We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Taba Heights
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Taba Red Sea(Taba)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,535)
Filter reviews
3,535 results
Traveller rating
2,250
834
289
95
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,250
834
289
95
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotus bartaba heightsfishplaza roomother hotelsrecreation teamsea viewbedouin tentgreat holidaypastasaudi arabiarestaurant managermain restaurantgolf coursesecond homesea watermanagement team
Filter
Updating list...
1,690 - 1,695 of 3,535 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2011

After our previous stay about 3 years ago, we had decided we would never stay at this hotel again. Then my wife read some good reviews on tripadvisor, so we booked our 2 week stay from where we have just returned.
All the bad points, and there were many have been completely turned round. On our previous visit things had got so bad, a senior trouble shooter from Sofitel had been sent to sort out all the problems. It's obvious he had done his job.
Clean, comfortable, good food, 'very pleasant and friendly staff', in fact only a couple of small niggles.
The main bar is still very disappointing, it's noisy and not very comfortable, the sort of bar you would find in a 2 star hotel or a run down pub.
Also, why no beach bar, most other hotels in Egypt have a beach bar and one at this hotel would be a great idea.
My main moan is the none enforcement of the rules regarding the coral reefs.
Warning signs are everywhere re not walking on the coral and yet when people did, nothing was done even when the hotel staffs attention was drawn to this irresponsible behavior.
If the reefs go, so do the fish, followed by the tourists.
I was also disappointed with the prices of trips that our booking company Tompson had in their list. Most had increased in price by about a third in the 3 years since our last visit, but that of course is no reflection on the hotel.

Still, as said just a few niggles, (though the damage to the coral reefs annoyed me so much I had a couple of stand up augments with these irresponsible idiots).
A great 2 week stay. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Another enjoyable visit to the Sofitel. Every one friendly and helpful especially Mr Hammady-Front office, Mohammed Badaway-quiet pool and Diva -restaurant. We have stayed ay the others but this is the best hotel in Taba. Evening entertainment limited . However ,an extra comfortable sitting area in the evening( which we understand is being organised) would make this the perfect place for a relaxing break. There is even a free book exchange system. Exchange money at the on site bank for a better rate than UK. Internet expensive. Local phone card can be bought which gives calls to uk at 20p per minute.
Thanks everyone . We shall be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We have just returned from a seven day holiday at the Sofitel, Taba Heights and must say that everything we hoped for in our holiday became a reality. Mainly we were looking for a quiet, get away from it all break with some nice sunshine in a good, clean location, nice food and decent staff .

Being by our own admission a little bit picky we always prepare for something to be not quite right or not as detailed by the holiday company, on this occasion however, even we were unable to find anything that raised any real concerns during our stay.

From a nice, on time flight out of Birmingham, an efficient transfer of about 45 minutes from Taba airport (small, basic and remote with not many facilities) to a friendly greeting on arrival at what was a very attractive looking hotel, everything went smoothly. The resort location is in the middle of nowhere and is part of a very modern and high quality complex. Once through one of the frequent security checkpoints you initially go through what is called the Uptown area which hosts a fairly new looking complex of bars and shops as well as a golf resort and what looked like a beautiful 18 hole golf course. Travelling another mile or so you arrive at the location of two or three other hotels including the Sofitel, there was also a Marriot and a Hyatt all directly lead to the large, clean and wonderful sandy beach just yards away.

Check in was fast and friendly and our room perfect in location and condition, we stayed in building one which to us seemed the best location not too far from the main facilities and overlooking the pool, there were two other main blocks and none were really that remote. Most of the rooms have a sea view and being on the top floor of four, ours was superb. Apart from the bed being slightly hard and the pillows not great the only other minor amusement was the shower head which had the mind of a viper until the water pressure came through, everything else in the room was spot on, plenty of wardrobe space, a fridge, a safe which pleasingly you don't pay extra for, good aircon, some English TV channels and a nice balcony. Room cleaning was good, we left £1 per day tip which ensured everything was left nice and clean each time.

Everywhere in the hotel was spotless, toilets included, the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained, lots of staff working all day to keep it looking well. During the first part of our week it was very quiet and not full, whether reports of the recent troubles has put people off we weren't sure but over the weekend with it being school holidays it filled up quite rapidly with lots more children around for which there are great facilities.
Certainly in our stay there was nothing to concern us and the area is well away from where the unrest was.

Across the bay you can see Jordan and Saudi Arabia and you are not far from Israel either. From the Sinbad Tower on the complex there were some fantasic views of the mountains and the bay, especially sunrise and sunset.

Lots going on in the day if you want with volleyball, aqua classes, gym, health club, sauna etc but for us, we just wanted to relax. Plenty of sunbeds available although these soon filled up particularly around the large pool area. We spent most of our time on the beach where fixed windbreakers and parasols are set out across a long stretch of the beach which was cleaned daily. Sun loungers are comfortable and included in the cost, towels changed every day if you wanted to.

Sunrise around 5.30am and very pleasantly warm, became hottest between 11.00am and 1.00pm before setting around 5.00pm, some nice breeze too. Lots of cold water machines spread around where you could fill up although they provide two free bottles of water a day in your room.

Food was generally very good with lots of choice in the main dining area with also a snackbar available during the day, there is an Asian restaurant on site but this is at additional cost. All inclusive drinks menu was a little bit restricted but sufficient.

One of the most enjoyable aspects were the staff. In the hotel they are mainly are male and I have to say, whilst appreciative of tips which we happily provided at the end of our week, they were not at all intrusive or lingering for money - they seemed so very friendly and genuine, welcoming from right from reception, to maintenance, bar and restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them, indeed we both commented that on occasions when we wanted something there was never any hesitancy or maybes, the answer was always yes, really refreshing. We felt so valued as holidaymakers as well as customers and there were lots of smiles from staff who seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. They were proud of their country and their hotel and it showed. They also seemed very positive towards the British people and our cultures as well as wanting to tell us about their ways and customs. They spoke very good English which was also a help.

The resort was popular also with the French and apart from several queue dodgers everyone seemed to get along fine.

A word for our travel rep Steve from Thomson / First Choice, he was excellent, from arranging a brief but very precise and informative welcome meeting to being around throughout the week he was very reassuring without us ever having to use him. He was very efficient on the return transfer also.

Nightlife was a little quiet in the hotel and the entertainment was not on for too long each night but there was plenty of space to sit and enjoy a drink and there was also music on. There was a small pool room also at a small additional charge. If you wanted to travel out at night you could take the small courtesy bus (Cattle truck) which ran between the other hotels and the Uptown complex every half an hour, lots of security on the gates of each hotel which was reassuring. Friday night there was a festival with a couple of acts in the square which were excellent although on another visit on the Saturday night the area was deserted. We think this was because it was still quite new, there were some beautiful bars and restaurants (Indian, Mexican....Belgian) but no customers. Once this area becomes more established it will be fine but it is still quite new.

A couple of small tips, sterling is very popular with a good exchange rate of almost one pound to ten Egyptian pounds from the bank on site which is open all day, you could travel over with pounds and change them there easily, they also take sterling if you are out and about. In addition, we were able to use the health club for a shower and change before we came away late afternoon, you can extend your room but at extra cost.

On our return to the rather sparse airport the staff there were a touch surly and of different approach to what we had become accustomed but no major issue.

Overall we would rate our holiday in Taba as one of the very best we have had and we would love to return. It is a bit quiet and remote in some ways and ideal for couples but kids are also well catered for. The weather was perfect apart from a couple of short cloudy spells, normally around 30 degrees but comfortable for getting a nice tan. We were told it gets much hotter between June and September and a lttle bit uncomfortable.

We loved it and would be happy to recommend a visit to this fantastic resort.

Neil and Sarah - Worcestershire

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Neil015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Our 4th trip to the Sofitel-you always wonder if you should have booked somewhere else but as always we were glad we hadn't. It was like going back to see old friends. It's a sign of how happy the staff are there as we see so many of the "old" facesThe welcome was fantastic. There is a different chef to last year but he was previously at Sofitel and it's obvious why they wanted him back. Great choice of food and always beautifully presented. Just what is needed after a British winter-two weeks of beautiful Egyptian sunshine and hospitality. The Sofitel is the best hotel by miles at Taba Heights and this is borne out by the empty sunbeds at the other hotels.
The snorkelling was great-highlights masked pufferfish and amazing octopus
Roll on next year

Room Tip: If you have a problem speak to the staff-they arel
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebishop_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Wonderful holiday.All staff were friendly and helpful.Everywhere was spotlessly clean.Our room was spacious and the bathroom had a super walk in shower.Location is quiet but suited us as we just wanted to chill out.Fantastic beach and pools,especially the quiet pool.Food good.Just can't praise hotel enough!
Also like to mention Longwood rep Russell.So knowledgeable and such a nice guy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottieWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews