We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I went to taba heights Marriott red sea resort for 2weeks, it was amazing the room was very lovely the food was amazing, the staff were very friendly, very hot, a lot of stuff to do, everything was totally amazing I would defo come again! Xxxx

Room Tip: Try to get a room not that close to the pool and near the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Rianna M
Wow, thank your for your wonderful review, we are delighted to read that you had a great holiday. Please let us know next time you visit us so that we can once again make sure you have a great time. Wishing you all the best for the rest of the summer! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

If you are after guaranteed sunshine, and minimum fuss then this is the place for you. If you are after 5 star luxury and gormet food, then stay somewhere else. I stayed for a week with my sister, simply to relax, read, get a tan, and scuba dive. You can certainly do all those things in Taba and the Marriott. I had certain expectations of the Marriott as a chain that weren't met, but it did not stop us from having a good time. It was Ramadan, and we were told this may have been a reason that some aspects of service were lacking.
Positive things:
Check in was perfect and our room was great. 2 massive comfortable beds, and our room was cleaned daily to a good standard.
The pool and grounds are pretty, well landscaped, with lots of different areas to sunbathe in.
The beach is on the doorstep and there is access to decent snorkelling at the Hyatt and sofatel piers.
The 'Waterworld' boothe where we booked our dive trip was efficient and professional. The Waterworld centre itself was PADI, and was super efficient and professional.
Shuttle bus was great.
Spa - I had a wonderful massage at reasonable price.
late checkout - we paid 15E for a late checkout which was definitely worth it.
Not so positive:
What is generally lacking at the Marriott is some efficient management of staff and the 'dining / drinking' areas.
Whilst some staff were friendly and helpful, (Ahmed in the restuarant, Waterworld guys) Some, - especially those serving in the Grotto bar and serving drinks in the main restaurant were incredably rude - we asked one guy if he had a problem with us, as he repeatedly slammed our drinks down, or forgot our orders - he simply walked off! We found this a common complaint amongst fellow residents.
Food - Having been on holiday in Egypt many times, it was exactly what I expected. Buffet style, repeated daily, but enough selection to suite most people. However, the restaurant lacked some basic cleanliness, Spillages were not cleared for days. Drinks service was hit and miss! There was no tea and coffee or water available at dinner time, which meant that you had to bring it yourself from the bar.
Bottled water: If you wanted clean water, we were told to fill our existing water bottles up with water from the machines in the dining room - this caused queues to form. Surely there must be a more efficient way of dealing with this problem.
Pool area: The pool is lovely, but the area around the pool was not cleaned. There were cups, plates, dirty towels, water bottles and food wrapers left - I did point this out - and someone did clear up the area I mentioned, but others were left.

As has already been said, we realised that to achieve best service people were tipping the bar staff and pool boys, so perhaps we should have followed suite.

I agree with other reviews about entertainment etc, but we didn't go on holiday for the entertainment, (in fact the daily piped music for water aerobics etc was so loud,I could barely hear myself think!) but make use of the shuttle bus service and option to book ahead to visit the other hotels in the complex to eat and drink. This is a great idea and we saw some good traditional entertainment at the Hyatt and Sofatel.

So, would I go again. I would definitely go to Taba again. I probably wouldn't stay at the Mariott again, but if it lowered its rating to 3 star hotel then i would say it definitely fits the bill and delivers enough to have a great holiday regardless of problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear cate j
Many thanks for posting your recent very candid review. We would like to apologise for not meeting your expected standard of service, this is certainly not the image we like to project and would urge this not to stop you visiting us again or in fact other marriott properties. Unfortunately, your visit was during peak season and we experienced visitor numbers higher than we expected, and the highest since the revolution. And although not an excuse, it is a fact that during the fasting month of Ramadan, things do tend to slow down. Despite this, please accept our sincerest apologies, and please visit us again to allow us the opportunity of changing your minds and showing you what we can do! Please let us know next time you plan to visit, and in the meantime we wish you a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We went on holiday June 2012 and spent one week at this hotel. The location was lovely, the hotel was very clean and had lovely friendly staff.Snorkling was good but better if you went off the pier at the hotel next door. The swimming pools were very clean as well. The food was good and varied, i loved the salad bar which was very fresh with plenty of variety and the soup was stunning different and home made every day, The only down side was when we went there were not very many English people. But i would go again x

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Val455
Thank you for posting your recent review. We are thrilled to read that you had such a great holiday with us, your comments are well received by the team and helps to keep the team spirit alive! Please be sure to let us know when you will visit again and we will endeavour to make sure you have an even greater holiday! Once again, thanks! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My partner and I returned from the Marriott Taba last week after a fantastic holiday. We got a good deal through Travelzoo with Peltours/Longwood for an all inclusive week with an upgrade to a seaview room. From the moment we arrived at Gatwick we were impressed with the service we received, everything ran like clockwork including the transfers, check in and getting all the info we needed.

We went to the 'Welcome Meeting' the next day, in hindsight we shouldn't have bothered, it went on way too long (over an hour) and we didn't find out anything that wasn't either common sense or written in the hotel info/welcome pack.

Our room was just beautiful, it had an amazing dome in the ceiling with a huge chandelier and as we were on the end of the block, an enormous L-shaped balcony terrace with sun loungers (not sure if any other rooms have this!). The room was cleaned every day and although I agree with other reviews that the bathroom could do with updating, it had all necessary facilities and was clean enough.

The food was good for an Egyptian buffet, you could be as adventurous as you liked (or not!) with a good range of starters and mains, although we did get bored of cake for dessert. The all inclusive does finish at 10pm but this isn't a late night party resort. I wouldn't recommend it for those expecting to party until the early hours!

The pool is huge with one part heated and one not, on some days the heated pool was more like a bath and the colder pool most welcome so to have both was great. There were comfortable sun loungers but the classic holiday gripe did get on my nerves. On our first day we went to the pool at 8am to find there were no loungers left! It's quite frustrating to see the odd flip flop or sarong on a sun lounger and then for it not to be used until 3 or 4pm. I'm not really sure what the hotel could do about this, but we did end up joining the masses in reserving our loungers before breakfast, some people ended up on the grass or even the floor. Perhaps some more loungers would be a good idea - they told us at the welcome meeting that the hotel was still only 60% full so this could be a real problem if it was to fill up.

We took the organised trip to the Dead Sea/Jerusalem and although it was a very long day (2am start, returned at 10pm) it was totally worth it. The coach was fine, 20 of us on a 50 seater so plenty of room to rest and our guide really knew his stuff. We saw all of the main sites, had an hour at the Dead Sea and had a lovely lunch in Bethlehem. Everything to do with border passes etc was all very well explained. This isn't a trip for the faint-hearted! Lots of walking in the heat and hours on the coach but it was fantastic nonetheless. My advice would be to take British pounds with you if you plan on doing this trip as it's the easiest to change.

Overall we had a lovely time in Taba, the short transfer (abut 45mins), guaranteed fantastic weather (high 30s/low 40s but a nice breeze most days) and amazing pool suited our need for a relaxing holiday to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Rachel M
We were so delighted to read of your recent experiences at our hotel, thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! To recieve feedback like yours keeps us all in a positive spirit and helps to motivate the team, i will be sure to pass on your comments! We really hope that you come back to visit us in the future, and in the meantime we wish you a great summer! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just came back from a week at this hotel,we booked using a deal on Travelzoo as did all the Brits staying here it seemed.
The rooms were clean and tidy and large enough for a 2 adults and 2 children,they were cleaned daily and were pretty spotless.
The all inclusive bit runs out at 10pm so then you have to buy your own drinks while not unreasonable in price it is still a bit of a rip off.
The food in the restaurant is pretty poor,luke warm and bland.The way round this is to book up the day before by 11am and book one of the other hotels near by it will not cost you anything but your drinks but it is well worth it.When we did eat in the restaurant the service was slow to bring you drinks or anything else you may have wanted.
Service at the Grotto bar was very slow and if the kids were waiting to be served they just seemed to be forgotten and had to wait ages.The beach bar was the quickest place to be served.
The swimming pools are very clean and safe for children of all ages (ours are 9 and 11),the towel guys start at 8am so there is a bit of a scrum down for the sun chairs around the pools around this time,maybe best to keep the towels from previous day and get a bit of a head start on everyone else.The crockery around pool was known to be there for several days,not good.!!!
Nightime entertainment was poor only 2/3 times per week was it laid on and that simply was not good enough for a hotel of this size.
On the plus side it is great setting,great beach with no hassle you sometimes get on these beaches.Great reefs for snorkeling(take beach shoes as stoney leading into the sea).
In answer to my question would I go again? For what we paid for the holiday I think would.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willcock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear wilcock4
Many thanks for your recent review. I would like to clarify some points for you regarding some of your comments. Regarding the food issues, we do accept that there may have been some valid issues during your stay and in order to tackle this we are currently in the process of searching for an executive chef, which we have not had for some time now, therefore please accept my apologies if you feel the restaurant did not meet your expectations. We are also in the process of re-arranging our animation team, which will enable us to provide a larger and more varied schedule of evening entertainment. Regarding service issues, unfortunately we are in peak season and the hotel was near to full capacity, and although not an excuse, it is a reality in this part of the world that Ramadan does cause things to slow down somewhat. We would certainly urge you to visit us again, so that we might have the opportunity to show you that we can deliver a great holiday experience and raise that star rating from 3 - 5! Please be sure to let us know if you plan on visiting us again, and in the meantime we wish you a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

First time in Taba but 7th time in Egypt. So in terms of all the usual moans I am generally well prepared for every eventuality. Didn't really need to be at this hotel. Great food for Egypt and the room was perfectly good.
Themed nights in the restaurant was a great idea as that meant rather than a questionable buffet from all over the world. A cohesive menu was great.
There are only a few areas that could be improved and interestingly all of them revolve around the beach. But to keep up with the positives the snorkelling is amazing as you are treated to a variety of environments. Rocky shallows great for stone fish and eels and the reefs that have all the usual suspects. On the next beach up there were two turtles. Perfect for first time snorkelers as it is shallow and obviously great for kids.
Down sides, there was no designated area for walking into the sea. This meant that it was a free for all and having seen the variety of life in the shallows for it to be preserved a few designated walk ways that were cleared of stones would be great. It is a very painful experience getting in and out of the sea if you weren't wearing shoes.There needs to be toilets on the beach and a cold shower would also be great. It may all be a question of plumbing but this would make the beach aspect great.
Beach furniture all tired and very heavy and for some reason the staff at the beach bar did not like to serve women as readily as men. Which meant that there was a lot of waiting around being ignored.
Niggles not major problems. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea views mean climbing quite a lot of stairs so unless you really want one don't opt for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank troublefishblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear troublefishblue
A huge thank you for posting you recent review. We are heppy to hear that you had a good time with us. Thans for your note regarding the beach issues. We are working with our engineering team to ensure that the sunloungers are of a good standard, and we are looking into the possibility of making a clearer entrance into the sea to make it easier for guests. Just a note, unfortunately due to marine park rules we are not allowed to remove stones from the beach, but we will try to find a solution to make this easier. I hope this clarifies the issue for you, and next time you decide to visit, please be sure to let us know! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in Taba (but different hotels). We had a lovely time, the staff are amazing and always put themselves out to provide an excellent service, always with a friendly smile. The food was good and the hotel try and cater for all needs, we also went to El Fuego's Mexican twice and the food there was very reasonable and excellent.

When we arrived there were three coaches and the hotel had done everything possible to make the process as smooth as possible, we were welcomed with a cold drink and a cold flannel, all the room keys/towel cards had been prepared and the luggage was numbered and taken directly to our rooms.

Every opportunity was given to raise any issues with the Hotel, this was discussed at the welcome meeting and there was also a lady that went round the hotel asking if everything was ok. Not sure why some people fail to raise issues yet come back and complain without giving the hotel the opportunity to do something about anything that is wrong (as they may not know).

All in all I would recommend the Marriott and Taba Heights. For us the best thing apart from the glorious weather/hotel/views was the staff, we always find the Egyptians very friendly, hardworking and helpful, a reason that we go back to Egypt every year.

Room Tip: We were in the 900 block of rooms and it was close to the pool/restaurant and beach with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank davenwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bayview Taba Heights Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Davenwend
Thank you for posting your recent review, we are delighted that you had a great holiday and that we met your expectations. I will certainly be sharing your feedback with the team, especially the comments regaring the staff. They are working extremely hard and in such harsh and hot conditions, and especially with Ramadan at the moment, its great to hear such wonderful and positive feedback! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, and in the meantime, wishing you a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £29 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing