We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday, but avoid First Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We stayed in Movenpick Taba for a week and had a fantastic time there, but we would advise not to book with First Choice, if you can help it.

The hotel is in a quiet but beautiful surrounding, with a stunning view of blue sea, overlooking Jordan and Saudi Arabia. The coral reef between Hilton and Movenpick is amazing, full of tropical fish of every colour. It is just a few metres’ away from the beach, and the best snorkelling place for families.

The staff members were all welcoming, especially the manager Ibrahim Hegazy did everything he could to accommodate us. First, we were given a ground-floor room we did not want (not the hotel’s fault but First Choice’s; I will describe it later). It was clean, had a nice view, but it was close to the main restaurant and very noisy. So with a small supplement, we moved to a bungalow, which was really worth it. It was spacious with a private entrance, a separate pool and 30 seconds to the sea. The view from the window was marvellous.

We went for an all-inclusive package, and the food was better than we had expected. There was always something we liked, and it was varied every day. The main restaurant was always very busy, and consequently the waiters are sometimes not attentive. We would recommend another quieter restaurant, Seashells, which also serves chips every day for British and French! The waiter Ahmed was always smiley, ushered us to our favourite table, and remembered our favourite drinks. You can also eat a set menu in another stylish restaurant Shahrazad for free, and we would also recommend that, but beware: the number of free set menus is limited and they go quickly. Go to the customer relation desk between 10:30 and 12:00 to book your place.

Although we took precautions like taking probiotic tablets, cleaning hands with antiseptic gel frequently, brushing teeth and rinsing the toothbrush with mineral water, we were not lucky enough to escape ‘Taba Tummy’. My wife fell ill on the 3rd night, and my son and I on the 4th day. However, our symptom was quite mild, and after taking Antinal tablets, we got better after half a day or one day, and it did not spoil our fun. It seems many people from the West do not have a resistance to this bug, so as soon as the first symptom appears, take the local medicine like Antinal, and it works straight away. Otherwise, your holiday will be ruined. Our tip: the pharmacy in Hilton rips you off, charging LE 30 for a packet of Antinal. Go to a pharmacy in a small hotel called Taba Sand, opposite Hilton on the main road and 3 minutes’ walk from Movenpick. The concierge will happily tell you how to get there. The pharmacist is an Anglophile, so say you’re British: we got two packets for LE20!

Some Tripadvisors complained about the bad manners of East Europeans, but I have also seen our fellow British queue-jumping at the main restaurant and at the airport, standing on the coral reef and feeding the fish to take photos. (When I pointed out they were not supposed to feed the fish, I was simply told to ‘get lost’; actually, it was in a much ruder language.) It is simply that every nationality has its own share of bad-mannered people.

Finally, avoid First Choice. When booking, the sales rep recommended us to upgrade to the Deluxe room with sea view, with extra cost, and did not mention that families with children, even teenagers, are allocated with a ground floor room only. We realised that after we contacted the hotel. Again, Ibrahim was kind enough to offer a room on the 3rd floor, but the First Choice agent in Egypt did not endorse it, claiming the balcony does not meet the ‘EU safety standard’. (I thought Movenpick was, although not EU, a Swiss hotel of high standard, and when we got there, there was no problem with the balcony.) First Choice did not mention this regulation at the time of booking, and instead of apologising, the agents we contacted in Britain said they were not aware of it and we had to go back and forth between British and Egyptian agents for many days. To be fair with them, the new Taba rep, Joe, was very efficient and helpful, but that is the only good thing about them.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ken_yLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

Booked the holiday in jan for my mums 40th birthday treat.
Ate at the main restaurant twice and then sea shells for the rest of the two weeks, the food did get boring as it was the same every day however the service by sherif and team was excellent. Ice cream is not free which seems silly when its a movenpick resort.
My boyfriend got ill on the first day and went to pharmacy outside the hilton for medication, then my sister who is eight got ill and then me and my mum, you darent leave your room incase you cant get to the toilet. Still ill now 3days after return.
Kids club was the other side of the resort near the entrance so we didnt leave my sister there, however there was a disco at night for them.
There is nothing to do there at all unless you spend a fortune on excursions so only go for a total relax. Leave the resort if you dare as there is a cheaper gift shop down the road half the price of the shops in the hotel.
Clean everywhere in hotel always gardening! however room was not very clean smudge on mirror on second day there when we left.
A concierge took a liking to mum as she as she was on her own, every day he came up to us and and whispered sexual referencesto her which we found very unerving, he took this further by following us around the reception area. The next day following us down to the corridor where i room was so we kept walking so he didnt know our room. This really upset my 8 year old sister as she couldnt understand why we were walking past our room not going in it! He then the next day came to my mums room at 22.15 knocking on the door, it freaked her out as he was trying the door. when she came to our room later upset my boyfriend was angry an went to reception to complain they didnt believe him, so we had to speak to a manager who didnt believe it so we then spoke to a higher manager who did believe us and said he would take action against him, we didnt see the stalker the last day. Most of the staff are ery pervy and slimey with inappropriate comments but you get used to it.
Beach is stoney so buy beach shoes, spa and salesman roam the beach so beware as the bug you at least twice a day. If you want a sunbed you have to reserve them by 7.30 or you wont get one, however it says on signs you cant reserve but the staff arent bothered. We sat on 2 loungers on the last day and then the towel man came up to us with2 women who claimed they had reserved the sunbeds we were on ad so we had to move even though it was 11.30 and we had been on them since 9 so the rules change all the time.
Airport was terrible not enough seats, toilets filthy no paper, no announcements for flights and our plane was delayed by an hour so we sat wondering what was going on. There was notegyptian culture really you could be anywhere.
However there were good points! weather amazing, camels, snorkelling, glass bottom boat, spa treatment although it was pricey.
Overall go for a total relax without kids and dont go if your a single woman (seriously).
A total letdown for us, waste of money if you wan to got ot egypt sharm is better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tink0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Just returned this morning from a week at Movenpick, and have had a lovely time. The service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. They were very attentive, polite and all wanted to make the stay as enjoyable as they possibly could. On the last day of the holiday, when my partner was ill, and we were due to check out at noon, guest relations extended the room until 6(when we left for the airport) free of charge, and called to check if everything was ok or was needed.

The food at the hotel is excellent. There is a wide selection to choose from, and we found the food tasty and well prepared. Brilliant soft fresh bread and great salads/desserts. They always replenish anything that is running low, and a barbecue option each evening was a nice touch. We ate at the sea shells restaurant for lunch and dinner, as we liked the quiet atmosphere close to the beach, and the main restaurant for breakfast, where we found no problems.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and care-free break in beautiful surroundings. In fact, although we like to try different places we would definitely stay at this hotel again. I simply cannot understand some of the negative reviews I have read. All I can say is that it must be impossible to please some people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hudtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at the Movenpick for 8 days in July. The weather conditions – excellent! 38- 40°C (air) and 25°C (sea), it means the perfect time to relax, to sunbath and to swim. The snorkeling was the main activity. The reef is great, full of multi-colored fishes, only a few steps from the beach chair and .... cold drinks!. The hotel has very nice beach (sand and pebbles) with the huge garden. Our room was excellent – spacious, superb, air-conditioned, nice sea view, comfortable beds, safe-box. The staff was quite good, friendly and helpful. Of course they had bad days, but they have been working hard all day long (15 hours and more!) Taba was the great place to hit Petra (Jordan), Dead Sea and Jerusalem. I fully recommend it. The trips were exhausting (all day long and heat), but exciting! Frankly, it was a good interlude during the lazy stay, realized according to our specific plan: beach chair, snorkeling, shower, beach bar, beach chair etc. If you need some laziness with a little bit of luxury, and you want avoid the yell of the crowds of people, go to Egypt to Movenpick in Taba.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zuzia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

A marvellous holiday in a spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful at all times. Special mention for the staff of Seashells restaurant who took great care of us and made us feel at home. The hotel grounds are magnificent with landscaped gardens, a fabulous beach and swimming pools. On our last day we treated ourselves to massages- the best we ever had.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
4  Thank Irish2urists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We arrived late due to a delay at Gatwick (11.30pm) we were greeted with a cold towel and quick check-in, we were then directed to the main restaurant as food had been held for us and we were also able to order drinks free which was good as it was after the cut off of 11.00pm for the all inclusive. We then went to our room which was a standard room which was large, well furnished and we were very pleased with it.

The next morning we went to the main restaurant for breakfast and this confirmed some of the things we had read before leaving about it being a bit of a free for all with some of the guests and we decided to seek out the Seashells restaurant after and try that.

The Seashells was very different and much more relaxed, also the level of service offered by Sherif and his team was excellent. This was then the only place we ate for the rest of our stay. I think the hotel gets a lot of unfair reviews about its variety of food as while I was there I had different types of beef, chicken, lamb and fish. There was also a pasta chef in the evening and a egg chef at breakfast. All of the above could be had with various types of vegatables or salad. I would not claim it was gourmet cuisine but was as good as the food you would normally get at this type of hotel.

The hotel grounds are very well laid out and really well kept making it a really nice setting.

Although the beach area looked OK, we used the main pool. The pool itself was a good size and lay out but I felt with the amount of users it should have been cleaned on a more regular/ongoing basis and it tended to get a bit grubby around the edges and at the pool bar.

The pool bar itself was fine but with only one barman, it used to get busy in the afternoon and could have done with an extra barman so one could work each side.

The bar inside the hotel (Pharoahs) was far to small for the amount of people that were using it in the evenings and you normally had the prospect of a long line each time you went up for a drink between about 9.00pm and 11.00pm.

The animation team at the hotel work very hard but most of what they do is aimed at the kids staying there so do not expect much in the way of adult entertainment at the hotel, they do have a piano in the lobby but told me their piano player was away taking exams ?

If you like to take a laptop away with you the hotel has WiFi which is a good speed and has good coverage in all areas, if you buy the 24 hour card it does not last 24 hours but is an accumulated 24 hours. So you could use it for a couple of hours a day thoughout your stay for 160LE (about £17.50) and I thought this was good value for a hotel.

Two things that come up in a lot of reviews is sickness and the hotel location.

We had no problems with illness, one couple we met the husband had some stomach cramps for one day but other than that I dont think there was too many problems while we were there.

We chose this location due to the ease of being able to travel to both Israel and Jordan which we did, we knew there was very little else in the area so this did not cause us any problems.

If you are someone that likes to wander out to local shops and bars this would not be the location for you and you would be better to look at Sharm el Sheikh

Overall we were happy with the hotel and would return to use as a base to visit other areas again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manorpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I went to the Movenpick for a week with my partner hoping for a relaxing holiday this summer. Unfortunately the All Inclusive concept meant a hundred Russian families descending on the breakfast buffet every morning and the same for lunch and dinner.
It was impossible unless up at 6.30am (which nobody wants to do on holiday) to actually get to anything without having to fight for use of the toast machine!
The main restaurant had a canteen feel about it and the waiters although efficient and helpful would usher you onto a table with some other foreign family instead of allowing you to have your own table which was odd and quite frustrating.
There is another restaurant nearer to the beach which also comes under the All Inclusive deal called Sea Shells which has a much calmer atmosphere and we actually felt like we were on holiday there. The other restaurants in the hotel you have to pay for on top of your AI deal so we did this a couple of times purely to get away from the Russians and the mediocre buffet food.
The standard of food itself was displeasing at best, chicken legs, rice, Egyptian version of English chips and some salad was the selection for lunch and dinner every day which became boring by the latter part of the week and we were both craving anything with some flavour.
My partner and I were also both sick with food poisoning for half the duration of our stay which obviously made us a little miserable. We later found out that at least three other couples who were on the same trip had suffered exactly the same.

The beach, although pebbly, was great and we preferred this to the pool as there were fewer children there. The watersports seemed to be a popular choice each day and for a fair price too .The only drawback to sunbathing was the constant approach from eager Kid's club reps who were rallying up the daily troops to take part in some sort of stretching exercise or volleyball. After being approached by these and the sales people from the spa twice on a daily basis we grew very irritated and would attempt to hide out in the water to avoid them!

Overall I would say the hotel was more of a 3* plus or 4* but our stay would have been a lot more enjoyable without the cheesy kids' club daily entertainment and the depressing buffet ritual.
I won't be going back to Egypt and wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
26.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
17.3 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.2 mi away
El Wekala Resort, Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba

Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £40 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing