We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Movenpick for a fortnight late Sept and had a great time. Very peaceful time, plenty of sunshine, good snorkelling and swimming, room was lovely, very comfortable.
Food was fine, not the greatest but wholesome and very good value for the money we paid for the holiday.

We went on the day trip to Jerusalem and thought this was an experience to remember - very interesting and quite moving. Red Sea VIP Cruise was also a really good excursion.

Forget the negatives you may read - this is a good hotel, good food, beautiful grounds and we would have no hesitation in returning again for another holiday.

Well Done Movenpick and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Dear Guest,


Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday and you have had a peaceful time with us.

Thank you for your praise to the rooms, beach, food, snorkeling and the grounds.


We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcome you again in Taba.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 2,442 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed at the Movenpick as we wanted to travel to see the ancient city of Petra in Jordan.
The hotel rooms were very comfortable and we slept very well there-although we had to use our earplugs as the entertainment stage was right outside our room! (3097). The entertainment was not of the standard we have seen at other hotels and the animacion team did not really seem to make much effort in getting people to participate in the sports activities. We spent every day on the beach (35 degrees) and the beds were "booked" quite early by the towel brigade.
There is a lot of room around the pools and the whole of the grounds were well looked after. The all inclusive worked well for us, but we do not over indulge like some!
The rep Steve was very helpful and arranged the trip to Petra for us. It was the highlight of the holiday and is a must do if you want to see a spectacle which will take your breath away. It is somuch more than just the Treasury which everyone associates with Petra. The trip cost £165 each which is expensive but worth it.
The food was the only thing I would say was slightly disappointing- no shortage of it but it could have been hotter. Things like watery soup and poor salads meant we would only give the food 3 out of 5.
We did not eat at the other restaurants there so cannot comment- there was a supplement to each restaurant from the hotel towards the bill.
Snorkelling was great, but make sure you go by the Hilton hotel where there were probably 10x the number of fish to see.
There is very little to do in the evenings around the hotel- just a couple of tatty shops selling.... tat! You will need to make your own entertainment.
Would we go there again?...... probably especially if the food improved.
Taba airport is not the airport to endure if you have a delay on the way back- it's awful. Not enough seats, surly staff. minimal duty free and the meal we were given there because of the delayed plane was simply the worst I have ever encountered. Something in batter in a roll with cold and soggy chips thrown on the top. Dreadful.
Enjoy Petra!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Guest,


Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday us.

Thank you for your praise to the rooms, beach, snorkeling and the grounds.

I will discuss your comment re-Varity of food with the chef to take the relevant action.


We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcome you again in Taba.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The location of this hotel exceeded our expectations, we bought shoes to use in the sea and saw many of the fish without having to snorkel. During our first week the food was varied, although not very hot. During the second week the food became very repetitive. If you were nice to the beach staff they were nice to you, we went to the beach most days and always had a sunlounger and a parasol. The weather was lovely and the hotel was efficiently air conditioned. For us the peaceful location suited us, and although there were over 400 rooms we didn't have a feeling of overcrowding. The hotel staff were always polite, and very hospitable. Be wary of going on the tour operator's excursions, not informative enough and very misleading. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckytravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Guest,


Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your holiday us.

Indeed Taba advertised as a resort area for relaxation and not a commercial area with shopping malls, disco…etc and if you are looking for a total relaxation then moevenpick Taba is the place.

Thank you for your praise to the hotel, location and the staff.

We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcome you again in Taba.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Forget the moans and groans this is a very good hotel. It is in a quiet location close to the Israel border so expect lots of passport checks on trips out.
Best part of this hotel is Seashells Restaurant. The food is good, varied and fresh. The staff are great Ahmed the head waiter with Tarek and Essam two of the best waiters we have come across in our 40 odd years of holidays abroad. If you go to Seashells keep reminding Ahmed his wife's birthday is 14 September, apparently he forgets every year.
The sea is fantastic I cannot recall ever being able to walk into the sea and immediately see a wide variety of fish. Get a pair of the beach shoes for the stoney beach and sea a must is a snorkel.
Trips out, Petra a long but enjoyable day. Forget Eilat the people are just plain rude. The night under the stars is a change as the evening entertainment is limited although Rammy and the team do their best. For a change the Red SeaCruise is nice but you will see as many fish and coral near the Hilton Hotel.
Once again a great holiday at a really good hotel. Just to qualify that we have travelled the world for over 40 years and this is one of the best.
Hope you read this Ahmed Tarek and Essam. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dardoowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Guest,


Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

Thank you for your praise to the hotel, food, beach and the staff.

I have shared your comments with the staff and they appreciated them especially: Ahmed, Essam and Tarek.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Taba.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

just returned from movenpick taba.this hotel is only suitable if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday which suited us.In general the whole of the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.However as with most holidays,it did have a few minor niggles.1-The main restaurant,the food tends not to be hot enough,this is due to the style of containers and with inconsiderate users not closing the lids.variety of food is okay but when they have a theme menu they do need to get it right.the desserts are at times very bland and much the same but with different food colourings.2.Sea Shells Restaurant-much smaller,same food but hotter,mainly used by English&French.The staff in this restaurant are absolutly fantastic.We highly recomend this restaurant.3 The pool.The only fault here is that there are not enough staff at the pool bar when it is busy.4 The Beach Area.Watch out for the Russians/French grabing the beds first thing in the morning.Also there is a shortage of outside toilet facilities this needs looking at.6.There needs to be a pharmacy on site,although there is one at The Hilton,the best and most helpfull is MOHEP located at theTABA SANDS HOTEL.The chemist there is absolutly fantasic so helpfull and genuine.
Overall we highly recomend this hotel,the staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shiriain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that we exceeded your expectations.

I will discuss the food not being hot and the Varity of desert as well the staff at the pool bar with the chef and the director of food & beverage and I am sure they will take the relevant action.

We do have a toilet in the beach area and another toilet mid way to the bungalows pool and I am not sure if you missed it.

We have a clinic on site with a 24 hour doctor service and as you mentioned 2 other pharmacies close by.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Taba in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The Hotel was really nice, food was good but two restaurants did the same food and basically everyday the food tasted the same, but good, they have to cater for a lot of people so its what you expect. you wouldn't want to do the food for a fortnight, people there were really nice, sunbeds were plenty but the same thing you had to be quick in the morning with the towels on the beds, we had a bungalow it was really nice with the rooms cleaned everyday, but the pathways need to be filled in as it was very uneven, seashells restaurantt was nice but as i said in the begining its the same food as the main lounge.the chines was a welcome change midweek aand food was good & very reasionable overall the weeks holiday was a nice chill out week- oh forgot wouldn't bother going to eilat on a day trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

Thank you for your praise to the hotel and the food especially the chopsticks.

I will discuss maintaining the uneven pathways with the executive committee who will take the relevant action.

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Taba in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

good holiday hotel.most enjoyable stay. plenty of food but of course according to ones taste. but you wont starve lots of variety. if your a snorkeller very good sea full of fish to left of hotel beach.will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executi, EAM at Movenpick Resort Taba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing trip advisor comments after your recent stay with us.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.

Thank you for your praise to the hotel and the food.

We are delighted that you would return and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Taba in the nearest future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taba
0.3 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
26.2 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#14 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
17.3 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#7 of 22 in Taba
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
U Suites Eilat
U Suites Eilat
#10 of 61 in Eilat
952 reviews
2.3 mi away
Isrotel Yam Suf Hotel
8.8 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba

Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba 5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent landscapes, breathtaking mountains and the alluring turquoise waters of the Gulf of Aqaba set the stage for the Mövenpick Resort Taba. This is the place where to enjoy wonderful seaside holidays all year round. Located directly on Taba Bay overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, the meeting point of 4 countries with views of Jordan, Israel and Saudi Arabia. The resort is 38 km from Taba International Airport, 8 km from Eilat Airport and 69.5 km from Ovda Airport in Israel. Mövenpick Resort Taba offering elegantly furnished 424 guestrooms, suites and family rooms with terrace or balconies overlooking the sea , river, pool area or mountains. All rooms feature air-conditioning, wireless connection, LCD TV, hairdryer and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing