We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only for transit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Resort Taba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Reviewed 15 August 2008

The luxury prison. Taba Heights is really desert on Sinai. Nowhere to go, you can only spend time in hotel area. No offer for reasonable prices trips. Of course they have an offer , but prices are horrible.
Be prepare for expenisive holiday if you have HB , not AI. Each cup of coffee costs about 5 $! The small glass of coke - 5 $!
Anyway - the garden and hotel area is nice but it is no enough to spend there more than two days.

Food - like above - not so bad if you plan be in for transit, not longer stay than 2 days - for short relax on sunbath.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalimar_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2008

Overall I'd say this hotel is of a good standard, our problem was not with the hotel in itself but the location. BEWARE. It is in the middle of nowhere. the next town along will cost you about 450 le in a very overpriced taxi as the only taxi service availible is the company the hotel uses. EVERYTHING in the hotel is completely monopolised. there is 1 snack shop, 1 'restaurant', 1 bar etc and because the nearest town- nuweiba- is about a half hour drive you are forced to spend approx 3 GBP on a packet of pringles- at the supermarket in egypt a big packet of crisps shoudl cost no more than 15 p!

apart from that the hotel staff are very nice and do whatever they can do ensure you have a pleasant stay. there is NOTHING to do in the hotel except for watch tv on the big screen outside and the hotel club at night where about 3 guests go to which plays outdated typical 'holiday' music. the private beach that belongs to the hotel isn't very clean there are lots of big rocks however the hotel has it's own diving centre so snorkelling and day trips can be arranged through here.

as for the food- this is a main concern wherever you go in egypt. breakfast is fine- large selection of fresh bread, cheeses salads and freshly cooked omlette's and pancakes however dinner is a bit of an issue it's always rice and some sort of stew. beware- lots of meat. my boyfriend was a vegetarian and literally couldn't eat anything. Dinner does get very repetitive and it's pretty bland.

the rooms are cleaned daily there is a safe in teh room and they are all of a good, clean and new standard, new nicely tiled bathrooms most with a lovely sea view at no extra charge.

all in all this htoel is great if you want to go somewhere amongst canyons and the desert completely cut off from the outside world and just relax by teh pool/beach all day and go to sleep at night. there are no restaurants nearby so if you don't go all inclusive expect to pay about £2 for a can of coke and expect to starve at lunch/dinnertime unless you pay for a meal at the hotel restaurant.

all the guests are russian/eastern european- i'm no bigot but on average they were really very rude treated the hotel staff absolutely appallingly but they keep themselves to themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gulseny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

English Do Not Go, we were the only english there hotel full of ignorant russians and germans. Hotel in itself was beautiful clean and the staff fantastic but the food was disgusting not a 4 star hotel at all not even a 2!! for 13 meals we had the same chicken rice and beef, breakfast we survived on stale toast. They dont seem to understand variety or nutrition, so if u read previous reviews the nutritionist who apparently went to this hotel must of eaten somewhere else entirly. The drinks were served warm in plastic vending machine cups!! even at night!!! if it wasn't for the weather we would of got the 1st flight out of taba airport!! we went straight to tesco for english food upon arrival at manchester. we will be contacting the travel agent who we booked this with and let u know the outcome but be warned this hotel was crap!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jen23_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Hotel
This hotel does not come close to a 4star rating. No where to go. Poor beach and house reef. Surrounded by derelict half built shells. New 5 star hotel under construction next door. Predominantly Russian guests and therefore catering exclusively to their tastes. Only redeeming feature is the colourful gardens.

Room
My husband and I were given a twin bedded room with loose floor tiles inside and on the balcony, old and tired wooden fitments, most were broken, and a medieval bathroom, again with broken fitments. After disturbed sleep on a number of occasions due to noisy guests, we were put into another ‘quieter’ block, that was even worse – and still with the loose floor tiles and identical old and tired furniture. Four nights later with ear plugs, didn’t help.

Food
We had to rely on an all inclusive basis on spaghetti, boiled vegetables and rice for the first week for our main meals as we are vegetarians and there was nothing else on offer accept cake. A complaint to management resulted in fish for the evening meals on week two. Ice cream one flavour was offered once only in a fortnight. No chips. The house gin was vile and tonic had to be paid for. We ended up drinking larger from small wine glasses, that is, when it hadn’t run out which it did, often.

Entertainment
The ‘Animation Team’ absolutely loved head banging ‘house’ music, played at full volume from 10-5.30 every day by the pool. This meant it was impossible to read a book, listen to your own music on headphones or sleep! We requested it be turned down three times which eventually succeeded but this lead to a level of hostility towards us, even though others had also complained with no result.

Staff
Looking fed up most of the time. Grumpy and over sexed towards young female guests. Generally looking untidy and downright dirty.

Conclusion
We will definately not be going back to this hotel. Taba Heights hotels looked much much better an option than this dismal one.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dress6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Another very overdue review! I promise to do the next one as soon as I get back...!

We visited the Holiday Resort Taba back in November 2006. It was a last minute holiday booked through Thomson.

What a waste of money!!! It was easily THE most awful holiday ever, and definately the worst hotel we have stayed in.

The journey from the airport to the hotel is something else, all downhill at about a 100 miles an hour, it was pretty scary in the dark, oh and our bus broke down on the way there, I think we knew from the start what kind of holiday it was going to be!

There is not really much in the way of duty free - it is a military airport, your rep won't be allowed in the airport, you have to meet them outside the front.

The staff were sullen and rude, not to mention learing over the ladies - you've heard the cliche how many camels for your wife? - they do actually ask this here! Ladies - beware of lecherous men in vast quantities. I would not have felt safe on my own and was glad I was with my partner.

The food and drink were in a league of their own, lukewarm slop is the best way to describe the food. Ok the omlettes at breakfast were the only exception, but look forward to an egg bound holiday at your own expense - we were actually glad of the laxatives I took!! Plates and glasses were consistantly dirty. Service at tables was non existant, getting a drink was a mission in itself. We found it was best to get a drink first, reserve a table, then go and get your food - this way the already lukewarm food didn't get any colder after you could easily spend 10 minutes trying to get a drink and locate a table.

Drinks - I think they deliberately gave you whatever they felt like, i.e what they wanted to get rid of at the time. I asked for vokda but would be given ouso every time. It was a constant battle to try and get vodka, in the end I gave up and had beer or wine, both of which were both awful. The bar shut promptly and they expected you to pay an extortionate rate for anything thereafter. For an all inclusive holiday I bregrudge having to pay extortionate fees for something that was so awful anyway.

Entertainment - hmmmm, some dodgy bloke singing repetitive songs, no disco, occasional film which you could never get a seat anywhere near, very poor.

DON'T bother with the italian restuarant, this was a complete joke! It was empty every night. The food isn't any better and by no stretch of the imagination a la carte.

Swimming Pool - ok the weather was really hot when we went but the swimming pool is really really icy cold, and I mean REALLY cold. Management refused to turn the pool heater on. For me the swimming pool is a necessity on holiday to get some relief from the heat, but sadly was unable to use it. I can't comment how much warmer this would get throughout the summer months but be forewarned!

Rooms - surprisingly clean actually, basic but we didn't mind.

The grounds were not that clean, the beach was strewn with rubbish. Be prepared to be hassled on the beach by the bedouins, you feel sorry for them then they get their wallets out and they have literally rolls of notes, also rolex watches, and one day we watched this big 4 x 4 come to pick some of them up, makes you laugh really.

The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere, don't go expecting to have a nice little wander down the road and nosey at some other hotel or hope to visit a local shop. When we visisted there was like this 'ghost' hotel next door, it was very eerie, just like everyone had walked out, chairs and tables etc still there. There is NOTHING in the area, any kind of shop is a good half hour journey away. Also, we wouldn't have felt safe wondering around the road outside the hotel.

The hotel itself does have a small selection of shops, but be prepared for high prices and yes they do hassle you a bit to buy something, you feel pressured into buying something and feel a bit guilty if you don't. Don't buy the 'cigarettes' from the hotel, they are awful!, make sure you take plenty with you. Also if you like your cadbury's chocolate take a supply, chocolate you get in egypt is not the best!

Didn't like the fact that reception insist on holding on to your passports! - what was that all about!

All the rooms automatically go into 'lock down' about 10 - 11 on the last day - think it was a friday we left, but periodically on changover day management switch ALL the cards off (regardless of if you are staying for a 2nd week) so you can't get into your rooms - what good is this when you are just about to head back to the room to pack up and vacate! VERY annoying, for me this was the last insult on what was a very unrelaxing stressful holiday, I use the term holiday loosely.

Hope this review might save some poor other people in the future from a miserable stay at this hotel. To sum up DO NOT GO HERE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Missy-M-and-Mr-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

I don't know where to start, I booked a last minute all inclusive week at the Holiday Taba Resort and well it is quite simply the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. Now it was last minute so I wasn't expecting luxury (even though it was 4 star) but what I didn't think it was too much to expect polite and friendly staff. I could rant for pages on this hotel but I won't waste anymore time on this place, I just don't want anyone out there wasting their hard earned money on it.

In the end we packed our bags and moved to Taba Heights (at our expense), after all we weren't going to win any prizes for endurance!

So a few choice points just in case you're still thinking of going:

The "Speed Bar"
Very ironic, 1 very unhappy barman at all times regardless of how big the queue, drinks took 5-10mins to get and then they were thimble fulls!

The Music
Hmm I don't think I'll ever be able to listen to Lionel Ritchie, George Michael or Kool and the Gang ever again. The pool guys seem to have the same 4 songs on repeat for hours. It was that of the Crazy Frog album full blast.

Staff/Service
Most staff were rude and could hardly be bothered to acknowledge you (there were a few lovely exceptions).

Uniforms were filthy, clearly not washed once while we were there.

Liked to scream lazy in your ears if you were dozing by the pool. Again enjoyed the lazy comments if people didn't join in the "Aerobics" or "Stretching".

Very lecherous, came into room without asking, particularly if we were in our swimwear, lots of comments on how we looked in our swimwear. Constant hassle to go out with them in the evening.

Waiters refused to fill water bottles up, you had to collect it by the glass (5mins queuing each time) and weren't even allowed then to use these to fill up your bottles. No water allowed after 11pm!

The "Health Club"
Dirty dingy place....we were laughed at when we refused massages from a member of the opposite sex, even though we made this clear when booking. Tried to cancel but staff said they'd get in trouble if we complained to reception.

Booking a cab was a nightmare, you need to give at least 24hr notice and even then we were told of other peoples bookings being ignored and the staff informing them that they thought their cab request was a joke!

The Restaurant
1 Restaurant, food very repetitive, same food served whether it was an Italian, German or an Oriental Buffet. Food actually not too bad, however check all meat, as there was raw chicken being served everyday. Oh and by the way you are not allowed to eat your lunch outside - we were starting to wonder whether we were on holiday or in prison.

PLEASE PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravelJunkieMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

We were a little dubious about this hotel especially as we booked it thinking that Holiday Inn would be involved. Then we got the letter informing us that they were no longer anything to do with it! We needn’t have worried however as the hotel and especially its setting and grounds were excellent. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool and Red Sea with excellent views over to Israel, Saudi Arabia and Jordan. All the rooms shared this view. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly and very complimentary to ladies, even 42 year old ones! They all wanted to be friends and we came away with many e-mail addresses and promises to keep in touch. That is not to say they are intrusive in any way, just very friendly. The hotel has mostly Polish, Czechs and Germans with only three parties from England when we were there. We usually go to the Caribbean at this time of year and although the food is not as good as it is there, we paid less than half the price, so what can you expect? Don’t worry you won’t go hungry there is always a great soup, different types of bread, chicken, other meat dishes, potatoes and a range of salads and a great variety of deserts!
We travelled with Thomson and were entitled to eat in the al a carte restaurant once during our stay, but we didn’t bother as it was always empty! Now for the drinks – gin and vodka taste the same (a bit like aniseed) but the brandy and lemonade went down well (ask Kory the waiter for half and half he’ll know what you mean) and the Egyptian red and rose wines were very drinkable. The wine waiters soon got to know our particular drinks and we had hardly sat at our table before drinks were placed before us. I am not sure where they get the spirits from but one bottle of vodka behind the pool bar had a lid saying whisky with a seal over it with a vodka label!
Before we left home, I couldn’t find out if they supplied pool/beach towels at the hotel so I ended up packing towels. The good news is they are supplied, you don’t even have to have a card or anything, just turn up at the pool or beach and they will put a mattress and a towel on your chosen sun bed, and there are plenty of sun beds to choose from. Tipping is well received and we took plenty of US$1 & $5 notes with us although they will happily accept anything, I think they prefer these notes and often someone will ask you to change pound coins or even euros for notes. Our room cleaner wasgreat and as well as cleaning the room very well, he produced some excellent towel creations.
We went on one excursion on the Red Sea Cruise, great snorkelling although you do need to swim well because they take you quite a way from the boat. They will supply life jackets if required and the trip cost about £36 each, lunch and soft drinks included. All in all a great, value for money trip. The weather was fabulous with clear blue skies all week except for around two hours one afternoon. The sun was very hot and you will need plenty of sun lotion. The beach is great although very stony (we bought beach shoes at the hotel shop for £5 a pair - great value! The snorkelling is fantastic as there is lovely coral to explore just off the beach with numerous types of fish.
Don’t expect too much evening entertainment as there is not too much going on at night time. There is a Disco in the hotel and the Animation team did try and get people up although when we were there, there were not too many takers! Not sure also whether the drinks in the Disco form part of the all inclusive package.
We had a great time at the Holiday Resort Taba and would recommend it if you are looking for a peaceful vacation in beautiful surroundings, good food and superb staff.


  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
22.6 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#13 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
4.0 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
13.6 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba
5.4 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
5.0 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Resort Taba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort Taba

Address: Nuweiba Taba Road, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Resort Taba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Taba
Taba Holiday Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing