We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous holiday !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Taba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We visited the sofitel for two weeks on the 15th June this year. There's not one bad word I can say about this hotel. Food was amazing and a great variety. The staff were friendly, helpful and very approachable. The rooms were very large and modern. The location was beautiful. On the beach you can walk straight out into the sea or from the pier. Fish were amazing and loads of people were snorkelling. We did have the Egyptian stomach, but this was easily rectified in a day after taking antibiotics from the pharmacy. It did peak to over 50 degrees while we were there, but we kept swimming in the sea and soon cooled down. :0)
would definitely recommend to family and friends.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GT_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,162
    806
    275
    87
    63
See reviews for
866
1,787
72
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
neath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel for our 30th Wedding anniversary at the begining of June AND HAD A WONDERFUL holiday.
Can I just make one clear point, TheSofitel is a very good Four Star hotel, the staff are excellent and the location is fantastic. It is spotlessly clean and the rooms are all of a very good standard along with the pools and the bars.
Main Points.
Get a room in block One or Two, Block Three is behind block Two. Very little view if any.
Get a top floor room, sea view, they are worth the extra.
The staff are a credit to the management and Sofitel name, especially Radar in the Lotus bar,I have to mention Mohamad Hamady the front desk manager, thanks for the cake, we really appreciated it, your a star.
The food, well not all bad as other people have said, yes it can get boring and they do NOT cater for the Simply British palate but this is Egypt not Spain but all in all it was fine.
People refer to a Parohs revenge, I think this term is an insult to the Sofitel and its catering team, its not the food but the general heat and change in the water especially the Sea as its incredably salty.
A quick visit to the pharmacy and £3.50 puts it right without lasting longer than a day or two.

Our only constructive comments would be that for the plain fussy eaters like me it would have been good to have Potatoes not in a curry type of coating and more than once a week.

Secondly You Sofitel have to sort you wine policy out, only available at Luch dinner in the main restraunt is crazy when someone only drinks wine..

As to the variety of nationalities, we only encountered one fould mouthed Estern European, a lady who had a bigger vocablary than me, she was a nightmare but the staff sorted here out with the professionalism that you would expect from the Sofitel.
As for Brits abusing the staff, thank god I was not there the week other people have metioned this as I would have told them.

We meet some great people at the Sofitel especially Ranjit and his ever suprising wife of one year and for him putting up with all the things she has been up to and to Wayne and Sarah for their company, Marry her kid she is a good one, also to Christine and Edd for the Pole idea. Its working well.

A great holiday and will go back again, well done ofitel and to Bery the Manager, a great hotel well run, the staff are a credit to you and the Accor Brand.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richneaththomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Just returned from two fabulous hot hot weeks at the Sofitel. Like all the other reviews have nothing but compliments for the resort.

Prior to leaving England I e-mailed the hotel with a room request. We were in block 1 overlooking the beach. It was great. The Bed in the room was HUGE. It could quite easily have slept 4 people in it.!
2 bottles of water every day in the fridge, and plenty of refil stations around the beach & pool.

We stayed on the beach every day as this was our preference. The main pool did get very busy, but not at all rowdy as lead to believe.
Ahmed the towel guy, was extremely friendly. Putting our towels out every morning in the same spot, and always made time to talk. We tipped him at the end of the holiday, but I don't think he really expected it.

There are two restaurants. Both serving the same food which was very nice with plenty of variety and choice. The mediterianian was the smaller and quiter one of the two. Some people were complaining about the repetivness of the food, but we never had the same dish twice!. We have been to Egypt many times and the food provided at the Sofitel is certainly one of the nicer ones. We never had any issues with upset stomach.

Craig the Rep was very helpful. It was the first time we have ever been to a departure meeting!. It was nice though as the hotel management provided cocktails & nibbles as a farewell.
We booked a couple of trips with Thomsons, Petra & Jerusalem. Both days were well organised and worth the very early morning start!

Taba heights in my opinion is better placed than Taba itself. A man made resort with a free shuttle bus every 20 minutes to the shops. Excellent snorkelling & diving, although you do need to wear water shoes to get into the sea.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

From the first moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated like we were the only people there. The hotel itself is totally magnificant, the room we had was one with a seaview and we couldn't have asked for a better location, it was very spacious and very clean with lots of storage and a big balcony.

The restaurant is very clean and spacious and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The food is very good and there is plenty of choice no matter what your pallet, there was always something that we could eat.

The beach is very close and very clean, only suggestion is that you need shoes to get in the water as it is a bit rocky, but don't let it put you off. The snorkelling is fantastic, lots of fish that I had never seen before, and the coral is very colourful and interesting (shame some people insisted on standing on it, which kills it).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oddball45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

I am not normally a moany person but this hotel is definately not 5 star. The food was not very warm, in very short supply and very much the same. The all inclusive is not really all inclusive we paid for some drinks after 11pm which cost £12.00 for 2 drinks that was THEIR local drink. (rip off) A handful of the staff were friendly if you tipped them the rest always looked miserable and always came across as if they were rushing you out of the restaurant so they could go home. One time we were half way through our meal and they wanted us to move to the other restaurant as they were closing. Both of us came home with upset tummy's. The dress code for the restaurant was really bad, I never wore any of my dresses as you felt over dressed. The only nice thing that I can say about the hotel was the setting was lovely. Will not be returning!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireEno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

I spent a few days at Taba, Egypt at the end of may.
Sofitel hotel is excellently located and has a big , beautiful beach.
There is room for improvement of the services, but the staff is very helpful.
It is very quiet and you have the feeling of privacy.
The food was very good and beautifully exposed.
I highly recommend thtis hotel to everybody who wants rest and sun.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Under-Lyme, Staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We have just come back from 2 weeks at this wonderful hotel. I travelled with my wife and met friends from London at the hotel. On arrival at 11.30pm the check in was very quick and we were informed that the restaurant had been kept open for us. The restaurant is very spacious and the food is very good. Each meal time there was a potato dish, fish dish, vegetables, chicken dish, meat dish, a wide variety of salads and breads. At breakfast you could have egg dishes cooked freshly for you (Fried, Scrambled or an omlette), at lunch and evenin g you could always have a freshly cooked pasts dish.

The staff at the hotel were vfery attentive and you didnt need to tip to get good service. In fact we only tipped on departure. There are things goin g on each day for you to do, however it is entirely optional and no pressure is placed on you to do these activities. There was some kind of entertainment on every night, however this was late due to the world cup coverage. I know other people have complained on here, however the football was on a very large screen in the main bar every night and didnt finish till late.

A few people did get an upset stomach, howvere this is notdone to the food, it is purely down to de-hydration. The temperatures are that hot that you need to drink at least 5 pints of water a day and people were simply just drinking alcohol all day and then wondering why they were ill. Talking of water, you get 2 bottles per day in your room, but there are a number of water towers around the hotel which are there fpor you to top up your bottles whenever you want.

The rooms are very large and spacious with a VERY large bed, large shower and 2 double wardrobes. There is a lso a safe which is free to use. The rooms are cleaaned every day and towels are replaced every day if you want. The hotel gardens are constantly attended to by the staff.

Craig the Thomson rep in resort is great, nothing is too much trouble for him and he is available every day.

Overall we all had a very enjoyable holiday at this hotel which is quite clearly the best in Tabab Heights. We will be returning and wwill recommend this hotel to our friends. The negative reports on here are probably made by very ignorant people, of wwhich we saw lots. It is not hard to say please or thankyou to the staff and be pleasant, especially when they are going out of their way to help you enjoy your holiday. We saw too many Brits being abusive to staff and treating them as slaves, they should be embarrassed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave3571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
1.0 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing