We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's our home from home!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Taba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's our home from home!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

4th time we have been and it just gets better every time. We truly consider it our home from home. The people are just the most amazing people and do everything they can to make your stay special. We are greeted like old friends by everybody from the reception staff to the cleaners and restaurant staff. For a relaxing holiday you won't find a better hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyProsser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    803
    275
    87
    63
See reviews for
864
1,786
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

A planned family vacation to Taba for the first time and precious vacation days couldn't be spent any better!
The friendliest hotel staff and excellent service.
Hotel comprises of direct beach access, very clean and organized. Snorkeling site off a peer perch.
2 pools with one in the middle which was heated. An accessible jacuzzi near the pools
Rooms are spotless clean with fresh air sea view and spacious terrace.
The buffet was of little variety but of delicious selections.
We are really happy with our choice of hotel and will definitely be coming back

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MEscort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel in September 2013. It was our 5th holiday in Egypt but our first in Taba. The hotel its self is definitely not 5 star and Thomson class it as one of their platinum range sorry Thompson definitely not platinum. Rooms were ok best thing about the rooms was the bed, huge.
It was extremely quiet in the whole resort of Taba heights infact some hotels were closed. Our hotel was pretty empty which would make you think the staff would have more time for you but this didn't seem to be the case. They seemed busy making repairs around the hotel. Which is fine I suppose when it's quiet. Don't get me wrong the staff were very nice just seemed other wise occupied. The food was average in the hotel. And it was a pain that you had to keep refilling empty bottles for water. 2 small bottles in your room is not enough. Also had to keep getting coffee as they didnt refil very often in your room.
The music around the pool could do with a make over as it was the same tunes every day for 2 weeks.
We did a trip over to Jordan for the day to see Petra. This was a fantastic day and the Jordainians are lovely people. But beware if you book this through Thomson you get a meal thrown in at a expensive hotel drinks not included and the are very expensive!
Taba heights was a lovely little town and although quiet most shops restaurants etc were open. We had a couple of meals there a thai which was lovely and a steak which was fab. We were given vouchers from the hotel for a free starter or dessert.
The veiw from our room was cool as you coul see Jordan, Israel and Saudi. Great photos of the sun coming up over Jordan.
Diving was good and we were looked after by the dive centre. Snorkling also was great and there was plenty to see.
Hotel entertainment was average but its pretty much the same as all the other hotels.
All in all not a bad holiday but not a platinum hotel and wouldn't pay that again to revisit.
Oh we did get a free hour in the spa to use jacuzzi steam room etc.. only because the couple we were with had been before. It was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was 1412 and it was a nice room with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We (2 adults and our 4 year old son) stayed at the Sofitel Taba Heights for 7 nights over New Year. I picked the hotel based on previous experiences at Sofitel´s around the world as well as the Tripadvisor reviews. I took the 5 star rating with a pinch of salt as Egyptian 5 star does not often equate to European 5 star but we just wanted a quick warmish break away with minimal flight time. How wrong I was!

The hotel completely exceeded our expectations in every aspect from:
- the reception upon arrival (super efficient check in),
- the fantastic superior double seaview room,
- the layout and cleanliness of the complex, and beach,
- the facilities (pool, spa, gym, kids club, playground on the beach...),
- the amazing staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, and who were always friendly to us and joking with our son. I can only praise everyone in the various roles from restaurant, kids club (big thanks to Heba!), reception, bar, pool to the cleaning and gardening staff.
- the food. Excellent range. All fresh and tasty. The salad bar was amazing. We took part in the Dine Around offer and can recommend the Bird´s Nest and Fuego for out of hotel dinning.
- the New Yeas Eve party. :-)

Taba Heights as a resort was as expected. We wanted a relaxing holiday so purposely chose a quiet destination. There are plenty of day trip options.

To sum it up, we would definitely visit the Sofitel Taba Heights again, and may return in spring for some relaxation and snorkeling.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Yet another wonderful holiday at this lovely venue. Ask anyone who has stayed here what they find most appealing of this hotel and most will say "the very special staff". Without exception, the staff make sure that they make your holiday a memorable occasion with the utmost concern that everything is to your liking.

Even though there are no longer direct flights from the UK to Taba Airport it is absolutely no trouble to fly to Sharm and make the road trip up to Taba Heights. I have now made this journey in November and December and immediately on arrival in Sharm the representative is right there to take you to your personal transport without delay.

If enough people contact Thomson to request that the flights be reinstated to Taba perhaps they will reconsider their decision. The fact that at the moment I have to fly to Sharm will definitely not stop me from visiting Sofitel.

Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve celebrations were marvellous. All of the staff worked so hard to make these occasions so very very special. The cocktail parties and the extra effort put into the food was very much appreciated. The carvings made from various foods were truly spectacular. The entertainment on these occasions was varied and most enjoyable. The staff obviously take great pride in making the evenings special for the guests.

The staff in Reception, Conscierge, Aladdin Restaurant, Recreation Team and Anamation Team are most attentive and helpful.

The gardeners are constantly working to maintain the grounds and the cleaning team make sure that the whole site is kept to the highest standard.

I cannot wait to visit Sofitel again shortly and this place is truly unique and feels so much like my second home.

Anyone reading this review who has not been to Sofitel Taba Heights should certainly give it a try, you will not be disappointed. It is so peaceful and the staff so very special.

Room Tip: The Plaza rooms on the third floor have a beautiful large balcony with sun beds, chairs and table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My girlfriend and me went for a short holiday to Taba and booked the Sofitel Taba Heights – a very good decision.
We arrived at the afternoon of the 31.12.2013 and our first nice surprise was the hotel room: we've got a very big, excellent furnished room (room no. 1428), which was very cosy, with a large balcony and a superb view over the Red Sea.
From the balcony and from the very nice and clean hotel beach you can see in the north Israel, in the east Jordan and Saudi – Arabia and behind the hotel the Sinai mountains – fantastic!
All the hotel is very comfortable, the food in the main restaurant is very good. You can choose between meat and sea food, or you take both. Also a great dessert buffet is available.
All staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful, from the reception over the waiter and restaurant managers (regards to Hisham) to the cleaners. Also the hotel manager is always around.
All the hotel is very clean, also the public restrooms.
There is a nice SPA, where you can book different massages. We both had a 55 minutes Thai massage and we enjoyed it so much, as well as the sauna and the Jacuzzi after the massage. A little minus in the SPA: the fitness equipment is not so modern.
The beach and the pool area is great, the water of the Red Sea so clear and without diving or snorkelling you can see a lot of colourful fishes.
We would like to come back to that wonderful place!

Room Tip: Some rooms with sea view, like 1425 - 1430.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conqueror13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

once again Sofitel taba heights pulled out all the stops to ensure that our xmas and new year break were something special,the food was great with a large selection to suit all tastes.xmas day santa arrived on the beach astride a camel and the kids adored it,xmas night the nativity play was very well staged and quite moving,new years eve was a blast from the early cocktails to the last streamer and a weary walk back to our room,roll on next year

Room Tip: third floor rooms in building one have a large private terrace with full size sun loungers we had 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
9.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing