We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break to Taba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for a week from the 9th October 2013, my partner and i were celebrating our birthdays and had notified the hotel prior to our stay. The guest relations manager had arranged a nice room for us with a birthday cake on arrival. A very nice touch!

We arrived with lots of British guests, we were all checked in quickly and our bags taken to our rooms. A nice swift check in is just what you need after travelling!

There are 2 pools, one large for families and a quiet pool. We came on holiday for some R & R so stayed by the quiet pool along with most Brits! On the first day a child was by the pool making a LOT of noise. We along with some other guests did comment on this to the pool man and guest relations manager and for the remainder of the holiday the pool remained a nice relaxing place to be!

You can make your own coffee by the pool from 11am, and can order any drink from the pool bar which was great! The pool barman was always so cheerful!

The food here was nice enough, just what you get anywhere in Egypt. It was better the first 2 days before the huge influx of Java holiday makers. The puddings were really nice, i found my self eating less dinner and more sweet!

It was Ede which made the hotel full to capacity, with many large families, lots of unruly children who would pile 4 plates of food each and leave most of it. Since they arrived the restaurant food had become very carb based! Bread, rice, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, pasta but there was always something we liked, meat and veg and lots of salad.

Because of the celebrations the hotel went to an extra effort to ensure we all had a relaxing stay, the opened another restaurant for non children families which was a really nice touch! We had 2 waiters that looked after us really well. Always remembering which drinks we liked.

The bar was nice, two good bar tenders who went out of their way to make me cocktails that they thought i may like, always serving crisps and nuts alongside the drinks too.

The entertainment in the evenings was awful! We only went to one show and that was enough!

My partner loves to snorkel and said the fish were amazing, with lots of different coloured ones.

The only negative thing i have to say really is about Taba as a resort and not the hotel! There is a mountain there which means at 3.30 the sun has gone! The sun does not set until 6pm in October, yet the mountain stole it at 3.30. We just relaxed with a cocktail before getting ready for diner.

All in all a lovely holiday, not the best in Egypt. See my other reviews. A lovely relaxing break, but next time i think we will stick to Hurgarda to have more sun!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this beautiful hotel. Four adults travelled and prior to arriving i had emailed the hotel asking for a higher room and near to each other. The hotel staff acknowledged my email almost immeidately and upon check in we were given rooms about 4 doors from each other.

Check in was efficient and no hassle. Three coaches arrived at once (I think that must have been everyone on the Thompson Flight) but the hotel are clearly very experience at this and simply have you fill in your registration form on the coach. When you arrive you provide your registration form to the reception staff who allocate your room. You identify your luggage to the conceriege and go off to enjoy dinner. By the time you have had your meal - your luggage has been delivered to your room. So easy.

On arrival we were told that it was Eid. Wish i had checked prior to travelling as the hotel was at full occupancy and unfortunately many of the guests were unrully and loud and i know its a british thing, but totally incapable of queueing. The hotel did all they could to deal with this surge in number. They laid on an adult only dining area. Provided additional sun beds around the pool and kept apologising for the other guests. As mentioned in other posts, this is no criticism of the hotel.

By friday the hotel had returned to a very low level of occupancy. Nice for the guests - but such a shame for the hotel.

Every single member of staff that you interacted with would go out of thier way to help you or ensure you were enjoying your holiday.

Staff in the bar would begin preparing your drinks as soon as you entered the bar. In fact we began to play a game of trying to get to the bar and order a different drink before it was being served - but failed on most occasions.

My only criticism of the hotel would be that the food was very repetative. However the food was well prepared and always something on offer that even the fussiest of diners (my dad) could find to eat. No upset tummies by anyone in our party.

As mentioned by many other posts Sayed is the most friendly and kind and entertaining hotel rep that i have had the pleasure of meeting. Such a knowledgable guy on the local area and always willing to spend time to give you a bit of history.

We stayed in 1414 and had a goregous view of the main pool and Red Sea. Room was huge and the bed massive and extremely comfortable and was kept immacutely clean.

The whole of Taba Heights is extemely safe and many miles away from any of the troubles. If you can, you must go to this beautiful hotel and support them.

Hope to become one of the many returning customers

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Wonderful week away with friends, We had a gorgeous room over looking the main pool it was really peaceful and quite even with the hotel full for Egyptian celebrations for a few days. Food was plentiful and varied Staff where very helpful and always asking if everything was ok , the weather was fantastic We will return .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roseSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent 2 weeks here early October. There are no safety issues in the area.
Flight as expected with Thomson with no frills.
Transfer was smooth to the hotel with 105 guests booking in at the same time.
I had room 3101 was is ground floor near the quiet pool with the added benefit of having wifi. The wifi was a pain in that almost every time you wished to use it you had to reenter the log on details, Walk off your patio and you are at the quiet pool.
Room was acceptable nothing fancy but spacious for 2 and the power shower always had hot water (shower gel, soap and shampoo provided).
The quiet pool has a bar and big mo will sort your sunbeds out for you every morning.
Weather was fantastic each day.
The staff are all hard working and always willing to help. No request felt to much.
I normally have a massage while on holiday however in this instance I did not due to what it would have cost (expensive).
The only thing for me that let the hotel down was the food it was not 5 star. It was the same options every night almost - pasta, rice, a beef stew, some chicken pieces, a potatoe dish etc. Although dishes changed they were still very similar every night. Other guests who had visitied previously told me the standard had dropped from their previous visits). The food was not bad just to little variation day by day for both myself and the wife.

It is a pity that the hotel no longer has a UK main holiday firm supplying holidays as Thomson have now finished flights to Taba as it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: Want a quiet room ask for building 3. If you plan to use the quiet pool ask for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsLynnIJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just returned from the most wonderful relaxing 2 weeks staying at the Sofitel, Taba. Was concerned about the situation regarding security in Egypt, but my fears were totally unfounded as the airport and resort were completely safe to travel to.

The flight, Tom 726 from Gatwick was on time, with no problems whatsoever. I won't mention the lack of food choice etc that Thomsons now instigate, as this has been mentioned by almost everyone using them, but to be honest, the flight was fine. Taba Airport is tiny and capable of handling only a single flight at a time, which in practice is what it does, and works very efficiently. In fact from landing to boarding our coach was at the most 45 minutes.

On arrival at the Sofitel, we were checked in very efficiently, and were able to get a meal in the restaurant, before meeting our luggage outside our room. Our room was 3102 on the ground floor in block 3, which Ok, didn't have a sea view, but overlooked the 'quiet pool' which was lovely. We benefited from free WiFi in the room which was a bonus. The quiet pool is where we spent the majority of our days, and were lucky that the pool attendant Mohammed, was able to erect our sun umbrella and have our towels reserved on our loungers every morning for us.

Our trip coincided with the festival of Eid, which was the only down side of the holiday, and not the hotel's fault. I will be checking my calendar before booking next time to ensure that this does not happen again! The hotel became overrun with noisy, rude, and un-polite guests which even the hotel staff became frustrated with. Once the madness returned to normal, we were able to relax again. All members of staff went out of their way to ensure you felt like royalty. Special mention to Heba ( the customer relation advisor ) who was superb.

Breakfast, lunch and supper were all fine and we had no upset tummies. The food is a little repetitive, but you do get what you paid for, and I think criticism by others is a little unfair. There was never a meal where we felt there was nothing that took our fancy.

My partner needed a wheelchair to get around, and the hotel was superb for wheelchair access. Every bedroom block had a lift, so no rooms were inaccessible for wheelchair users, and all areas of the hotel had ramps so that getting around was easy, well it was for her.....I was the one pushing!!!!!!!

We went on the VIP Cruise which was a delightful day out. All food and drink on board were included, as was 3 separate stops for snorkelling. The crew on board were great, and helped everyone, especially the weaker swimmers.

Another special mention must be made for Sayeed, the Thomson rep. In all our previous holidays, he is the best rep we have ever had the pleasure in dealing with. Being Egyptian may have helped, as his local knowledge was second to none, but moreover, his warmth and attention to detail to ensure that your stay was as good as it could be, made him stand out from the crowd. I hope the guests staying at his next posting in a few weeks will echo my opinion and give him the recognition that he deserves.

It is a shame that Thomsons have now pulled out of this resort, but judging by the half full flight out, I can understand their reasoning behind it. Hopefully another large tour operator will step into their shoes, I for one would definitely return to this hotel and taking into account other reviews, there would be no lack of interest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I visited the Sofitel at Taba Heights in early October for a week with my daughter, we wanted to 'Stop the world and get off' for a week in the sun. The hotel as always was fabulous, very quiet but just what we needed. The food was great with a good selection even for vegetarians, and the staff are all 5 star, so welcoming and keen to do whatever needed to make your stay perfect. I had a lovely room in block 3 with beautiful views of the quiet pool and the sea. The whole place and atmosphere felt COMPLETELY SAFE and a world away from the things we hear about Egypt in the UK news. The snorkelling as always was 5 star and only seconds away from the pool when you wanted it. I love this place and hope that flights from the UK start again very soon.
Thank you, to all the staff and especially to Heba Elsayed for all her assistance.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Jill, from Berkshire

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillyp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Everyone email Thomas Cook. Beg them to take over from Thomson.

OMG the thought of not being able to visit Sofitel again :'(

THE bestest, friendliest, cleanest, nicest looker afterer of holiday people EVER!

WE LOVE YOU SOFITEL. DON’T GIVE UP ON US YET. WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Block 3, quiet, own bar. Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the-fairy-hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest

Words can not express how much we appreciate your thoughts and concern about us, we love you far much than you love us and care about us

You can still book us through Longwood and Pel tours and hope that Thomas Cook can put us on sale also

Always looking forward to welcoming you back at your second home Sofitel Taba Heights

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £22 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing