We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Taba
romford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Went to Sofitel in May this year for the first time. The hotel welocome is excellent and the thomson rep is there when you want her and not when you dont. No hard sell. Rooms are first class and restrurant and well set out. Food is good for Eygpt with always something to eat. You must try tht asiatique restruant. Chem Mammmod is entertainment on its own cooking infront of you your meal. Prices are very reasonable.two pools one of them quite which it is.

It was that good we have booked to go back in November this year. What better recomendation can you get.

hebra the guest relations manager works tireless to ensure stay is first class. She derseves an award. Nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: Block 3 level 34 or 4 far end, these have sea views which you do not pay suplement for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,197
    816
    275
    89
    63
See reviews for
883
1,797
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford le Hope, Essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Sofitel at Taba heights is a lovely looking hotel although parts are looking a tad tired. The checkin was quick and efficient, the room clean and large with a working fridge and tea making facilities, fresh towells every day and a complimentary bottle of water.
Prior to the holiday I had asked for a cake and flowers to be in the room on arrival as it was my girlfriends birthday (cost had been arranged by e:mail prior to holiday). Sadly these were not there when we arrived. The next day I asked at reception and they said they will look into it, but did not until we saw the guest relations lady later in the holiday after filling in a questionair. To be fair we did get the flowers and cake in the end (10 days late) and a complimentory Spa session as an apolegy.
Some of the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpfull others were rude, offish and ignorant. I asked for an iced cofee at the beach bar (as I had seen someone else get served with one) the waitor ignored and totally dismissed me, served someone else then after turned to me and "this is not on the menu". The barman in the Lotus was very similar, rude and ignorant, when the guest relations lady caught up with us because of our comments on her survey she assured us the attitudes will change and gave the excuse of Ramada. To our embarrasment the waiters apolegised in person (I would have thought these surveys would be anonymous).

The food was good, varied and tasty as we were a group of 4 adults we started off using the Adults only restaurant (only 2 restaurants). It soon became apparant that children were allowed in, as this restaurant is basically used as an overflow from the main one. We stopped using this reataurant because on a couple of occasions some of the food had ran out by 8:30 and the staff were setting tables up for breakfast around our ears at 9pm.

If you tip you will get better service, a couple of quid will ensure a bed near the pool and some service to your table when your drink is empty. Tips are liked so much that we caught one of the waiters slighly raiding the communial tips container in the overflow reataurant when no one was looking!

Entertainment was ok, the animation team was pretty low key. fire eater was excellent though and the whirling Dervish was also good.

We took a Snorkel trip which was a good day out and worth the money.

We also used the free bus to go into town a few times and ate in the indian there one night, this was a nice meal although expensive. The town is much cheaper for your medicines, cigs etc.

Snorkelling was good, not loads to see but enough.

We all got ill but we kind off expect this for Egypt.

This is a nice hotel which is kept clean but was not what we expected from a Sofitel, we would not go back although we had a good time.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view, but it was so hot sitting on the balcony was out of the question
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comment that we appreciate and we take as an encouragement to be better.
I noticed that the check in ,the cleaning less, the food, entertainment and snorkeling were up to your expectations .You were disappointed because after confirming to you cake and flower in your room on arrival we did not deliver them .As you also said our guest relation officer ,when realized ,apologized and delivered them immediately and also offered you some compensation .I will again apologize on behalf of all the management , we are sorry and we are not used to forget .You were also surprised that immediately after your comment about one staff ,member not being professional with you than we rectify immediately .All the guest questionnaires are read by me personally and actions are taken to correct when we have to .This is our way to maintain the quality and the standing of our hotel . We informed our guest that tipping our staff to book sun beds is not allowed not fair and can expose the staff to be disciplined but some of them prefer to do so and this difficult to control but we are working on .Generally our staff are praised for working and not looking for tips and we are sorry that you were witness of this incident in the restaurant ,that we are aware and we corrected already .Concerning the restaurant reserved to adults only , this the case however in rare occasion exceptional authorization is given like in case of sleekness when the family cannot wait if the other restaurant is full and we make sure that the restaurant remains quiet .
We noticed that we had a good time but will not return we are sorry and hope that you will change your mind and that this will not prevent you to come back to Egypt.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just got back from a week at this hotel and feeling quite guilty as filled in a questionaire at hotel on our third day and at that time was comparing with our stays at the hilton de luxe at sharkes bay and also the sol melia cape verde earlier this year. Must say both hotels were xfar more modern and fairly new which made us compere! We unfairly found fault with many things at this time but over the period of our week we found that the sofitel offered so much the amazing views,the size of the hotel and the pool areas especially the sea waterpool were fantastic! ! The staff as everywhere in egypt were brilliant and just make you want to return! ! Must say the thomson /first choice meeting bringing the whole management team together to meet us was a first for us and such a nice touch ! The only downfall we had was our shower
unit which was quite tired looking and mouldy! !!!!but then felt that if nobody had complained
then the hotel was not to know! !!!! Our final thought on the sofitel and would we return ....had we had the opportunity we would have extendended our week to two and YES wecan't
wait to return! !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Prior to our arrival, i was lucky enough to facilitate a move from a twin to a double room(more like a queen bed). The check in was extremely busy but very efficient, you fill in the check in form on the coach and then check in and go and put room tags on your luggage for the bell boys to deliver it to your room. Food was generally very good, indeed we tried the Hyatt Regency(very impressed with the food and set up there) and the Intercontinental(extremely poor level of food there), as a consequence, a lot of Intercontinental guests opted to visit the Sofitel for meals. We didn't see any of the shows so cannot comment on their performances/content, what we did like was that the "Recreation Team" didn't bother us for our participation. This time of year the weather is still very hot(37 degrees in the shade) and we didn't have to rush to get a sunbed as the hotel was only 2/3 full. Luckily, the biggest percentage of guests were French and they were polite and courteous)The staff and manager were all excellent but we found the Thomson Rep spoke too fast and wasnt very proactive. Mohamed (bar waiter) was superb, he'd give us Coffee sachets and milk for the room. Heba(customer services) was very helpful and enthusiastic. We booked a special Tower Meal on our anniversary night but it was like being in a constant hair drier up there (we didnt expect that), unfortunately, the meal itself wasnt that good with the chops and some of the steak very tough(we got a small discount). Heba did organise a special "Spicy Dinner" on another night as an apology(this was a nice gesture and the meal was good too). Other staff worthy of mention: Omar and Walid (main restaurant) Salah(Sultans bar) Sindel (Lotus Bar). There are a few negatives, watch out for the nasty birds around the pools and the Lotus snack area(do not leave food or drink unattended for a second else a bird will gladly devour it for you. I think that they are planning to get mesh nets in the Lotus Restaurant to reduce them). We found that the cocktails were very strong as they arent mixed/shaken very well. We visited Uptown and Waterwold on the Taf Taf(courtesy bus), none of the shops had priced goods even Mario Supermarket. You can hire Snorkel and masks from the hotel but my advice is by a cheap wet at Marios and use them for the holiday, it works out cheaper if you buy them early enough. On the beach Jellies are a MUST. Overall though, we had a fab time and our gratitude goes to Jules-Henri and his team in Taba heights, they justifiy their No1 in Taba status.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will147_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have stayed at the Sofitel many, many times, and each time our holiday betters the previous one - we've stayed 17 times over the last 8 years. You are pampered from the moment you arrive. Your room is spacious and kept really clean and tidy every day. Plenty of food choice, and if there is nothing you fancy the chef will try and find something you do like. The setting is great, as is the weather.
Why do we go so often? Well -
The staff, they are such great people. The manager and all his staff try to ensure that your holiday is as enjoyable as they can make it. The staff are friendly, caring, courteous and efficient, plus you get great service. Nothing is too much trouble. We have made many friends over the years.
We are already planning our next visits.
Thanks Sofitel, see you again soon.

Room Tip: A sea view suits us, but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Would like to mirror what most are saying about this hotel and resort. Overall, a very good hotel set in a small and quiet resort. Not much to do in/out of the resort which adds to the 'feel' of the place in our eyes. Highly recommend Jerusalam. Petra was a rip off....would be cheaper to get own flights and taxi to the place from the UK....ok, slightly over the top lol. We dive, so cant fault the area for it. Saw a whale shark at distance from the boat! Food fine, but repetative. Entertainment crap. Only giving 4* as to me, 5* would be ubber luxury maldives/dubai/seychelles etc etc, in my opinion. Good 4* though. Would recommend the hotel and area to friends, divers and non.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattcorrinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Guest.
We thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about you stay in our hotel .We noticed that over all the experience was positive .You compared us to the Maldives ,Dubai or Seychelles ,we are not trying to compete with such prestigious destinations .Because we do not have the same rates ,the comparison is somehow unfair .we are trying to be the best hotel in the area and provide good service to our customers .The price of the excursion is posted on your TO website , we are sorry that you were not informed before .You can visit 3 countries in one trip for some excursion you have ferries ,bus and customs fees . We hope you will keep a good souvenir of Egypt.
We thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We returned to the Sofitel for our second visit in August (21/08-04/09) and it was just as if we had never left! We were greeted off the coach with a welcome drink whilst we were being checked in. We had emailed the hotel in advance to request inter-connecting rooms in block 3, and were happy to find we had been given rooms on the top floor overlooking the quiet pool, with an excellent sea view, at no extra cost.

This hotel is exceptionally clean. You will always find someone cleaning the pool areas, beach and general hotel area, no matter what time of day and night. Our rooms were also cleaned to a very high standard every day, with clean linen and towels available every day if required. My teenage son appreciated the extra touch of his clothes being neatly folded on the end of his bed!

We found the food to be varied and to be of a very high standard. There was always plenty of choice, and whilst not everything was to our taste, we never went hungry. This year the hotel has introduced a pasta bar. The chefs were always happy to cook you something on request if required.
We can highly recommend the Asian restaurant. This is not part of the AI package, but they do have an offer by which you get a free starter and free side dish. Well worth the visit, and depending on numbers in the restaurant, you may get to be trained by the chef!!!
We also visited the Mexican El Fuego in Uptown, which is part of the Marriott. It is part of the dine around package, so if you book with reception you get either starters or sweet free. This again was excellent food with views over Taba Heights.

The restaurant and bar staff go the extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible and soon remember what you are drinking, or in the case of Wahid, never forgot from last year, as he had our drinks waiting as soon as he saw us entering the bar. A special thanks also to Hind and Ahmed in the restaurant who looked after us on every visit to the restaurant.

The hotel encourage you to let them know what you think, whether it be via feedback forms, the weekly cocktail party or by appraching a member of senior staff who are around and about at every mealtime. We had a chat at the cocktail party and they really are interested on what they can do to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The Sofitel is the place to go if you want a relaxing chillout holiday, there is not a lot else to do other than lie on your sunbed, read your book and enjoy the fish on the coral reefs.

Thank you Sofitel Taba Heights, we will be back.

Room Tip: Top floor block 3 have good views of both the quiet pool and sea, without the premium. Rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmb_himley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Directeur général at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice comment and we are happy to see that your stay was up to your expectations. Our philosophy is trying to anticipate as much as we can the needs of our guest and also react fast .You are now part of the repeaters guests of Sofitel Taba .The number is increasing every day we can have up to 30 rooms per days of repeaters .we have a special cocktail for them and some little touchs
Thank you for returning and we will be looking to see you during your next visit we will be there to deliver the same Sofitel service.
With my best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#9 of 62 in Eilat
903 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing