We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Taba
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

i stayed at the marriott from 22nd-29th november the monarch flight was good landed an hour early due to tail winds,booking in ok no real delays except for the amount of people booking in together.room lovely and kept very clean i was in block 800 which was the last block and a long walk to ameneties but good side very quiet.pool area lovely and sun beds not a problem getting them any time.Did find drinks a bit pricey but took free bus to supermarket for stocks.Wanted to go to petra but exchange rate so poor cost had gone up to £165.00 plus taxes app £20.00 wish i had booked on line at £125.00 before going.Did the day trip on boat to the island had fantastic day the crew were really great and we all had a good day,but i paid £60.00 through peltours and other companys were much cheaper you can book direct with waterworld.As a single traveller i felt really safe here and all the staff could not have been more helpful no hassle like i got in sharm.the weather was just right sunny every day and temp 29-31dgs.The only let down was the food breakfast brilliant but evening meal not as good bit boring and all tasted the same but noone would starve plenty of salads etc if nothing else to eat and deserts good and plentiful.I will be going back next year hopefully.

  • Liked — hotel facilities,pool,beach,quiet location
  • Disliked — evening meal
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susieqkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    444
    163
    88
    46
See reviews for
298
647
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We got back from Taba 3 weeks ago and the credit card. We have managed to spend £1500 on top of the £900 we paid for the holiday! To be fair, we did spend £350 on a day trip to Petra and around £150 on driving and sailing but that still leaves £1000!

To understand this number, you have to understand Taba Hieghts. It is in the middle of nowhere. It is made up of 4 hotels: Marriot, Hyatt, Interconinental, Sofitel and a golf course. So, if you thinking of going Half Board, like we did, with the intention of going out most nights for dinner, THINK AGAIN. And since you are stuck in Taba Hieghts, they get you everywhere. Think £5 for a glass of wine or a beer. Adds up v v v quickly. There are restarants in the town (which isn't really a town) but they are priced about the same as the hotels.

As for the hotel, it's very nice. I would rate it 4 star not 5 star. The nicest hotel is the Hyatt if you like the 5 star blight. The Marriott has the nicest grounds. The other 2 on the beach are nice 4 star quality as well.

I would recomend the hotel to others, I just want to be sure you understand that if you go half board, they will get you in the end.

Additionally, I would recomend you want to do 2 other things. We had dinner at Castle Zamone which was expensive but well worth it (you have to book this days in advance) and the trip to Petra.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Overconfident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Marriott from 22nd Nov - 29th Nov and had a very relaxing week. We booked through lastminute.com with Peltours. The flight with Monarch was hassle free and comfortable - wouldn't bother with paying the pricey supplement for extra leg room. At the airport the baggage handlers in the orange uniforms will stick their hands out for loading your luggage onto the coaches - this was the only time we were asked to tip, and £1 will probably suffice, if you wish to tip... When we arrived at the Marriott we found our sea-view room spacious and clean, and were very happy with it. The weather every day was sunny and between 25-30 degrees, perfect temperature for sun bathing.
The andalus restaurant where half/full board meals are taken is as other reviewers have said a bit of a disappointment. I didn't find it disorderly or chaotic as other reviews suggest, but the food was fairly mediocre and nothing to write home about. Which is odd as the lunches we had at the beach bar were extremely tasty if expensive (approx £20 per lunch per day between us both for a snack and drink). Some of the food in the andalus tastes just plain odd.
Didn't have any problem getting a table in the restaurant or getting a sun bed for that matter, but perhaps this is because we went at the end of November and the hotel wasn't at full capacity?
Everything you need to pay for is very expensive, expect to pay £6 for a glass of wine which is pretty foul, £5 for a sakara beer - which is actually quite nice, we had to pay £16 for some suncream when we ran out at the end of the week! You get the idea.. not sure if this is the hotel trying to screw its guest or the exchange rate.
Now the good things... the hotel is in a lovely location, with a long stretch of beach enclosed by nearby mountains. The hotel complex is something in itself and well designed and maintained. The pool area is at the heart of the complex and was quite well used by the guests, the pool was cold but OK once you were in, and I think the section by the Grotto was heated.
We mostly went to the beach where it was quieter and more scenic. Snorkelling is a real plus, the water is crystal clear and shallow for some distance which means you can walk out quite far without fear. As another reviewer suggested some of the best snorkelling can be found around the wooden pier adjacent to the Sofitel hotel, although there is some coral out from the beach of the Marriott which is where I had my best spot of the week, a sea turtle swimming some distance from the coral which let me follow him for a few hundred metres - amazing. Every day swimming in the sea produced fish I hadn't seen before - definitely invest in a snorkel and mask before going out there, although you can hire them when there but it will probably be pricey. Even my girlfriend was able to walk out to the coral and see the fish, although she wasn't brave enough to put her face in the water!
The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and eager to help, they help to make the hotel special. The gym is also pretty good and well equipped - quiet in the mornings.
There is a happy hour every night from 6-7 on beer at the bar next to reception, and at the regatta from 7-8 on cocktails, defnitely worth checking out if you want to save a bit of cash when drinking.
Anyhoo, definitely a relaxing holiday, even if the hotel is on the expensive side, I would still go back to the Marriott for a beach holiday. One last thing, the food at the tuscany is very good, but again pricey, they have a steak on there which cost £35! but there are other dishes which are cheaper (around £10).

  • Liked — locations
  • Disliked — extra costs
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

After returning from the Marriott in Taba i am pleased to say me(22) and my girlfriend (21) had a brilllant week.

The main reasons for our winter getaway were sun and relaxation, and certainly we got it.

The hotel itself is fantastic, beautiful grounds,great friendly staff, lovely big clean rooms.

Weather wise was spot on around 27 everyday clear blue skies with a nice gentle breeze. The sun usually comes up around 6.30ish then goes down around 4ish behind the desert moutains.

Never had any problems getting sunbeds on the beach with umbrella and wind protector, usually got down to the beach around 9, would advise beach shoes for going into the sea, snokerling is brillant went everyday great coral loads of colurfull massive fish.

Food at the resort was good enough for me and my girlfriend, read other reviews about the whole dining experience but werent disapointed. Breakfast runs from 6.30 to 11 the dinner is the same, every night is a themed night.

Drinks are a little over priced but combat this by getting the free shuttle bus up town to the supermarket and stock up there. Water at the hotel is 15 egpytion pounds while at the supermarket its 18 for 6 bottles.

Made use of the spa which was great even had a sweedish massage with Mona was unbelievable! Would recommend.

Didnt get hassled for tips from staff but tipped with U.S Dollars, they accept any currency.

Only down side to the resort is the evening entertainment, there is none apart from 2 asian ladies signing in the regatta bar.

Overall a fantasic week away in the sun to chill and relax.

Would go again.

  • Liked — Great Snokerling
  • Disliked — No evening entertainment
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TokenTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

My wife and I are both 60 and we were looking for a warm relaxing break in the autumn when the weather had declined in England.
Our positives regarding the location (not necessarily the Marriott) are - fantastic snorkelling straight off the beach, fabulous weather (the sun shone for the entire 14 days) and we were able to play golf which we both enjoy.
Regarding the snorkelling it is worth pointing out that the best snorkelling is in front of the Sofitel and the Hyatt but not in front of the Marriott. Our travel agent did not tell us this and it took us 2 to 3 days to realise. The weather in November was fantastic and the temperature was just about perfect - 27 to 30 degrees celsius every day with 19 degrees at night.
The Marriott has nice rooms and nice grounds - these are both plus points. We also enjoyed the spa almost every day where we used the jacuzzi, steam room and the sauna. The only thing worth adding about this is that the jacuzzi is a little small and perhaps it would be difficult to squeeze 6 people into it.
The two things that we found most irritating about the Marriott were the buffet restaurant (Al Andalus) and the evening entertainment. The Al Andalus restaurant delivers the food to guests on half board and full board packages. The restaurant can only be described as total chaos most of the time. Guests queue at the entrance for a table and are then shown to a table - invariably the table is not properly laid. In the morning at breakfast it is almost certain that there will not be any cups on the table to enable you to have tea or coffee. You may get some cups (if lucky) after asking a waiter. On one occasion we had to ask 4 times before we got any cups. The tea and coffee at breakfast is served in insulated jugs. When you sit down at the table you will almost certainly have a tea and coffee jug on your table but how fresh will the contents be?
The chaos in the restaurant is exacerbated by the fact that there are several entrances meaning that some people jump the queue. On more than one occasion we had got up from our table to go the buffet to get our next course and when we returned to our table we found someone else sitting at it. Having said all of the above the food is unspectacular but edible with very little variation from day to day.
The organisation of the entertainment in the hotel can only be described as poor. The Regatta Bar has a couple of girl singers who are not bad however invariably the number of people partaking of the entertainment can be counted on two hands - this is strange when the hotel was full with up to 700 guests. We witnessed the same two girls performing in the Intercontinental and in that hotel the bar was full. Something wrong somewhere!
It is worth commenting (as others have) on the drinks prices. Beer costs approx £5 per bottle and wine approx £25 per bottle - the beer is OK the wine is rubbish. Take this into account when booking if you like a drink. They do have a Happy Hour (which is good) and you can buy booze in the shops at Uptown.
Do be aware that the Marriott web site says the pool is heated. Other hotels at Taba Heights have heated pools but not the Marriott pool The Marriott pool is freezing cold and no-one uses it.

  • Liked — Access to snorkelling
  • Disliked — The buffet restaurant - the whole eating experience
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

We stayed at the Marriott Taba Heights for a week in October. This has got to be great value surely ? for a half board stay for a week ? The hotel is wonderful... spacious and peaceful and even though it accommadates so many people you can always find a quiet corner to chill. The rooms are huge and spotless with great furnishings and a high standard of decor. The half board option is very good, with breakfasts that will make you sink to the bottom of the red sea they have so much choice..go see the omelette man, he is divine!! The evening meals are extensive and if you dont see anything you want they will make you something....they have themed nights Chinese,Egyptian, Medditeranean etc on rotation and I defy you not to find something nice for supper, and we are vegetatrian !! Puddings could use a little input - but hey you should be full by then!!
We went to the Mexican Restaurant for a change by shuttle bus and this was great and the Italian on site which was not great
for us in all honesty but I think we had a bad night because other reviews seemed to like it ...anyway we said we werent too thrilled and the hotel took it on board right away. The sea is beautiful and the poolside with the water slide great fun - we spent peaceful days on the beach and the deck chair boys are so lovely - infact the staff are all a joy - a credit to the hotel. Its easy to have a wonderful week of peace and quiet here and to relax and just have a proper holiday. If you dont want to fly for hours for Winter Sun or have a long bus transfers to the resort ..And be treated to some genuine Egyptian warmth and kindness from everyone you meet, get booked..you wont regret it. Wish we were coming with you!!
Odette and Jeremy

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Odette-Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Honeymoon.
Plus points.
They place is beautifully laid out in gardens which were a joy to walk through at any time of the day or night. We were put way out on the edge of the complex where we could walk through the patio doors, over lush grass, and straight onto the beautiful beach. Walk into the sea and snorkel around a reef a few yards in. Wow.
Food at the buffet was varied and catered for everyone. Even the children’s buffet was at a low level for them to reach.
The staff were impeccable which is remarkable since the people staying there of all nationalities seem to be rude to them. WE DID NOT TIP ANYONE AND WERE NEVER ASKED apart from strange men at the coach who seemed to think they were in charge of loading and unloading luggage. We walked to the water-sports place which is about a mile down the coast and hired a catamaran for 3 days. Fantastic. and it was a lovely place to ALWAYS get a sunbed and relax away from the herds of people.
We had no stomach bug problems even though we ate salad, fruit, in fact everything.

Minus points.
The specialist restaurants had very high standards of food but they are charging London prices when their overheads are minimal. That goes for the drinks as well.
The Regatta club never failed to give confused chaotic bad service. Which was strange as everywhere else was perfect !!!
The sea was much warmer than the swimming pools!
I’m afraid that the Russians have indeed taken over the job of taking all the sun beds by daybreak. It wouldn’t take much to have a hire system like many other countries.

o Liked — Friendly Staff
o Disliked — London priced food and drink in a 3rd world country is pure profiteering

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — — London priced food and drink in a 3rd world country is pure profiteering
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefreythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel & Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aquamarine Sun Flower Resort
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay View Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Property: The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay View Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Bay View Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing