We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 9 December 2009

we have been to egypy many times.........stayed in some not so good places,but this is a fantastic hotel clean clean clean food is very good and my wife is a fussy eater and she could eat all,the bread is always so fresh and so much to choose from.the room was fantastic just a basic sea view no 1046 but what a view it was to die for,couldnt wait to get out of bed in the morning to see the view,the weather was grand we didnt do any trips apart to go up to the town on the little open bus,but coulnt wait to get back down to the fantastic jetty to watch the fish great if you snorkle but even if you dont you can see lots of great fish, from the jetty, the staff were all so friendly and bot after tips all the time,i just cant say enough go and enjoy and just relax,the night lifes not so hot but hey the views are fantastic the pools are clean the reoom are fantastic the staff great what more do you want??????????????????????????????

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
7  Thank larke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 3,510 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a blissful two week stay at the Sofitel Taba Heights. What a wonderfully relaxing holiday; we really could not have asked for more. Our requirements when booking this trip were for a sunny beach break for total rest and relaxation; this criteria was more than fulfilled by the Sofitel.

Following the advice in a Trip Advisor review, we paid a small supplement to book a Plaza Room for our stay; this was well worth the extra money as this guaranteed a stunning sea view from our private balcony out to Jordan, with the room merely metres away from poolside. It’s a nice option having sun-loungers on your balcony as sun rise during our stay was at about 6am-ish so it meant we could enjoy the spectacle from the comfort of our room.

Our room, in the ‘old’ block, was kept spotlessly clean by our smiley housekeeper; he also kept our fridge fully stocked with bottles of mineral water and provided a fresh bowl of fruit every day. Our Plaza Room also came with robes and slippers – as well as tea-making facilities. The bed was huge and very comfortable – and I loved using the walk-in shower.

All of the staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly but the restaurant staff were possibly the most hard-working team I’ve ever experienced! So quick to provide drinks and remove dirty plates from your table, carrying huge trays with ease on one hand high above their shoulders. They really are a credit to the hotel.

Similarly, the bar staff were just as good, participating in friendly banter and remembering our drink order whenever we appeared at the bar. Special mention has to go to Walid for his cheeky personality and super slick bar service.

We really enjoyed the food on offer here. We thought the selection was vast, considering it’s an international hotel. I found the food to be tasty and healthy, and variety was created through themed nights on rotation; from Italian to Chinese, through to traditional Egyptian cuisine. We had *no* problems with, er, dicky tummies whatsoever – but we kept ourselves hydrated with bottled mineral water which we kept topped up by using the many water machines around the site.

We stayed in the last two weeks of November and found the hotel to be fairly quiet so we had no trouble securing our preferred sunbathing spots by the pool or sea, nor did we have to queue at mealtimes. In fact, sometimes it was so quiet, all you could hear was the gentle lapping of the waves and the birds chirping – bliss.

The Sofitel simply cannot be faulted – after walking along the beach and checking out the other hotels, the Sofitel has by far the nicest layout and architecture and we would definitely return.

A few pointers:

- Avoid going during peak season when I feel the hotel facilities would be stretched to your disadvantage.
- Research Arabic/Muslim festival timings etc and plan your stay outside these dates in order to ensure a peaceful stay at the Sofitel…
- When you arrive at the airport, the staff there will try to remove your luggage from the carousel and demand a tip! Ignore them. When you get to the coach, don’t be fooled by the guy who wants to put your case in the hold and rudely demand a tip – he most likely isn’t even your driver, just a chancer, so be firm!
- There is a Bureau de Change at the hotel – I’d advise bringing sterling cash and changing it into Egyptian Pounds as and when you need it as the exchange rate is very competitive and saves you changing more currency than you need.
- Bring mosquito spray! Having holidayed in the Caribbean and never been bitten, I was quite surprised to be feasted upon by the mozzies in my first week – but a spray purchased in the local pharmacy soon put an end to my misery. Make sure you’re prepared!
- You have to try a spot of snorkelling in the Red Sea – the waters are crystal clear with tropical fish in abundance. We purchased aqua shoes (for walking on the rocky shore) and a snorkelling mask in one of the local shops uptown for literally a fraction of the price in the hotel store, so do shop around!
- If you’re stocking up on cheap cigarettes, wait until your return flight from Taba airport and buy them from the teeny duty free shop there – I don’t smoke but bought a carton of 200 B&H for a friend for the equivalent of £10!
- When we went (end Nov) the sun was out from around 7am – 4pm. After that it got quite windy and cool in the evenings so make sure you bring a few long-sleeved tops / wraps to cover up with as it can be chilly.
- I’m an avid reader and enjoyed using the book cabinet by the beach towel area where you can swap your finished book for another one.
- We followed the recommendation of a fellow Trip Advisor and paid a visit to Castle Zaman. It cost about £20 for a return taxi (get the Zaman staff to book it for you, it’s the cheapest way) and around £40 admission which includes a huge castle-sized slow cooked meal and use of the pool and sauna etc. We had the lamb which was simply delicious.
- If you want to by souvenirs like wooden camels etc, buy them from the traditional Bedouin sellers along the beach front. They’re lovely people, and tend to make all their wares by hand, so it’s nice to support them. Plus you can haggle on prices, too.
- And finally, if you’re after partying action, shopping and a busy nightlife this is not the place for you. If you’re after a little piece of paradise with guaranteed sunshine in order to totally unwind and relax, then the Sofitel Taba Heights is perfect. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank petula_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel Taba in early November. We enjoyed our stay more than expected.
It is hard to say what is the best: the location, the hotel architecture, the friendly staff, the variety of food, the spa, the beach, all is world class.
We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oaoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

First of all, something to get off my chest. Star ratings are NOT some form of international standard. A 5 star in Sharm, Taba, Marsa or Hurghada are not going to be the same as a 5 star in England, New York or for that matter Rwanda. Its a local guide and whilst you might expect a 5 star anywhere in the world to be better than a 3 star just down the road it doesn't mean they're all going to have trouser presses, minibars and free wifi in your room.

Down to the hotel, efficient check in, bags arrived promptly, room was spotless and remained so throughoput stay. I'd suggest its worth the bit extra for a view across to Jordan / Saudi but thats a personal choice.

Clearly the location allows (relatively) easy access to places like Jerusalem and Petra and the rest of Taba Heights such as it is, and two of the three accomodation blocks are yards from the main pools and beach. Design and layout of the hotel is both pleasing on the eye and gives ease of access to all you need.

From the beach you can access the coral areas from a couple of points and the snorkelling is reasonably good. Its not like some of the famous house reefs in the Sharm area but that would be an unfair comparison. We saw a fair range of aquatic life including octopus, rays and an abundance of lion fish. PLEASE don't destroy the reef and please tell those who climb on it and dive from it that they are destroying the place. Best snorkelling from the hotel is accessed by using the sea entry point rather than the pier and heading left towards Hyatt Regency.

Spa and fitness facilities are good and the 'animation' group do a decent job without getting in your face trying to recruit you each day.

Food wise I wouldn't want to see a narrower range and I think vegetarians might get used to sauteed vegetables, but what there was we found to be good by Egyptian standards. There are enough staff but it doesn't always feel like it and I think there is a lack of leadership and management in the restaurants. Sometimes your drink is topped up every 5 minutes and sometimes you have to go hunting around for the coffee pot to even get a drink. Its a bit of a shame as this would elevate the hotel from good / v good to excellent in my book.

Bear in mind the location isn't at all like Sharm which we heard a few people moaning about. Really thats down to you to do your homework before you travel. We all know Eastbourne isn't the same as Blackpool after all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PGBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I have recently returned home from a fantastic two week holiday at the 5* Sofitel Taba Heights (3rd Nov – 17th Nov).

I would like to thank ALL the staff for making it one of the most memorable holidays that I’ve ever been on.

As an ex Travel Agent and solo traveller I have come across many hotels on my travels, but none as friendly as this one.

The staff go out of their way to keep up the high standards of service, are very friendly and extremely helpful.

The rooms are spacious, fresh and like the whole hotel complex, immaculately clean and well maintained.

A sun-drenched oasis awaits you. Take a dip in one of the hotels swimming pools, salt, cold, warm or chill out in one of the Jacuzzi’s. From a nice sandy / pebble beach you can watch the world go by or take a short walk on the jetty to see the fish swim beneath your feet.

The recreation team (Big Mohammed, Little Mohammed, Salem, Serif and friends) will look after you, from finding you your perfect sunbathing spot to applying icepacks! Many thanks to Big Mohammed for that.

Thank you to all for the concern over my recuperating broken foot. You will be glad to hear that the swelling has now gone down.

Hesham and his animation team will entertain you and keep you occupied, from belly dancing, water aerobics to yoga. For the more energetic try your hand at beach volleyball. And those who just want to relax, sit back, watch and enjoy.

Congratulations to Islam for a very well run restaurant.

Compliments to the chefs, Ibrahim, Ahmed etc… the food was excellent. A wide variety of dishes to suit all number of palats and an array of desserts that melts in your mouth. Make sure you have lunch and dinner you won’t be disappointed. But be prepared to go on a DIET when you get home!

The kids are well looked after and seem to enjoy taking part in the adult activities as well as their own. It’s nice to see all age groups having fun.

Reda, Salah and friends will be happy to make you a cocktail or two at the Lotus Bar. And if you can tear yourself away from the Lotus after the evening entertainment go and boogie on down in the Sultana Bar to the sounds of DJ Ali and let Osman and Chico show you some of their dance moves.

The Egyptians capture your heart, warm-hearted and more like a family I wouldn’t hesitate in calling the Sofitel Taba my second home. I have met so many new friends, staff and guests.

You get the 5* thumbs up from me.

From the warmest of welcomes to the sadness of goodbyes, believe me you won’t want to leave!

Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened

Until next time my friends… X

Insha'allah

Debbie

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manxlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I treated my mum to this holiday for her 50th birthday, we had such a relaxing time.
The hotel is situated on a private strip of beach facing Jordan, so there were lot's of beautful views to enjoy whilst lazing around on the beach.
We were all inclusive and every night they had a different themed dinner one night they had italian then french etc etc and not forgetting a fantastic Egyptian night.
The hotel was immaculatley clean the rooms were done thoroughly everyday.
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
If it's a more active holiday you are looking for they had a water world rep on the beach giving you all the info about diving and water sports etc etc you could also do your own snorkling of the hotels private jetti.
There were also recreational teams that supplied cards,chess etc etc.
Although I left my 2 year old behind it is definatley somewhere I would take him they had a fab lookng kids club with a mini pool and all the staff were great with the kids with lot's of activities for them to do.
All in all an amazing holiday would definatley reccomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimeec1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel Taba Heights for 7 nights and we must say that we were very impressed. The hotel itself looked new and fresh, the entry into the large foyer with fountain and pillars was very impressive and set the tone for the rest of the week. The room was nicely appointed, the shower area was spacious and the aircon was very adjustable and worked well. The walls were a bit thin and you could here movement from neighbouring rooms but nothing that bothered us greatly. The service we received was second to none, whether it was at the bar, the restuarants or reception, all the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.

The hotel itself has been well thought out with regards to location, which means that the curved blocks give a nice view over the hotel grounds and the Red Sea. While walking along the beach front area, we both agreed that the Sofitel was the nicest looking hotel of the four that we could see. The beach itself was very well kept with plenty of seating arrangements, but we mainly stayed around the pool areas (five to choose from!) and these were also well equipped with sun beds and umbrellas. The pools themselves were very clean and well maintained. The two open air jacuzzis were nice but the water jets lack a bit of power. The gardens and grassed areas around the hotel were very well maintained and very attractive.

There were plenty of things of things to keep you occupied in the way of water sports, diving, sailing, snorkelling etc, excursions were there if you wanted them. We took the one day VIP cruise option and it was very well organised and enjoyable.

We went all inclusive and we must say that the food was fantastic with plenty of choice and lots of international variety, the service was attentive and swift without being pushy or in your face. The drinks were all ok and again, the bar staff were very helpful and friendly. All in all the whole experience was very good and there is no doubt that we shall return to the Sofitel Taba Heights in the not too distant future. It might sound a bit cheesy, but there really was nothing to fault about the whole place. Someone has clearly thought long and hard about the whole package and (for us at least) has got it just right!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FishboyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £22 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing