We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible.THIEVES. Im sure the hotel wrote the good reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrible.THIEVES. Im sure the hotel wrote the good reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book this hotel for our vacation. But this time we werent lucky .
Lobby: old needs renovation . No ac . People likes to stay in the lobby where they can have internet access and ac but there was no ac or wifi.
Rooms: two month ago there was a big flood in taba you can see that it affected all the furnitures in the rooms and all the plants around them. The other hotels like mariottes were still closed for renovations after the glood but not sofitel.
There were a lot of bugs in the room we used to call the housekeeper twice a day to spray the room to kill bugs.
Food:as all the previous reviews food was awful.
Pools were not bad but not clean like pools in movenpick or intercontinental hotel in taba.
When we checked out . We found out that my purse with cash money and credit cards were not in the safe. I was chocked went to complain to reception they treated us as liars . I started crying we called the police they fidbt do anything. Called bank canceled the cards .thanz god didnt have a lot of cash. I was really sad because the recption manager treated me as a liar. Will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sweetmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings

Thank you for your comment

We feel sorry that our services have not met with your expectation however we would have very mych appreciated if you have rasied your concerns to us during your stay to make sure that your stay is as enjoyable as it should be

I would like to assure you that at Sofitel, guest satisfaction is our main concern

I hope you may give us another chance to better serve you in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,178
    809
    275
    88
    63
See reviews for
872
1,793
73
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was my second stay at Sofitel Taba Heights. I first came in May 2011 with my boyfriend and we had the most amazing time. I always said that I would return so me and my friend booked up & decided to go for 10 days rather than just a week, which turned out to be an excellent idea.
It's a shame that Taba airport is closed however we found it easy enough to get to Sharm, in fact I think it probably worked out cheaper, and the hotel arranged our transfer from the airport to the hotel for a small charge of $125 which was paid on arrival. The journey was around 2 1/2 hours and it was quite a nice trip, especially since the car was fully air con.
We arrived at the hotel quite late and check in went very quickly and smoothly. The staff already knew who we were and were expecting us, and it was a nice touch that some of them had remembered me from my previous trip. We were greeted with a drink and someone took our bags to our room for us. The room was gorgeous. Free upgrade to sea view and we had 2 HUGE beds. The rooms are very clean, excellent views & have everything you need.
The staff are the most friendly I have ever encountered. The honestly cannot do enough to keep you happy and you never feel as though they are pestering you or demanding tips like I noticed at other places in the country. Hussain at reception was particularly helpful, along with Mohammed in the restaurant.
The food is fantastic. There isn't a minute of the day where food isn't served. The buffet changes daily so you don't get sick of having the same thing, and there is something there for everyones palette. The waiters in the restaurant are so helpful and one of the chefs went above & beyond and made my friend some falafel burgers because he knew how much she liked them, even though they weren't on the menu. 10/10 for service.
The bar is ran by a very pleasant man, unfortunately I have forgotten his name, but he would see you approaching and already have your drinks served and they would be delicious and presented very well.
The grounds are very well kept, the cleaners work hard all day to keep the place presentable. The pool is clean, the beach is tidy. We spent a lot of time by the pool and our towels were laid out every morning by the recreations team which was a very nice touch.
The shisha tent on the beach is a lovely touch & is very relaxing, especially on a night time.
The heat was unbearable at times, but the rooms and restaurant etc were very well air conditioned so this didn't prove to be an issue.
I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone enough, I haven't 1 single complaint to make, not even a small one. I will definitely be back, and next time I will be staying for a fortnight.
Anyone coming from England and worrying about the travel - just do it. It is so worth it and once you're off the plane the drive over sails by. The area is very safe also, do not be put off by the fact it is so close to the Israel border.
Most amazing 10 days of my life and I can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Free upgrade to sea view room when you book online, the views over Israel, Jordan & Saudi Arabia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca03arthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is perfect for people looking for some relaxation. Well, the building itself and the equipment of rooms is a bit worn out, but it's Egypt, you can't really expect hotels to be the same level as in Europe or North America, so if you are a positive person without ridicilously high demands, this could be just a right place for you to stay. The nature is amazing, the views to Jordan and Saudi Arabia are breathtaking in the nighttime, the sea is perfect for snorkeling and the beach is fully equiped.Just 2 meters away from the pier we saw muraena, tangs, puffer, lionfish, parrotfish, butterfly fish, angelfish etc. Pools are great too, especially the one with sea water. And my special thanks are to the hotel staff: they were really helpful and friendly. Hopefully, very soon the whole area of Taba will be restored from the May floods, during our stay there were almost no people , very quiet and tranquil. Nevertheless, it was a lovely experience. Undoubtedly, in comparison with Hurghada Taba is smaller, no nightlife or shopping, but somehow I liked it more for the amazing Sinai mountains right behind the hotel, clear and rich in marine life sea, posssibility of going to Israel and Jordan and that unique kind of feeling when you realise there are still places in the world where the time doesn't matter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place to stay, ideal place if you just want to relax in the sunshine and the beautiful sea. The relaxing element of it was important as I proposed to my girlfriend (now wife) while we were staying there. The views across the Red Sea to Jordan and Saudi Arabia certainly helped!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rmalf0rn0rf0lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Was expecting more from Sofitel only had 1 Japanese restaurant, and 1 buffet to eat at, drinks had to be paid for after 11 pm that's a joke, I warned the hotel bar manager that First choice was pulling out, but he thought he new better, lol, I heard bombs going off when we were there 2 years ago along with other guests early in the morning, pool was nice rooms were nice, snorkelling was good not spectacular, but the whole place around the other hotels were like a ghost town, nobody there.

Go to Sharm el sheikh instead much better for a good holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013 as we just needed to chill out for a week. The Sofitel was absolutely perfect for this. Our room was big and clean and had a great view, we spent many an evening sitting on our balcony drinking cocktails before we headed down to dinner. We enjoyed the food and we can be quite fussy but we always found something to eat, not sure why some people are so negative about it, there's a lot of variety. Snorkelling was great in front of the hotel and you didn't even have to jump off the jetty, you could just walk out into the water and see lots of different fish. We also went on a snorkelling day out which was organised by the hotel, this was worth doing and was nice to have a change of scene. We also did the day trip to Jordan which was a very long day but worth it to see Petra. The only downside we had was our week clashed with Eid so a lot of guests came over from Jordan and Saudi and had no idea how to behave around food, by the pool or in the toilets but this wasn't the hotel's fault, in fact several of the hotel staff told us they found it tough too! This slightly took the edge off the holiday but I'd definitely go back if I needed to have a bit of R&R.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LabelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

First of all allow me to thank you for the time spent to post your review

It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback, i will share your comments with our ambassadors which i'm will motivate them to perform even better

As you have experienced, guest satisfaction is our main concern

Looking forward to welcoming you back at your second home Sofitel Taba Heights

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have just returned from Sofitel Taba Heights, a hotel I have stayed in many many times. This was the first time though that I had visited on my own and I need not have had any worries.

As usual the staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful and I immediately felt at home and safe and secure in this peaceful haven. Even though there had been a flash flood a few weeks previous, Sofitel is unaffected and it was business as usual. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

I spent two idyllic weeks here and was very reluctant to leave. There are plenty of facilities if you wish to expend some energy as well as spa and salon treatments for relaxation.

Snorkelling from the jetty is a very tempting activity but there are lots of beautiful fish view without even entering the water.

Rather than gazing out over endless miles of sea, the view over a short stretch of water is of Jordan and Saudi Arabia which at night comes alive with many lights and is an amazing sight.

Though there are now no flights from the UK to Taba Airport it is very easy to fly into Sharm el Sheikh and do the road transfer to Taba Heights. Although the transfer time is longer than from Taba Airport this slight disadvantage is far outweighed by the fact that one is not tied to travelling on a certain day with a Travel Agent. There is the choice of several airlines, the chance to travel on any day of the week and the opportunity to stay for any duration.

I cannot wait to go back to this unique, peaceful haven in a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: The Plaza sea view rooms have a very large balcony with sun loungers, chairs and a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel-Taba, Quality & Training Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Taba Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing