We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our party of four returned on the 9th Oct after a two week stay at the Sofitel.

Hotel
The hotel looks new, I was told it was built about ten years ago but I don’t know how true that is. It does look in pristine condition and is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The grounds are also very well cared for and you can see a lot of effort has gone into making them look good.
Check in was good especially as there was about 100 people checking in. In no time at all we were given our room number and told to inform the porters before we went to dinner. After dinner we went to our rooms and our cases had been delivered.
Every member of staff that I encountered was smiling, happy and would always say hello. Pictures attached


Rooms
Our room was very spacious with two three seater settees, coffee table, queen size bed and dressing table. Photo attached. It was well decorated and clean with views over the swimming pool and the sea. The bathroom was, in comparison a bit on the dark and dingy side but was large and had a good shower.
There is also tea and coffee making facilities, fridge, which was topped up each day with bottled water, and a safe.

Food and Drink
The food was OK. I always found something I liked but it did get a bit samey. There was always the pasta bar when all else failed. They regularly had barbeques outside which was good. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, eggs anyway you wanted them, chipolata sausages, which were horrible, on occasion grilled tomato’s and mushrooms. As for the continental breakfast there was one cheese and one processed meat. There was loads of salad and fruit though and great bread.
Service in the restaurant was very good and very friendly staff.
At lunchtime you could have a snack, as an alternative, in the Lotus bar which was either pizza or burger with chips but service was slow and the food not that great.
When it came to drink everything was watered down and had very little alcoholic content. We went through 10 cocktails each one day with beers as well and none of us felt like we had had a drink. The cocktails are made with watered down fruit juice and very weak spirits, none were mixed just poured into the glass so, depending on whether you used a straw or not you either got a slug of neat alcohol at the beginning or end of the drink as everything just sat in layers. The wines were awful and I tried the red, white and rose. The soft drinks out of the machine tasted funny and were undrinkable. The beer was drinkable but did taste more like flavoured fizzy water.
The poolside bar was better as the soft drinks were from a bottle and tasted OK.
Some people seemed ok with the drink but I don’t know how.

Pools
There is a main pool which is divided into sections, one being saltwater. This is the livelier pool where all the daytime activities take place. The other pool, which we used was the adult only pool. This was very quite with plenty of beds and brollies. There is a poolside bar here which was very friendly and served the better drinks. All the pools were cleaned daily and the pool area kept very clean. Picture attached

Health
Of our party of four, three were ill for four days. As I said above we used the adult pool and got to know a lot of the people who used it. I would say at least 40% of the people were ill at some stage during the first week. I got speaking to someone who was on his second week and he told us that even more were sick the previous week. Our second week less people got ill. I don’t think it was the food as some people ate anything and were not ill other who were really careful and avoided salads, fruit, ice etc were. The only common factor was the temperature. The week before we arrived the temperature hit 50 degrees, during our first week it reached 40 and our second week mid 30’s.

Location
There is literally nothing around, the hotels, of which there are about four or five are in the middle of nowhere. There is a small town with a few shops and bars and restaurant’s. I can recommend the Mexican if you fancy a change from hotel food and decent drink the Flying carpet is also good. Both are pretty cheap, you get a discount voucher from the hotel. For two people a starter, main course and drinks including cocktails, came to £30.
Some of the trips were cancelled because of the trouble out there at the moment and others that were on were very expensive. The trip to Petra which we wanted to do was going to cost about £500 for two people, the trip to Jerusalem was cheaper at about £260 but still dear for a day trip when we only paid £750 for the holiday. Even the glass bottom boat worked out at £78 for two.

The beach was clean and had plenty of beds and shades and the snorkelling was fantastic.

Overall we had a good time but if I returned I would only go for a week and take some drink from the duty free on the way out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 3,515 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went to Sofitel Taba about two weeks ago.

Room : Very nice and definitely clean (this is for us SOOO important) ! We had a room in building 3 at the far end (I believe it was 3422). Very quiet (which we wanted) and a nice view (even sea-view without paying the extra for sea view !). Television is very modern and has all possible connections to connect your pc to it (to watch movies). If I would have chosen again, I would have taken a room in building 2 at the far end. This is also very quiet (no noise from the pools etc) but the view from those rooms is spectacular (sea sea sea sea :-)) . The interior of those rooms is more outdated than the ones in block 3 and the TV is maybe not as modern but that's a choice you will have to make ! Watch out, if you quickly get tired from walking, then take a room in block 1 or at the beginning of block 2 as block 3 is quite a long distance from everything.

Food : at first sight ok but after a few days it all tastes the same. Quality is definitely good, not a bad word about that. But I expected to have more choise and a bit of change in taste ... In general the lunches were nicer than the dinners. We only took the buffet 3 times. The rest of the times we paid for our dinner in the restaurants of the Taba hotels (the Asiatic in Sofitel, pizza in Hyatt, Flying Carpet in 3 Corners...). For 15 Euro per person (no wine) you can eat very well at those places and moreover in a very relaxed atmosphere (in the buffet restaurant it is noisy, people are rude from time to time etc ....).

Service: ok. People were generally nice and whenever you ask for something, it is done right away (extra pillows, softer matrass etc).

Pools : ok. Although two remarks to the management... When lying at the quiet pool, quietness is expected. 3 days in a row in the early afternoon, we got disturbed by the gardener, mowing the lawn (for as long as 1.5-2 hours). This should be avoided! What I also hated was the fact that -already at 7 am - most of the beds at the quiet pool were already occupied by people who got up early to put their towel on the bed. A lot of times, these beds stayed empty until late in the afternoon. The management should take care of this by setting some rules (e.g. if a bed is empty for 1.5 hour, the towels will be removed).

All in all, good value for money if you like to do nothing for a week (but really NOTHING as Taba is very basic...). If you go there, please go snorkle at the Hyatt. The underwaterworld over there is spectacular !!!!!!!!!!! I went deep sea diving as well but did not see as much as during my snorkle trips at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: We had a room in building 3 at the far end (I believe it was 3422). Very quiet (which we wanted) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwissei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a one week all inclusive holiday at Sofitel, Taba Heights. Fabulous experience. We were welcomed by Ali, Guest Services and Mahe, and their friendly greetings continued throughout our holiday. It was obvious that they and other staff were keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel and its splendid grounds were pristine and our accommodation was spacious, with two double beds and a balcony from which there was a fantastic view of our surroundings. The concierge, reception, banking and housekeeping services were tip-top - all staff members were polite, facilitative and immediately responsive to requests made.

I must mention the quality, variety and presentation of food and beverages, and the courtesy, efficiency and attention to detail shown by Rashed, Walid, Ghada, the many waiters and all the dining room and kitchen staff. Apologies for omissions. I can recommend the Bedouin Night - a bit pricey but worth it.

The Animation Team (Mahe, Heba, Galina and male performers) delivered an enjoyable activity programme. We liked the belly dancers but the male performer of the spinning routine (Tanoura) was awesome! As regards relaxation, there was ample room in the many swimming pools and we didn't have to fight for sunbeds...that's a first!!

A major highlight was the wonderful massages we had. Our masseur (I think her name was Natal) was professional and highly skilled, and the parlour offered a range of treatments and facilities. If you do nothing else whilst at the Sofitel, you need to experience the massage services.

Mina, our Thomson rep, was based at the hotel and easily available. Mr Edouard, hotel manager was highly visible during our stay and made ready conversation. He was keen to ascertain how we felt about the hotel and the service received; I must say that having contact with the manager added a personal touch. He, and other staff members even saw us off when we left.

We felt genuinely cared for on this holiday and received a first class service. We would definitely recommend the Sofitel and are already planning our return!! The hotel experience was excellent but I would use a different travel agent next time - Thomson has great reps and cabin staff but the plane was too cramped.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor, overlooking the beach and sea. We had wonderful views of sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Without wishing to write huge rambling review I want to say THe Sofitel @ Taba Heights is perfect and good value for money.
Some guest who write on here have huge expectations and sadly write scathing reviews, when actually its what they paid for.
5 Star is a recognised global guideline. However the price range for 5 Star is huge.
The attention from staff is most definitely 5 Star. If you ask the questions or discuss the problem they will go out of there way to resolve or accommodate your needs but you do need to let them know......they do not have crystal balls or magic carpets.
Regrading tummy upsets we were all fine that's all 4 of us. However you need to practice good hand sanitation and use the sanitizer and DON'T touch the money ever ever ever.....not the stuff you pick up at you local bank/travel agent in UK it's very very dirty!
Regarding gentlemen at dinner YES chaps pack your smart trousers and make an effort and ladies ditch your shorts and beach dresses and put on your glad rags....all they are asking of you is too make dinner special, your on holiday how many times do you have the chance to dress up to the "the nines" and if some of the reviews on here are grumbling about 5 star make it 5 star with what your wearing. All 5 Stars I have been too insist on evening wear.....I think that some of ladies let there gentlemen down. I have not seen so many smart men in along while quite a lovely sight well done chaps !!!
Regarding Benidorm this critic has obviously not been for a while and watches TV too much. Also a point Benidorm has under gone great investment and is quite beautiful.
Food is good maybe not 5 star however there is only two restaurants.......I love roast and most evenings you have a good
cook dinner with great veg and they have a great go at gravy! There are lots of deserts and the soup is too die for! One last thought about food is on an AI you never get starving so sometimes it's hard to "fancy" something on the menu. Again if you did ask Chef he will do his best to help!
So go with an open mind after all your on holiday so many people are not this fortunate and to be away with friends and family have fun !!! Xxx

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kären J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel! Everything is thought about and delivered in a very professional way.

The staff are on hand every minute to assist and meet your needs. Very professional and caring approach.

The food is tremendous! The thought of a buffet for some meals wasn't top of my list, but the presentation, the choice and the quality was first class.

We ate in the Mediterranean Restaurant and the Asiatic, both also top quality, service and delicious food.

We have already looked into booking for next year as we enjoyed the peace and surroundings so much. This is not the place for a party holiday, which is why we enjoyed it so much. Party people stay away!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALandOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

we stayed at sofitel 25th sept for 2 weeks, sorry but never again, all the cast from the programme, were there, 1 week would have been plenty,food was average with the menu repeated weekly so the second week was boring, i had food poisening in the 1st week not egyptian tummy and in bed for 2 days not even an apology the alcoholic drinks were very poor quality & the plastic glasses at the beach bar were just rinsed out with cold water & re-used,the wifi was infuriating if you didnt use it for a couple of minutes you lost your connection,we found the staff were far more interested in returning guests not new potetial clients.Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers in the restaurant in the evening,this i think is good but it would have been nice to know before leaving home luckily i brought trousers with me some people had not.Sultan bar very dark and dismal there is no lounge bar which i find strange for a 5 * hotel.
On the plus side the pastries were superb,the food was hot,the pools and beach excellent { how do they manage to get towels on the sunbeds so early ? ] there are loads of sunbeds & plenty of space,fresh cold water dispensers dotted every where, the hotel and rooms very clean but perhaps a tad tired.staff were friendly. Overall definately NOT a 5 star hotel, a 4 at most.
Beware the thomson flight is horrendous there is no room at all & if the person in front of you puts their seat back, you might as well commit suicide !!!, Taba Airport is very small, bring food from the hotel for your return journey, i promise you you wont regret it, we did see some people with packed lunches provide by the hotel we were not offered this service.
Perhaps A I holidays arent our thing, other people obviously love the Sofitel,unfortunately we dont !!

Room Tip: we paid for an upgrade, sea view, balcony, king size bed, we had room 1410 on top floor lovley views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marcus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

As a couple we have holidayed at this hotel 5 times(yes 5) . The main reasons being the diving , general hotel quality , friendliness of staff , central for most excursions & peaceful . The rooms are well decorated & comfortable , the pool area & pools are large & well maintained with more than enough loungers around the pool & beach areas . The diving/snorkelling is excellent & as previously stated the area is central for most excursions . The entertainment is ok but pobably the norm for egypt . The only down side for us is the food , not the quality but the choice . There's plenty of salads , desert , breads etc but not many choices for your main meal , however if you ask they will prepare something for you if possible - but should you have to ask in a "5" star hotel ?. However we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday , because like most people we adapt to make sure our holiday experience is a good one , as too many people allow the negatives to dictate the pleasure they get from their vacation .
If you want a good quality , reasonably priced hotel , friendly staff , sun & sea , why not try the Sofitel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
481 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £23 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing