We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Taba Heights
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 24 November 2010

got back just and still on there tme lol switched off completely paradise only 6 hours sunshine weather brilliant hotel great . for the people who moaned about the food no 1 could be more finickie than myself and i found something to eat every day . it egypt for god sake if u want sunday roast fish / chips then go to blackpool !! this hotel is spotless staff great loved the quiet pool special word to the two mohammeds they were brialliant . so u mite say where did if fault at all well perhaps as did mention in the main reataurant waiters did appear to be confused which area and tables they were working @ also as we were on an all inc package some things not inc which ok u expect but 1 thing did annoy wife was the wine ( local ) was not outside the restaurant at nite another hol maker said this also as he liked a wine more than a spirit that was mysterfying as not inported that apart some folks on here just seem to moan for no reason

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leicesterguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,203
    816
    277
    89
    63
See reviews for
887
1,799
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The hotel site is huge, with accomodation arranged into three blocks. Blocks 1 and 2 are more towards the main part of the hotel with block 3 being set back slightly and quieter, it also has its own pool which was generally much busier with a scramble for the sunbeds.
The most notable thing about the location in general was that once outside the hotel, Taba Heights itself can only be descibed as a work in progress. Most comments I picked up on were, "dump", "building site" and "rubbish tip". True there is not much here except vast tracts of dust and rubble between the ten or so hotels which were in the vicinity and spread over a couple of miles. Even the marina was one jetty, a chain link fence and a wooden hut for security. Customs here was in an old brick building next to the water.
On arrival at the airport be prepared to queue for the single customs officer on duty and for your bags. (Don't be fooled into paying for a visa either if you are not going to Cairo etc). It took nearly an hour to get through to baggage claim. The problem is that all the flights seem to arrive and depart at the same time into little or no facilities. The airport is totally inadequate for purpose, and a good examle of this was that four flights were departing within an hour of each other on the evening we returned, which meant queing out of the terminal building and across the road. We were in a group of about 300 people waiting to get into the terminal building, and once there it became apparent what the problem was....a taoal of only 5 check in desks for the whole place, two of which were open which meant queing for another 50 minutes once inside...and belive it or not boarding passes were given once you had tick checked yourself off a long list of A4 sheets of paper before being given a boarding card with a sticky label on it.(I don't think this was just a bad day at the office either...the comments from the rep seemed to indicate that this was the norm).

General PRO'S.......Hotel kept very clean, large open public areas with lots of seating and most staff very friendly and eager to help.
Good selection of food each day(even for an all inclusive), and good quality also. Rather than try and list all the selections, suffice to say even the fussiest eater would be catered for with the hot and cold selections. Breakfast served from 5am-10.30, Lunch 12.30-2.30 and dinner from 7.00 till 10.30 in two main restaurants. There was also a specialist seafood restaurant which you could pay for although we didn't use this.
Alchoholic drinks available with lunch and dinner and in the main bar.......this did finish at 11pm though whereupon it was a cash bar...........local spirits and beers were in use although international brands were available at cost.
Good sized bedroom with Queen bed, ample furniture, 25" tv with a selection of satellite channels, and a bathroom with a walk-in shower(no bath). In room safe(free) and two large wardrobes.
Wi-Fi available in main bar and reception and some of the public areas(chargeable at £12 per day).
Hotel has its own private beach and jetty with sunbeds and windbreaks..............it was very busy each day so get there early. Great view of Jordan and Saudi from here, plus all the marine life if you can snorkel. Lots of grounds to walk around in at the hotel.

CON's.............Aircon struggled to cope all week so the room was very stuffy at night......Some of the gardens at the hotel were very underdeveloped and seemed to be going backwards........Although there are seven or so pools in the complex they ranged from 2 to 4 feet deep so nothing more than sitting and cooling off, too shallow to swim very far......As I've already said the airport was a joke but the biggest disappointment for me.................THE RUSSIANS................It was quiet for the first couple of days and then they arrived!! and I got my first experience ever of just how rude and ignorant they are in general. I saw people being jostled in the restaurant, and never once heard a please or thank you. The staff were treated even worse to and I did hear vebal abuse on a couple of occasions for no apparent reason at all. I was told later that this is a major detination from eastern europe, and some of the staff said they dreaded them being there most of the time.

In closing, just a tip to say if you go outside the hotel or on excursions then be prepared for loads of security, based on the location of course. Even though there is little or nothing in Taba Heights itself, there are some very good excursions. We went to Petra in Jordan, but be advised it is a tough day and you do need to be fit.(Thomsons if you are reading this then you should give your customers more warning). I am not the fittest person in the world and struggled with the hike to Petra itself, particularly the walk back. On the day we did it, it was only 29 degrees but would not have made it in summer at 45 degrees plus. You leave at 6.30am and get back at 9.30pm, four bus rides, two ferries and a three mile walk over sand, stones and boulders, lots of which is uphill. A spectacular day in places but be warned. How the guys from Sharm did it I'll never know, the round trip from there goes from Taba and is a 23 hour day!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plateglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We enjoyed a week at the Sofitel the first week of November. The hotel is amazing and the rooms very spacious (definitely pay for the seaview upgrade). I can't say enough about the staff, they were amazing and did everything they could to make our trip enjoyable. However, there were a few things that did not make the trip as good as it should have been. The food was very average. The buffet was limited and the same food was cooked night after night. We spent one night at the Tepenyaki restaurant which was okay, not great, just okay. Also, I fell ill on the second day and when visiting the doctor, was surrounded by other hotel guests. After a couple of injections and a batch of antibiotics, I was good to go for the rest of the holiday. Another negative were the amount of russians. They continue to amaze me with their arrogance, their ill manners and their total disregard for anyone else! They are THE worst tourists I have ever come across. If I find a resort that doesn't allow Russians, I'll book a week there every year!

In all honesty, I probably would not go back here again, I think I would try a smaller hotel or a hotel with more restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJGillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We are experienced travellers and holidaymakers but new to tripadvisor. We recognise individual expectations and perceptions vary and we have found it difficult assessing the relevance of some of the reviews to our own expectations. Firstly, the resort, better weather than the Carribean or Asia, being dry rather than humid. Not a lot to do at the resort but relax or take rather expensive and long trips although there are some shorter boat trips and a golf course. A good climate for outdoors in the evenings and no mosquitos or other biting insects. Access from the beach into the sea is difficult, over coral or using a wooden jetty.
Excellent rooms, pool, rooms and grounds and very clean throughout. We stayed in room 1416 and enjoyed a view over the main pool area and out to sea (thanks to the previous reviewer who recommended 1412!). The shower area is about ready for a refresh and maybe a bit more light and an extra mirror would improve the room further. This maybe in the hotel plans. We would choose the same room or an adjacent room again, preferring the view to those in blocks 2 or 3, although block 2 does look out to sea. As many other reviewers have mentioned the staff are excellent, friendly and efficient. They are not looking for tips everytime they serve you which is relaxing. Obviously they appreciate tips and the service gets even more personal. The Manager, Bert Plas is very hands on and accessible. Clearly he sets the tone and all the staff work all of the time to very good effect. Unfortunately, he maybe leaving in January so it may be worth checking the reviews following this if that happens. The only area which compares unfavourably with our experience of all inclusive four star is the food. Choice is limited, main courses are bordering on poor. A number of UK guests often chose to miss the main course altogether. The difficulties with the food supply is well known to the Management, the staff do their best with what is available but all food has to come from Cairo and cost controls and logistics rule.The pastry chef does an excellent job with sweet things and danish pastries. The rest is best described as average for Egypt.
Should this stop you going to the Sofitel? No, because there are so many other excellent aspects, but go with your eyes open about the food - not expecting five star Caribbean menus and you won't be disappointed. We have added it to our list of hotels to which we may return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pater41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We have just returned from 7 days in the Sofitel. The hotel is a large hotel with it's own section of private beach and six swimming pools. I loved the layout of the hotel and whilst in Taba Heights we visited a number of the other hotels and I still prefer the Sofitel.

The staff are friendly and the standard of the rooms and the quality of the hotel is good. The only thing that does let the hotel down is the food.

It is an all inclusive hotel so I have come to expect that it will always be buffet food, not hot and you are likely to get a dodgy tummy. The Sofitel is no exception, but there is really only one place to eat all your meals. Although they have two all inclusive restaurants, the food is the same and the second restaurant is really a spill over for when the first is full.

They do have one restaurant (well... maybe two, but the second one is not really a restaurant - it is by the pool where they serve food during the day) that you can pay to eat in, but given the quality of the all inclusive food it did not inspire us to risk trying and to pay!

That said, each night is themed and every other night they set up a BBQ outside and usually that was hot and tasty.

The evening hotel entertainment or animation team were some of the worst we have seen.

Going to Taba Heights is not a visit to Egypt as the whole place is basically a tourist resort by the sea, so you will need to leave/travel if you want to see Egypt.

From there most Tour Operators run trips and we did the trip to Petra, Jordan. Petra was great but be warned - you leave at 6.30 am and return at 10.00 pm and only get one meal - it is a very long day mostly taken up by travel with only really 2/3 hours in Petra.

The same is the case for Jerusalem and Cairo, which is even earlier - the tours leave at 3.30 am! So.... you really have to be up for it!

To travel between the hotels you can walk along the beach or if you don't want to walk or want to go to the local shops, you can get a free bus that runs every 20 minutes or so around the resort.

Golf here seems to be big.

Within the resort there is only on dive centre. You can book direct or through your Tour Operator, so check out prices and exchange rates to get the best deal as it will be same company you ended up diving with at the end of the day.

We also found that it was better to exchange money when you are there - the hotel has a cashpoint machine and bank and the local rates were better.

If you do go to Petra you will need some money for the horse ride (a tip/gratuity as the ride is usually covered in the cost of the Tour, but a small tip is expected), take some money so you can eat and drink and you will need to pay harbour tax - in cash, in local currency (70 LE person - about £8/9).

On arrival at the airport the queue is slow and long and unless you plan to leave the resort/Sinai area (or you are not going on an organised tour) - you will not need a Visa.

On leaving we were told by our Tour Operator that you can use credit cards at the airport, but you can't - cash only.

We booked through Thomson, but found the advice of the Thomson Hotel Representative to be poor and incorrect. Hopefully this is not the case with the others, but we would recommend doubling checking facts and advice with the hotel and other guests.

Finally, the snorkeling here is great! You must do it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. My 2 boys didn't want to leave, the bar staff made them feel ever so welcome!! Big thanks to Reda and Arhmed.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaikai2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We visited the Sofitel, Taba Heights, in October of this year with our 5yr old son. If you are looking for a relaxing break in the sun, this is an excellent location and hotel. There is little to no entertainment in the evening so if you are looking for that then is not the place. There are 2 bars in the evenings, both close at 11pm, although I think the Hyatt next door has later opening times. The hotel have a large outdoor area beside the poolside bar where they play a DVD for the kids and have games on early evening etc.

The main pool was excellent for us as our 5yr old could stand up at the deepest part so was able to really enjoy himself without needing us constantly in with him - he loved this! The pools are all very nice, but they have a granite floor so be careful of little feet with blisters if they are constantly in the pool and running around in it....

The main restaurant, Alladin, was excellent, the staff were wonderful, especially Ahmed at the tables close to the buffet area, and the variety of food on offer was impressive.

There is plenty of food/drink/ice cream etc available throughout the day in comparison to other all inclusive hotels with a wide and varied selection. The shop onsite can be expensive though so don't suggest picking up pool toys etc over there.

Having friends out there who took the trip to Petra, they said it was lovely - but a very long hike/trek with no shade - in no way suitable for unfit/kids/elderly - very hard going. Also, the market night on a Friday came highly recommended, but friends who had gone the week before said it is not pushchair friendly for anyone with younger children - beware.

October was definitely quiet in the hotel, although we struggled to get a space at the beach, the pool was always fine. The snorkelling is amazing, however, we seen more animated fish, eels, stringrays at the normal walk in section to the sea as opposed to out on the jetty. Don't worry for anyone not keen on snorkelling or younger kids unable to, it is not deep out towards the jetty and you can see just as much by standing as the water is so clear!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
8.9 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.5 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
8.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Property: Sofitel Taba Heights
Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing