We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chill-out holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best chill-out holiday ever”
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My daughter and I have just returned from a wonderful week here. We couldn't fault anything. Lovely room, super shower, fantastic food, delightful staff. This is a golf and diving resort, but we didn't do either; it was enough to lie on a sun lounger, and occasionally swim in the heated pool (suggest you avoid the unheated pool at this time of year) or go to the stretching class ("make like cat").
Although there is a courtesy bus running round the resort, the shops were within walking distance, as was the diving centre at the end of the jogging track.
Evening entertainment was provided by the animation team - don't expect anything brilliant, but it was fun.
Although Egypt is still a smoking country, there is no smoking in the restaurant, and they are considering further restrictions.
I noticed some of the earlier postings implied there was a hygiene problem in the kitchen - this has clearly now been resolved. The quality and range of food was really impressive, with a different theme every night.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Smoky bar
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marylynn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,201
    818
    279
    88
    63
See reviews for
892
1,796
75
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Arrived in Taba on 6 Jan. Hotel is lovely very clean and tidy and rooms are excellent, tv with various English channels and immaculate.

Good choice of food which has a theme every night. Limited snacks between 12-5, infact all they served was pizza!!! Staff very friendly and always happy to help. Free bar ends at 11 and after that drinks are very expensive.

Not too much to do but we only wanted a relaxing chilled out holiday and it done exactly what it said on the tin.

Weather was lovely about 26 every day but gets colder around 4. Evenings not too cold, a jumper was fine.

Any more questions please email me

  • Liked — Sunshine
  • Disliked — Limited snacks
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnysammargate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Firstly, I would like to say - DO NOT believe all the negative feedback about this Hotel - it was EXCELLENT!!!
The airport is a military airport (I would bring your own loo roll), but it is perfectly acceptable, with a coffee shop, Duty free etc.
The Hotel is clean, stylish and our room was large, comfortable and airy, with a balcony overlooking one of the four pools.
The beach is lovely, clean and about 1 min walk form Hotel.
The food, which after reading several other reviews, was my main concern was excellent. A wide range of food is available from 5.00am unbtil 12.30pm. Everything we ate, (in my husband's case, an inordinate amount!!) was well cooked and tasty. The service was good and the restaurant was very clean. I would love to know what the traveller who wrote that there was very little choice eats at home!!!! Basically if you can't find something you like here you must be super fussy!! For example there is usually a choice of pasta with a wide variety of sauces, 3 or 4 meat dishes, a couple off fish options, rice, potatoes, loads of salads/houmous, cheeses, freshly steamed veg, couscous etc etc etc.
If you still can't find anything, the chefs will usually try and help. I saw one Russian guy ask for chips, which the chef, although they weren't on the menu that evening duly made and another woman asked for poached eggs, when they also weren't available that morning. Again they obliged.
However the main thing about this Hotel are the staff - EXCELLENT - especially the bar staff (Walid and Mahmoud are particularly good). Nothing is too much trouble - they are helpful, friendly and the service is exceptionally good.
Even when certain Nationalities, who shall remain nameless were shouting, clicking their fingers and in one guy's case actually leaning over the bar to add more brandy to his drink, the staff were polite and professional. If you treat people with the respect they deserve, instead of like animals - you will not find better service than this is any bar anywhere!!!
We made friends with several other couples on this holiday, all of whom thought the Hotel was very good.
I will definitely return to this Hotel and would recommend to anyone - ENJOY!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — may be dull if you want a party scene
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slummymummyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My Wife and I have just returned home, from what I would describe as a wonderful and relaxing time,
The Flight there was with Monarch, I would recommend booking the Extra Legroom Seats, well worth the extra £35 each way, if booked in advance, The normal seats are so close together and looked very uncomfortable for a 5 hr flight,
Taba Airport is at best extremely Basic, The transfer to the hotel is by Coach Convoy, there is an Armed Military Guard but this is Purely Protocol and There to give Peace of Mind, You go through regular Checkpoints and see them check under the Coaches with Mirrors, I took this as reassuring and that they take our safety seriously in these troubled times, I personally felt very safe throughout out stay,
On arrival at the Sofitel we found the atmosphere warm and relaxed,
We were through Reception quickly and in our room within about 15 minutes,
We had booked a Plaza Room which was very Spacious with a Large Balcony looking out over the Pool to the Sea, the View from our room of the Mountains on the other side of the Red Sea was fantastic,
We had a Huge King Size Bed, Modern ensuite bathroom with Lovely walk-in shower an separate WC,
The room was very clean and was kept that way throughout our 1 week stay,
I had read on trip advisor just before we went that people had been ill and blamed it on the food, if that was so then I can honestly say that it has all been sorted out now,
The Restaurant was spotless and the food excellent, Both well Cooked and presented, with a good selection of dishes for most tastes, The Staff were both attentive and courteous,
Our Highlight was the Snorkeling, the coral and fish were breathtaking, the Sea was warm for this time of year, but it was a bit windy, But after all this was a Winter Break and you cannot have everything,
We made some great new friends during our stay, both fellow guests ( Graham & Lil ) and among the Staff,
Last but not Least was the Entertainment Team,
From Ali the No 1 DJ to Chicco and the Dancers, the Nightly entertainment was mainly Dancing with some madcap antics thrown in, Some Karaoke and then all followed by The DJ who played a good selection of Modern & Dance Music,
The Bedouin Dance by Chicco with Swirling Skirts is a sight to see,
During the day there was Water aerobics, Beach Volleyball, Group Belly Dancing lessons,
The Pools were great, especially the Heated Pool, with ample Sun beds for all,
The All Inclusive Package was great, It seemed funny going to the Bar and not paying for anything, but we soon adapted,

We will certainly be Booking to go again

Steve & Pat Day

Berkshire,

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_and_Pat_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sofitel, Taba Heights. The day before we left we rushed out to buy Immodium, rehydration treatments, anti-bacterial handgel, handwipes, etc - based on the bad reviews we'd just read. We could have saved ourselves the money!

We travelled out on the 30th December, specifically for a New Year celebration and some warmth. We weren't disappointed. After a slightly chaotic (but polite) reception by the authorities at Taba airport, and a 45 minute journey to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the efficient welcome at the hotel. The first thing we had to do after check-in was book a table for the New Years' Eve party the following evening - all very well organised by the restaurant staff.

I could write pages about our very good holiday, but will try to stick to the salient points:
Accommodation - very comfortable and clean room, always with fresh towels and toiletry products renewed daily. Plentiful supply of mineral water.
Food - outstandingly good. Obviously the New Year buffet was exceptional, but even the daily buffets were varied and appetising. There is an extensive range for vegetarians and salad-lovers. No pork products, obviously, but plenty of fresh fish available daily, meat and regional cuisine. Pastries/dessert table to die for - and you will put on weight! Regular monitoring of the restaurant and staff by the food & beverage manager.
Location - good, with spectacular views. Easy access to the other hotels via the Taf Taf (shuttle bus), or a pleasant walk.
Entertainment/Nightlife - almost non-existent. There is a nightly dance 'show', and a disco after 10.30 pm - neither of which we bothered to attend. There are daytime sports and aerobics activities, quite well organised.
Weather - not quite as warm as we'd have liked, but the second week more settled and the windshields made the beach a very attractive proposition. Sea warm enough to snorkel without a wetsuit. 'Heated' pool a very comfortable temperature.
Tours/Excursions. Our first was to Petra. Terribly expensive, but probably worth it. In hindsight, we think the overnight tour with more time in Petra would probably be a better option. Expect long delays on the Egyptian side! The Petra Movenpick hotel lunch was disappointing, and certainly not up to the standard of the food at the Sofitel. Our second trip was to St Catherine's Monastery and Dahab. Most enjoyable and good value for money (and a great luncheon at the Hilton in Dahab), but again probably insufficient time at Dahab.

On the negative side: the fellow guests at the hotel! Could not believe the bad manners and lack of hygiene displayed particularly in the buffet area - using fingers instead of serving tongs provided for the dishes. On one occasion I even saw a hotel guest lift a serving spoon to her mouth, taste the sauce, and put the spoon back into the dish! Some guests made absolutely no attempt to discipline their own children, letting them run amok in the restaurant at meal times. Similarly, the toilet areas also suffered due to a lack of consideration by fellow guests. They would be checked and cleaned thoroughly by the staff, and within 45 minutes would be filthy again.

Overall, I believe the staff at this hotel are committed to making the guests' holidays as pleasant as possible. They are unfailingly helpful and polite. This holiday experience would compare favourably with similar all inclusive holidays (eg in Marsa Alam, Dominican Rep). We found the bar hours and the type of beverage on offer completely acceptable. However, if you're looking for traditional English food and copious quantities of wine and alcopops, this would not be the place to stay!

  • Liked — Location and food
  • Disliked — No evening entertainment
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EJWCambs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The softel is a lovely place if you want to do nothing there isnt a lot to do here about a hand full of shops one bar and if you want a night life then forget it . if all of the above sound ok then you will love the place it so relaxing and peaceful . staff not the most friendly there are one or two that are lovely food is good. hotel is lovely and clean . so if you want a relaxing holiday then taba is the place .

  • Liked — it relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing there
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

stayed at sofitel from 16/12/08 to 30/12/08 and found it to be a superb hotel.the room was a delight,beach and pool area spotless and staff friendly and always helpful.food wasnt bad but could improve in certain areaswhich i know everyone picks fault with but you do have the option of 4 restaurants situated near the 3 corners complex at the top of taba heights which you get discounts off your bill from your own hotel! evening entertainment not bad but didnt start until 10pm and all inclusive finished at 11pm,drinks after that time very expensive ! in all an excellent time was had and the golf course looked magnificent , as was the snorkelling !!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank orangepeelWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Melony Hotel
Melony Hotel
#41 of 62 in Eilat
89 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing