We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Hull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Sofitel Hotel is just perfect for relaxation, couldn't fault it at all. Would certainly go back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms either look out to sea or over look the beautiful gardens. No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    804
    275
    87
    63
See reviews for
864
1,787
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Only just returned after a great weeks , stay .[ 27th march - 3rd april ] .

This was our 1st visit to Egypt , so we were very unsure and sceptical whether we would like it , and what to expect .
We need not of been , has everything at the sofitel was so so good .The
hotel was busy apparently 80% full .

Firstly the hotel , rooms , pools and grounds are all excellent , especially the quite pool area inbetween block 2 and 3 , where we spent most of our break [ travelled has a couple no children ] has we only wanted some sun and rest , and this is exactly what we got . A special mention to Sinda the barman who looked after us every day , so chatty and friendly in his job , thanks so much.

Secondly the food and drinks were generally very good , we dined at the main aladdin restaurant every day and there was always plenty of choice . Variuos breads and salads and sweets available , fresh omeletes/eggs and pasta cooked at your request every day . On the odd evening there was sometimes a limited choice of hot food for us english but i think this is because the hotel caters for so many nationalities . Overall the food was v,good . I must say the service was excellent and all the staff in the Alladin restaurant were a credit to the hotel , we were always seated quickly , drinks always replenished [ the wine was a desired taste tho ]plates cleared quickly , all staff always friendly and smiling , just like the uk , not ?.
We did dine one evening at the a la carte L;ASITIQUE for my husbands birthday , and again the sevice was very good but the food was excellent , sushu , steak and seabass flambee , all cooked by the wonderful chef Mohammed , thanks for a great evening . IT MUST BE TRIED even though its not part of the all inclusive deal , roughly cost about £50 for 2 includig drinks .
The all inclusive drinks were generally good and plentyful
The grounds and overall upkeep of the hotel are excellent , the views are so good .
The rooms were very clean , large beds but quite basic , We did email the hotel prior to our arrival for a non smoking room and a sea view and this is exactly what we got , stayed on the 4thfloor of block 2 , quite close to reception with beautiful views , thanks again .

Thirdly but not last , thanks to all the wonderful team / staff at the sofitel for making our stay so enjoyable , you certainly deliver , we can see why and understand why this hotel is so busy when the others are quiet .
I would highly recommend this hotel ang give it a 4.5 star rating and would return in the future .
,

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 2 for sea views , block 3 for the quite pool area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Been to Egypt five times now and this hotel compares very favourably. Very clean, good food which varied and excellent staff. The resort is isolated so few attractions nearby; ideal for total relaxation. We stayed for 2 weeks with Thompson and fitted in trips to Jerusalem and Petra.
If you want to see Petra at leisure take a two day trip; we booked at the Three Corners shopping centre (free ride there on the shuttle bus) next to the pharmacy where the 2 days with hotel was only slightly more than the Thompson day trip.
The hotel was not blessed with too many Russian guests so the ambience was markedly better than many resort hotels.
Beach is sandy with some rocks so take or buy reef shoes; snorkelling is OK around the coral.
You are made welcome and appreciated; Mohammed even had G&Ts lined up ready as we came into the bar!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Sofitel Hotel is great 'get away from it all' for all ages. We have just enjoyed our fourth trip, and it just gets better. Rooms are clean and very well maintained. Food is excellent, can't fault anything. Staff - are the friendliest you could encounter, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Weather is always brilliant. Management - is now very friendly and they try to get to know their guests. It is an hotel to choose if you want to relax and be looked after, but also enjoy some daytime pool activities, and evening entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but we particularly enjoy paying extra for a Plaza Room. Suites are also availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

A revisit to a holiday hotel is unusual for me, but I did just that here! So why this hotel?

Three really good reasons:

1) Winter sun, both trips I took in the last week of November the start of December 2010 & 2100 and my tolerance of the UK climate has just about taken all it can by then.

2) Price

3) The hotel

You will hopefully want to know what is good about this hotel and why should you book the Sofitel and not one of the other hotels in Taba Heights. I will list below what I found to be good points and some points that maybe could do with a little attention, they will be honest and if you read them you can then get a feel compared to the other hotel reviews, and hopefully make the right choice for you.

> Cleanliness: the hotel on both trips has been spotlessly clean. I really can't fault it.

> Rooms: large rooms, beds comfortable, TV, balcony (I think most have some sort of sea view), safe, bathroom is of good size and basic tea and coffee facilities

> Food: I found the standard of the food to be good and varied, but I also know this a very personal opinion. If you like salads you are in luck, they have a great variety to choose from at every meal time. Main courses are varied and themed, but if you are not keen on the theme, lets say asian, you could have freshly prepared pasta. I really do think they cater for for everyone. Desserts are plentiful and varied, small pastries, fruits and larger cakes. Finally breakfast, again a wide variety. Breads, pastries, meats, salads, freshly prepared omelettes etc.
I think the secret to dining here is to try and avoid putting too many things on your plate, I know that sounds like very simple advice but when you are presented with lots of choice it is very easy to put lots of things together that really shouldn't be together and you end up with a plate of mess! Inevitably you will feel like you haven't had a real meal, I know as I fell into this trap.

> Beach: Clean and never any problems finding a lounger, this could be the time of year i visited. Staff do come by and ask if you would like a massage, papers etc but they only ask once listen to your reply and politely respond.

> Sea: The sea is wonderful to snorkel in and holds plenty of fish for you to be amazed at. Entry to the sea is either from a jetty or from the beach at designated points. It can be choppy (time of year?) the water isn't very deep half way along the jetty (4ft at a guess), so if you are a little nervous about going in you could try this point to build confidence and there are plenty of fish there too.

> Weather: I can only comment on the time I travelled, if you travel in November / December time I would advise taking something a little warmer for the evenings as it can be a little cold. In the day expect lovely days, on both occasions I was there it was around 24 - 26C

Gym: Plenty of aerobic equipment treadmills, Xtrainers, bikes and also a separate room for weights. I thought it was very reasonable for a hotel.

What areas could it improve on?

> The area that serves snacks and drinks (not the restaurant) throughout the day can get busy and on both occasions I visited this was the case, and on both occasions the staff levels seemed to be too low. You can wait a long time to get a drink here as this is where people go from the beach, and similarly if you decide to snack rather than go to the restaurant timing your visit is essential and a minefield.

> Tea and coffee in your room. I boiled water in the kettle from the tap and the coffee tasted terrible! When I spoke to someone about this I was informed not to drink the water from the taps even if boiled as it is desalinated water and contains impurities that are not removed through boiling.. I don't know if this is correct but boiling bottled water certainly cured the problem.

That is about it, I hope this review is of use to you and helps you make a more informed decision about where to stop in Taba Heights.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trustedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Currently waiting for a table at The Aladdin or Mediteranean Resaurants at the Sofitel Taba Heights. Second night here and hotel full as its Easter week. The Hotel need to provide more dining areas. Quite a long wait already half an hour. To think this is the normal through a busy summee, dont think my stomach could cope. Will let you know if it tastes as good as it smells.

Room Tip: It you want to eat early as soon as the restaurants open at 6pm or just before they close at 10 then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof3Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautifully presented hotel, very clean and well maintained. The rooms were spotless and had large walk-in showers, tea/coffee facilities and bottled water in the fridges. All the staff we encountered, from check-in to the beach towel guy, were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. Have been to all-inclusive resorts before where trying to get a drink was a nightmare, no such problems here, and it was nice to be able to drink wine with our meals. The food was very good, there was plenty of choice to cater for most people and they were happy to prepare something specific if you didn't like anything on offer. They also offered the dine-around option so you could eat in other hotels along the beach with 24 hours notice. Plenty of comfy sunbeds and a lovely quiet pool area with it's own bar if you want to get away from the noise of the main pools and animation teams. Entertainment was pretty low key (not a bad thing). A great place to completely chill-out.

Room Tip: Block 3 is set back further from the beach and main public areas so the rooms are very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyandLou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#9 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
9.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing