We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Nice, Relaxing, Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taba
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice, Relaxing, Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Marriott Taba Heights resort with my Family in late July 2012. We stayed all inclusive and all really enjoyed our stay!

Our room was a nice size and had two double beds, the furniture in the room was good but the wardrobes need to be updated. The room was always kept very clean and a bottle of water was put in our room everyday. There was a nice size balcony with two seats. There was a beautiful view ofy the sea and on the other side you could see the city of Aqaba, in Jordan.

The food at the Marriott was good! There was a buffet which was based on a different country every night. There was food that everyone could enjoy and a nice choice of deserts too. However the food would have got samey if we had stayed any longer than a week. We did not try any of the other restaurants in the hotel. The restaurant could get very noisy depending on your seat, we prefered to sit nearer to the entrance.
Drinks were a huge problem at the Marriott in the main restaurant. They took ages to get the table, if getting there at all. Also, there was no way of telling if our coke was normal or diet as the waiters just brought out huge trays of drinks, this can be a problem for people with certain health problems such as diabetes, so I really think the hotel needs to find some way of sorting this out.

The beach and pool area were both very nice! However, we didn't even try to get a sunbed by the pool as they were gone so fast and you would have to wake up at stupid times to get a space. We went to the beach everyday and it was much quieter and there was always plenty of space. The sea is really nice to go in but it is rocky so I recommend wearing some sort of shoes. The snorkelling is really good down at the marriot and we saw some amazing fish by the coral reef. We heard that snorkelling is much better at the Sofitel and Hyatt but we never tried it. The pool is nice and seemed to be split not two sections one quieter which was much quieter and better for relaxing.

We did decide to take one of the buses up to the Three Corners El Wekela resort. It was an interesting experience as the driver was playing extremely loud music and singing and dancing, this was a bit scarey but we survived! When we got to the Resort we went to the shops area which was dead. We went into the supermarket to get some water and after looking around we couldn't find any, so we asked the shop assistant, who was falling asleep, if there was any water and he said they had run out.

There were a few different day trips we could have chosen to go on and we decided to go on the trip to Petra. It was an amazing trip and we all really enjoy it! Although we did have to get up at 2:30 in the morning and didn't get back until about 9 at night, it was a very long and hot day with a lot of travelling but it is deffinatley worth it as the tour guide was very informative and Petra was a wonderful thing to see!

There are a few small problems that the hotel needs to sort out but other than that is was a really nice hotel and good value for money. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would deffinatley go again!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviax27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Oliviax27
We were delighted to read your recent review regarding your holiday at the Taba Marriott! Your feedback is always great to receive and helps keep the team spirit alive and for sure i will be sharing your feedback with the team! Please make sure that you contact us prior to your arrival next time you visit us! In the meantime we wish you all the best! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    444
    163
    88
    46
See reviews for
298
647
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This holiday was amazing, I recommend this for couples that need relaxing and all families! Families with young children will love it with the pool, I went in August with my parents (I'm 13) and everyone was just so lovely!! I would defiantly go there again. I would recommend going for 10 days. Bring lots of American Dollars, English Pounds or Egyptian Pounds because there are so many amazing trips. I went to Jerusalem which was amazing but not for young children!!!! But I would defiantly go though. Blue hole go go go go go. The resort was beautiful, the snorkling, you must do!!! Bring sea shoes you will need them and your own kit! Please choice this resort!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room trust me!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

August 2012 , Our visit to this hotel was a mix of pleasure and pain, the hotel is wonderful and has something for everyone. 

The pain side of things for us were the lack of sun beds, towels seemed to appear between 12midnight and 6am as by 7am each morning you were lucky to find three sun beads together. The beach bar manger is rude and it's no wonder the weekly beach party only has a couple of people turn up, i feel very sorry for his young staff as all they do is get shouted at, if he is reading this then please tidy ourself up and have a wash now and again as its not a nice experience being severed by you.
 
The food, nothing to talk about but it's ok, you need to be prepared to queue as the restaurant  layout isn't that well thought out, as people end up queuing in front of the buffet. The Cheese burger and chips from the room service menu is great and at about £4 is a welcome change from the themed menu, you can order this at lunch time or at dinner, but you are going to be charged. 

Drinks, the beer is good but i didn't know you could get four glass of beer out of one can of beer, we ordered two beers each as it saves you going back to the bar each time. We were told that a couple of the waiter would say one beer for one person only, we never had this problem but tipping each time helps and for $10 per night you don't seem to have a problem. But if your looking for a good glass of wine then best wait until you get back to the UK. 

The bedrooms are clean and if you want to treat yourself upgrade your room, the service in the rooms is good and we found the rooms very clean. The poolside rooms are very popular and have a nice grass area just out side to sit on. 
Most rooms have an ocean view apart from the rooms right at the back of the hotel.

The hotel does change once Ramadan finishes and I would not recommend the weeks following this unless you like being pushed around, have your wife and daughter pushed out of the way and the food in the restaurant handed and then put back, as manners and hygiene don't seem to be something that is taught or understood. 

The reception staff are great and very helpful nothing is to much of a problem, they set a good preference. I would advise you if you have a problem go and speak to them. 

Wifi Internet is expensive, but you can get cable Internet in your room which is a bit cheaper. 

The uptown area, very quiet but worth a visit, the supermarket seems to have two prices, local prices and tourist prices just ask the price before you buy.

The leather bag shop which has a outlet in the hotel has a very aggressive owner and prides himself on is arrogance. If you want a fake bag, keep away from his shop but talk to the guy in the hotel shop.

The Belgian restaurant is good food and friendly staff, they don't except Amex card but will say they except all credit cards.

The thai restaurant and Indian are worth walking by as we get better food back home. The Mexican again isn't that great food wise but the service is good. 

The bus, well you are told that there are two bus going around in different directions and pick up every 15mins. Yes we did see two buses but they were going in the same direction, the pick up times seem to vary from between every 30mins and 60mins. I think they call it ishhhhhhhh time. 

After speaking to other people the other hotels have better evening entertainment and have a lot more to do of an evening.

Would I go back? Well not to sure, unless it was for a totally rest out of season, some of the other hotels around seem to offer more and seem to cater better for the European traveller, with larger pool areas and a lot more sun-beds.

Best snorkelling is in front of the Hyatt hotel, saw some wonderful fish.
     
if your planning to go, take some US Dollars they work wonders and get you a lot more when tipping with them.

Enjoy your trip and I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doghouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our rooms were very good, the beds extremely comfortable. I'm actually trying to track down the quilt manufacturers as they were so nice. As it is a resort rather than just a hotel it is spread out quite a bit so be prepared for some walking. We were there at the hottest time of year so definitely something to be aware of! The pool is nicely laid out so its not boring, and allows for bits of shade, shallow areas, and even a temperature difference. Be warned, pool loungers get taken fairly early in the morning. The beach isnt far, so our young pool lovers in our group didnt feel too detached from the older beach and sea fans. We were put off going into the sea the first couple of days as the tide line was very rocky and the sea didnt look clear. Bad mistake! When we did go in and venture beyond the first few metres we found crystal clear water, coral and lots of fish. Wonderful paddling at low tide. Swimming booties HIGHLY recommended. We went All Inclusive, a first for us, which entailed buffet meals and local soft (juices really nice) & alcoholic drinks. The buffet was very good but did get boring after a few days, despite a nightly theme variation, as it was mostly variations of the same salads etc. There is a restaurant (pay extra), which was nice enough, but you have to book 24 hours ahead and its only open 3 days a week. With a only a week stay we didnt take advantage of the shuttle bus to try eating options at the other hotels in the Taba Heights group as the travel would take away from our beach and pool time! Staff generally nice and helpful, particularly attentive to the younger blonde females of our party... Internet pricey. As someone else said, I'm not sure of the 5 star rating but I dont know how that is calculated. Comparing to other 5 star hotels round the world may be unfair. In all a good, comfortable hotel with something for all the family.

Room Tip: There are rooms which are closer to the pool than others, and some closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked this holiday mainly because of the cost and having been to Taba before we knew we would get a peaceful time with plenty of sun.
I would like to start by saying we have been lucky enough to stay at 5 star hotels all over the world and have stayed in several Marriot ones, and whilst this hotel states 5 star it is not representitive of their usual high standards, or that of other chains that I have stayed in.
Having said that it was very good value and very safe and clean.
In the main the reviews before me are acurate. The food is very repeatative and there was not much choice. Not alot for veggies except salad and one fish option. But it was of a good standard most days.
The chef did listen to several complaints whilst we were there and in his defence he did make a few changes where he could.
The tables were not really cleaned quick enough but the staff who were there did work as fast as they could.
The rooms were large clean and nicely decorated.
The staff very friendly (apart from a very very rude man in the onsite bank) and worked extremely hard, my hats off to them during Ramadam they were amazing.
The entertainment was ok even though the staff worked so hard to get everyone to join in. We actually lent the DJ our i pods on several nights as he never had alot of music to choose from.
The facilites such as th Grotto bar (we re named Getto bar) were not good, there was not a la carte food available as advertised and the snacks were of a very poor standard.
The beach bar did not serve snacks as advertised and we were regularly asked by bar staff to bring back our glasses if we did not sit in the bar to drink our drinks.
The grounds and golf were wonderful but the heat ment we did not really get time to appreciated them properly.
The pool was lovely, the area around it did get a bit dirty at times and they could have done with picking up the plates etc a bit more often but in general it was ok.
The internet was sooo expensive we went next door to use their free one (cant understand why such a simple thing cnat be atleast a reasonable price).
The beauty salon was a nightmare. We went for 2 treatments on the basis we could have a second free when we tried to book the 2nd they were full except on our leaving day, I went back twice at my appointment time and no one was around and eventually had to leave it, thus having paid over £50 for one treatment which is totally unacceptable, I persoanlly would not use this facility, I thought maybe they were just having a bad day but on the coach I discovered others who had had the same experience and felt conned.
In all I would say we got what we paid for. My gripe is that alot of the facilities were not as advertised especially where the food was involved and I would rather it was more honestly advertiesd.
Would I go back. If it was cheap enough yes, but would be happy to pay a bit more if they just sorted a few of the problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception the ones up the back are an exhausting up hill walk in the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctc881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just got back after a week at the Marriot Taba Heights. I will get the gripe out of the way 1st-Monarch airline need to employ efficient cabin crew or employ a lot more of them. Coming home it took one of them an hour to serve 4 rows of passengers, then they ran out of everything-& i mean everything edible or drinkable-pretty bad!
Now for the Marriot, i don`t think its 5star, more 4star, that said it is still very good value.
The buffet style meals allways had a very good range of choices on offer, all the food was well cooked & well presented with something to suit everyone. they do not seem to have worked out the all inclusive concept yet(only been a i for a month so still work in progress), why they need you to sign for drinks all the time is a mystery! they need more staff in the dining room, waiters clearing tables have to double up as drinks waiters,so you do end up waiting for drinks to be served.
Get up early if you want a sunbed by the pool-plenty of them buts lots of Russians with no manners as well. the pool & beach are lovely.
The staff are very friendly & helpful.
The rooms are a good size & the double bed big & comfortable.Room cleanliness very good with clean towels daily & the bed linen changed midweek.
All in all a nice place to stay & will be better when they sort out the all inclusive side of things.
they do have other eating options(payable) but pretty expensive.
IF i ever went back to Taba Heights i would stay at the Marriot definately.

Room Tip: get an upgrade to a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spursroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Have just returned from a two week stay at the Marriott in Taba. Having read the reviews we were satisfied on arrival that the hotel would be amazing. The reception is immaculate and the rooms are spacious and kept clean and tidy by housekeeping. You get a bottle of water each day left by the cleaner along with toiletries which is a bit hit and miss whether or not they get replaced. No huge drama.
The beach is nice although the access to the sea is really stony so as per previous reviews make sure you wear footwear. Failing that walk 5 minutes to the Sofitel where there is a jetty which takes you straight onto a reef which is lovely for snorkelling. Even better is a further walk along to the Hyatt jetty and the reef there is deeper and regularly saw turtles.
On the down side the service in all areas is really quite sub standard. In the main restaurant you have practically finished your dinner before you get drinks. Perhaps put a bottle of water on the tables with meals as they do at the Sofitel. The food is also Luke warm and a bit repetitive but it normally is with a two week stay. The restaurant is also very cafeteria like and very loud. Not fine dining at all.The service in all the bars was awful. If you were male and or Arabic or French you would get served first. Queuing for other nationalities is also a joke and they st push in! It becomes really frustrating but the the staff just shrug their shoulders.
The entertainment at the hotel is limited but the resort is not marketed any other way other than quiet. The lady who did the animation was a real hard worker. The pool was very busy as the hotel was full and you couldn't get a sun lounger unless you got up at 5 in the morning to out your towels out. There were even cases where some ignorant people put their towels out as they went to bed!
The hotel guests are mainly French with a scattering of Russians and few Brits and a few other nationalites. Huge groups of very loud Jordanians (i think)came for the last few days and proceeded to take over most of the pool with the men intimidating a lot of the girls in the pool. The families on more than one occasion let their children openly urinate in the swimming which I couldn't believe. They also just took which ever sun lounger they wanted regardless of whether or not someone was already using it! If it didn't have someone laying on it then they took it. This became very annoying and was actually quite relieved to get on the coach as it was starting to cause a lot of resentment amongst the other guests.
For those that need Internet the wifi costs 105le and hour or about ten pounds. You can get wired Internet in your room only for a cost of about the same for an hour or 850le for a week! Wifi is free at the Sofitel in bar and reception. It's worth having dinner there which you can do if the book at the Marriott reception by 11am the day before you wish to eat there. You pay for drinks but is worth it for a decent meal. Make sure you take your lap top or iPad to check your emails whilst you are there! if you do go word of warning. Gents have to wear long trousers in the restaurant in the Sofitel if you do wear shorts or three quarter length shorts you will either be asked to out on a pair of chinos which they have hanging on a rail outside or they will ask you to leave. Wish they had that policy at the Marriott as a lot of guests just looked like they had left the beach. Fine for lunch but not for evening meal.
In summary I would recommend this hotel but it is not on the same level as the Marriott brand I know from the Uk. It is a 3 star or 4 at best with service to match. If you want a better hotel with good service and really super food go to the Sofitel. For the extra money it's worth it because:
Service is better in all areas, water on table. Food presented better and is a lot warmer.
Adult only separate pool and restaurant
All inclusive in all bars.
All inclusive until 2300hrs.
Better beach and snorkelling.
Free wifi in bar and reception.

Taba itself is very quiet with a free shuttle bus which runs every 15 minutes or so which is really handy. The Uptown area has a supermarket and a few shops which are worth a visit. A shopping mall it certainly isn't but it has a pharmacy as well should you get struck down by any bugs.
There are also a few restaurants some are which are linked to the hotel and have the odd offer on for guests.
The Waterworld centre is great for diving and Parasailing, canoeing etc. They also do snorkelling boat trips. Bit pricey but a decent day out.
You can go quad biking which we did. It costs 33gbp for one hour or 43gbp for two hours. We did the two session and although it seems expensive it was a really great couple of hours albeit very dusty and hot. You are supplied with helmets, goggles and gloves.
If you can bear the heat then a round a golf is a good option. It's an 18 hole course and you get the buggy and clubs included in the price. I didn't play but heard from some friends it was a good value 3 hour session.
Taba is nice and don't be too out off by the hotel. The hotel is lovely and very modern but the service is lacking which hopefully will improve in time.
I am likely to return to Taba but it will be the Sofitel and not the Marriott.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room. They seem to be bigger and are right on the poolside with no stairs to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadiva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
0.6 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 24 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#11 of 24 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Dream Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay View Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Property: The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay View Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Bay View Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing