We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place + Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We just returned from this hotel after 1 week. We are expecting a baby and were celebrating our 3 year aniversary. The management and staff are excellent. All our needs were accomodated. They had a great selection of vegetarian food also (Indian, Mexican, Middle East etc) The beach does have some stones, but the beach staff have cleared an area to enter the sea. Very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zangalewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

This was our second visit to the Marriott and the second booked with Peltours. The reason we went again was that we knew that the weather would be great (hot and sunny but not too hot) and also we knew what to expect at the hotel.

The majority of reviews are complimentary about this place and I feel that's right. Any review is a generalisation and therefore there will always be small things that aren't so good but overall we reckon this is a good place for a week or two's stay for guaranteed sun at very reasonable prices.

The staff are almost always friendly and helpful - spoken English can be variable from perfect not almost non-existent but you are abroad in a foreign country and in any case there are so many staff that you'll always be able to find one that will help. Mr Heesbeen, the manager, is generally out and about every day and therefore any real problems can be reported to the top man without any delay. I did notice that the general behaviour of the staff improves when they know he's on his rounds! They suddenly get a lot more attentive!

We did have dodgy tummies for a day or so in the two weeks but what that is down to really would be guessing. The restaurant seems to be very hygienic, the staff are very well turned out and the food appears to be well cooked, prepared and looked after. The only downside, and it doesn't appear to bother any of the hotel staff, is that there are a number of wild birds (sparrows) that are allowed to fly about inside the restaurant. Given this is an air conditioned room with closed doors I would have hoped that these potential disease carriers could be kept out? Other than that the food is generally pretty good - over two weeks you obviously get a repetition but because it's a buffet, there's usually something edible! As mentioned by others, alcoholic drinks are unnecessarily pricey, and I feel on a half-board basis the hotel should provide free soft drinks at mealtimes - this felt a bit tight! Avoid what they claim are baked beans at breakfast - they are beans that have been baked but are literally in ketchup! Yikes.

The offer on bottled water is worth going for as although you can indeed buy cheaper at the supermarket up in the town, carrying all of what you will need back requires several rucksacks and is really not worth the effort. Buying cans of beer in the off-licence is worth the effort though! As others have said, the staff in the bar by reception seem to only have the faintest idea of how a bar works and having your own beer on your own balcony saves a lot of time (and money).

The hotel is definitely the best looking and I reckon laid out in the area, the beach is as good as any of the others - more space than other hotels. It doesn't have a jetty but it's only a few minutes walk along a promenade to the next hotel. As already said the reef is covered in wildlife and everyone should do a bit of snorkelling. The dive centre is well-run and equipped.

Although I would recommend the hotel to others, there is one main reason I would think twice about returning again and that is the music that gets blasted out over the pool area. This may have changed since June but it seems unfathomable why you need to have such a relaxed and beautiful pool area utterly ruined by Bryan Adams at 150 decibels. And that's before you get Celine Dion. I can see the need for the music for the pool fitness sessions even if that's not my idea of a holiday, but the management seem to think that the guests require constant (and utter crap) music for the rest of their time by the pool. They don't. I never got the chance to take this up with Mr Heesbeen but if people need something to listen to they'll have brought their ipods/mp3 players anyway? Maybe this policy has changed - would be excellent news if it has.

We took a Peltours day trip to Petra. A long day but very good - Petra is much better in the flesh than I would have thought and I would absolutely recommend it.

Some of the fellow guests seem to behave with a lack of respect to the local traditions but then the ignorant will always be so - you just have to pity them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kentster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

having read the previous reviews regarding cleanliness and behaviour from fellow visitors i was a bit sceptical about going there. but having come back i would say that it is definitely a good place and i would not mind going there again for loafing around on the beach.
my goal was to not do anything apart from getting tanned, eating and read books. this i did and it works very well at marriott taba.
tanning - at taba heights there are fewer sunbeds than at the other hotels but that is good since you dont feel as a beach cattle in a tanning production place
eating - what still needs some improvement though is the service efficiency. either the guys in the restaurant are understaffed or poorly organized. even if you order a bottle of water before you go and take the food, most often you will finish the food before you get the water. this is during dinner only though so for breakfast and lunch everything works fine. there were a few waters that were really friendly and did a great job. hope they get promotion.
since i had alcohol drinks only the last days, i cannot really tell how fed up you would be with the allinclusive beer and wine alternatives after a week. or more the nonalcoholic drinks are fine though.
all in all, i do recommend taba marriott since i could definitely acheive my goal of total relaxation for 12 days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MZSAdeCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Yes it has its not so good points...mainly the slow servie in the main restaurant but to be honest it must be very difficult to try to serve up to 1000 guests who could all arrive at once in a self service style restaurant. If places weren't cleared we found staff very helpful is approached and asked to clear and relay tables. I found service here similar if not slightly better than the Movenpick up the road.

Don't understand the theme park comment. I liked the style of the hotel with the rooms mainly in 2 storey and one storey blocks. Our room was a nice short walk form both the beach and the pool. The pool is excellent and the beach is great for snorkeling. You do need shoes to get in really though as it is quite stony near the shore.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Yes sun beds are a little in short supply particularly on the beach. Be prepared for a 6.30 - 7.00 and start for a place on the beach or a 9.00 and start for a place by the pool. The sun beds are getting past their best too,

Food was varied and good. Me and my wife did get a little ill for a day but I find this par for the course when traveling. I found hygiene generally good in the restaurant. Cooks wore hygiene gloves when handling food. I saw them testing temperatures of hot food etc. Food was nicely presented.

Drinks are a little expensive but try to exploit the happy hours which happen all through the day at different times and places.

There are quite a few restaurants in Taba Heights town and a supermarket and off license. I would be tempted to go B & B only if possible as this would provide the opportunity to vary eating venues. The credit for eating in the hotels other restaurants is not very generous at 30 EGP (3.50) per person.

Over all value for money is good though. Yes it may not stack up to British 5 start hotels but your not paying that kind of money and Egypt standards are slightly below ours. Charging to refill tea and coffee in the room is a bit mean though. How much does a tea bag cost!

Oh, and internet access ridiculous at over £100 for the week!

My advice to the hotle would be to drop drinks, room tea and coffee and internet prices a bit and I'm sure more people would purchase these items.

Also charging for the pool table is a bit mean (£3 an hour). I think these type of activities should be free in a 5 star hotle.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pauljoecoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had a great holiday in Taba! the hotel was nice, clean, with a great pool and a lovely beach, and even though there were stones on the beach there were clear patches where you could get into the sea with no problem and walk all the way to the coral reefs which had lots of amazing fish!!
We were on half board and the food was good too, varied with lots of nice fruit and some days even delicious bbq chicken and traditional hand made bread!
All in all great value and a lovely and relaxing place to go on holiday!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KbuzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Having just returned from our second stay at the Marriott after a 4 year gap we were not disappointed - don't believe the bad reviews! The management led by an excellent hotel manager can't do enough for you if you want anything or have anything to complain about tell them and they put it right straight away; the food is first-class; the accomodation very good; if you want a holiday to chill-out on with great weather at tremendous value this is the holiday for you!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRDSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This was our second visit to the Taba region, the first being in February 2007 where we stayed at the Hyatt Regency on a half board basis.

I wish we had gone back to the Hyatt ! Marriott is no way near as good, very bad service in the restaurants ( had to set up our own cutlery etc at the table!), lazy staff ( with some exceptions). There are not enough sun loungers to accommodate guests and the grounds look like a very bad theme park!

If you want good service, lovely landscaped gardens, luxury and a bit of class then go to the Hyatt Regency which is far the better hotel in this area.

I would add that if you have children then the Marriott does have good facilities for young families if you don't mind staying in a tacky theme park!

Shame, as the place did have potential but unless they quickly get some decent management in the place then it is going to get even worse.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiaratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
481 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £36 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing