We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Taba
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chilled out trip”
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Wonderful week's stay at the sofitel - excellent value for money, wonderful weather, wonderful snorkelling, and wonderful ambience. It feels very safe, and is the perfect getaway for a week's holiday. It's surrounded by some fascinating places to visit, so whilst there isn's a great deal to do in Taba, you're only a short journey away from some fabulous places. Really is a blissful, relaxing, chilled out hol, and I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,203
    818
    279
    88
    64
See reviews for
893
1,798
75
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel for a week at the beginning of January. Taba Heights is a purpose built resort in the middle of nowhere with a guarded entrance. This hotel appeared to be the best kept of the five hotels at the resort. Room was fine with massive bed and nice balcony. Plenty of pools and sun beds to choose from with large beach area and jetty. The two pool bars are excellent and staff friendly. The bar inside the hotel has a really nice outdoor area with comfy seating. unfortunately, as non smokers it was not pleasant to sit inside due to the smell of smoke and the many guests that did smoke. The all inclusive drinks are 'local' and some spirits a bit harsh. Wine is only included with meals and very expensive to buy at the bar. The grounds of the hotel are really well kept apart from the Bedouin tent which seemed a bit tacky and the shisha pipes looked dirty. There are two restaurants and you can use either. Food was fine overall. There was a good range of food each evening with themes although the variety tended to be the same for the whole of our stay. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful even when some guests were quite rude towards them. Snorkelling is good whether you are confident or a beginner and you can walk along the promenade to use jetties at other hotels. There is a shuttle bus to take you down town if you want to do some souvenir shopping. We walked and it took about half an hour each way. We felt safe walking around the resort and there are security staff. We would definitely return to this hotel but the world is too big and we hope to find more super hotels like this one on our travels.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graytowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Hotel was excellent, the staff were so polite and happy in there work.
The main restaurant was clean, fantastic selection on the menu every day.
Pools and jacuzzi's in "tip top" condition.
Housekeeping again... superb standards!
Total "chill out" holiday.
Will be returning ASAP!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedom013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We needed a complete rest and a relaxing time, and we certainly found it at this hotel. It is in a perfect location - directly opposite, Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Israel - with it's own coral reef just off the jetty. If you are looking for exciting nightlife, and a very lively time, then this isn't the place for you, but for a complete 'get away from it all' break, it's just what the doctor ordered. The transfer went smoothly from the airport, but it is quite slow as the road extremely twisting - it is bascially just a pass between the mountains. Check-in was fast and efficient. We arrived at the end of the evening meal service, but were allowed to go into the restaurant and have a meal before we went to our rooms. At first sight the room was a little disappointing - apart from the 7 foot bed!! - as the Egyptian style furniture dominates, but once you get used to that the room was fine with loads of storage space. It was refreshing to find a safe which we didn't have to pay for! The bathroom was good with a huge shower area - almost like a wetroom. We paid extra for a sea view, but I wouldn't do that again as all the rooms seemed to have a good view, even the ones at the back which looked over the mountains and gardens.
The food was good with plenty of variety, and the bosses seemed to keep a very strict watch over everything. I can't understand why people have moaned about the food in some reviews. If you are expecting a full English breakfast and a steak or pie and chips dinner, then you will be disappointed as you won't get this, but there is plenty that even the fussiest of eaters could enjoy. The bread and pastries are particularly good! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We found after a couple of days, that we preferred to eat in the Mediterranean restaurant, as it was much quieter and less hectic, and served exactly the same food as the Aladdin. We only tried the lunchtime snack bar by the pool once. That day the food was not too good, so we didn't bother again.
We were impressed by the large amount of sunbeds and shades everywhere throughout the complex. The beach ones were especially good. We had quite a lot of windy days and the windbreaks around the beach beds were great. We were also impressed by the drinking water stations which were found throughout the grounds and on the beach.
We went on a couple of Thomson trips. The 'VIP Cruise' was disappointing. The sea was quite rough, which obviously they couldn't do anything about, but we seemed to spend most of the days wallowing around whilst the crew decided what to do. We only went in on one of the snorkels and this was positively dangerous. There was no head count before we entered the water, the swim was much to long for average swimmers, and there were no life buoys in the water with us. One man got into difficulties and had to be rescued. Getting back onto the boat was incredibly hard because of the choppy sea. The lunch served was fine and the staff friendly, but nothing we experienced that day could be termed as VIP!! The other trip was to the Bedouin camp. We enjoyed the trip but be warned - the desert gets VERY cold especially if it's windy. We froze, despite having sweaters with us, and it really spoiled the experience. Most of us didn't stay outside to see the amazing stars - it was just too cold.
Overall the Sofitel is a brilliant hotel, and the AI package is excellent. My one criticism came right at the end of our holiday. Unfortunately our plane was delayed by several hours. Thomsons were good in that we weren't picked up from the hotel until much later but by this time of course, we were out of our rooms and felt like refugees. The hotel didn't offer anything in the way of refreshment - no drink and certainly no food - and there was nowhere we could buy a meal. It would have been a very thoughtful gesture to have offered us a cup of tea and a biscuit at the very least.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week's stay at the Sofitel, and hope to return in November!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PowysPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geel
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

The hotel is about an hour drive from the airport en is situated on the beach at the gulf of aqaba. The hotel is built in traditional style and very modern. We had a large room with a view on the garden. It was quiet almost all the time and the bed was two times the normal size. The staff was enormously helpfull and good organised. The beach, the accomodations and especially the food in the two all inn restaurants was extraordinairy.
There is a nice bus service every 15 or 30 minutes to the nearby hotels and the artificial village up the mountain.
The most popular excursion is a day trip to Petra, Jordan. It was a little bit too expensive for one day (185 €/person), so we did an alernative one that we would recommend everybody. Driving into the desert with a local guide and driver by Jeep, lunch with the local people at a beautiful place called Abu Gallum, a breathtaking trip on the back of a camel, snorkeling at one of the best places in the world called '" the blue hole " , and a visit to the hippietown of Dahab. A one day trip that takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions. Price about 60€/person. In brief its a beautiful place for people who are looking for some relaxation, ashtonishing views and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanGeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Staff were very helpful. Hotel very clean. Food I think is probably as good as you,ll get. Adequate with a reasonable choice. Do not expect haute cuisine in Egypt.
This is very much a hotel to relax in and wind down. Nothing much in the immediate area so if you want to get out and about there are organised trips. However, some of these can prove expensive. Not suitable for children other than the very young.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We were looking for a quiet break lazing by the pool or beach in a comfortable hotel and certainly found it at the Sofitel. All the staff were charming and helpful. The choice of food was varied and extensive. Self restraint may be required! The evening entertainment was exactly as described ,local and limited. Its entirely your choice to participate or just find another place to while away the evening.
There is very little else to do other than excursions but that was our personal choice from booking. If you want some culture then go to Petra. Amazing! The security checks in the area could become tedious but just go with it and your holiday will be as perfect as ours was,Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Melony Hotel
Melony Hotel
#42 of 62 in Eilat
89 reviews
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing