We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott & Taba Heights generally. First Impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marriott & Taba Heights generally. First Impressions”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have visited Egypt several times a year for many years, so can count in many dozens the total number of our holidays in the country, but although we have been to the usual haunts – Luxor, Cairo, Giza, Dahab, Nuweiba, Taba Hilton etc.- this is our first visit to Taba Heights.

The first three impressions are: (a) how little hassle there is compared to other parts of the same country (b) how empty the whole area is and (c) how everyone is keen to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

We are well used to our bags being taken from us as we leave Luxor airport, or local people insisting that we want a ride in a taxi when we know we do not, or to take a camel at the pyramids when we are happy to stroll. None of those problems here. We dragged our own bags to the coach with no hint of the usual army of unwanted porters and have not heard the dreaded ‘Tax … Carriage’ once. Very refreshing. We know that hassle puts many people off travelling to the country at all. If that is you – try Taba Heights!

Although the British government distinguishes between the Sinai resorts and other parts of Egypt when offering travel advice, apparently many other governments do not. Consequently, very few tourists are here from the countries that you would expect to be well represented at almost any holiday resort. If you are tired of a resort where there are ten tourists per sun bed, come here. There are ten sun beds per tourist.

This is fine if you want all the facilities and none of the crowds, but for the area it is such a shame. The weather is as good as it always was, the water is as warm, the diving is as good (or so they tell me), the sun is as reliable and there is absolutely no hint of the problems that are keeping visitors, including us, from other parts of Egypt.

The emptiness can be a little eerie, though. The ‘shopping centre’ is as quiet as a film set before the crew arrive or a goldrush town when the gold has run out. You almost expect a newspaper to be driven by the wind into a saloon bar door and to hear the spaghetti western music.

Yet despite the lack or tourists, or perhaps because there are so few, everyone is really keen to help. Apparently the local population only numbers around 1,000 and every one of them depends on tourism for their livelihood, so they try, really try, to make sure that those who do come are happy with their choice.

Are there any downsides? Yes, of course. You would imagine that the amount the hotel chefs are able to spend relates to the number of guests, and that with a reduction in the number of guests comes a reduction in spend. Consequently, the variety available at each meal is not as wide as it would be in different circumstances. Having said that, at the Marriott, where we are staying, although there may not be the variety we have come to anticipate in Egyptian four and five star hotels, the selection is fine, with at least two or three choices at each of the meals: and the quality is extremely good, too, especially by all-inclusive buffet standards. Many local hotels have an agreement whereby, by arrangement, someone on ‘all inclusive’ in one hotel can eat a main meal at another, further increasing the options.

Something we had not anticipated was the colour of the bath water! We appreciate that water is a scarce resource and that most of it is recovered from available supplies – the Nile in the case of Aswan and Luxor and the surrounding seas in the case of the Red Sea and Gulf resorts. This is then desalinated, filtered and treated as necessary. This has worked very well at the many places we have stayed throughout Egypt but initially the water here looked as though it had missed one of the filtration stages. Ours was rather murky and not very hot. Fine if you prefer a shower, which most do, but as you filled a bath the water became increasingly brown as the depth rose. We were told by the hotel’s engineer that this was normal although we cannot (yet) speak about the situation in the other hotels. However, a few more queries and visits from different engineers later, the problem was reduced, if not totally solved, accompanied by a room change option. We decided to stay and tolerate the now beige rather than brown water. This is probably one of the symptoms of low occupancy. Water remains static in some places and silt builds up. And it is we who have decided to stay rather than change rooms. So this is not a criticism of the hotel but credit for its determination to resolve issues that may arise.

Something you do need to be aware of is that, although the hotel description suggests ‘coffee making facilities in the room’, this relates to the facilities – i.e. the kettle and cups – not to the ingredients. Elsewhere in Egypt, even on B&B, ‘facilities in the room’ has meant daily refills. Here there are complimentary sachets for you on arrival, but refills cost an astonishing LE30 (£3) each time if you request them. There is a note to this effect on the kettle tray, but as there are so many notes for guests in the room, you may not read them all. Read this one, because if you ask for refills every day for a 2 week holiday, it could cost you an alarming LE420 (around £40GBP).

Most of the day trips from the area have been cancelled by the main tour operators for security reasons, but trips are still available to Petra in Jordan and to the Dead Sea, Jerusalem and Bethlehem in neighbouring Israel. You can find more options locally, but not all of them accord with official Foreign Office advice about travel safety in the area.

Within Taba Heights there are limited options, most of which depend on sunbathing, swimming, diving and the like, from the shore or from a jetty or a boat. There is also a golf course which offers professional tuition. A 2500 metre 'jogging path', or promenade, links the four main beach hotels and the watersport centre, which also serves drinks and meals.

If you a reading this because you are wondering whether to try Taba Heights, you need to be quick. Most UK travel companies have already stopped coming here and we are told that the remaining few will stop their direct flights in or around November, for a few months at least. Thereafter, the only way, at least until next year, will be via the more distant Sharm airport, with a 2 - 3 hour transfer time. Regulars may decide the extra transfer time is worth it, but many newcomers might decide that Taba is not a sufficient draw to justify that kind of journey, especially as you would pass similar man-made resorts along the way. The hotels will still have guests from elsewhere, especially from neighbouring countries, so people who do make the effort won't be on their own, but it does seem likely that UK tourist numbers will, sadly, be down in the coming months.

So if you are thinking of coming to Taba Heights, and if you want a holiday that offers sun, sea, water-based entertainment, relaxation and welcoming hotel staff, you need to come soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Weezysgrandpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Weezysgrandpop,

Thank you so much for taking this time out of your precious holiday to write such a detailed review. We are very happy to see that you appreciated the luck of hassle and the abundance of sunbeds here in Taba - this is one of the reasons we like it here.
We are happy to share with you the return of most European countries to Egypt and Taba, not to the extent to spoil it's relaxing atmosphere, but the "Uptown" area definitely feels much less like a ghost town these days.
Another good news is that we have fixed the water issue, not it is as clear and colourless as it should be!
With the UK Foreign Office easing its travel advice for Egypt, there is no reason really not to come.
We hope to see you back with one of the first flights from the UK to Taba.

Meanwhile our best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    444
    163
    88
    46
See reviews for
298
647
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Returned from a week in Taba Heights on 23 Sept 13. The resort is perfect if you're looking for some R and R. Georgeous sunshine in the mid 90's most days and the setting was heaven.

The hotel is one of 4 along a stretch of beach about 2.5km long. The hotels are connected by a paved promenade and I would recommend an early morning stroll before the heat gets too much (its also perfect for having a snoop around the other hotel!). For those late risers there is also a free open air shuttle bus that stops at all the hotels en route to Uptown (where you'll find restaurants, a pharmacy, a supermarket (Mario market), an off license and some other shops. Please be aware though, this is currently Very quiet due to the lack of visitors. The Bulgarian restaurant is closed for a month. The Mexican is only open half the week too (would absolutely recommend the Mexican (El Fuego) the food is to die for. Flying carpet was nice too but again due to the lack of visitors, not all the menu items were available.

As for the Marriott, I went with Peltours and although I had some reservations due to the political unsettlement showing on the TV, Taba Heights is very isolated, literally just the hotels and services for the resort. The only people living locally are those working in the hotels. The hotels have guards (which is absolutely normal here) and even on the beach you will see guards at each hotel boundary. The people are extremely friendly and most of the time are more than keen to help. Our coach load of 40 tripled the hotels occupancy to 120. The hotel can accommodate about 1600 so you certainly won't need to put your towel out to save a bed in the mornings! (Plus the pool guys will put your towel out before you get there anyway)..

It is quite a large complex, so if you want to be near the main building, make sure you request it. I took my mum and we were in block 400. This was near the beach and actually made for a nice walk up to the main building, although at almost 70, she found it a bit far sometimes.

Again due to the numbers, the hotel had closed the main buffet restaurant Al Andalucia, so all buffet meals were in the Tuscany on the 1st floor of the main building. Breakfast was the usual fare (great 'egg man' outside). We never ventured up for lunch as doing nothing all day didnt really warrant three meals a day! The evening food could be a little repetitive, but I'd recommend checking out whatever they cook outside as this tended to have more flavor (chicken tikka was delicious and the freshly cooked pizza was also pretty scrummy). Whilst normally there are pool snacks in the grotto bar and beach bar, again due to numbers, you could only get drinks there. It would however have been nice to get ice cream (the machine was in the lobby but never a scoop could be seen. :0(

The hotel put on entertainment most nights, belly dancers, whirling dervish, disco etc and it was nice to sit outside on the main patio to watch these. Ther are a couple of shops selling jewelry, nik naks, pool bits etc, and also a bank and an ATM (you don't even have to get Egyptian pounds here, everywhere takes pounds - but if you do want some, definitely wait until you get there as you'll get a much better rate than buying here in the UK). On that note too, tips. You can leave / give pound coins (don't be surprised though if people ask you to change up pound coins/two pound coins for notes - they aren't trying to scam you they just can only change notes into Egyptian). Tipping is a way of life here too, so do tip if you can, even a couple of pounds will make a real difference.

Almost forgot to mention the Spa. Both my mum and I had the cleopatra treatment. This consisted of salt rub, sauna, massage and an oil type treatment. The rep said we wouldn't burn if we had it and I have to say he was right! There were a few people sporting nasty burns on the way home but the Cleopatra (which also included an after sun treatment just before you go home), left us both with smooth skin and a lovely golden tan. (The gym is in the spa too, which looked cool and clean but alas early morning walks were all I could muster). For the more energetic there's also AquaGym every day in the pool. Music was a bit loud sometimes but if you prefer quiet head to the beach (you'll likely be the only one there too!). Speaking of beach, make sure you take (or rent) a snorkel set, the coral reef is wonderful (and the sea water is akin to bath water!)

So, definately would recommend this hotel (and the Mexican in Uptown, El Fuego)!

Probably the only negative from this trip would be the very strange experience I had one night at reception when booking a table for the Mexican. One of the receptionists asked (totally out of the blue), how much I would pay for HIM!!?). Very bizarre and definately Not what I wanted to be asked. That aside, if your thinking of booking this hotel, as long as you're just looking to relax in the sun, this is certainly it!

(Ps. Along the promenade (about 20 minutes) you will find a sea cafe - the Waterworld office is there too and the marina for boat trips. They have sun beds and lots of shady palm trees so spend the day there for a change of scenery (cushions on the sun beds are thicker than the marriott), and I hear the food is well worth the walk (or catch the free shuttle!!))

Whilst the resort was lovely, probably what made the holiday were two super funny brothers we met, Stantz as they're commonly known. Haven't laughed so much in ages, thank you xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Claude257,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we are delighted to see that you and your mother enjoyed your stay at our resort. We all hope the business recovers soon and we'll be able to run all the services (the buffet in the main restaurant, daily entertainment, ice cream etc.) on full scale again.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident at the Reception. It was only due to the very short experience of this particular associate in this position. We have taken additional measures to ensure that all our team members are well trained before being put in direct guest contact. Once again, we truly hope that his incident hasn't spoiled your overall holiday experience.

Wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you and your mother back in our hotel in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What a beautiful place for a holiday where the accommodation and service was second none.

Please let me reassure visitors or anyone thinking of plannng a holiday here that it is perfectly safe and we felt under no threat at anytime. It is so sad that there are no hoiday makers booking to go to this idyllic place they dont know what they are missing. If you are lucky enough to be going, make sure you go on boat trip where you can snorkel and scuba dive. The crew were fantastic fun and we had a day to remember.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Karen h,

Thank you for finding a moment two share your feedback. We are very proud of your ‘second to none' comment - definitely makes all our hard work and efforts worth it. We also love the boat trip and think it is a must for anyone who comes here.

Once again, thank you for your support and rest assured that we are always happy to welcome you back in our little paradise.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I absolutely relished the opportunity to stay in this superb hotel. Upon arrival we were allocated a beautiful room with majestic views of the resort. We decided to upgrade to the presidential suite which was more suited to our lifestyle being from a wealthy background. We loved looking down on everyone from our balcony bathtub as they went about their business and adored the sumptuous decor presented within this large and exclusive area of the hotel. The staff were incredibly courteous and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Whilst the upgrade was not cheap it certainly made us feel more at home although the original room was very nice too (just not what we are used to).

The Egyptians are jolly nice people and the tour operator we traveled with was superb - Russell is just the funniest young man - such a hoot !

If you haven't been, procure a trip there !

Room Tip: Upgrade - because you are worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_n_Lady_Grubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Lord_n_Lady_Grubby ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted and honored to receive such a favorable feedback from you. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the luxury and comfort of our Presidential suite and the courtesy and friendliness of our team.
We hope we'll have the honor to welcome you in our hotel for another beautiful and relaxing holiday.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A lovely hotel with extremely helpful staff that can't do enough to help you. Upgraded to a sea view on arrival which was spectacular. This is a beautiful area for snorkelling for both the seasoned snorkeller and the beginner like me. A shame that people are not travelling to this area as they think it is unsafe. There are absolutely no problems in the area. We even ventured to Jerusalem! Unfortunately due to to the depleted number of guest (90 in total) the food choices at the buffet were somewhat limited but that is a circumstance beyond their control. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h9239023malam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear h9239023malam,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to see that you appreciated the beauty of the area (we think it's a stunning place no matter how long you look at it!) and enjoyed your holiday in our company. We hope the things in Egypt turn for the better and we'll be able to roll out our usual feast-like buffets and we’ll be very happy to see you join us one day.

Thanks again for all your support,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

As returning guests of the Marriott Taba Heights.
My wife and I find this hotel ticks all the boxes.

Professional welcoming staff, good food and excellent hotel.

Really nice Spa, recommend having a massage!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviddives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Daviddives,

Thank you for this great review, such a complete feedback in just a few words. We could not have said it better!
We are looking forward to many more of your visits to our place.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2weeks
Had a great time nice and clean foods good lots to choose from and the staff are so friendly and helpfull. I got sick for 2days from outside of the hotel and the staff knew exactly what pill i needed which made me feel like i was being looked after well. Entertainment in the evening for children was a bit poor but i think it was just because it was out of season and there were not many children there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassygb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Sassygb,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We truly enjoy taking care of our guests and we are glad to see that our efforts are noticed.
We would be very happy to see you back in our resort.

Meanwhile, all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
0.6 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
17.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay View Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Property: The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay View Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay View Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing