We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeding Frenzy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeding Frenzy”
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I went to the Movenpick for a week with my partner hoping for a relaxing holiday this summer. Unfortunately the All Inclusive concept meant a hundred Russian families descending on the breakfast buffet every morning and the same for lunch and dinner.
It was impossible unless up at 6.30am (which nobody wants to do on holiday) to actually get to anything without having to fight for use of the toast machine!
The main restaurant had a canteen feel about it and the waiters although efficient and helpful would usher you onto a table with some other foreign family instead of allowing you to have your own table which was odd and quite frustrating.
There is another restaurant nearer to the beach which also comes under the All Inclusive deal called Sea Shells which has a much calmer atmosphere and we actually felt like we were on holiday there. The other restaurants in the hotel you have to pay for on top of your AI deal so we did this a couple of times purely to get away from the Russians and the mediocre buffet food.
The standard of food itself was displeasing at best, chicken legs, rice, Egyptian version of English chips and some salad was the selection for lunch and dinner every day which became boring by the latter part of the week and we were both craving anything with some flavour.
My partner and I were also both sick with food poisoning for half the duration of our stay which obviously made us a little miserable. We later found out that at least three other couples who were on the same trip had suffered exactly the same.

The beach, although pebbly, was great and we preferred this to the pool as there were fewer children there. The watersports seemed to be a popular choice each day and for a fair price too .The only drawback to sunbathing was the constant approach from eager Kid's club reps who were rallying up the daily troops to take part in some sort of stretching exercise or volleyball. After being approached by these and the sales people from the spa twice on a daily basis we grew very irritated and would attempt to hide out in the water to avoid them!

Overall I would say the hotel was more of a 3* plus or 4* but our stay would have been a lot more enjoyable without the cheesy kids' club daily entertainment and the depressing buffet ritual.
I won't be going back to Egypt and wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    547
    181
    99
    98
See reviews for
881
716
77
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

its a great hotel , the stuff are really proffessional and friendly all are diong there best to satisfy the guests espeshially the front office maneger ibrahym hegazy and the security manaeger ,also there are a lot off entertainment sections for kids day and night my daughter is 2 years old she was so pleased with the kids building and the night kids show and finally the food was great and the beach was very nice and so different from other hotels that i have visitted its a very nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avelgem
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Egypt : Taba : movenpick
Its is a nice hotel with nice and clean rooms.Luckely are there places in the hotel were jou get always fresh drinks like the lobby and beachbar ,in the other bars waiting a long time and having warm drinks is not exeptionel.Eating in main restaurant is a adventure to do once.In restaurant sheashell have jou not the big choise of food as the main restaurant but everything they made is good food.The shea shell staff (sherif,ahmed,osama,monsef,essam,mahoud,ahmed are kind people and everything jou ask they do with a smile .The restaurant ,tables,floor ,glasses are every shift clean .I want to thanks the staff for the good work .

Helpful?
Thank rasta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Our flight out to Taba was delayed and we arrived late. Our tour representative, Jacky Harrison (who did a superb job through out our stay) phoned the hotel and the restaurant was kept open for our arrival at 11.25pm. We were welcomed by very friendly waiters, and despite their long day, they were only to willing to attend to us.

Our room was very comfortable, spacious and always kept clean. A good interim tip goes a long way to ensure service. We opted for tea/coffee facilities and these were replenished every single day without asking.

Going to the Welcome Meeting is a must as you will get very valuable information about the hotel, the surrounding area, the trips, facilities at the hotel and just as important health information. You are informed to avoid drinking the tap water and only drink bottled water, obvious but lots of other good tips also. You may be unlucky and get ‘Egyptian Tummy’, If you do then Imodium is useless, you will need to take ANTINAL or DROTAZIDE, 'local drugs for local bugs' these can be bought from the pharmacy at the Hilton hotel next door. If you go to the doctor (as we did) you will get the same medication but have to pay for his time in addition to the cost of the medication but he is excellent.

We were a bit disappointed regarding the trips. Because we bought the travel insurance at the time we booked the holiday we found out too late that this particular cover (Mondial) only provided cover within Egypt as its now classed as europe for insurance purposes. As some trips were into Israel and Jordan we decided that the risk was too high to go without any cover (any required treatment, the risk of falling and hurting limbs etc). When you buy your insurance check out that it provides cover for Egypt, Israel and Jordan if you think you are likely to want to do these trips.(Jerusalem, Petra, Eilat) The trip to St Catherines Monastery was focused too much on religion and not enough on history, also you only get to see a very small part of the buildings. In my opinion not worth the cost or the long trip but the food at the Bedouins encampment afterwards was very good.

Now the Hotel! We were all inclusive and had a fabulous time without a single complaint!!

The hotel try so hard to please. If there is anything amiss then don’t wait to the end of your holiday to turn it into a complaint – that is too late for the hotel to do anything. Take your point(s) up with Marina of Guest Relations or Ahmed Zein, the Assistant Front Manager. Both are very approachable people and will be only too willing to help. Everybody smiles all the time.

We ate in the Sea Shells restaurant where the English are recommended to eat. The restaurant is smaller than the main restaurant and the service is extremely friendly. Watch out for Ahmed the waiter, he replenishes your drink before you have finished it! There were complaints about the food while we were there but, in my opinion, these complaints were not justifiable. There were starters, main meals and desserts for all tastes. The restaurant is managed by Ahmed el Tbakh, if you need anything special just ask him and if it is possible he will do it. Breakfasts, lunches and evening meals were complaint free for us! We never left the restaurant hungry or disappointed. His staff (Sherif, Osama, Ahmed, Monsef, Essam, Ali and Mohamed) are all great guys who cannot do enough for you.

The outside pool is excellent with a great swim up bar manned by Reda. This serves cold drinks and from 11.00am you can get alcohol. All drinks are served in plastic beakers. It should be obvious to people with common sense that glass by the pool is a safety risk, although we did hear some people complaining about them! There are an adequate number of sun beds Although there are signs to say reserving is not allowed it is well practised. There is no need to go down at 4.00am! Go on the way to breakfast. Beds were still available at 11.00am when we were there except on the weekend when some Israeli visitors came to the hotel. There are also lots of beds on the beach. The beach is a bit stony but absolutely brilliant for snorkelling, take your jelly shoes.

There are numerous water sports available. Try the glass bottom boat! It is a must to see the reef and the stunning fish – well worth the money.

There is a lot of entertainment during the day (water polo, volley ball, table tennis and so on). This is organized by the Animation Team who also provide the evening entertainment.

There is one bar inside the hotel and it can get a bit busy but you should not have to wait for more than a minute or two. Unfortunately there is no waiter service in the lounge area, but we have put that forward as a recommendation to the management.

It was our first wedding anniversary while we were there and my wife emailed the hotel before our holiday to ask was there any chance of ‘some thing special’. We were made known to Ahmed Zein who could not do enough for us. We had a special meal and two special heart shaped cakes made for us.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, staff and our holiday. Are we going back – you bet! Would we recommend this hotel – you bet!

If you have any questions, my wife or I will be only too happy to answer them if we can.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0vebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the movenpick for 2 weeks in July.
The weather was fine for us (40°C in the shade – what else do you except from Egypt this time of the year???).
Our main aim was to relax, enjoy the sun and to have a great time. Mövenpick hotel was perfect for this. The grounds are very spacous, what a difference with the Hilton next door. An extra bonus was the snorkeling, on the border with the Hilton hotel is a great reef. There are severall species of fish, such as the famous “nemo”…

The only minus of this hotel is the poor staf at the main restaurant and at the lobby. The main restaurant was like a canteen. Noisy and filthy.
The staff was not at all friendly.

What a difference with the “Seashell” restaurant!!!
The staff was helpful and very polite. They threathed you like a friend. The atmosphere was fantastic.
Many thanks to Sherif, Ahmed, Osama, Monsef, Essam and the cooks.
Everyone so friendly and happy considering the heat and long hours they work! They made us feel welcome and made our holiday even better. So thank you guys, hope we’ll see you again sometime….

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krissie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burntwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

stayed at the movenpick for 1 week. very hot - heatwave apparently!! thank goodness for air conditioning and shade!! welcomed with cool drink and wet flannel great! helpful and polite staff. room excellent - spacious plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and very comfy beds! main restaurant rather like a canteen but was advised to visit seashells restaurant - what a difference!! staff surroundings and atmosphere fantastic. many thanks to sherif and monsef for special attention - very much appreciated! Everyone so friendly and happy considering the heat and long hours they work! sea was heavenly, so clear you could see fish without goggles or snorkel mask, but if you do snorkel you will be amazed at variety of fish and coral you see its another world!! remember to take sea shoes as getting in and out can be a bit tricky but well worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burntwoodhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed at the Movenpick in March 09, 2nd time to Taba this year, 1st time stayed at the Radisson SAS, Movenpick much nicer hotel, better service and much prettier grounds. Reception area and reception staff especially Alaa were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Hotel grounds and setting were beautiful, very well kept grounds and we had fantastic service from the beach staff(Mohammed) made sure we had our sunbeds and towels laid out every morning without even a tip! Toilet area's were always very clean as were the restaurants. The food was good in the bufett restaurant however nothing outstanding,pretty average but I have had much worse in other Egyptian resorts. The chinese restaurant is certainly worth a visit, food was excellent as was the service. The bar service and quality of drinks were also very good even though All Inclusive finished at 11pm but we knew that anyway. Entertainment in this hotel does need to be implemented as there isn't a huge amount going on in the evening even though the Animation team do try and whatever they have on they do try to involve everybody. Overall a memorable stay at the Movenpick and my friends and I would certainly return and recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireCollingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
26.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
17.3 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#9 of 62 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Property: Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort Taba
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing