We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good snorkelling trip”

Salah El-Din Castle
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good snorkelling trip”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We went on a good snorkelling trip from here. The best of the snorkelling was just off the island where this castle is. The sea was beatifully clear in a great location. It was very welcome break from the tedium of Taba Heights.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK...”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The castle is really small fortifications off of the Taba / Sinai coast line from medieval times. It is more "patched-up" than completely restored, but it does offer a pleasant "elevated" view of the both sides of the Aqaba gulf. It is a dry "outpost" with virtually no facilities whatsoever, so, if you're not set-up with supplies on your vessel, make sure you come prepared with food / drinks.

The boat which took us from Aqaba for the day trip did land us directly onto the small pier from which we made the foot-walk around the small island, although we did see another boat which anchored further out in the waters and let off its passengers to swim / snorkel in its vicinity without setting foot on the island, so I'm guessing that you need advance clearance from the authorities (there were two or three customs officials / security guards who greeted us on the pier).

The snorkeling / scuba is decent (clear water with a good variety of brain / fan and fire corals) but not exactly spectacular, and it was pretty much "bleached" (whited out) with little marine life compared to other spots I've been to in the area off of the Taba Hights hotel stretch, Sharm el-Sheikh and some parts of Aqaba Gulf, and the truely amazing and best kept secret of Red Sea (thankfully off-premise to most human intruders due to visa restrictions and what have you) on the northern coast of Saudi Arabia (Haqel and really, the entire coast to the north of Dubaa which I accidentally stumbled upon with some friends from Tabouk years ago).

All in all, it was good for a lazy day trip, but I wouldn't make it as a main destination... Your better choice would be the attractions closer to Dhahab, Ras Mohammad, and of course Taba / Sharm / El-Joonah.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarshiha
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good diving site”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We wend scuba diving to see the corals and fish with the children via boat. All my children enjoyed the scuba diving experience even my 6 years old

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mograbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“dont go!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

this place dont have nothing to ofer you desert iland
the boat stop fare away from iland and you must go by small boat
the are nothing in the iland no food no drink only in the boat people ho want suimming can jump from the boat but you dont come to suim in boat the tour is 50 minute but the boat spend more t
the time there.
the price for the toor is expensive dont go !!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonigabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great snorkelling!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We took a boat trip from Taba which stopped at the Island for snorkelling, they do not go on to the Island but the guide was very informative about the history of the Island and the castle. The water is crystal clear, with fantastic visibility for about 25 ft! Great for swimming and snorkelling, you will see some amazing fish and coral.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Luck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salah El-Din Castle also viewed

 
Taba, Red Sea and Sinai
Taba, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Salah El-Din Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing