We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class hotel on a wonderful beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 2 October 2010

the sofitel is one of only 5 hotels in taba heights, and having agonised over which one to choose i am glad that we went to the sofitel. the all inclusive service had enough variety to please everyone and the food was well cooked and nicely presented. the waiters were the most helpful and pleasant of any that we have encountered around the world, interestingly there were no waitresses! the amenities were ideal for our needs, had it not been quite so hot we would have played tennis, but spent many hours on the beach and around the reef. the variety of fishes that we saw snorkelling on the reef was amazing, and the reef is easily accessible from the beach. there are environmental 'watchers' on the beach to make sure people do not walk on or pick pieces of reef off. a nice touch the sofitel has is all the water coolers all over the hotel, grounds and beach. they were very welcome.the weather was roasting all the time 35 in the shade. we had a trip to petra in jordan which was expensive but well worth the money. all in all we had a great time and will definitely be returning. we went with the african safari club and had no problems with there service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 3,503 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

The service in this hotel is second to none. Every area of the hotel delivers the best service and is staffed by people who really care for your wellbeing. The Plaza room we stayed in was worth every penny. It was clean,large, iit had a private balcony which was large enough to have a table,two chairs and two sunloungers and still have plenty of room for two people to move about in comfortably. We have been to a number of locations in Egypt but the mountains of the Sinai desert behind the hotel and the Red Sea immediately in front was the most spectacular we have experienced. The amenities were perfect,even down to the beach towels which were fluffy,new and exchanged each day without any hassle.
I think we found the best thing of all was the staff. From Mr. Plas (The General Manager) who took time to speak with us to the excellent restaurant staff who made everyday's meals a pleasure.
We have made many friends there and will be returning next year in June.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday297557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Had a relaxing two week stay at Sofitel, was very impressed with the rooms, cleaned every day, stayed in block 3 and had an excellant sea view. it was just a short pleasant walk to the restaurant. staff were friendly and helpful and there are some stunning views. one morning i was up early and watched the sunrise, it was an awesome sight. managed to get a sunbed every day by the quiet pool. Minor issues are food was very repetative, but you expect that with 2 weeks AI.Our tables were cleared away whilst we were up getting another course of food, this happened quite often. We were there when Ramadam ended and there was a surge of visitors who were quite noisy however we must appriciate it is the end of a religious festival. Certain people have no concept of Queuing. Take care in the showers as they go from just right to scolding hot in the blink of an eye DO NOT leave a young child in the shower alone. Did not try any trips however do go on the Taf Taf bus just for the thrill of it however you will be disappointed when you get to the shopping centre.Would i go again possibly not. Please contact me should you require any info

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartmanwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We spent a week there in September. The hotel was spotless, the room clean. The cleaner even took the time to separate all our coins into separate neat piles of the right denomination. The security staff were friendly, and reception more than helpful. We could not fault the room or the staff. The only criticsm is the food. It suffers from repittion, there is alot of it but weather it was Italian they were doing, or Chinese it all seemed to taste the same. It is as if they had taken out all the herbs and spices so as not to put off any of the several nationalities there. Don't get me wrong it was ok, just not memorable , ideal for children but not adults who like the-r food with little taste. There is not a lot to do in the Taba resort if you do not like sitting on beaches, or going diving. It is very much for sun worshippers who like also to get wet! It is ideal for families with young children who can stand knee high in the water and look at the fish. Would I recommend it, yes. I have just booked my brother and his family into the hotel. Be warned about the execurions. They start very early, Jurusalem starts at 2.30am and took 4 hours to clear passport control (two on the return). It is long day

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Sofitel had a lot to live up to, and we're happy to say that it really did!

Location on the beach front is excellent and the snorkelling is fantastic.
Lots of swimming pools and we managed to get a sun bed every day (although would recommend getting up that little bit earlier to get the best ones).
Food was good and you'll never go without desert.

Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Have just got back from our 1st Holiday inEygypt stayed at the Sofitel Taba, Excellent hotel food good, they do try and cater for all. Pools good, very short walk to beach for all snorkelling (very good). Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and cleaned everyday. During our stay i had an accident and the hotel staff could not do enough to help. On the particular day this happened the lift was out of order and 3 of the hotel staff carried me up 3 flights of stairs in a wheelchair. Would definatly and will go back to the Sofitel in Taba. If you go you must try the scuba diving (this is a must). This is a quiet and relaxing holiday if that is what you are looking for.

Pat & Steve Barker

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citylinkengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

First of all, we went to Taba with not-very-high expectations regarding the hotel. Despite it being a five-star hotel, it's quite known that (in general) hotels in Egypt don't quite meet the expectations one usually has of an European or American hotel of the same class (which we first experienced on our first trip to Egypt, in a four-star hotel in Hurghada) and that, although they meet all the required standards for their rating, lower standard is to be expected. However, we found the hotel clean, comfortable and rather quiet (with the obvious exceptions of the restaurant and the pools), considering the number of tourists at that time.

There's not much to say about the location, as Taba Heights is basically just a big hotel complex with a small shopping area easily within reach by Tut-Tut. Taba (the town) can only be reached by taking a cab, but there's nothing worth visiting there anyway, unless you're planning to cross the Israeli border. Actually, the only reason a person who is not interested in laying on a sunbed all day should visit this location is the possibility of taking organized trips to Israel, Jordan and the St. Catherine's Monastery.

We were on the all-inclusive program and that turned out to be a rather good option. The food was good - as said before, a little repetitive, but with a decent variety of dishes, so that's not much of a problem. With a little knowledge of how to pick their food, one can fully enjoy every meal for quite some time. Besides all three meals, gym, fitness center etc, snacks and local alcohol were also included in the price - I'm not a drinker, so I can't say anything about the quality of their alcohol, but if you want something "fancier", they'll charge it pretty well. Actually, everything not included in the price costs quite a lot, which is understandable, since there aren't many other places you can go to. The same with the shopping mall in Taba Heights - there are only a couple of shops, each selling different things, there is no competition and they use that situation well. Prices are rather high and most of them will refuse to bargain.

I have read bad reviews concerning frequent food poisoning of tourists - people, you are going to Egypt, food and water poisoning are very common all over the country, especially among tourists. By no means I'm defending them, but one should get prepared and do some research before traveling. Take some probiotics as prevention, do not drink tap water (obviously), avoid drinks with ice in it (they use tap water for making ice) and fresh fruit and vegetables (washed with tap water) and you should be fine.

We also didn't have high expectations about politeness of the staff due to REALLY bad experiences the first time we went to Egypt, but we were pleasantly surprised. With the exception of one single waiter (making jokes and comments in clearly inappropriate moments, which was extremely unprofessional and irritating) and a few people working in bars in the pool area (not respecting their timetable), the staff was polite, very helpful (especially when one of us got sick), surprisingly professional and had the perfect balance between nice and reserved. I never tend to tip service I'm not happy with, but this time it was well worth the money.

As for other tourists, we've had a couple of problems with them. Brits tended to be fairly polite and patient at the restaurant, but they behaved like the pool area was their own property (and this is not the first time I've had an experience like that with British tourists). It wasn't uncommon for them to leave children unattended to make noise and occupy the entire pool by playing games, like there were no other tourists around, or to take others' sunbeds, although they were clearly taken (I've had mine taken away by British ladies a few times while I was away to get a drink, although my towel and belongings were on and around the sunbed). We've had the same problems with the Israeli as well, although they were much less polite in the restaurant - not knowing how to wait in the queue, their children running around the restaurant and being extremely loud. Polish tourists were nice and quiet in the pool/beach area, but they were not considerate at all when it came to leaving food for others in the restaurant.

The beach isn't bad, snorkling was pretty fun, although I'd suggest taking a local tour by boat (for those who are interested) if you want to see the real thing. Corals there were not that interesting, they looked rather colorless. Pools were also okay, a bit too shallow but clean, but (if the hotel is at full capacity or close to it) it's extremely hard to get a sunbed. Also, there are lots of tourists that are rude and inconsiderate enough to get up early in the morning, leave their belongings on the sunbeds and not come back to the pool area for a couple of hours, securing their places there but not using them at all, although someone else could use those sunbeds during that time. Another thing to keep in mind when it comes to this is that they barely ever have enough towels (which is unforgivable for a five-star hotel that gets so many tourists each season). The restaurant is way too small as well (for a hotel with such a big capacity) and it's not uncommon (especially during lunch and dinner) to see a queue of people waiting to get a table. That doesn't really happen during breakfast, since they usually open another restaurant and serve the same food there.

Our rooms were rather big, really comfortable and clean, all the room facilities worked perfectly. They kept the no-frills design to a certain point (which is not uncommon for Egyptian hotels): all the facilities required to get a five-star rating were there, but they did cut on other things, e.g. the shower was just an area of the bathroom separated by a shower door, they had plastic chairs etc. Nonetheless, that didn't make our stay there less comfortable at all.

I'm not sure if I would come to Taba again at all, but, for those who are interested, despite minor problems, this hotel is a good option. If you keeps certain things in mind, it's very likely you'll have a nice, relaxing holiday here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikingQueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
1 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £26 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing