We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for kids, average buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Overall a good holiday with a nice hotel. Hotel has a very good pool for children with a graduated slope going to a max of about 1.5m. Have a 6 and 8 year old and had no problem letting them loose on there own even though we were sitting away from the direct pool side.

Most guests are half board, food in the buffet is not 5*, more like 3*. Average quality when trying to produce mass produced food.

Facilities are good, rooms are clean and of reasonable standard, again not really 5* but definetely not bad. We had 2 children with us and were given a room with 2 double beds and a fold out one as well.

Very hot in taba and quite isolated unless you go on the organised trips. Take beach shoes as you will need these in the sea as entry from beach is quite rocky.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ftoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

I got back from Taba a few weeks ago and am still suffering from post-Taba blues! This is a great place for a relaxing holiday - there is not much to do in way of night-life, but the resort does go all out to keep you entertained! ONE WEEK WAS NOT ENOUGH!!

I've broken down the review in sections:

1. THE RESORT & STAFF
The marriott is a gorgeous resort, and the staff is amazing. Nothing is too big a request for them, and they do their best to entertain and make sure you enjoy your stay. Everyone is really really friendly, and when you leave you feel like you're leaving members of your family. A lot of the guests we met there were on their third or fourth trip back to the resort, and I will definately be one of them soon!!

2. THE ROOMS
The rooms are nice and clean. Very large. Some rooms have newly fitted bathrooms, while others have older ones. Still clean, but could be better. There is a cleaner available for a set of ten rooms each. Very easy to find if you need anything/a room clean.

3. THE BEACH
The beach and the views are some of the stunning I have ever seen. From the beach, you are able to see the coasts of israel, jordan and saudi arabia. Very gorgeous views. The waters are clear and amazing coral.

4. WATER SPORTS
There is a great water sports centre where any sport imaginable is available! Would recommend para-sailing and diving as a must!

5. SURROUNDING AREA
Other than the 5 five star hotels, there is only a small shopping centre in the area. Its advisable to buy water from here, although you can ask through room service and they will deliver a box of 12 to your room. We did this as we did not want to carry the bottles of water. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel which leaves every half hour which will take you to the surrounding hotels and/or shopping centre. DO go to the street festival on a friday evening for a good laugh.

6. FOOD
The food in the resort is lovely! Breakfast is standard, but dinner is mouth-watering! The chefs also go out of their way to make anything you request.

WOULD DEFO RECOMMEND VISITING! I LOVED this place, by far my best holiday ever (and I have travelled all over the world). Will return soon.

Oh, also, I think everyone in the resort is named Mohammed or Ahmed - so you will never have to worry about remembering names!:)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0nd0n_Girl_Tr4v3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Hotel and Staff can not be faulted at all especially the general manager Jan who was always very keen to give excellent service at all times. Ahmet made sure we had sunbeds and towels despite having a lay in some days. Overall a great holiday, the only downside was the awful Monarch flight, I have never been on such a cramped aeroplane the seat space was diabolical.I would go again but I would not fly with Monarch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suekim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed at the begining of July (sorry for late review). We had one of the newly refurbished rooms - very clean, great bedding and towels- Housekeeping left presents in the form of flowers, orgegami swans made form towels each night - very sweet.
The pool "Grotto" serves great middle eatern food and is a cool oasis out of the heat - the team there "Mohammed also worked in the main restauramt) very good and friendly- portion size is good so we only needed to order 1 plate and share.
Dinner was always in the main restaurant for us- there are other in the village which you can get to by a free shuttle us, however we liked the main restaurant - the menu changes daily - and the fish option served each night was exceptional.
Tabas location means that you can "pop" across to Jordan and go on to Petra really quite quickly and with little hassle - a trip if you are that close to Jordan you really must do. Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitley look to go back for a week of bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLF28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

First the good points

Excellent climate

Very helpful staff. If you tip at the beginning of the holiday rather than the end you will find that the service is even better. The room boy created origami creatures out of our room towels to entertain my daughter.

The facilities are good. The sauna steam room and jacuzzi in the spa are all free

You can just walk off the beach with a snorkel and mask to see all sorts of interesting fish but the water is so clear you can see a lot just walking in the water.

We did a day trip to Eilat to swim with the dolphins which was interesting and shows quite starkly the differences between Israel and Egypt. Israel is better on many counts but not all, and is way more expensive.

Now the bad points none of which are major

If you don't want to be surrounded by children don't come in the school holidays as we did. There isn't an adults only swimming pool.

You may find yourself having to move positions round the swimming pool if you don't like smoke wafting into your face. Probably more than half the guests while we were there were East Europeans who seem to smoke a lot, as do the French.

The sun is very fierce indeed. Don't come if you do not like strong sun and even if you do be careful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel 2 years in a row. The staff are friendly and service was good. The pool was amazing; we spent every day sitting next to the cool end near the swim up bar. The children loved the pool and the sun loungers made for a comfortable reading spot for my husband and me. The hotel has a private beach and the snorkelling here is incredible with clear blue sea and a welcome lack of crowds. We stayed half board and found the food good; there is a different theme to each night, but there is always some fish, salad and meats on offer, just with a themed twist. Although the food was good, it was a little boring having a buffet each night without a huge variety from night to night. The rooms were lovely and the balconies were a great spot to sit and enjoy a cold drink and snacks with the children at lunch time. Half board was enough for us in the heat, but we used the local supermarket (reached by the free shuttle bus) to stock up on drinks for the room and light snacks to keep us going. The children loved the ice creams (available by the pool or in the upstairs bar) and had one every day. We loved the quiet upstairs bar and made it for happy hour each night where the friendly staff made our children 'mocktails' in rainbow colours that they loved. Inside this bar it is air conditioned, outside is a lovely balcony over-looking the tasteful grounds. I can't really comment on the entertainment as we kept ourselves to ourselves, but the hotel is beautifully kept and there were no noisy people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CorDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Hotel staff were absolutely wonderful, warm and friendly ... our thanks goes out to all of them for making the holiday special. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, blackout blinds and no noise during the night! The swimming pool and beach are relaxing areas, no area is swamped with people, which certainly adds to the relaxing tranquility.

The hotel has everything you need, there is a huge variety of buffet food each morning and evening, which was well presented and with so much choice something for everyone.

We had planned to visit Petra as a day trip, but with temperatures of 50 degrees we decided that it possibly wasn't the best time of year to spend the day walking around an ancient city. Because of the long journey to Petra, and then back on the same day, we also heard that 3 hours at the actual site, was probably not long enough. We will go to Petra another time to spend several days there instead.

Taba Heights offers watersports and various day trips, so there is always something to do if you are that way inclined.

As a resort, there is a small 'town' just away from the hotels and coast, this offers basic shopping needs, including a supermarket, pharmacy, clothes etc. They also have a festival on a Friday evening. Regular shuttle buses run between the hotels/town/waterworld.

My partner and I had a really wonderful holiday and met a lot of very nice people, both English and Egyptian. A special thanks to the Entertainments team, their enthusiasm was contagious.

Would recommend this holiday to couples, families or anyone who wants to chill out on a beach or by a swimming pool. We will be going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina36London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
9.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
17.1 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
481 reviews
8.2 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
9.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview Taba Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview Taba Heights Resort

Address: Taba and Nuweiba Highway South Sinai, Taba 46621, Egypt (Formerly Taba Heights Marriott Red Sea Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £35 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview Taba Heights Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayview Taba Heights Resort ideal for families as well as couples, with a variety of water activities, heated pool and spas and dining options. Lush gardens and waterfalls cascading down onto swimming pools are the background to this majestic resort. Enjoy a variety of cuisines and distinctly unique restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bayview Taba Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taba Heights Marriott Beach Hotel Taba
Marriott Taba Heights
Taba Marriott
Marriott Beach Resort Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing