We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel,wonderful staff,wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 26 November 2009

This as our second visit to the sofitel having first stayed in June 2009.It was even better the second time around.There is nothing I can fault about this hotel and the ever friendly and helpful staff make it such a lovely experience.I would like to especially mention Ahmed in the restaurant , Hesham restaurant supervisor and Osama from the recreation team who could not do enough for us during our stay.
The choice of food was vast and delicious.The rooms were spacious and the sea view was amazing. Everywhere was immaculate . I would reccommend this hotel to my friends and family, and as my job is a travel agent I would have no hesitation in sending clients to the sofitel.
I will almost certainly be returning to the Softiel again where I know I will recieve a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandrEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 3,503 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2009

We had been a bit fussy about our room before we left and had booked a junior suite, No great expense,but the room exceeded our expectations.The balcony was twice as large as the room, which was very large.The view was tremendous and the cleanliness and service were great.The service in the hotel was very good but was less so in the main restaurent.but there was an alternative which was good.Entertainment in the evening was minimal and there was very little to do in the area,but there was a very good ,free, coach trip around all the hotels in Taba Heights. Excellent holiday

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knockems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Our holiday was pure relaxation and if you are looking for sunshine and a restful holiday this is the perfect place. The Sofitel Taba Heights offers excellent service, various restaurants and nothing is too much trouble. The location is beautiful looking over Jordon which you can visit for the day. For the golfer there is a championship golf course 5 mins away which is ideal. The beach is lovely (even if a little rocky) but when you have 4 large swimming pools to choose from this does not cause a problem. The pools are spacious and sunbathing is very tranquil. You can join in with various activities if require but if you’re like me you just put your feet up!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TootieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

On Arival at the airport you are asked if you require a visa if you are not going to see the pyramids then you dont need one (it should be called a Cairo visa).
Any way the reason why im writing this review is to let people know that this rates as one of my best holidays so far, the hotel is well set out and acess to any where in the hotel grounds is easy,the staff are always pleasent (If you find some you think give you good service then tip well at the start of your holiday and they will look after you for the rest of your stay) .The location is perfect , Mountains behind you, Jordan just across the water with stunning 360 degree views.
We went on a trip to Petra while we were there and that to was stunning aswell.
Swimming with the fish ! Exelent better than Sharm, the corel is undamaged and very easy to acess
We arrived the week before the school holidays and it was nice and quiet so i dont know what it is like when the kids are off, shouldnt think this would be a problem as there are lots of pools and sunbeds to go around.
Food...Lots of fish ..Lots of meat dish's...lots of salad..lots of fruit...lots of deserts.....prepare to gain a few pounds (there is a very nice gym and sauna there just in case)
All in all a very nice Holidy,
P.S .There is a Golf course right next door and its very well looked after .

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WarringtonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Just returned from our fourth holiday at the Sofitel, Taba Heights. This is the first time we’ve been in October and in all respects was the best yet. We are in our early 60’s, both currently work full-time, and look for a resort where we can relax and “recharge our batteries”. The Sofitel ticks all the boxes for us. Our room was spacious, comfortably, impeccably cleaned and with a spectacular view over the Gulf of Aqaba across to Jordan…. a “sunrise” photo now being the screensaver on our P C.

The facilities, in particular the pools, the beach and the pontoon access to the sea are all excellent. The hotel was full almost to capacity with a preponderance of Italians and a cosmopolitan mix of Dutch, French, Germans, Czechs and Russians. We were always able to get a table at breakfast, lunch and dinner, and never had to wait more than a few minutes to get a table outside which was our preference. The food was invariably well presented, well cooked and sufficiently varied as one could reasonably expect on an all-inclusive package holiday.

No problems getting spots on the beach or around the pool. Snorkelling as good as ever; water aerobics enjoyed by Mrs G.

A pre-dinner drink on the Sultana Bar balcony under the stars each evening…couldn’t be better !

All the staff were fantastic….again !

Courteous, cheerful and helpful it would be unfair to single out individuals….you know who you are !! A greeting either in English or Arabic was invariably returned with a smile, be it the gardeners, security guards, cleaners….whoever….all made us feel welcome !

Cannot comment on the evenings entertainment as we never went…..we prefer early mornings and (fairly) early nights… daily walk at a regulation
4 mph from Sofitel – Waterworld – Hyatt – Sofitel each morning….yes; that was us !!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CameronNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

My wife and I, along with our grown-up son, stayed at the Sofitel for two weeks at the beginning of October. Having previously enjoyed three great holidays at the Sofitel we have come to know what to expect - a superb hotel in a stunning location, large spotlessly clean rooms, great food, excellent snorkelling and wall-to-wall sunshine.

However, what really makes this hotel stand out are the staff. They are without doubt the best I have ever encountered in all my years of travelling - friendly, helpful and totally dedicated to looking after you and ensuring that you have a good holiday.

It's impossible to mention all the staff by name but we would particularly like to thank the General Manager Mr Bert Plas, the Front Office Manager Mr Mohamed Hammady, Ibrahim Shawky, Abdel in the Aladin Restaurant, Rashed in the Asiatique Restaurant, Moustafa in the Pool Bar, Ali (DJ), Heba (animation) and Mohammed and Osama who looked after us on the beach. All these people, and many more, combined to ensure that we had a truly memorable holiday - thank you all.

People reading these reviews are not only seeking re-assurance that the hotel will be good - I promise you it will be - they are also hoping to pick up a few practical tips, so here goes:

The only time you will be hassled for a (monetary) tip is at the airport where an airport porter will lift your luggage off the conveyor belt for you and then hold his hand out for a tip! Similarly, you will then take your own luggage out to the coach where a man will then lift it into the hold and again demand a tip. It's up to you what you do but probably worth having a couple of £1 coins available in case you feel obliged to give them something.

As I have previously stated, the service at the Sofitel is superb and there is no suggestion from any of the staff that they are seeking tips. Having said that, you may feel that you would like to tip individual members of staff for the service that they give in which case they will be received gratefully and graciously.

There is a bank in the hotel which is open throughout the day. We have found that taking sterling cash is the best way and you generally get a good rate of exchange. A word of warning - if you are taking travellers cheques and intend to cash them at the hotel bank be aware that they charge commission PER CHEQUE and not on the total amount, so make sure you take high denomination cheques or it could end up costing you!

If you are planning to go snorkelling it is best to buy your equipment in the UK. If you need to buy any equipment at Taba Heights it's best to go to the supermarket at 3 Corners where you will find a good selection at a fraction of the price charged in the hotel shop. It's also a good idea to buy a pair of aqua shoes as the waterline on the beach is extremely stony as you enter the water.

In the unlikely event that you go to the Restaurant and can't find anything to your liking just ask one of the chefs and they will be happy to rustle you up something to your taste. Alternatively, you could try the Asiatique Restaurant which offers a range of Chinese and Thai cuisine cooked 'theatre style' in front of you. You even get to have a go yourself! Although meals in the Asiatique are not part of the all inclusive deal they are very reasonably priced and well worth the treat.

Do make sure you drink plenty of water during the day as it's easy to get dehydrated. There are free chilled water containers around the pool and on the beach, and you get a complimentary bottle of water in your room fridge each day so there should be no problems.

Finally, if you need anything just ask a member of staff, they will do everything they can to help you.

I feel sure you will have a great holiday at the Sofitel. We will definitely be back next year - and we can't wait!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EddieSinatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Just returned from a week at Sofitel. I read the reviews before I went and was a bit dubious about the negative comments. All I can say is that they must have been written by very picky people. From our arrival to departure the hotel staff were excellent. Very friendly, helpful and could not do enough to make sure you were happy. The hotel is beautifully designed and very spacious, rooms were large and very clean. From lazing by the pool or on the beach to relaxing in the "big comfy chairs" on the terrace in the evening, this was a very enjoyable holiday.

Had a day trip to Petra - excellent trip and Petra was wonderful. One word of warning, be prepared for very long queues! Going through immigration from Eygpt to Jordon and vis versa is a lengthy process. Have trainers on and take a jumper and be prepared for the long trek. Once there Petra will take your breath away. Again people so friendly.

I would deifinately recommend this Hotel. There are only 5 hotels in Taba Heights and I think this was the best. Also the Thompson Rep on site was extremely helpful and informative.

Met some lovely people at this Hotel and on trips - Hello to Number 1 and 2 will be sending picuters soon! ~ From number 29 and 30.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £26 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing