We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Taba Heights - Sun, sand, sea and……Safe! Do go and have a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marriott Taba Heights - Sun, sand, sea and……Safe! Do go and have a great time!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been here 7 times with my husband and daughters and wanted to introduce my sister to the delights of Taba Heights. Neither of us were disappointed!

We had a marvellous time although there are very few people travelling to the Taba region mainly due to many countries not allowing their nationals to go there.
During our week there were a hundred Brits there travelling with Peltours and some Jordanians arrived for a short weekend break.
It is heart breaking to see a skeleton staff on reduced wages hoping the situation in Cairo and other large cities will improve.
Taba is such a long way away and far removed from the troubles in large Egyptian cities as the British Foreign Office advises that South Sinai is still safe to travel to.
As for our week………we had the most relaxing time with staff treating us like royalty. The food is excellent in a buffet style in the Tuscany restaurant as the main dining room is closed.
Most of those travelling were returning guests like me who regard this location as a home from home. The room we had was overlooking the beach with temperatures in the high 80’s which allowed us almost the complete run of the beach & pool every day. The all inclusive service works really well, wherever you are on the resort with good quality drinks; I recommend the Rose and red wine. Spirits, beers, cocktail’s and unlimited bottled water at any time of day kept us well refreshed. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was varied and as good a quality as I can remember on any of my previous trips dating back to 2004. Free WI-FI in public areas. What more could you want?
My sister is coeliac and was particularly well cared for with Chefs visiting us at literally every meal. Manager Brian and his senior staff made a point of being visible and chatty throughout every day.
Russell from Longwoods/Peltours was there every day providing us with information which he delivered with a smile and a joke. Ludmila was always about with a cheery smile in what must be difficult circumstances for them over occupancy rates.
We thoroughly enjoyed the spa and had massages, pedicures and manicures. We visited the flying carpet restaurant in the uptown village and enjoyed our meal. Obviously with fewer guests the atmosphere is different but the welcome we received there was genuine!
Other than the obvious lack of numbers, those that were there were incredibly sociable and we all bonded, compared notes and promised to remain loyal to the Marriott, Taba Heights.
It is our hope that we may be able to bring our families back in the Spring and urge others who are considering going there but are not sure of the security situation to read the reviews about the very good value and great service that the Marriott provides and I am sure the other hotels too at Taba Heights are still providing.
I would be only too happy to answer any questions that you might have as the arrival and departure through Taba Airport is a breeze although we heard that the Airport might be closed November to February if bookings do not pick up. But do not despair as transfers via Sharm el Sheik are an option for the next few months. It just adds a bit onto the transfer times.
Hope this helps you to decide whether the Marriott is, as my title describes, safe for you!

Room Tip: Anywhere with a sea view makes waking up and looking over the Gulf of Aqaba the first thrill of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    444
    163
    88
    46
See reviews for
298
647
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the Marriot between the 7th and 14th of October and it was exactly the sort of holiday we were looking for, a bit of resting and relaxation with not too much else! The hotel when we arrived was only at 9% occupancy and while this is sad as the lack of guests is clearly impacting on the local economy it did provide us with the quiet time we were after.

Accommodation:
Our room was spacious and clean and we enjoyed trying to create towel animals for those cleaning the room, unfortunately the ones they created for us were much better than anything we could manage. BBC World and a couple of other English channels on the TV was good for the time we spent in the room (usually between sunset and dinner). The shower pressure could have been a bit better but did not stop you showering at all. I would probably recommend something is done about this in the next room re fits though.

Pool/Sea:
Very spacious and although cold I enjoyed using the pool to cool off from the 37 degree heat and the temperature did not seem to stop people using it. We did not use the sea too much (except for a snorkelling trip) as it was very windy while we were there but if you do go in the sea it will be worth taking some sea shoes to wear for snorkelling/swimming as it is very rocky in places.

Food:
I think it is important to remember that as a general rule 5* hotels in most beach resorts in Egypt, Spain, Greece, etc. are not the same as 5* city centre hotels. Therefore, if you are expecting 5* al a carte food then you will want to go elsewhere. Taking all this into account the food was decent but definitely suffered from the lack of people reducing the food budget, however, the food improved towards the end of the week as more people arrived.

Service:
Absolutely first class in the restaurant and I had no hesitation in leaving a tip at the end of the week and the same applies to the room cleaning team. There were a couple of times where I had to venture into the bar in the evenings to order drinks (table service was in operation) but this is hardly the biggest issue in the world and the drinks were then delivered to the table very quickly.

Trips/Hotel Extras:
We went on a snorkelling trip which was recommended by our travel operator (Longwood) and was a great day out and I would recommend anyone who can swim and use a snorkel goes on a similar trip. We also both had a massage in the hotel spa which was extremely good value. While the hotel employs people to try and sell you massages/beauty treatments we were only approached twice in the week (by two different people) and the sales pitches are not pushy or aggressive.

Safety:
Taba is completely safe and I would have no problem in returning immediately. Cairo is 500km/7 hours away and there are no signs of the problems being experienced in other parts of Egypt here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberec, Liberecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent family holiday in 2012 in this Taba Marriot 5 stars hotel. First night was disappointing, because we got dirty old room with horrible bed. We complained at the front desk with many photos. Reaction was quick and satisfying. We got ocean-view suite, clean and new. Resort is clean but little bit old and need reconstruction (mainly the pool). Food excelent!! Every day different world-cuisine. Nice staff. Neighbourhood: nothing. :) (as usual in Egypt) Result: very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaclav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I heard there are 37 British here, we are absolutely the minority as the hotel is full of Arabs, they spit anywhere, shout so loud, shriek n scream, stare n intimidate, smoke n smoke next to us whilst we eat, bang n crash n smoke n shout ALL night outside the rooms in large groups, leave rubbish everywhere n last night RIOTED - chairs in the air, women running n screaming with the children, men carrying blood covered casualties, poor staff trying to control the situation! we saw fighting break out 3 times, we were too scared to go to our room but if we want a safe room away from them we have to pay $150 a night!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ea51ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Ea51ang,

We are very sorry that you had to write this review during your stay with us.
You came on the week of Eid-el-Adha, the biggest Islamic holiday of the year, when families from the neighboring Israel, Jordan and Saudi Arabia come to sea-side resorts like ours.
The hotel was indeed 100% and we admit that it put a lot of pressure on all our departments and we are sorry if this affected your experience with us.
However, please rest assured that the health, safety and security of our guests and associates is always our primary concern and not for compromise. We are always focused on taking great care of our associates so they can in turn take great care of our guests. As you would expect from a company of Marriott’s standing, we have excellent procedures in place to manage all situations including those which are accidents or matters of health.

We do advise you to check for local holidays when travelling to Egypt or any other country in the Middle East in order to avoid the busiest periods if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday. These extremely busy periods only happen 2-3 times a year and never last more than 5-7 days, so they are easy to avoid. Please feel free to drop us a line while planning your holiday and we'll always be happy to advise on better timings.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have been here 4 times now, hotel fantastic, setting fantastic just the place for peace and quite complete r&r........the staff were great and can't do enough for you it was very quite when we were there but that just made it more idyllic......would highly recommend a stay here....have only been back a week and looking to book again.....

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Jackie B,

Thank you for this review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We love our place exactly for the reasons you mentioned - beauty, peace and quiet.
We are also happy about your plans to come back, please drop us a line if you need any help with your travel arrangements!

All the best meanwhile,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

my brother and i went to the Marriot on the 16th of september. the hotel is brilliant!! it is situated right on the beach and the views of Saudi Arabia and Jordan are amazing.
the pool is really fantastic and because there were so few people there we had it almost to ourselves but to be fair I think there would be plenty of room if the hotel was busy.
Thanks to Tamer in the Grotto bar for keeping us going with the ice cold beers.
As there were so few people we had to use the tuscanny restaurant for our meals but that was no problem. As we normally do we only ate Breakfast in the hotel as we foung the sea club at waterworld had some fantastic things on the menu for lunch and we always eat at the mexican or the flying carpet in the evenings anyway. yes I know we were all inclusive but to be honest we didnt feel the food in the hotel was up to 5 star standard, perhaps it was because there were not many people staying.
Our room was very good and we were pleased with it. the cleanliness in the hotel was brilliant and the staff were great and very helpful.
we met a mother and daughter by the pool and they were a good laugh so thank you to you.
All in all we were very pleased with the Marriot and we would go back again..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Stants1,

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your brother found our resort brilliant and had a good holiday here.

Thanks for mentioning our swimming pool, we do think that with its waterfalls, caves, bridges, the slide, the swim-up bar and the artificial beach it is one of the highlights of our resort.
Our kitchen team is working hard on improvements to our buffet, and lately.
we have been receiving positive feedback from our guests.

We are very happy with your plans to come back, rest assured there will be plenty of ice-cold beer, sunshine and sunbeds for another brilliant holiday.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful week my friend an i had, the staff where very helpful an friendly, they could not have been more helpful Our room was perfect. A perfect nights sleep in our wonderful beds.The food was good, perhaps a bit more choice would have been good, that maybe because it was a little quiet when we where there, but overall could not complain. Thank you to everyone for making our holiday fantastic! we hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmmagg1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludmila_Sh, Public Relations Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Dmmagg1920 ,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to see that you and your friend enjoyed the holiday in our company this much.
Thanks for mentioning our beds, we also love them and put a lot of work and care to make them the most comfortable beds for your well-deserved rest.
We will be more than happy to see you back for another wonderful holiday at our resort any day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
0.6 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay View Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Property: The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay View Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bay View Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing