We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just returned from our 4th visit in twelve months. Had a wonderful time, the weather was perfect and it was like going home. Despite all the troubles the staff are utterly charming and professional. They make you feel so special and nothing is too much trouble. it was very quiet throughout Taba, with mainly British holiday makers, but this did not detract from the holiday. The food I thought was even better than last time, with the utterly delightful Head Chef Nader offering to make us what we fancied to eat. Had the most wonderful spa treatments, Thai massage and reflexology, and the best haircut (and the cheapest) I have ever had at Alex's beauty salon. Sayeed Thomson rep was his usual knowledgeable helpful self - we will miss you. We felt totally safe and would go back tomorrow if we could.

Why oh why has Thomson pulled out, have they not read the reviews for this wonderful hotel. I have grown to love Egypt and feel very sad that we won't be able to get our Taba fix unless we fly to Sharm.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaysrusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,201
    818
    279
    88
    63
See reviews for
892
1,796
75
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We've been to this hotel twice and would love to repeat it at any time! The place is great and the pools are nice, very friendly staff and entertainment team is fabulous.
The only downside of the hotel is the buffet, which does offer a wide variety but still lacks quality in most of the dishes, so we always ended up with very limited choices for each meal. the snack bar and the ice cream made up for that, as the kids would substitute lunch for burgers/hot dogs, etc.. and a whole lot of free juices and ice cream.

rooms are clean and I personally loved their style, especially the way bathrooms are divided into three areas. Make sure you take a ground floor room with a patio, they offer excellent access to the pools and other facilities, while offering great view any time.

the kids club is a good change for those who do not spend the entire day swimming, but our kids preferred to swim instead of joining the activities.

The gym is very good and whenever you felt like walking there are long peaceful paths to enjoy a good walk.

We did not take any of the excursions or even leave the hotel during our stay - and that was the best part of it :) everything was available and all we had to do is sit back and relax.

One of the downsides in this hotel (and probably all hotels in Egypt since we faced this in everyone we stayed in so far) is the very expensive internet use. in Sofiel Taba, it was only possible to buy a card and use it at the lobby area only, which added to the inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just got back! Went with Thomson who were great once we got there but customer service prior to departure was the worst I have ever experienced.
The holiday and destination are best described by the following:-
Flight - don't go with Thomson if you are larger than Ronnie Corbett. No free food, to buy a drink I took out a second mortgage and the only entertainment was the old dear that locked herself in the toilet.
Location - secluded (some would say stuck in the middle of nowhere)
Welcome Meeting - Thomson rep obviously always wanted to be on stage. We left after the third hour.
Food - average! Italian night had Italian beef, Mexican night had Mexican beef and French night had French beef - all of which were amazingly similar.
Rooms - big beds in an average size room that have become a little tired.
Pools - don't look to closely at the flakes of dead skin floating in all pools.
Gym - adequate but it was the same temperature as the sauna
Sauna - adequate but the same temperature as the gym
Nightly Entertainment - great if you are the kind of person who enjoys watching paint dry
Day Entertainment - everyday in this order - belly dancing, aqua gym and then volley ball!
All Inclusive Drinks - never was able to taste the difference between the vodka or gin. Also everything stops at 11pm.
Pool restaurant - had a chicken kebab at lunchtime that contained no chicken!@
Mini Bar - two bottles of water a day and nothing else.
Staff - restaurant - good; bar - good; house keeping - good; reps - good; entertainment staff - pests who wouldn't leave our 17 year old niece alone
Sea - good but hotel next door better for snorkelling

In summary - there is a reason why Thomson are no longer going there from November. Taba and the Sofitel Taba has had its day. My tip is to go to Sharm!! We had a great time but put that down more to the company. Also just heard that Longwood have pulled out as well.

Room Tip: If you want a good clean modern room my tip is to go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just come back from the Sofitel taba heights ,what a holiday" total relaxation ".The hotel was fairly quiet because of the current political problems,but the standard of service was at it highest as you would expect from the Sofitel management ,we did not see any signs of problems throughout our holiday and felt totally secure all the time.The weather was great ,sunny every day just relaxing on the sun bed by the side pool with free towels and drinks as and when required ,alcoholic or non alcoholic . The food was always variable and of good quality so there were no problems finding something to suit your requirements ,if there was something you need because of diet reasons ,or any other reason see Rasheed or Mohammed and they will do there best to satisfy your needs "grear pair of chaps" . Outside the hotel there is a great golf course ,18 holes 7100 yards off the white tee"s ,you can play 9 holes if you wish and hire any gear you need also there is a buggy included in there green fee ,play early if you are playing 18 holes , the hotel will ring the golf club when you are ready and they will send transport to pick you up 7-15 start.Back to the hotel facilities there are a wide range of swimming pools one area has mulit pools and there is one area with a quiet pool .sea is lovely and warm great for snorkeling bring your underwater camera you will get some great pictures of the fish and reef ...we will be back next year for our 10th visit ,try it, you will not regret it ,have a great time

Room Tip: There are 3 blocks of rooms .block 1 looks over the multi swimming pool complex and the sea . block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear hairy hat

Thank you for your review

it is always a pleasure having you with us

looking forward to welcoming you back at your second home Sofitel Taba Heights

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We went to the Sofitel on the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed. We had been to Egypt before and stayed in Sharm, the experience in Taba was quite different but equally as good. We went as a family, my husband and I plus our son and daughter in law, we were given a family suite so had adjoining private rooms (1101 & 1102) but shared a lounge area, we were on the ground floor and close to everything with a nice patio area.
The flight with Thomsons was ok, we knew there was no in flight entertainment or food but we had a trouble free flight and took our own food!
We were delayed a little because unfortunately someone's luggage was lost. This caused us to be a little later getting to the hotel. Check in was swift and we were told to head straight down for our evening meal, still plenty of choice despite being late. Our luggage was taken to our room after letting reception know which cases were our. The only niggle we have on our first day is that we then went to get a much needed drink and the all inclusive bar was closed (it closes at 11pm), we had hoped they would allow us a quick drink before bedtime but despite our best efforts they would not bend the rules.
A lot of people have stayed at the Sofitel before, and I suppose as you would expect they are made to feel special, we didn't get quite the same treatment but if we return I am sure they will greet us as like long lost friends. All the staff seem very caring and helpful and genuinely want to do thier best for thier guests. It is a real shame Thomson and First Choice are pulling out and on our visit the hotel was only 25% capacity, this did not detract from our holiday though.
The hotel overall is nice, very clean and everything you need. Our rooms were spacious although we found them a little dark especially when you come in from the bright sun!
The food is plentiful and hot. There was always something I liked despite being a fussy eater! I am not sure why people complain about the food as there is so much choice and its all cooked well and hot. Also plenty of different salads, spoiled for choice! They also have a different theme everyday. I expect if you were there for 2 weeks it would be the same again but then you could not have possibly tried it all!
We loved the fact that you could lounge by the pool but also only be steps from the beach, and of course the snorkelling was brilliant either from the beach or one of the 3 or 4 jetty's. we also did the Red Sea boat trip where there were 3 snorkelling stops. I am not a strong swimmer and not confident out of my depth but the staff were great and I held on to a buoy while the guide pulled us along to the best places to see the fish and coral. Because of the shortage of visitors to the area there were only 8 of us on the boat, we felt like VIP's! We were glad we had not payed the extra for the VIP cruise.
My husband and son also did the quad biking which they really enjoyed, again there were only 4 of them!
I hope I have given a fair review and we would go again and recommend it to others. We hope that Thomsons and First Choice will think again about pulling out?

Room Tip: Only half the hotel rooms were open but we were in 1101 & 1102 on the ground floor, lovely and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhuman700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time spent to write this review, it was a great pleasure having you with us and very happy to hear that our services have met with your expectations

looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Taba Heights

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Only just joined up with Trip advisor hence he review so late.

Me and my partner stayed here in August 2011 and it was lovely.
The hotel was very grand looking from the outside and wasn't anything short of 5star on the inside.
We went all inclusive at this hotel for the simple fact that it was cheap, we paid £1200 for 7 nights all inclusive which included private transfers, we found this very good value for money.
Upon entering the hotel we quickly got checked in and was shown to our rooms.
We went for a room with he poolside view was lovely and we were quite high up, the room was clean and fresh everything you'd expect a 5star hotel to be.
We felt the bathroom was a little dated and maybe could of had an update to keep it looing fresh and modern apart from that the room was fab.
As I mentioned we went all inclusive, the selection of food was great and the breakfast lunch, dinner service was really good from the minute you went into the restaurant to the minute you left, the only problem we had was dodgy stomachs for three nights, were not sure if it was our stomachs that were weak or it the food hadn't been washed properly(salads etc) or if it was the meats that didn't agree with us so just drink plenty of water and be aware.
We ate out a few times and the service again was fantastic but the meat just wasn't the same as home, the chicken lamb beef all tasted different and didn't quite taste the same as it has on other holidays.

The pool area was nice, it was always clean, infact every night while we was there it got cleaned, there were three pools to choose from, one was a kids pool, then there were two adult pools, one filled with sea water and one with normal water, both were a pleasure to swim in.

The hotel seemed well looked after as it always seemed to have people cleaning in the lobby are and people re painting the pillars to keep it looking fresh and clean.

Overall I would say Sofitel was excellent especially for the money we paid, if your going to stay anywhere in Egypt then choose Sofitel.

Thanks Sofitel for a brilliant 7 nights!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySingh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel (fifty minute transfer from airport) we was guided straight to the check in. This was a quick and easy process and within two minutes had our key. This was a very smooth process considering three coaches arrived at the same time all from Gatwick. Before we left we had emailed a request for a ground floor room this was fulfilled and we was given a ground floor room in block three. We was then guided to the restaurant after showing staff our suitcases who told us they would be delivered after dinner. I've noticed some people mentioning they would prefer to see the room before dinner although we was tired if they had let me see a bed I wouldn't have gone back out for dinner.

Our room was in block three looking out on the quiet pool. This pool is adult only and is perfect for relaxing. There is a pool bar where you can get water and tea and coffee from machines as well as all fruit juices etc. Towards the end of the holiday the bar man started walking around the pool giving out drinks. This was definitely a good idea especially given how quiet it was. On our first week there was only around ten people sitting around this pool. The towel man comes and gives you towels as soon as we stepped off the terrace. As we was ground floor we had the bonus of leaving open the patio doors all day and could walk in and out of the room for use of toilet etc.

The restaurant service is good and I had no issues of stomach upset like experienced elsewhere in Egypt. I felt unwell on one day (not related to the hotel) and had staff volunteering herbal teas and trips to the pharmacy. They spent the next two days checking up on me. The food is bland but they are trying to appeal to a large group of people. By the end I had more than enough of chicken so they cooked me some chips.

The beach is stony and you will need some beach shoes. It is very quiet and sunbed are easy to find anywhere at any time in the day. You can walk down the pier for the fish. There is a lot of coral so difficult for swimming. The local town is a ghost town as most hotels are empty or shut due to the problems in Cairo. The days we went only two shops were open. They don't really harass to see their shops either seems they have given up.

Overall I had a lovely relaxing holiday. It's a shame Thomson have pulled out of Taba as this is a lovely break from places like Sharm. It's hours away from Cairo and I felt safe at all times whilst there. Guest relations Heba is very good at her job. She was aware of everything going on in the hotel and actively looks for feedback on the hotel and guests noticed changes they suggested in the time they where there. I also had no staff being over friendly asmis quite common in other areas. Staff are very respectful. I would definetly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor in block three for quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubble07Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Melony Hotel
Melony Hotel
#41 of 62 in Eilat
89 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing