We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and great stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
cairo
1 review
“great hotel and great stuff”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

its a great hotel , the stuff are really proffessional and friendly all are diong there best to satisfy the guests espeshially the front office maneger ibrahym hegazy and the security manaeger ,also there are a lot off entertainment sections for kids day and night my daughter is 2 years old she was so pleased with the kids building and the night kids show and finally the food was great and the beach was very nice and so different from other hotels that i have visitted its a very nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    552
    185
    99
    99
See reviews for
909
726
78
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
avelgem
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Egypt : Taba : movenpick
Its is a nice hotel with nice and clean rooms.Luckely are there places in the hotel were jou get always fresh drinks like the lobby and beachbar ,in the other bars waiting a long time and having warm drinks is not exeptionel.Eating in main restaurant is a adventure to do once.In restaurant sheashell have jou not the big choise of food as the main restaurant but everything they made is good food.The shea shell staff (sherif,ahmed,osama,monsef,essam,mahoud,ahmed are kind people and everything jou ask they do with a smile .The restaurant ,tables,floor ,glasses are every shift clean .I want to thanks the staff for the good work .

Helpful?
Thank rasta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Our flight out to Taba was delayed and we arrived late. Our tour representative, Jacky Harrison (who did a superb job through out our stay) phoned the hotel and the restaurant was kept open for our arrival at 11.25pm. We were welcomed by very friendly waiters, and despite their long day, they were only to willing to attend to us.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and always kept clean. A good interim tip goes a long way to ensure service. We opted for tea/coffee facilities and these were replenished every single day without asking.

Going to the Welcome Meeting is a must as you will get very valuable information about the hotel, the surrounding area, the trips, facilities at the hotel and just as important health information. You are informed to avoid drinking the tap water and only drink bottled water, obvious but lots of other good tips also. You may be unlucky and get ‘Egyptian Tummy’, If you do then Imodium is useless, you will need to take ANTINAL or DROTAZIDE, 'local drugs for local bugs' these can be bought from the pharmacy at the Hilton hotel next door. If you go to the doctor (as we did) you will get the same medication but have to pay for his time in addition to the cost of the medication but he is excellent.

We were a bit disappointed regarding the trips. Because we bought the travel insurance at the time we booked the holiday we found out too late that this particular cover (Mondial) only provided cover within Egypt as its now classed as europe for insurance purposes. As some trips were into Israel and Jordan we decided that the risk was too high to go without any cover (any required treatment, the risk of falling and hurting limbs etc). When you buy your insurance check out that it provides cover for Egypt, Israel and Jordan if you think you are likely to want to do these trips.(Jerusalem, Petra, Eilat) The trip to St Catherines Monastery was focused too much on religion and not enough on history, also you only get to see a very small part of the buildings. In my opinion not worth the cost or the long trip but the food at the Bedouins encampment afterwards was very good.

Now the Hotel! We were all inclusive and had a fabulous time without a single complaint!!

The hotel try so hard to please. If there is anything amiss then don’t wait to the end of your holiday to turn it into a complaint – that is too late for the hotel to do anything. Take your point(s) up with Marina of Guest Relations or Ahmed Zein, the Assistant Front Manager. Both are very approachable people and will be only too willing to help. Everybody smiles all the time.

We ate in the Sea Shells restaurant where the English are recommended to eat. The restaurant is smaller than the main restaurant and the service is extremely friendly. Watch out for Ahmed the waiter, he replenishes your drink before you have finished it! There were complaints about the food while we were there but, in my opinion, these complaints were not justifiable. There were starters, main meals and desserts for all tastes. The restaurant is managed by Ahmed el Tbakh, if you need anything special just ask him and if it is possible he will do it. Breakfasts, lunches and evening meals were complaint free for us! We never left the restaurant hungry or disappointed. His staff (Sherif, Osama, Ahmed, Monsef, Essam, Ali and Mohamed) are all great guys who cannot do enough for you.

The outside pool is excellent with a great swim up bar manned by Reda. This serves cold drinks and from 11.00am you can get alcohol. All drinks are served in plastic beakers. It should be obvious to people with common sense that glass by the pool is a safety risk, although we did hear some people complaining about them! There are an adequate number of sun beds Although there are signs to say reserving is not allowed it is well practised. There is no need to go down at 4.00am! Go on the way to breakfast. Beds were still available at 11.00am when we were there except on the weekend when some Israeli visitors came to the hotel. There are also lots of beds on the beach. The beach is a bit stony but absolutely brilliant for snorkelling, take your jelly shoes.

There are numerous water sports available. Try the glass bottom boat! It is a must to see the reef and the stunning fish – well worth the money.

There is a lot of entertainment during the day (water polo, volley ball, table tennis and so on). This is organized by the Animation Team who also provide the evening entertainment.

There is one bar inside the hotel and it can get a bit busy but you should not have to wait for more than a minute or two. Unfortunately there is no waiter service in the lounge area, but we have put that forward as a recommendation to the management.

It was our first wedding anniversary while we were there and my wife emailed the hotel before our holiday to ask was there any chance of ‘some thing special’. We were made known to Ahmed Zein who could not do enough for us. We had a special meal and two special heart shaped cakes made for us.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, staff and our holiday. Are we going back – you bet! Would we recommend this hotel – you bet!

If you have any questions, my wife or I will be only too happy to answer them if we can.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0vebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the movenpick for 2 weeks in July.
The weather was fine for us (40°C in the shade – what else do you except from Egypt this time of the year???).
Our main aim was to relax, enjoy the sun and to have a great time. Mövenpick hotel was perfect for this. The grounds are very spacous, what a difference with the Hilton next door. An extra bonus was the snorkeling, on the border with the Hilton hotel is a great reef. There are severall species of fish, such as the famous “nemo”…

The only minus of this hotel is the poor staf at the main restaurant and at the lobby. The main restaurant was like a canteen. Noisy and filthy.
The staff was not at all friendly.

What a difference with the “Seashell” restaurant!!!
The staff was helpful and very polite. They threathed you like a friend. The atmosphere was fantastic.
Many thanks to Sherif, Ahmed, Osama, Monsef, Essam and the cooks.
Everyone so friendly and happy considering the heat and long hours they work! They made us feel welcome and made our holiday even better. So thank you guys, hope we’ll see you again sometime….

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krissie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

stayed at the movenpick for 1 week. very hot - heatwave apparently!! thank goodness for air conditioning and shade!! welcomed with cool drink and wet flannel great! helpful and polite staff. room excellent - spacious plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and very comfy beds! main restaurant rather like a canteen but was advised to visit seashells restaurant - what a difference!! staff surroundings and atmosphere fantastic. many thanks to sherif and monsef for special attention - very much appreciated! Everyone so friendly and happy considering the heat and long hours they work! sea was heavenly, so clear you could see fish without goggles or snorkel mask, but if you do snorkel you will be amazed at variety of fish and coral you see its another world!! remember to take sea shoes as getting in and out can be a bit tricky but well worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burntwoodhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed at the Movenpick in March 09, 2nd time to Taba this year, 1st time stayed at the Radisson SAS, Movenpick much nicer hotel, better service and much prettier grounds. Reception area and reception staff especially Alaa were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel grounds and setting were beautiful, very well kept grounds and we had fantastic service from the beach staff(Mohammed) made sure we had our sunbeds and towels laid out every morning without even a tip! Toilet area's were always very clean as were the restaurants. The food was good in the bufett restaurant however nothing outstanding,pretty average but I have had much worse in other Egyptian resorts. The chinese restaurant is certainly worth a visit, food was excellent as was the service. The bar service and quality of drinks were also very good even though All Inclusive finished at 11pm but we knew that anyway. Entertainment in this hotel does need to be implemented as there isn't a huge amount going on in the evening even though the Animation team do try and whatever they have on they do try to involve everybody. Overall a memorable stay at the Movenpick and my friends and I would certainly return and recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireCollingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Movenpick Taba and had quite a mixed experience.
The hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds and beach are really stunning. We had two interconnecting standard rooms which were both spacious and kept immaculately clean.
We had a different towel sculpture almost every day.
As I mention above we rally do have mixed views about our holiday. The daytime activities were plentiful, but we sometimes felt we were being pestered to join in. The vening entertainemnt as dire we gave it the benefit of the doubt and attended several times, but each time it appeared to get even worse!
We ate in the main restaurant at the beginning of the holiday but come Friday the hotel plays host to large numbers of guests visiting from nearby borders. We are aware that cultures are very different, but the rudeness and behaviour of some of these guests particularly at meal times was enough for it to adversely affect our enjoyment. We weren't told that we could eat at Seashells at the beginning of the holiday, and once we had moved our mealtines to this much nicer and smaller restaurant, mealtimes became much more realaxed and enjoyable. The staff are very attentive here and anxious that you enjoy your meal experience.
The majority of the staff are really helpful and pleasant, but a few really let the side down.
The SPA was fantstic and we thought very good value. The whole family (6 of us) visited on more than one occassion.
Aqua Sport who provide the waterports- we have mixed views as well. The diving was enjoyable but pricey compared to other diving we have enjoyed. The snorkel cruise was nice in parts but horrendous in other parts. Our second stop led us to encounter extremely choppy sea far too rough in our opinion for us to hqave been taken into the sea. Another passenger ended up vomitting in the sea it was that rough and myself and 3 younger children only lasted about five minutes before the fright kicked in. There was also only one snorkeling guide for alost 20 people and this was really not enough to ensure safety. Wed also tried to pay for these with a visa card, but we were told we could't so had to draw currency from the cash machine. In itself this wasn't a a problem, but a few days later we realised we had been totally ripped off - 480 euro's was converted by them to 4800 egp. when we subsequently booked the banana boat for 4 people at the 20 euro advertised cost they wanted 380 egp we decided to change the money at the bank instead and were only charged 160 egp very hard lesson learnt, so please be aware. We tried to change some more money into euros for more watersports, but the bank didn't have any, and we weren't prepared to be ripped off again, so missed out.
Beware also the 'sand man' who has a tent in the grounds a really wierd bloke who pesters like you woudn't believe.
Other negatives the room service for tea and coffee tray at a cost of 25$ per week - it was a complete nightmare getting supplies topped up.
The gift shop makes the prices up as they go along depending on their mood at the time, affected how much they charged varying up to 50% difference for the same items.
If you are taller then 5'8 beware of the fire exit signs hanging on corridors - my husband has a nice gash on his head, as the lights are dimmed at night and the sings are hanging in the middle of the corridor.
The pool also wasn't useable for 2 days of the holiday as it went a murky brown and green colour, caused apparent;y because the pumps stopped working as there were presistant power cuts. The was also visible vomit and dirt in the water.
tummy trouble we were told by the rep it is very common, and 9s due to the heat, not the water or food. 3 of us were affected, and a visit to the doctors back here in the uk as we are still suffering, indicate bacterial / parasitic infection to be confirmed or denied by blood and stool tests. We never used tap water and used ant bacterial gel frquently throughout each day.
The holiday ended badly, as upon checking out, we were billed for things that had already been paud for (Billiards/ phonecalls). So please, if you pay for anything by cash, agter having signed one of their chitties, ask for a receipt trusting the staff to record cash payments isn't advisable. What they do with the cash, one can only guess. Thed duty manger is also very ineffective and wasn't quick to resolve these problems and the health and safety issues weren't taken seriously at all.
We had booked privaste taxi transfers which was a compete waste of money as the taxi has to leave at the same time as the coach. We were told by the first choice rep, that this is because of the police insisting this. We knew our flight home was at least delayed by an hour, and wanted to leave the hotel later as having a disability makes hanging around at an airport very uncomfortable. we weren't allowed to, and the rep disappeared when passengers were getiing quite frustrated with her lack of help. leaving the hotel at 6pm, for a flight that we were now aware wasn't going to leave until at least 11pm is pretty silly really as it is only a 30 minute journey time. we even said we would make our own taxi arrangements and cancel the firsy choice transfers, but were also told we couldn't do that either. we then found out from our transfer agent (locals employed by first choice) that it is nothing to do with the police or having to travel in convoy it is because the hotel insistes that guests leave the premises by 6pm, otherwise first choice have to pay a supplement to the hotel. Very good arrangement for first choice, but not good for cutomers partiularly as tghe flight was eventually over an hour and a half late taking off, so we had 5 wonderful hours at taba airport! repeard asking for a complaints form (which we were told we only had to ask for when the rep met us at the welcome meeting) was fruitless and we now have to take matters up with first choice upon returning home, which is much harder that having had it recorded at the resot.
Would we go again with first choice NO, and we are torn about the hotel. despite all the problems, had we known about them we could have avoided them but the upset tummy particualry as it now looks as though it could be the swimming pool ot the food makes us very very wary.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southworthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
26.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
17.3 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Property: Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort Taba
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing