We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We have just returned from our 6th visit to Sofitel Taba Heights and am just about to book again for November. You are welcomed by the reception staff who are delightful and luggage is taken swiftly to your room which is extremely clean and spacious with all the amenities plus bottles of water in the fridge . There is plenty of hanging space and drawers and the beds are either two queen sized beds or one 7' bed.The air conditioning is very welcome as when we were there the temperatures were between 36 - 38 degrees. The staff are exceptional and having travelled the world I can honestly say that we were treated like very special people by all the staff without exception. The pools - one cold, one heated and one seawater (plus another by the new extension to the hotel) are wonderful but we spent our time on the beach. The recreation staff look after you with a smile and a willingness to please - Mohamed Badawy must get a special mention but nothing was too much trouble for any of them (Mahmoud, Yasser, Ossama, Abdulla, Alaa, Sherif, Mohammed Amin). There is a bar by the pools where you will be looked after by Nosa and Reda and at lunchtimes you can have salads, fresh pizza etc or go to the main restaurant for a wonderful meal. The food is varied and each night there is a different theme. Ibrahim, the pasta chef is worth a visit and the pasta is cooked to your liking with whatever you like added to it. Executive Chef Wahid keeps a very close eye on everything and everyone and he is a delightful man always smiling and eager to please. He is very innovative and constantly searching for ways to make the food more attractive and presentable. He made us feel very special at all times. Try a visit to the Asiatique restaurant where you can have sushi or sit round the Teppan grill whilst the chef cooks the food you have selected - well worth a visit. The gardens are very well groomed and there is constant work done on them - no weeds seen here. There is a fitness centre with a weights gym and also exercise machines and here also you can indulge yourself with a massage by either of the Thai girls. I have had many Thai massages by Orathai or Natta - lovely girls. The sauna is located here too and there is another pool here to cool yourself off in. Each night there is a show organised or involving the Animation Team ably led by Chico supported by Rico, Heba and Mido all under the overall management by Ibrahim Shawky. A regular shuttle bus is available to take you to Waterworld, the golf club and El Wekala which is know as 'uptown' and consists of a number of restaurants and a variety of shops (a pharamacy, supermarket, souvenir shop and a few others). the Flying Carpet is the only restaurant I have been to and served delicious food. If you want a holiday heavy on nightlife then this may not be the place for you, if however you want to relax and 'recharge your batteries' then Sofitel Taba Heights, under its efficient, capable and welcoming management team is definitely the place for you. As a golfer perhaps the only disappointing thing about Taba Heights is that the price for playing golf is excessive albeit that the golf course has matured to a very good level. Trips can be taken to Petra, Cairo or St Catherine's monastery (plus others) but we have not experienced any of them to date. Boats sail from Waterworld to various dive sites and snorkelling is super although not up to the standard of the Maldives!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 3,496 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2010

just come back fiom a week here, A check-in and pick up from the airport with First Choice was totally hassle free. First impressions of the room in Block 1 were what a great size room, huge bed, and nice bathroom with walk in shower. Only problem was the air-conditioning unit was VERY noisy and not very effective, we were really uncomfortably hot during the night. When opening curtains next morning we were very disappointed with the lack of sea view (which we'd paid for) it must have been one of the worst rooms - we couldn't even walk onto the front grassy area as we had a noisy generator below us in a 'plant room' it wouldn't have been so bad if we could have seen the sea but all we could see was part of it with one chair on the corner of the balcony. Avoid room 1216 if you are given it!!
We mentioned it to Kathleen our rep 2 days later as we are not ones to complain when we went to book a boat trip for the Sunday. There was absolutely no problem of us moving, We were re-located to Block 2 on the 4th floor with no hassle and the view was fantastic, and the air conditioning was quiet and effective.
The whole range of food from breakfasts lunches to dinners were secondf to none, can't see how any one could complain about the variety of food on offer and the hot food always seemed to be hot, not lukewarm as you sometimes find. The different 'themes' of Moroccan, Asian, International, French, Italian, and a BBQ each night added to the variety. The snack bar from 12 noon was good with a variety of burgers salad pizzas and fries, and ice cream and plenty choices of drinks, coffee and tea.
The animation team worked hard, a nice thing was the belly dancing every morning - even a little sarong with 'coins' attached was a good gesture to get you in the mood!!. There was swing ball on the beach, hammocks, and water coolers around the hotel to re-fill your water bottles that were put in the fridge in your room every day. Didn't use the gym or spa.
We used to have a drink in the Sultan Bar after the sun went down, even little bowls of 'nibbles' were provided there before going to room to change and relax before dinner.
The evening entertainment was I suppose the only thing I would like to see an improvement on, but Egypt entertainment is low key anyway and Taba Heights dosn't have night clubs, but we are too old for that anyway but would love to have danced to 60's 70's and 80's music occassionally not the 'boom boom' sound that always seemed to be on.
The hotel staff are a credit to the hotel management from the towel boys, waiters, cleaners reception staff, all could not do enough for you to make the holiday so good.
Hope to return for a fabulous winter sunshine week next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

17 march 2010 just got back from a week in sofitel, if your wanting a chilled week at a good hotel in a good location then book now, we booked with first choice my wife and two friends had no problems with first choice, we have never experianced a rep at a hotel with so much passion, katharyn you were brilliant. we booked a day on the sail boat snorkling a great day, a booze cruise with no booze.
we arrived at 10.30 on tues evening check in was easy no welcome drink guess to late but hey ho went straight to bar for a deserved drink, tried to get another 2 mins past eleven explained just got there, so strict after eleven you pay, got one eventually.
rooms very good allways clean to. food very good somethink for everyone, pools superb plenty of sunbeds beech again superb. there are a lot of french staying at this resort and our friends had a run in with a rude french family but the british bulldog stood strong,
like other people if your not going out of the area you dont need a visa, i must say if you want a lively evening this hotel not for you, the entertainment is rubbish and there is no where to go to get any, has i said before very strict on drinks after eleven you have to pay.
the staff were very good to only one member of staff behind bar had a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp, we stopped at the baron palms in sharm last year which is fantastic if we couuld take bits from both hotels it would be the best hotel in egypt, you dont get any wine on inclusive only with meals, overall a chilled sun drenched week

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Sofitel. Could not fault the hotel but would advise; those looking for a large range of activities for either yourself or your children, this is probably not the place for you.

A few points that you may be interested in. We booked with First Choice, but did not receive the level of service that we normally expect. Unless you are going to Luxor or Cairo, do not bother with a Visa as they are not need to go to Petra or Israel. The exchange rate at the hotel was far better than that offered in the UK. All trips offered by First Choice are expensive. £150.00 each for a day trip to Petra. The local sprits are extreemly local and if you want to drink a recognised brand of sprits expect to pay upto £7.00 ( in saying that the, all the cocktails are v good) and finally, the local entertainment does not start until 10:00pm and the All Inclusive service stops at 11:00 pm.

Hope that helps

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Feb is a perfect month to be in Taba Heights with the sun on your back in the depth of winter,this is our 5th visit to this hotel and would recommend to anyone that just wants to get away from it all, chill out and enjoy. The hotel is the most picturesque of the 5 hotels on the beach. The food is much improved thanks to the new Executive Head Chef Mr Wahid Elashry and therefore am sure will get a higher rating than shown in the brochures so have no worries that you will not find plenty of choice to suit everyone's taste and also special thanks to Mr Mohammad Hammady, Reda at the Lotus Bar and all the staff for making it another enjoyable holiday see you next Feb.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I've used trip advisor for years and never got round to writing a review, but after an amazing two weeks at the Sofitel I thought it only fair to share my experience!

I've just returned from 2 weeks at the Sofitel and don't have a bad word to say about he place. If you're after a quiet and relaxing holiday you cant go wrong. I wanted somewhere to take my wife and two young children (13 months and 2 years), which was secure, had guaranteed weather, was quiet, a great place to relax, and had somewhere local that I could go to complete a bit of snorkelling and scuba diving. The Sofitel lived up to all my expectations.

The Accommodation
This is rated as a 5* hotel. In reality the rooms are probably 4* by English standards, however they are more than adequate and met all our needs. We where a littel cramp as a family of four staying in 1 room. Next time we return we will book the family suite which has two rooms and a lounge! The cleaning staff are excellent and all extremely friendly. The pools are fantastic, and although a little cold at this time of year, there is a heated pool for the morning swim. The gym, sauna, tennis courts etc where great too. The wife had a thai massage and highly recommends it! I did visit the other hotels in taba heights and the Sofitel was by far the best.

The Food
Before going I was a little concerned about whether the kids would get the 'egypt belly'. I'm glad to say that none of the family (or any other customers that we spoke to) had any issues at all with the food or drink. There is a scheme in taba heights that all the hotels opt into which means that all food in the area is washed in mineral water and ice is made from mineral water. The buffet food was off high quality and there are different themes each night (moroccan, french, egyptian etc). Special thanks has to go to Ibrahim who went out of his way to teach us about the local egyptian food and to the other chefs and waiters who went out of there way to look after our two children. Preparing special baby meals (no salt and mashed) whenever we needed them, and giving us fresh fruit to take back to the room.

The beach, snorkelling and scuba diving
The beach is not a white sand tropical beach, and does have a few pebbles from the beach to the water. However, the majorit of the beach is sand and really well maintained, the sun loungers are great at the bedouin tent a great place to cool down and chill out. Once over the pebbles and into the sea you can't beat the snorkellng. A typical snorkel was a gentle walk on the sand through crystal water before swimming past a couple of clown fish before hitting a school of Angel fish, giant parrot fish and then a sea snake and blue spotted stingray. Then putting your head up and realising you're still only 200 metres from the hotel bar. What's not to like!
I did 7 dives with red sea waterworld which is the only dive centre in taba (you can google their site). They are not cheap but are a very efficiently run outfit. I went on their morning dives, which meant i was picked up from the hotel at 8am, completed two dives from the well equipped and staffed boats before returning to the hotel for 1pm. This was ideal for me as I only had a morning pass from the missis! The diving itself was average for the red sea. It's shallow diving with a chance to see frog fish, crocodile fish, and loads of the normal crew over beautiful corals (altough in places a bit damaged), however don't expect to see much of the big stuff or sea scapes that you get around sharm.

The Kids Club
The kids club is for 4 - 12 year olds where you can leave the kids for the sessions. As our children where below 4 we stayed with them at the club. Completing painting, puzzles, or lego towers in the inside section, and playing in the kids garden. The day finished with a childrens dance at 8.30pm after a movie on the big projector. This was at times a little late for our two but was great for the older kids.

The Staff
Last but not least the staff at the sofitel all deserve a mention. I have never been to a place where the staff have been so friendly and attentive. They make you feel like you're there special visitors, but when you read the reviews on trip advisor it's clear that everyone is made to feel the same. They quickly learnt our childrens names and had taught my 2 year old some simple arabic within the first week. They couldn't do enough for us and went out of there way to help. They brought child seats to the room, got us a baby bath, brought fruit for the kids, special ice creams for our 2 year old, layed our towels out for us on the sunbeds in the morning, brought drinks over at the pool and the list goes on.... thanks to Mahmood, Ibrahim, Salik, all 4 Mohamads, and a special mention to Haba at the kids club.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Postmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Due to our Thomson flight aborting take-off and being grounded for 24 hours, the company sent all 250 of us to this hotel on an all-inclusive basis for the night and the following day.
The hotel staff seemed to cope with our sudden influx extremely well and we were given a family room on the ground floor which had a sort of conservatory at the back which the room next door to us had access to aswell - this had patio doors which opened onto a small terrace/garden area. The room was actually quite dark with the only windows being in the conservatory and it was smaller than the family room that we'd had in the Movenpick Hotel which is where we had spent the rest of our holiday.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent, there was a massive variety and they were also cooking meats to order which was good. If you want wine from the hotel bar (all-inclusive), unfortunately you can only have it in the restaurant with your meal for some reason but I'm sure they would give it to you if you paid for it.
The pool/grounds and beach area were beautiful, very clean and there were plenty of sun loungers. You can get towel cards from reception which you then give to the pool attendant so in effect you rent the towels from them so people don't really reserve the sun loungers.
Overall, although we were only there for a short time I was very impressed with the Sofitel and would definately consider booking it in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaylou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
14.0 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 61 in Eilat
945 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £23 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing