We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure relaxation...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in, we checked in and our luggage was brought to the room, we had booked a double bed but there were 2 singles which wasn’t must of a problem but we were re roomed after 5 minutes! The rooms were lovely and the beds were a king which was heaven!!

The service was outstanding - special mention to Akmed in the main restaurant and Bahaa the best bar man in Taba, my partner has a Manchester United tattoo on his leg which got a lot of attention from the staff and a nice Russian man who shown us the best card trick but couldn’t explain how to do it because of the language barrier!!

If you can pay Joseph a visit (he has a tent near the beech bar selling sand in a glass) he can also draw a picture of your choice – very well… He is lovely and very welcoming; he made us special Egyptian tea – we took some home as well.

We ate at the main restaurant for the first week which isn’t as bad as people make out, although we did convert to sea shells for the second week and it was smaller and more ambient. We ate at chop sticks which was lovely (the portions are huge).

On the Friday, we got up at 3.15am and went on the Cairo excursion... 1 word - amazing!! Well worth the 6 hour coach trip (21 hour round trip) - it went really fast and we visited landmarks all over the city!

The beach is lovely, it is stony but there are so much coral and different types or fish, we went snorkelling near the gate where the Hilton starts as it’s the best area. Make sure you put plenty of sun lotion on your back as the sun is hot!! Exploring the sea is like being in the little mermaid - make sure you take an underwater camera - we went on a diving trip as well (first time) and it was so good!!

There are always people from the spa coming around the pool, they want to sign you up for a treatment (which is their job - people were complaining about this) - they have time for a chat and are also rather amusing..! I booked in to the spa for a Cleopatra treatment - 2 hours of pure relaxation and pampering – ending with the best full body massage!!

I would say this hotel is not best for groups as there is no lively nightlife but couples and families - this is the perfect place.

We really enjoyed it and were very refreshed when we returned!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    543
    180
    99
    98
See reviews for
849
710
76
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs 12
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Had a great holiday once again at the Movenpick Hotel Taba. Was everything one could wish for to have a really comfortable and relaxing holiday, It was not our first visit but we found it the perfect holiday place for us. From the Management to the bartender every one made us feel so welcome and are so friendly.

The hotel is clean, the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in, and we are not the only people that have commented upon this. The chefs do a great job with the food, Yes it is good, and there is something for all. May we extend our thanks and gratitude to to the management for making this a memorable time, and to all the waiters in the Sea Shells, The Main Restaurant, and the Sharazad, for looking after us so well.

A special thanks to Abdul for making us our lovely cappuccino everyday. and to Ayman, Mahmoud, Amir, and Haba, in the Pharaoh Bar. Be seeing you again soon.
Mr and Mrs K Middleton

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Just returned from Movenpick Taba. it says its a 5 Star resort but it is not! Dont get me wrong it isnt a dump but I would say its a good 3 star hotel. The main bar(Pharohs Bar)is very small for the size of the resort and only one member od staff serving so often long queues. The main resurant is more like a canteeen. No atmosphere and tables ofen not cleaned and having to wait at times over 30 mins for a drink. Over all there doesnt seem to be enough staff. Use Sea Shells Resturant instead. There are no toilets near to the beach so you have to walk to the main building to use a loo! Entertainment is very basic and very ameteurish. We did enjoy our holiday but cant say we would visit the Movenpick again or reccomned to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theclint0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

i just got back yesterday from the Movenpick Resort in Taba and that has to be one of my favorite holidays so far:) i am a really picky eater and i ate 3 times as much as i would at home. There was so much choice and the food was amazing, they went out of their way to help us. My friend who also went had with us couldn't have a certain ingredient which is in most foods, the cooks done there very best and ordered food from Cairo for her which they didn't normally have, we were really impressed with that. The staff were extremely friendly and made you feel welcome. The hotel itself was really nice, it was very comfortable and i think it looked better than the hotels around it. Our view from our room was looking over the gardens which were kept in very good condition. To the back of the hotel was the beach..i expected sandy beaches but it was very stony, that must have been the only let down to the hotel but it was okay:) There was plenty to do so you wouldn't get bored easily , there were live entertainments every night at the hotel and there was boat trips, quad biking, shopping to do during the day as well. I really enjoyed this trip, i would definitely go back + recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkHiya_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Just returned from a wonderful break in this lovely hotel.
I had reservations before we had left after seeing some of the reviews on here however I have to say that alot of them are unfair.

On our first evening we ate in the main restaurant which was fine but we then spent t most of our stay eating in the Seashells restaurant which was alot nicer. The staff Monsef, Ahmed, Mohamed and Osama Ali were all very polite and welcoming. The food was served as a hot and cole buffet and was to a good standard. Thet staff really made an effort with the presentation of the deserts.

We did have a meal in the a la carte restaurant which was not as good.

The snorkling on the beach of this hotel was amazing! Especially if you go down to where the Hitlon Hotel is.

We went with first choice and our rep Jo was very helpful although she is leaving this week.

We stayed in a standrd king room which was very comfortable and bigger than i had expected. The staff who cleaned the room were first class!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsB027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed at the resort for 7 nights with my husband and two of our friends. On arrival the hotel looks amazing, the reception area is beautiful with lovely sofas and a nice atmosphere. As we arrived so late we were told we could go to our rooms and then go straight to the Movenpick main restaurant for late dinner. We were given a map of the hotel which was not really much help, neither were the directions from the staff in recpetion who just shoved us in a lift and told us to get out on the next floor and find our room! Needless to say we got lost!
Our room was fab, loads of storage space and a view of the beach bar and the sea. The bathroom was a bit small but that was the only problem. The remote control for our TV only worked if you stood right in front of the TV, when maintenance came his magical cure was to lick, yes lick, the remote control to see if it would work. Needless to say, it didn't.
At our welcome meeting we were shepherded towards the Seashells restaurant, our rep told us we would recieve better service in there, and how right she was. We found the Movenpick restaurant horrendous, although the food is the same as in Seashells we saw children picking out the bits of food that they wanted with their fingers, food all over the floor, a lot of the time there was not a full selection of food available. Also as the restaurant is so big the food is very spead out so by the time you have got everything the foood can be cold. The staff in here were also quite rude and getting a drink was very difficult. Needless to say we only ate here 3 or 4 times.
Seashells was a totally different experience. The staff were lovely and attentive and there was always plenty of food available. We were definitely bored of the food selection by the end of our week there though. We did go to Shaharazad once which was terrible. We went Al a Carte, rather than having the set menu, and I think this is where the problem started. We waited about 40 minutes for a menu and then were given 2 to share between the 4 of us! This was after we had been brought the starters for the set menu. I am sure if you went for the set menu the experience would have been totally different.
We also went to Chopsticks which was lovely.
We got up early every morning to make sure we got sunbeds. It was a lot easier to relax early in the morning because by mid-morning the pool was filled with rude, noisy, disrespectful children. I wouldn't like to visit in high-season as the sunbeds were full when we were there and the hotel was nowhere near full occupancy. The pool was freezing cold and there were some weird bugs swimming around by the swim-up bar. The bartender at the swim up bar was a legend, serving all those people with no help at all!
Service in the evening at the beach bar was a bit hit and miss. I did not expect to have to go to the bar and get my own drink at a 5* hotel. Sometimes the drinks were served in glasses that were hardly bigger than a thimble! Karim made some fabulous natural juice drinks and was very good at selling his shisha! Although these were not part of the AI they were not expensive.
Thre were people around the hotel trying to sell you bottled sand, pedicures etc but they only asked once and never bothered you again.
Have to give a special mention to the guys at the spa. We all spent a fab afternoon there.
This was our second visit to Egypt this year and I must say the service was nowhere near as good as we experienced at the other hotel which was only 4*. The hotel and grounds were 5* but the service was barely 3*.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrssjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eindhoven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

A warm welcome in a beautiful hotel. Location was perfect for trips to Israel and Jordan. We stayed for two weeks and had a very relaxing holiday. The garden, the private beach and the 2 swimming pools gave enough opportunity to swim and snorkle.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, nothing we asked for, was too much trouble.
Rooms were large and clean, and very complete. Food and drinks were OK.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leovanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
26.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 23 in Taba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
17.3 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 23 in Taba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#9 of 63 in Eilat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Strand Beach and Golf  Resort Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Property: Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort Taba
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing