We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in taba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 15 January 2009

A friendly and well run hotel, the staff were very polite and helpfull nothing was too much trouble. Most of the time we ate in the andalus buffet which was varied and of good quality and plentiful, a relaxing atmosphere and spacious environment. The head chef was always around to answer any questions you may have on the food front.
We also enjoyed the entertainment in the regatta bar, great band and DJ, we had great fun. Through the day ther were water aerobics, and i enjoyed the volley ball in the afternoon thanks to moo moo and co.
I would reccomend this hotel for a place to chill out and meet other travellers. The only problem was that i only had a week to enjoy the Marriott and next time i would stay longer, but work calls. Thank you to everyone at the Marriott for all there hard work.
Gary and Laura.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank marigar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2009

My boyfriend and I travelled to Taba last July, not knowing quite what to expect. We got a good deal off lastminute.com and we were certainly not let down!

The journey is a bit longer than average europe but ours was quite good. Taba airport is very small but quite lovely (try and avoid the loos!), the journey to the hotel was great, we arrived at about 10 o'clock and we could not believe how hot it was at that time. It really was like being in a hand dryer! When we got to the hotel we were greated with drinks and our bags were taken to our rooms.

Our room was like heaven. I tend to go on cruises so it was so spacious! Lovely big bed, good decor, sitting area, nice little garden, loads of towels and fantastic bathroom. The rooms were certainly very nice.

The food is amazing. We went half board and bought lunches each day (tried to fill up on a big breakfast but it never quite worked with such lovely lunches available). Breakfast was amazing and I had omlettes everyday! Definietly a very good selection. I would say there was something for everybody. Pancakes with chocolate source for the children, fresh fruit for the healthy ones, fried breakfast (minus bacon as its pork) and obviously cereal as well as a whole selection of breads and croissants as well as the omlettes made on the spot in front of you with whatever you want in them.

The pool area is fab. Forget your boring rectangular pool, oh no, here there are islands and jets and splash bars and a slide and bridges and hot tubs and caves. The list goes on. It was fantastic. Never too busy to find a lovely comfy sun lounger either. And the ever ready beach towels were great aswell as big and soft.

But to be honest, we spent more time on the beach. I will say, don't go at this time of the year if you don't like the heat. I personally would rather go back at a cooler time and I definitely wouldn't advise it for little ones, though you do have the pools to cool off in. One day we went up to the village (it has a fantastic chemist with anything you could want) and the heat was absolutely exhausting, and I have been to other hot countries. It was up to 45 degrees C. Similarly you just can't walk on the sand. But on the plus side its not going to rain is it! I think we saw two clouds. Beach is amazing (but not white like the caribbean) you need snorkels and goggles, the fish are to die for. And also protective shoes. Check out the watersports centre. We did the evening cruise which was beautiful and rented a pedalo which was fun.

The people are very relaxed so leave your haste at home!! Dont expect things immediately and do take your one dollar bills to tip. They can not do enough for you and its a cultural thing over there. Also remember to be respectful of their culture and religion- things like topless sunbathing are a no-no. I also did get a bug (taba tummy) which everybody else seemed to have aswell so take your diahorrea tablets! I think you have to expect things like that when you go to very different places.

We are going in April to the Intercontinental so as to have the AI option but I would recommend the Marriott to anybody! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidaygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Taba Heights for Christmas 2008. Overall, it was OK - the hotel itself is clean, neat and tidy, the room was kept spotlessly clean, and the hotel had some lovely grounds, but we found that the service, especially in the main restauarnt was appalling.

When we got to Gatwick to check in, we were told there were extra leg room seat available - but the check in clerk couldn't tell us how much they cost! This set the scene for a terrible flight with Monarch! Nothing wrong with the service or staff, just that the seats are so tightly packed together, you cannot get comfortable at all.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we checked in and were directed to our room - however, it was pitch black, the hotel is very big, and you really need to be shown to the room, it's easy to get lost. First example of things not being great from a service perspective...

Food at the buffet was so so at best. Not the best quality, and they need to do something about the service. The Hotel wasn't full, yet the staff in the restaurant seemed unable to cope. You often had to ask for your full compliment of cutlery, and would often resort to taking mugs from other empty tables at breakfast! The worst was having to wait 20 minutes one night for a bottle of water to be brought to us - despite repeated requests.
This was a theme throughout the hotel, you had to place your order, and then place it again about 5 minutes later to make sure it was fulfilled! We ate at the Tuscany and El Fuego restaurants,a nd these were much better, but a bit pricey.

Drinks were expensive throughout, but the exchange rate isn't the best. The bars do happy hours, but you need to make sure they adhere to these at the advertised times.

The biggest issue we had was when we returned from a very long day trip to Jerusalem on Christmas Day. It's a great trip, but exhausting (you leave at 3.30 am, and return at about 11pm!) People on the trip from other Taba Heights Hotels were provided with Breakfast Boxes, and it seems as if the Marrriott is the only hotel who don't provide this. We got back, and needed something to eat - so rang room service, selecting a fairly simple meal. After 45 minutes, we were rang and told that owing to the fact we'd ordered from the Breakfast Menu, it would take another 10 minutes. In fact, it took another 45 minutes - so an hour and a half to do scrambled eggs and rolls! The hotel has a policy of guarateeing that your meal would be delivered within 45 minutes or it would be complimentary, which they stuck to, but we would have been happier if the food had been delivered promptly and we paid for it.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at Taba Heights, and would go again - but wouldn't stay at the Marriott. The negatives far outweighed to positives, of which there are some, but there needs to be a significant improvement in standards for this to be as good as the other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1975andyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We booked our packaged holiday (half board) via Libra Holidays a week before departure (we departed on 21 December and stayed for 7 nights). Firstly, Libra Holidays doesn't know much about the region (Taba or Egypt) as there was a discrepency as to whether tourist should pay for a visa or not upon arrival at Taba airport. The answer all depends whether you will leave the Sinai Pennisula or not e.g., if you're planning to visit Cairo or Petra - if this is the case then yes, you would need to purpose a visa that will cost £15.00 (UK sterling). If you plan to stay within the Sinai Pennisular e.g., Taba, Dahab area then "no" you don't require a visa. Upon arrival, just state to the 2-man immigration officers that you're staying in the Sinai Pennisula for the duration of your stay (7 or 14 days only).

We flew with an airline called Viking from Gatwick - was delayed for 5 hours (our departure was 5.30pm) and the airline was not helpful in communicating the delay to its passengers!

The resort itself is situated in a purpose built complex which houses Hyatt Regency, Sofitel, Marriot and Intercontinental along the beach. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday and plan not to leave the complex then Taba Heights is the place for you as it's purposely built for family with children. We scouted Hyatt and Sofitel and must say the Marriott does have a better layout than these two (sorry can't comment on Intercontinental) as the pool was separated from the main pathway and the beach so there was privacy. The buffet breakfast and dinner was ok (Indian, Christmas, Egyptian and International nights were the better ones). Drinks at the restaurant were overpriced but that's was you pay for when staying at a purpose built resort and international hotels. One can buy water from The Three Corner village (which is served by the free trolley buses route 1 & 2) - here you have a supermarket, chemist, restaurants and shops if you want to venture away from your hotel.

From reading the comments in Tripadvisor we did organise a trip to St Catherine's Monastery and Dahab using Mohamed Gahama ( [--]) and he drove a 17 seater Toyota so value for money if you have a group wanting a day trip. He only does trips within Egypt only.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travellerlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

My wife and I returned to the Marriott in December for our
sixth time. The Hotel has a new General Manager - Jan Heesbeen and he has made many improvements, probably
not noticeable to firsttimers, but there to see.

1: Restaurant: Food is a lot hotter than it had been on previous
visits, new Chef in charge, hygiene has really improved, staff
now wear gloves when handling food. Whilst we were there.
an inspection by senior management took place and guests
were asked their opinion and answers taken on board.
2: By now, new "Marriott" beds should start arriving and there
is a general upgrade on the way.
3: Staff: are encouraged to use own initative and have been given more responsibility and it shows!!

Drinks: yes, I know quite expensive but remember that Egypt
is a Muslim country and they have taxes on booze just as we
have at home.

If you are looking for a relaxing break and are a lazy whatsit
like me then this could be the place for you, really one does
not to lift a finger.

Gardens are beautiful, there will be a new jetty built soon, can
recommend the spa and gym, tennis if you want it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pamplemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We booked a X'mas package holiday for 7 nights departing on 20th December 08. As our flight was delayed, we arrived at the hotel around midnight. We booked half board and we thought we had to miss dinner on arrival day, however, the restaurant was open for us! (it is normally closed at 11:30 pm.)

All staff members were very friendly and gave us a big smile every time they saw us.

Food was excellent, especially breakfast. There were so many different kinds of bread to choose. Lunch was quite expensive to eat at the bar in the hotel. It cost us about GBP20 for 2 local sandwiches and 2 soft drinks.

The beverage was over priced in the restaurant and the bar. A bottle of beer cost about GBP5.00 and a glass of wine was about GBP7.00.

There was a huge swimming pool; half heated water and half freezing water. You have to make sure which side of the pool has heated water before jumping in.

The sea was amazingly clear. Snorkelling was enough to enjoy watching lots of beautiful fish.

We really enjoyed our entire holiday at Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baby_m0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2008

With all the options available in Sinai I would definitely avoid staying at the Taba Marriott in future. I stayed half board and whilst the breakfast was good, dinner was dire - the same every night and poor quality and selection. Drinks are way over priced with little choice. There is no entertainment to speak of and the pool is absolutely freezing and un-usable. Internet costs $44 per 24 hours (no wireless available - cable only) and $10 for half an hour at the business center. The connection is VERY slow indeed - reminiscent of dial up.

However, my worst complaint is the bed situation. The mattresses are extremely hard (I like a firm mattress but these mattresses are super super extra super firm - think camping mat over concrete) and have no spring at all, so no bounce whatsoever. The pillows are fairly flat and very hard. I tossed and turned and was unable to sleep most nights for any length of time.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank JennaSmith007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 61 in Eilat
942 reviews
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £31 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing