We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Really great hotel, with brilliant facilities and awe inspiring snorkelling just off the beach.
Our experience was made so much better by the amazing friendly staff, nothing was too much for them. The reception staff were charming, our room (having upgraded) was fantastic, yards from the beach and cleaned beautifully. We loved the towel sculptures!!
Mario's catering staff provided great food with lots of choice and were very attentive. A few shining stars to mention; We loved Waleed - who looked after us superbly in the restaurant, along with Mena, Omar and the restaurant manager Mohamed. The beach bar staff kept us entertained throughout our holiday with cheery smiles and good service (Abdel, Shrief, Mohamed and Amr). And last but not least the animation team (Sam, Mojo and others) who were just brilliant. We recommend this resort highly to anyone looking for sea sun and relaxation. Finally the staff gave us a huge gift by doing their celebration song with a cake for Dad's birthday (amazing!!) Thank you! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haughtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and kind comments.

Great to see that you enjoyed your holiday at the Hilton and your birthday (with the singing and dancing waiters)

I will pass your comments onto the Team and hope you ahve the opportunity to visit us again in the future

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

Had an amazing time at this hotel last week. The staff are very friendly: Yasser and his crew at Nelson Pub and the boys at Pirates bar to name a few... The hotel facilities were adequate though I think its a bit cheeky to charge for snooker and table tennis and non motorised sports when you have paid for an all inclusive holiday!!The food was not bad but think there should be a better selection for vegetarians at the main buffet restaurant.
The snorkelling was amazing just on the hotel front and a few people mentioned it was better then the specialised boat trips.
On the whole I would recommend this hotel to anyone,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2009

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on return from your holiday.

I have passed your thanks onto Yasser and his Team at the Nelson Pub (they appreciated it).

Unfortunately the Hotel does not own the pool/snooker tables and the Dive Centre and Water Sports Centre are run by an independant company called Aqua Sport.

kind regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Taba Hilton Sept 2009 for two weeks on an AI basis; value wise it was fantastic as it cost just over the £850 mark. We have stayed in this hotel previously around 7 years ago before it was AI and when there were much larger numbers of Israelis using it as a short break hotel.

Firstly the good points:

Service is the best we have ever had and we have stayed in different classes of hotels all over the world. In particular to be commended for his service is one of the bar waiters MOHAMED ASSAM, he went out of his way to ensure that we never waited for a drink, was very attentive and when it was not too busy in the bar would come and talk to us, by the end of the holiday we felt we had made a real friend. All of the other waiters and hotel staff gave excellent service but we felt we must just give Mohamed a special mention.

The snorkelling is excellent and the dive centre staff are really knowledgeable and friendly, some of them have been working there for a number of years and even though it was 7 years since my last visit they still remembered me. A special thanks to Hugh the centre manager who did a couple of dives with me which were the best of the 10 dives I did during our two week stay. I would thoroughly recommend the shore dives, although the sites are small if you go on a day when there are not too many people you will see lots of interesting things, but not necessary large species. The dive boats are very spacious, the food on board excellent and the crew friendly.

The food in the main restaurant (Palm Court) is okay but a little bland and repetitive for our taste, every lunch and evening it was pretty much the same thing, although there was plenty of it and lots of choice from the salad bar (no onions though which I find strange as that's one of the main ingredients for our salads). The Nelson restaurant we ate from most lunch times, the food is good lunch time fare, i.e. burgers or hot dogs with chips, salad, always on offer is the pasta which is very tasty and worth trying. The Nelson evening meals for AI are a little limited choice of 3 mains, but all are very nice and better than the food served in the main restaurant, again a little bland, I found myself asking for the hot sauce to put on my main dishes. The staff again during the day and evening at this restaurant were fantastic, after a couple of days, they started to service our drinks almost as soon as we had sat down and without having to ask us what we wanted. That's what I call good service. The Mahaba restaurant again very friendly staff, menu limited to 3 choices but all excellent and worth trying. Although the Casa Taba restaurant is not on the AI option (unless you take advantage of the super-upgrade currently on offer) it is definitely worth a visit, fantastic al a carte service, food sublime - if you try the risotto starter share it as its such a large portion you wont be able to eat the main, and the fillet steak with mozzarella cheese sauce is a must. The only thing we were disappointed with was that once we visited this restaurant on our last evening as paying guests and although we did get a discount off the food section of the bill, we were charged for all of our drinks, which given we were on A we felt a little peeved about.

Although we did not take any of the great trips on offer this time around, because we have stayed in the Taba area on two previous occasions we had done of the trips, we would recommend Cairo but only on the overnight basis as its too long a trip to do in one day; Petra and Jerusalem, although going over the border to Israel is a pain, its quite an experience and we would recommend you do it at least once.

Now for the not so good side - the Russians, what a miserable race they are, never smile (even at each other), never a please or thank you.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as long as the service remains at the level it is at present which makes it stand out from many other hotels across the world. We will definitely be back and won't leave it 7 years this time.

Tried to add photos but lost my review a couple of times so have to submit without them unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2009

Thank your for your Trip Advisor Report and kind comments.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Hilton Hotel and we do hope you return again soon (as you mentioned - not 7 years time.).

We started to introduce new menus in the main restaurant last week (Palm Court), all the evening menus will changed over the next 4 to 6 weeks.

Aqua Sport provide the Hotel with an excellent Dive Centre and Huw (from Wales) has been heading this team for many years.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Well we had just come back from Taba Hilton resort last week and we have nothing but praises for it. The location is amazing with Views across the Gulf of Jordan, Saudi Arabia and Israel, also with the sea so clear you can spot all kinds of wierd and wonderful fish. Having a coral reef just yards away from the hotel is absoultely great, then you have the staff who will do everything for you. I cannot praise the staff enough they work long after we went to bed and they were always doing there job when we were awake. There was a lot of choice for food and serveral resturants to choose from but I recommend eating at the Marhaba, the staff were excellent as well as the food. I could go on but the truth is Go there and you will not be dissapointed..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sionpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and kind comments.

The Marhaba is a lovely small restaurant where many guests enjoy traditional Egyptian food.

I have passed on your thanks to the staff who will appreciate these comments

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

most staff friendly but found some to be ignorant when no tip was forthcoming,paid £75 for superupgrade and was worth every penny superb suite with L shaped balcony ,mealtimes are like being back at school and are very basic .After a week we certainly had our fill of the russians who must be the most ignorant and arrogant race to grace the Hilton.The bar staff at the beach bar seemed to be influenced by the russians to serve them first even when they where at the back of the que !

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilberdyke1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Thank you for completing a trip advisor review on you return from your holiday.

I am surprised and concerned about the comments you have mentioned about the staff at the Hotel. I will discuss these comments with the Department Managers to ensure that a thorough review is carried out.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks at Nelson Village and throrughly enjoyed our stay. The staff from management to gardeners were extremely friendly.
The hotel rooms needs updating abit but were clean and tidy.
The food varied from very good to not too good in the resturants.
Not too keen on the plastic glasses as they are old and scratched.
We loved the snorkeling from the beach.
We are looking forward to going again next year. This is the first time in over 20 years of travelling that we will be returning to the same hotel and place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkeling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor Review and kind comments.

I have passed your kind comments onto the team members at the hotel, who I know appreicate them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taba in the future.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

we work for ourselves and were in desperate need of a relaxing,value for money week away. i had always been put of egypt mainly because of the flight (5 hours) but we flew with monach and with a meal and film included the time flew by !
i saw this deal on travel zoo and i have to say i was not disappointed. if you want a relaxing, quitet break with nothing to do except, lay in the sun and have someone to cook your meals and clean your room then this is the place for you. the staff at the hilton taba are fantastic from the management to the cleaners. courteous, polite and non can do too much to please. you even get fresh petals, flowers or something on your bed every day, all the cleaning is done by men and they love to make the room look nice. the food was really good and had a choice of 4 restaurants. snorkling was fab and you can do this while standing so if you dont swim well then is a must for you. just stand in the water off their private beach and see it all. this hotel is fantastic and i have no problem recommending it to anyone who want mothing more than relax. its not for anyone wanting nightlife. everyone gets up early and just lays by the pool or the beach. its also worth a mention that the beach is so close to the hotel and that the disabled facilities looked great to i always take notice of these as my mum uses a buggy and i would have no hesitation taking her there.
if you go give my love to arm, one of the sweetest waiters in the world,any problems ask for mohamed mostun the guest relations manager and in the main restaurant be prepared to be treated like royalty by ahmed all fantastic staff managed with perfection by anwar the manager. they will treat you like friends they have never met before from the moment they meet you.
i noticed a couple of negative reviews about this hotel before i went, if you treat these people with the respect they deserve they are just brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Management-TheBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at Taba Hotel and Nelson Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2009

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review and your kind comments.

Mohamed (Guest Relations) is a greta personality who uses every opportunity to speak to the guest both inside the hotel and outside on the beach areas.

Great to see that you enjoyed your vacation.

regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
17.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
26.3 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
5.1 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#11 of 61 in Eilat
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
8.9 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taba Hotel and Nelson Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taba Hotel and Nelson Village

Address: Taba Beach, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Hilton Taba Resort & Nelson Village)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Taba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Spa Hotel in Taba
#5 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £49 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taba Hotel and Nelson Village 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience world-class service at Taba Hotel & Nelson Village This property is 4 minutes walk from the beach. Taba Hotel & Nelson Village features panoramic Gulf of Aqaba views and a private beach area with sun loungers. The bright, spacious rooms have cable TV and plush beds. All rooms at Taba Hotel & Nelson Village are fitted with air conditioning and have a minibar. Some rooms have a balcony with views of the garden and the Red Sea. Guests can organise diving trips at the on-site diving center or relax with a massage therapy. For younger guests, Taba Hotel & Nelson Village offers a Kids’ club. Italian cuisine can be enjoyed at the Taba Hotel & Nelson Village's Casa Taba. Oriental specialties are served at Marhaba. Guests can unwind with a drink on the terrace at the Nelson Pub. Taba Hotel & Nelson Village is 20 minutes’ drive from Eilat Airport. Underwater Observatory Marine Park is just a 3-minute drive away. Free private parking is available at the hotel. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taba Hotel and Nelson Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Taba Resort & Nelson Village Hotel Taba
Hilton Taba Resort And Nelson Village
Hilton International Taba
Hilton Taba Hotel Nelson Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing