We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Resort Taba
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Mids
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Resort (no Inn in name now) from 22/12/06 to 05/01/07. Allocated on arrival having read some awful reports we were very worried. Arrived at hotel and staff could not have been more efficient and friendly.

Food - repetitive but good and plenty of it.

Location - middle of nowhere and a 25 min drive to Taba Heights, which Nature Travel can arrange for you, they have a rep on site and the tours are cheaper than the Travel agent reps, we heard good reports about these.
Good location if you want to Visit Petra in Jordan & Israel. We didn't make it to Petra as it snowed in Jordan and our trip was cancelled.

Taba Heights - there are a couple of restaurants and a few shops, the Mexican restaurant was good.

Staff - very good.

Tips - a lot of people on here have recommended pounds coins, however the staff spend a lot of time trying to exchange these for Egyptian Pounds, so Egyptian money is better. There is a bank at the hotel and Egyptian money is readily available.

Entertainment is not very good, one singer who sings and hums.
There is a nightclub on site, but the drinks are not included in there and it is not very large. Italian Restaurant is situated behind the bar and apprarently not worth spending the extra money.

2 swimming pools and a kiddie pool. Pool boys very helpful, tip them well. They reserved our fave loungers for us and even moved them around to face the sun when we went to lunch.

If you want a holiday with good service and complete relaxation, this is for you. There really is nothing to do here except read your book, sunbathe and chill out completely.
Rach1163@hotmail.com

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank ScorpionBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Resort Taba (no inn) just before Christmas, having booked an all inclusive last minute deal on the net - allocation on arrival.

Having done loads of research before I went, i was pretty terrified of being allocated this hotel!! but surprise surprise, we were...

Thomson use 3 hotels in the taba area, but I would say if you get a dirt cheap alloc on arrival deal, get ready for the HTR because you will almost certainly end up here!!

In addition to the poor hotel reviews, the BBC also claimed it was 18 degrees max in taba, so as you can imagine i was pretty apprehensive...

As it turned out, I needn't have been. The hotel was clean, friendly and secure, and my boyfriend and i enjoyed a lovely relaxing break - in temperatures about 25 degrees!! So much for the Beeb!

The "resort" really is in the back end of nowhere, and if you are not after TOTAL peace and relaxation, this really isnt for you. The evening "entertainment" doesnt stretch much further than one man and his mic.... (who hums most of the lyrics)... we ventured out to Taba Heights one night and had a fantastic mexican, but there wasnt really much else there other than a few dodgy shops

(Incidentally, the cash machine at TH wouldnt take our UK debit cards, but - thankfully! - we were fine using them in Nuweiba)

The food is edible, but pretty dismal and limited on the whole. There appears to be lots of selection when you first arrive, but you soon realise that most of the platters contain delights such as liver, veal or "stewed foul"!! - for breakfast!! - and that you are better off sticking to omelettes. If I had paid full-price I would have been disappointed, but couldn't complain for what we paid... Also, I didnt have any tummy trouble at all, so I guess it cant have been that bad.

We did 3 trips with Thomson - dolphins in Israel, scuba diving and quad biking - which were all brilliant... and although Thomson have you a bit over the barrel with the prices (and we ended up paying more for trips than the holiday!!), it was well worth it .

All in all, a really relaxing break. I wouldnt pay full price to stay in the hotel, but was more than happy with the standard for such a cheap deal. In December when we went, the sun goes down about 4 oclock so you have to make the most of it, and it is pretty windy, but it's still hot enough to get burnt!!

Finally, agree totally with everyone who has said take dollar bills or pounds for tipping. We tipped the cleaner a fiver on our first day and had a spotless room all week... not to mention an amazing and increasingly bizarre range of towel sculptures - swans, crocodiles, er... small children (!!)...

Cheap and cheerful - dont expect too much and you wont be disappointed!!

  • Liked — Clean, safe and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Freezing pool and lack of entertainment
  • Tips/Secrets — Small tips go a long way!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CDV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2006

The Hotel was beutiful with lovely views and a private beach with ample sun loungers, the pool was great with lots of sun loungers and the pool staff where exceptional as you walked towards the pool they waited at the bottom of the steps with towels for you! at lunch time they would turn your sunbeds to face the sun and tidy around for you so when you came back it was all tidy.
The bar staff where great and polite but didn't have a vast understanding of a vodka and coke as quite often you would get the first bottle they came to!! The restaurant staff where extremly helpful and remembered your drinks order from day to day!
The main fault was the food as it was always Rice, wierd potatoes, the food wasn't of a 5 star standard and you can never trust the posters outside the restaurant as the food doesn't match half the time!!!
My main memories of the hotel was the standard of the accomodation and the hard work and dedication from the service staff.

  • Liked — Size of Room
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed at The Holiday Resort Inn Taba from 25th August to 8th September 2006. Our Holiday was with friends who travelled from Manchester whilst we travelled from Gatwick. We all arrived the same day and had smooth check-ins upon arrival to the Hotel. The Rooms were large and clean upon arrival.
We had our Welcome/Whats On meeting with our Thompson Egyption Rep Shaddy who was wonderful and very helpful. He always seemed to have time for all the guest and always had a lovely smile on his face.
We booked some trips with him which were excellent, The Red Sea Cruise was great i even saw a Giant Turtle whilst out Snorkleing, that was Fantastic. We did the Desert Safari which was a great day out, Stars and Dinner where we went into The Desert at night and viewed The Moon, Jupiter and Vagas through a huge Telescope, that was great to see. The best trip we saved until last a trip to Jordan/Petra it was an early start but well worth it. We visited The Treasury where The Indiana Jone's Film was made, the ruins were only re-discovered in 1812. This was a fantastic trip. Our friends did the 2 day trip to Cairo and had a wonderful time, they are so glad they did the 2 day trip otherwise it would have been too much to do in one day.
Now getting back to the Rooms after about the 3rd day we noticed it wasnt being cleaned very well there was dust and sand building up on the floor, and other little things you expect to be cleaned while on Holiday, it was frustrating more than annoying!!!
The Staff. The Reception Staff were helpful if you needed anything and friendly.
The Staff in The Yellow Tops worked their socks off, they work 7am until Midnight and work very hard, they never complain and were always happy to serve you whether it was at the bar or in the Resturant. Now the Staff in The Pink Tops didnt really do much apart from sit around and watch the Staff in the Yellow Tops. Best of all were the Staff in The White Top's what a bunch of Lazy Men, in fact most of the young lads in The Yellow Tops seemed frightend of these Men. The lazyest one of all was The Man in The White Top at The Pool Bar, he did nothing for the whole 2 weeks we were there apart from order people arround!!! Very poor way to treat your Staff.
Beach and Pool Staff were excellent always getting you a Sunbed ready as soon as they saw you heading for one.
The Food was a bit repetative with a very poor choice.
The Tables were hardly ever cleared and the cutlery were not clean.
Entertainment....we must have missed that, it was very poor and as for the day time entertainment i think it was a Husband and Wife team who just strolled around the complex everyday shouting WaterPolo!!!
The only Bar to get a drink at in the evening was very uninviting with no where really to sit. If you wanted a drink after 11pm they charge £3 per half a Lager and £4.50 for a Vodka and Coke...what happened to us paying All Inclusive???? As for day time snacks and ice-cream there wasnt any.
Cleanliness, the Hotel is pretty new so its clean, the grounds need to establish a bit more plants etc. With a bit of thought this could be a nice hotel.
We chatted to quite a few other guest and found them all nice apart from a large group of Polish that were staying, they were very rude and loud and wanted to take over the place. We realise not all The Polish are like this but these guys really let the side down, Very rude indeed!!!
On the whole we all had a good Holiday and the weather was fantastic.

  • Liked — The Price
  • Disliked — The food
  • Tips/Secrets — Wear Beach Shoes To Get In The Sea Because Of The Rock's And Coral.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SnorkelQueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taba hotels

scottish highlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2006

I have just returned from a week break at this hotel. overall we had a very enjoyable time. I am writing this review to make people aware of what to expect when visiting and so that other travellers can make an unbiased decision whether or not to go to this hotel.

good points:

very friendly staff
clean and quiet beach close to hotel
clean and large pool with lots of loungers
pool and beach staff very helpful and good at preempting customer needs
clean rooms and good housekeeping staff
hotel very clean generally
food generally tasted good
lovely modern rooms and facilities
good secure safety deposit boxes
modern and good air conditioning system
private beach , few sellers
good in hotel shopping arcade with variety of shops and are able to barter with shop keepers (is a bit more expensive than elsewhere tho)


bad points:

- not a good choice of alocholic drinks and drinks that were available were cheap versions
- food was very very repetative and there was not a good coice - this was the main let down at this hotel. after 5 days were were sick of the same old same old (neither of us are fussy eaters)
- hotel is not particularly child friendly
- having to pay for ice creams, room service and mini bar in room when you have paid for all inclusive
- having to pay $30 to keep your room after 12pm on day of departure and no alternative available for showering etc when flight is not until 7pm.

- very poor / practically non existent evening entertainment or daytime activities

- further builiding work is occuring at either side of the hotel so beach will not always be private

- hotel is a bit too far for many of the good excursions (cairo for example is an hour flight or 2 days travelling and costs nearly £200!)

- snacks are not available 24 hours a day and snacks between meals that are provided are very very poor!

Whether you like this hotel depends on what you are looking for. it is in a remote location, is quiet but that is what we were looking for!

  • Liked — friendliness of staff, general cleanliness and lovely modern facilities
  • Disliked — the food!
  • Tips/Secrets — be prepared - things are expensive outwith your all inclusive
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scottishvetnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Holiday Resort Taba. About one month before we left we had a letter to say that they were no longer part of the Holiday Inn Group. We can not compare with how it was before, but we found the service very poor. The staff were friendly though. Poor areas:-

1. it took ages to get a drink in the restaurant. When you did get it they had either only half filled the cup or it was flat.

2. Tables were not wiped after previous people. Tables were dirty and the highchair I used from my son was disgusting. I longed for my Flash anti bacterial spray.

3, The worst thing was that they seem to run out of water in the 2nd week of our holiday. For a few days we had real problems getting water. They had lots of vodka though.

4. Pool was not cleaned properly. However Pool staff were very helpful.

5. It appears that resort has tried to break into the Eastern European market and offering good prices for Polish people. There was a large group of what can only be called Polish hooligans. They drunk vodka all day and were very obnoxious. We met a very nice Polish couple who actually said they felt ashamed to be polish.

6. some silly rule about only being allowed 2 drinks per person when you go to the bar. So if you go with your family of 6, three of you need to go up to the bar to get drinks. Also, the bar tenders do not take notice of who came to the bar first and allow anyone to just push in.

7. All inclusive stops at 11pm. Not a big problem as we were usually in bed before then.

After this 2 week stay I would not recommend this resort to anyone unless management can stop cutting corners and think about customer service.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The service
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Hols_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

Excellant holiday.Management team & staff are very good considering the circumstances.The only down side was some off our fellow British holidaymakers always complaining so that they can get a discount or money back!!!We witness it all!!!That spoilt the holiday as all we wanted to do was to relax for 2 weeks!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Themanagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
0.9 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
27.1 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
18.6 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
27.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Resort Taba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort Taba

Property: Holiday Resort Taba
Address: Nuweiba Taba Road, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Resort Taba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Taba
Taba Holiday Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing