We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday-Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Taba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday-Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had a great holiday in Taba! the hotel was nice, clean, with a great pool and a lovely beach, and even though there were stones on the beach there were clear patches where you could get into the sea with no problem and walk all the way to the coral reefs which had lots of amazing fish!!
We were on half board and the food was good too, varied with lots of nice fruit and some days even delicious bbq chicken and traditional hand made bread!
All in all great value and a lovely and relaxing place to go on holiday!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KbuzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    444
    163
    88
    46
See reviews for
298
647
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Having just returned from our second stay at the Marriott after a 4 year gap we were not disappointed - don't believe the bad reviews! The management led by an excellent hotel manager can't do enough for you if you want anything or have anything to complain about tell them and they put it right straight away; the food is first-class; the accomodation very good; if you want a holiday to chill-out on with great weather at tremendous value this is the holiday for you!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRDSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiaratia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

This was our second visit to the Taba region, the first being in February 2007 where we stayed at the Hyatt Regency on a half board basis.

I wish we had gone back to the Hyatt ! Marriott is no way near as good, very bad service in the restaurants ( had to set up our own cutlery etc at the table!), lazy staff ( with some exceptions). There are not enough sun loungers to accommodate guests and the grounds look like a very bad theme park!

If you want good service, lovely landscaped gardens, luxury and a bit of class then go to the Hyatt Regency which is far the better hotel in this area.

I would add that if you have children then the Marriott does have good facilities for young families if you don't mind staying in a tacky theme park!

Shame, as the place did have potential but unless they quickly get some decent management in the place then it is going to get even worse.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiaratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel was wonderful value for money - 1 week half board 450 pounds including flights and transfers! Ask for a beach /garden room on lowest floor if you can. Good beach but if you went next door to the el welkela beach before the hyatt there was excellent snorkelling. If you want a good massage go to samara on this beach - very good masseuse out on the beach.

We went to Jerusalem with Peltours - they forgot to tell us about the queues at the border - 3 hours each way - however the trip was a great experience. red sea world is a good sport for sailing etc. If you have time go to Castle Zaman - a real chill out day with excellent food.(although dinner for 2 would feed 4!) I thoroughly recommend taba heights as there is always something to do. I f you are a golfer try the new golf course with stunning views or if you would like to go off into the sinai mountains there are quad bikes available. I hope that you find this helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murphy49_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

My husband and i have recently returned from a two week stay at the Marriott Beach, we had a fantastic time.
In brief: room was spacious, had all the amenties required, everything functioned well and was clean and kept clean the whole stay, out cleaner was a fantastic bloke. The view from out room in the 400 block was excellent with a clear view straight onto the beach then the sea and out to Saudia Arabia.

Food: The food was very good and catered well to us being vegetarians. Breakfast was the usual with a large selection of fruit, cooked, yogurts, eggs, pastries, breads etc
Dinner, was changed everyday, egyption, indian, chinese, middle eastern, interational, mexican etc.
We ate mostly from the grotto bar at lunch where a sandwich and chips sufficed us both. Icecreams could be purchased from the stand... yum yum.
The only issue we had with dinner was the tables were not always cleared quick enough, so it was often busy (but we did mostly want to eat outside) it therefore was a little unorganised but not a problem if you're relaxed... which we were (although some English did get a bit annoyed but you'll always get some like that!).
We used the dine around system three times, eating at the mexican once and the thai twice - all yummy and well priced. It must be noted we did not drink alcohol (too hot) so can't comment on that.

Pool and beach: was lovely, we are normally more beach people but although it is one big pool it is spread through the grounds with bridges and islands so was really quiet... the most relaxing pool ever. No problem getting loungers.. even after lunch when we sometimes moved between beach and pool.
Beach was great, although a few sand flys about. You need beach shoes to get into the water wherever you are along this area. Snorkelling is great, we saw many types of fishes, corals and even a turtle just outside the hotel! The other hotels do have pontoons but it really makes no difference, a path is cleared from the main part of the marriott to get the the sea.

Staff: fabulous, the manager is frequently around the hotel as are the other managers. Cleaning and grounds staff all very friendly. Resturant staff also friendly although slightly more stressed!

Would we go back again - yes, we had a very relaxing holiday as there really isn't much too do at all, which was perfect for us as we hate big resorts. It compares to El Gouna as a quieter resort which is more hotel based as the resturants in the town are mostly still hotel owned.
Short transfer from hotel, great snorkelling and a relaxing place.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at Marriott Taba Heights in early October 09. Having visited Sharm for the prior two years we wanted to try somewhere else within Egypt. As an avid diver my husband was looking for a mix of diving and relaxation from his holiday - me I wanted to chill with several books for a week in the sun. This holiday certainly fitted the bill for both of us - especially when he came back with stories of stingray, parrot fish, clown fish, lion fish etc. Where this resort differed from Sharm was in the nightlife (although I'm not a big fan of Naama Bay). Being within the resort you are restricted to what is on offer, however, the hotel goes out of its way to ensure something is on every night, from their in-house band to belly dancing to karoke, and during the day there is aqua arobics, spa, gym, diving trial in the pool etc and what a pool that is - it's enormous with cascading waterfall bar which is always fun to sit around drinking cool drinks out of the mid day sun. There are also sufficient sun loungers for everyone, each with its own parasol. Poolside staff offer fresh towels each day and periodically throughout the day they offer cooled flannels to cool you down. For those who don't want to lay around the pool there is also the private beach with well spaced loungers allowing for privacy - although you do need to get up early to get one of these. Both on the beach and around the pool there are bars and restaurants to allow for that relief from the baking sun. For those going half board the prices are ok and the quality of the food is good. The restaurant for breakfast and evening meals provides a nice variety too with each night having a special theme: Egyptian, Mediteranian, Asian, Chinese, BBQ etc. Staff throughout the resort are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much bother. It's easy to see they work relentlessly in ensuring your stay is a good one - this is evident from the well maintained and manicured gardens, to the cleaner who comes each day smiling and the bar staff who remember your favourite tipple from the night before. Their customer service is excellent. The resort is spotlessly clean with no litter around the pool. The bedrooms are cleaned daily with nice little touches like flowers left in a glass. The bedrooms are also fully equipped with fridge, aircon, queen sized beds, tv etc. The general manager Jan, has this hotel running smoothly. He is also visible around the resort whether this may be stopping you around the pool asking if you are having a good stay, to wandering the lobby, or saying his personal goodbye as you depart. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AundReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

First be aware of the airport it is the only international airport that the police unlock the gates to let you out..After a convoy of buses lead you to the complex with very tight security every where.The hotel boasts a five star rating but it is no more than a three star.
It is in need of refurbishment all around .Our room in block 900 had a very slow bath run away and on inspection found the plug hole full of matted hairs so the cleaning was an issue.and we found the sheets not cleanand asked them to be changed.
Food was very basic with no finess you would expect of a five star hotel .
THE WORST THING WAS THE FOOD POISONING THAT ALL THREE OF US CONTACTED.AND we still have the bug three weeks after our return .
Very friendly staff who were very keen to serve you for the expected tip.
Would never go again be .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janheesbeen, General Manager at The Bay View Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
Dear Guest,

First of all thanks for taking the time in writing on trip advisor. I am a bit disappointed that you did not talk to me while in resort. I make it a point to see all guests. On guests travels throughout the world it is not uncommon to translate an upset stomach too easily to food poisoning. As a global hospitality provider we employ the services of a professional organization that do their independent health and safety checks on our resort. We must also state that our hotels are strictly regulated and regularly checked by the European Tour Operators who sell our resort in addition to the checks implemented by Marriott themselves.
There are many other reasons that can give you an upset stomach. We look forward seeing you in the Marriott next time

Jan Heesbeen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
0.6 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
17.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay View Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay View Resort Taba Heights

Property: The Bay View Resort Taba Heights
Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay View Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay View Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing