We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booking again for next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Firstly a big thank you to ALL the staff at the hotel for making our weeks(13-20/10/09) stay so enjoyable. We came straight home and started making plans to go back for 2 weeks next May.
We paid the supplement for a Beach front room(2180) and were not disappointed. It was a single storey, so no one above you making a noise. The room was in the old part of the hotel and slightly smaller than the new one. This was not a problem as the room was spacious enough and the double bed very comfortable. There were enough English films/programs to watch at night if you fancied a night in.
The food was themed at night and we especially enjoyed the Asian, Egyptian and BBQ nights. There was always plenty of choice for the main courses, however it would be nice if there were more desserts, other than cakes and pastries, no good for the waistline! A word of advice for when it is busy, don't go to the restaurant straight away, as sometimes it was absolutely packed. Wait a while and it will ease off. The waiters were a joy and kept us topped up with water/drinks throughout the meals. You have to try a pizza from the pool bar, they were great. We spent a few evenings curled up on the cushions in the fun pub, but were getting deja vu as the Music channel was playing the same videos every night. The Barman made us some surprise cocktails to try!
We tried the yoga class followed by the aqua aerobics one day and they were brilliant. Were too tired then to try the belly dancing lesson- maybe next time. The evenings entertainment started at 10pm and could get busy, so find a seat early. The Whirling Dervish was amazing and kept going for about 10 minutes. We both had a massage which was very relaxing and good value. I had a male masseuse, but he was the perfect gentleman and I soon relaxed.
We would like to thank Mohamed for putting our towels out for us every morning and finding us a good spot on the beach. We snorkeled from the jetty and right up to the Hyatt's walk in point, the further to the left you go the more amazing the coral. We have been to the Maldives 3 times and think the coral was far superior here. Really wish we'd bought an underwater camera with us. The selection of fish was breathtaking. We even got up one morning to see the sunrise(other people were up putting their towels out!)
Looking along the beach this hotel was by far the best looking hotel with its lovely architecture, beautifully tended grass and constant gardening. A must was the Goodbye meeting the evening before you go home- cocktails and nibbles and a chance to chat to the Manager/Rep/Members of staff.
We did tip everyone, and everyone took it graciously and thanked us. The only place hands were held out in expectation was at the airport, putting your luggage on the coach. We were treated like old friends and many of the staff wanted to try out their English. Some other nationalities were louder/ruder etc, but that happens wherever you go and it didn't spoil this wonderful experience in anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,193 - 2,199 of 3,503 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have just returned from our third visit in three years from the Sofitel in Taba Heights and once more, have not been let down by any aspect of our holiday. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and a personal welcome from the Hotel manager who has the abiiity to remember names (even from a year ago), we were checked in with minimal fuss (bearing in mind it was 11pm when we arrived, supplied with our keycard to our room, a spendid spacious tidy clean room in the new block with terrific views of the sea and the three countries bordering the Red Sea.
The quality of the food throughout our stay was of the highest standard, bearing in mind that a large buffet restaurant can bring its own logistical issues, this was handled extremely well with fresh food always being brought to the serving areas. We are aware that the Aladdin restuarant can be very busy given the number of guests per meal sitting but by leaving a few minutes or having a drink in one of the bars then gives time for tables to become free. We were extremely please to see some familar faces working within the complex and it was lovely to re-aquaint ourselves with them once more especially Ibrahim & our new friend Mahmoud.....All the staff had smiles on there faces at all times, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff, all they want is to be apprieicated & respected (something very much missing from the Italians and French guests who tend to treat them like servants) - Tipping is not essential but if you have recieved good service, then why not show some appreiciation, i mean when a pound to us in the UK means approx 10 LE.........The main concern of the staff is that you are enjoying your stay with everything you need. One night my partner fancied some cheese after her main meal and mentioned this in passing to a chef (Mr El-Latif) who prompted went into the kitchen and then produced a wonderful cheese platter. A small but very meaningful thought & gesture. After the evening meal there is entertainment (10ish each night) do not expect a West end show, you will be entertained, but absolutley amazed by the' Spinning Man' - we do not know how he does it !!!!!
Although the beach can get busy, we were never without a sunbed thanks to Sherif and Mohammed who were on hand to ensure we had everythng we needed. The swimming and snorkeling was first class for both novices and those who have more confidence but was often spolit by Italians & French who had no repsect for the Coral reef and others in the sea, noise and walking on the reef was evident along with a great lacking of respect for the area and staff.
We again had the chance to meet many people who had previously stayed in the Sofitel on more then one occasion who like ourselves are already planning to return in the near future - Thank you Sofitel, see you next year...................

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Helga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

What can I say? The whole experience from start to finish was just fantastic. The Hotel staff just could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The snorkelling off the beach and small hotel pier was wonderful. I advise anyone staying at the Sofitel to take a mask and snorkell with them. You can purchase these in the hotel shop but they are expensive, alternatively they can be hired from the kiosk on the beach at a cost of 45 Egyptian pounds. I recommend the trip to Petra it is a long day but the view of the Treasury makes it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KJByorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I have never joined a forum before, but always read the reviews on Trip advisor.
I nearly didn't bother booking the Sofitel Taba Heights due to the poor reviews on the choice and Quality of food.
The whole holiday was brilliant, the accomodation and food was excellent.
The service was outstanding as all the staff were extremely friendly.
Ouzo was very strong!!!!
Enjoyed the Shisha tent in the evenings.
A lovely holiday that deserves it's 5 Star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arwyn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Me and a friend stayed all inclusive for two weeks. Having stayed in '5' Egyptian all inclusive hotels before I was fully aware that it wasn't going to be a la carte dining or to the standard of a '5' star hotel in the UK.
Location: Lovely with a backdrop of mountains and overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba with mountains on the other side. The free shuttle bus takes you to other hotels and the 'uptown' area which was deserted when we went apart from restaurant staff trying to usher us into their establishments. Had a cocktail at one of the bars which cost £8 each so not cheap either.
Pools and Sunbeds: No trouble getting a sunbed around the pool and lots free on the beach. Watercoolers spaced around the pools so you can top up your water bottle.
Staff: Loads of them and all friendly! If you are holidaying with a female friend you will be asked if you are married - unless you want flirting and requests for your telephone number for the rest of the holiday say that you are married.
Food: Both me and my friend had upset stomachs which we did expect. We drank loads of bottled water, kept our mouths clamped shut in the shower and pool and didn't have any ice in drinks but we were still struck down. Not really bad though and a trip to the Pharmacy in the uptown area where we bought antibiotics and intestinal antibacterial tablets saw us right within a day, we eeked the tablets out for the rest of the holiday to ward off any recurrences. Food was fine, did get a bit bland after a couple of weeks though.
Cleanliness: Rooms were kept very clean and tidy as was the pool area.
Excursions: The only reason we chose Taba for a holiday was so we could day trip to the Dead Sea in Israel and Petra in Jordon and spend some time chilling out. Highly recommend both, we booked with Longwood Holidays even though our trip was with Thomson. Holiday company information boards are between the reception and Sultana Bar which tells you the times reps will be in the hotel. We also went to St Catherines Monastery, it was packed with people and you just had to move with the crowd. If I'd have known what it was going to be like I wouldn't have bothered.
Entertainment: Mainly done by the animation team, it was ok, just dance routines. The Bedouin tent was nice in the evening, Shisha was about £4 and well worth a try.
Tipping: We didn't tip, only housekeeping and didn't notice any difference in service.
If you want to go on a couple of trips and just chill out this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Sofitel taba Heights is one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in
The location is spectacular
The hotel is wonderful, it is so clean you could eat your meals off of the floor.
The food is good, maybe not to everyones taste but very good all the same,
With this what more could you want, well the crowning glory of this hotel is the wonderful staff that it employes. From the gardners, cleaners, recreation and animation staff, restuarant bar staff and the front desk , and everyone else that works there, and i am sorry if i missed anyone.
The staff make it a very enjoyable time spent in a wonderful country with its wonderful people.
Down at the pool there are so many that i can not mention thm all but here are some of them,
Mohamed, Mohamed, Heba, Heba, Ali, Hasham, Chico Osman. Sharif. I can not think of any other names at the moment.
There were some hitches they were called Russian Tourists however there were a lot less this year but they are so rude to the staff it is untrue, a few we can cope with as long as there is not an invation
Whatevr you want, if it is possible, the staff will get it for you, and if you do not get it you will know it is an impossible request

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

If you're looking for a location for a relaxing holiday you will not be disappointed by the Sofitel at Taba Heights. From the moment you enter the vast domed lobby area with its tranquil central fountain you immediately sense the relaxed atmosphere of this hotel. On arrival we were calmly ushered into the air-conditioned reception area where we were efficiently ‘checked in’ and issued with our room number and key card before returning to our luggage which had now been off-loaded from the coach, after identifying our cases they were tagged with our room number and we were directed to the buffet restaurant to eat while our luggage was delivered to our room. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food not only on our first night but throughout our entire holiday as having read so many bad reports on this site we were expecting the worst. I am amazed so many people complained that the food was repetitive; every night there were vast choices of dishes to choose from that catered for the wide range of nationalities that frequent the hotel. Having said that we did notice that some people seemed to pile up their plates sky-high with everything that was available so I suppose they may find eating everything, every night, a little bit repetitive!
Our room (3233 in the new block) was spacious and immaculately clean on arrival and remained that way throughout our stay thanks to the fantastic, and extremely polite, cleaning staff that efficiently and quietly clean the rooms each day. In fact that politeness was reflected throughout the entire staff at the hotel, nothing was too much trouble to them to ensure you had an enjoyable time as their guests. Special mentions must go to Assad in the restaurant, Mohammed (MooMoo) at the Lotus bar and Ramadan who seemed to be everywhere you went in the hotel – each of these lads made our holiday extra special with their smiles and greetings every day, the management of the hotel should be justifiable proud of them and all the other staff that work on the complex.
Night time entertainment was not great but to be honest we were happy enough to have a quiet drink in one of the bars or chat with some of the people we made friends with during our stay (big hello to Steve & Yvonne and Mike and family).
The only disappointment during our stay (and this is nothing to do with the hotel) was the cost of a day trip to Petra, for 2 of us it would have been £340, this was one trip we had planned to do but this seemed a bit steep just for a day trip by boat and coach, bearing in mind you can get a 7 day Nile cruise including excursions and flights from the UK for £700 – 800.
Our stay was from 25th August to 8th September 2009 - all in all we had fantastic experience at the Sofitel and would highly recommend it, Petra we will have to save for another time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £26 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing