for nearly an hour (in forty degree heat!) while the border police sorted out the people at front. Taxis cost roughly 50 shekels from the border to Eilat. Eilat itself was a big with lots of malls and an outdoor market. We also went to The Underwater Observatory Marine Park (highly recommended) which was very good and takes a minimum of four hours to get around to see all the bits. This costs 89 shekels each. Little hint if you want duty free Taba Airport is not the place to go head to the Duty Free between Israel and Egypt on the way back to the hotel and there are real litre bargains to be had.

The only thing we would really say is that the temperature barely dropped below 40 degrees whilst we were there and we saw very white people in the morning being very red in the evening after sitting out in the sun all day. We took factor 40 suncream, yes this is high but being in the UK (certainly Northumberland!) we are not used to the temperatures and need to protect our delicate skin!

Big thank you to Martin Rogers, General Manager of the hotel your staff are a true credit to you. If you have any problems or suggestions during your stay at the Hotel Martin is really approachable and down to earth and keen to hear from the guests.

Special mentions for the following staff:

Yasser - Concierege
Hamed - our room cleaner (or artist if you see the photo)
Mohamed – Restaurant Manager at The Palms (hoping your sister’s wedding went smoothly)
Anwar – Front Desk Manager
Sayed – Chief Steward
Hany, Mina & Tarek – Pirates Bar
Zayed - Marhaba
Mohamed – Aqua Sport

If you want well tendered gardens, pools, sun, sand, sea and fantastic company/snorkelling/diving/swimming and a generally great relaxing time then head to this hotel you will not be disappointed! The big question would we go back? Without a doubt and for two weeks (and without the in-law!). Missing quite a few people already who we made good friends with and made the whole holiday worthwhile. Been back now for nearly four weeks (have tried to leave this review god knows how many times but Tripadviser constantly has a problem and crashes!) but still think about the holiday everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

Dear Louise

many thanks for your TA and review and the excellent pictures. They are appreciated.

I would like to also thank you for covering so many important issues/questions that other TA users will appreciate. These are the kind of question which you normally do not find out until you have arrived in your destination.

Glad you enjoyed your visit and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Taba

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

the hilton taba stay was 1 of the best holiday stays in my life....entertainment wise was brilliant....the animation team keep the whole atmosphere energetic and friendly......during the evening show i won the best couple and it wasn't my partner hahahah :).....im here with the family and coming back is a must.....nelson's village should have it own international takeaway business.The food is superb.....10/10....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank LOVEUSHEFFUNITED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review, your comments are appreciated.

Congratulations on winning the best couple competition. I'm not going to ask how you won ?

regards, Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
26.3 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
17.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.4 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
9.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taba Hotel and Nelson Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taba Hotel and Nelson Village

Address: Taba Beach, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Hilton Taba Resort & Nelson Village)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taba Hotel and Nelson Village 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience world-class service at Taba Hotel & Nelson Village This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Taba Hotel & Nelson Village features panoramic Gulf of Aqaba views and a private beach area with sun loungers. The bright, spacious rooms have cable TV and plush beds. All rooms at Taba Hotel & Nelson Village are fitted with air conditioning and have a minibar. Some rooms have a balcony with views of the garden and the Red Sea. Guests can organise diving trips at the on-site diving center or relax with a massage therapy. For younger guests, Taba Hotel & Nelson Village offers a Kids’ club. Italian cuisine can be enjoyed at the Taba Hotel & Nelson Village's Casa Taba. Oriental specialties are served at Marhaba. Guests can unwind with a drink on the terrace at the Nelson Pub. Taba Hotel & Nelson Village is 20 minutes’ drive from Eilat Airport. Underwater Observatory Marine Park is just a 3-minute drive away. Free private parking is available at the hotel. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taba Hotel and Nelson Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Taba Resort & Nelson Village Hotel Taba
Hilton Taba Resort And Nelson Village
Hilton International Taba
Hilton Taba Hotel Nelson Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing