We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental - Taba Heights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Romford
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intercontinental - Taba Heights”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The service and food at this hotel is really brilliant, the weather helped also, the entertainment was exceptional for a hotel. We had a really great week, so much so that we are going back in 2012.

We can recomend this hotel for the accomadation, sun, sea and entertainment, and the very various variety of food and drinks.

thank you all for looking after us so well.

Ann & Mick Nottingham - England

Room Tip: All rooms are good, you can over look the pool and sea, or the mountains, the choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    591
    229
    92
    74
See reviews for
548
1,088
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is the second time we have visited this hotel in a year. The first time we have been back to the same place twice. The staff are out of this world, especially since they remembered us from our previous visit. They must see so many people come and go.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding,with so much too choice from, the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the surroundings are stunning.

I can't fault this resort at all. I love it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had been to Taba a few years ago so deceide to go back. Just looking for some relaxation and recharge the batteries. This just fitted the bill and we were not dissapointed. Given all the media keep pushing at us this part of Eygpt is just the same friendly place I remember. The room was well appointed and whilst we had a query when we got there is was fixed in less than 10 minutes. The management team were always around and having an english person on the help desk, not that it was required is always comforting. Most of the staff spoke very good english and the heated pool, 28C, was appreciated. However did make it into the sea 22C. If you are expecting lots to be going on then this is not for you at this time of the season. Spoke to many people who had been there for thier 2nd,3rd and even 5th time and booke again for March.
Weather was a bit windy but around the main pool is well sheltered and still have to watch for that sun, it just keeps coming.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RelaxedBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just returned from the Intercontinental on our second visit there. The staff were wonderful, yet again. We met up with Jan, the General Manager, a number of times when he was going around the hotel and are sorry to learn he is going to another hotel - hope the new Manager can keep up the good work, he's got a lot to live up to! Food was excellent again - there;'s always something to eat and if there's not just ask. All the chefs are willing to do special dishes for you. We mentioned their bread and butter pudding and there it was the next evening - specially made for us. If you are going in the future please go without any worries. All I can say to the complainers is - get a life! Treat people as you want to be treated - have alaugh and joke with the staff and enjoy your holiday. If you do have a problem - just tell someone they will sort it for you without any fuss. We'll be back next year without a doubt. I'll be adding photographs shortly. I'm happy to answer honestly to any queries you might have - just get in touch.

Room Tip: Just ask - they will do everything in their power to give you the sort of room you want but do ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indian_queen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This was my first visit to Taba,so i wasnt sure what to expect,i had travelled with a male friend.When we saw our room we thought wow,it was large clean and very modern,with 2 very big comfy beds,the bathroom was one of the best ive seen,we had a seaview room and the view was everything i could of wished for.This hotel in general as building is excellent large modern and clean,and thats were it stops.
On our first morning we went down to the beach,we collected our beach towels and found our beds which wasnt difficult as the hotel wasnt busy,so we set down to a nice day of sunbathing,after a couple of hours we noticed one of the lads from the pool bar coming round the beach asking everyone if they would like a drink but he didn't ask us,so i thought oh well and went to fetch my own, this was my 1st expirence of the poolbar staff and i wasnt impressed,i found them quite rude ,but i thanked them anyway and went back to my sunbed with my drinks.
The next day we went down to the beach again and the same thing happened,along came the barman from the pool and asked everyone again but once again he failed to ask us, im not a person to complain so once again i went get my drinks from the bar.
This carried on for a further 2 more days, on the 4th day he came round twice once in the morning and once in the aftenoon ,during the afternoon i paid a bit more attension to him he asked everyone in front and behind me,he also asked the people who were sat on the other side of the divide,once he had finished asking eveyone he came to us picked up our empty glass's from the drinks i had fetched 2 hours before.
After this i decided to complain to the rep we both left the beach but only i went in to the rep,i explained to him that in 4 days and 5 occasions i hadnt been asked if i wanted a drink and could he explain why,to which replied that he couldnt,so i said everyone on the beach who had been asked were male and female couples,unlike us who were to males so i asked him again for a reason, this time he stated that he didnt think it was personal and he kept repeating this, so i said if it wasnt personal i would like a reason,he wouldnt offer one,or couldnt,he then asked me to wait while he went to get the food and beverage manager who kept apologising,but once again couldnt and wouldnt give me a reason as to why it had happened in the first place,so i got up and walked out.
30 minutes later i went for lunch as we entered the resturant we were greeted by the resturant manager ,he greeted us and took us to a table were 3 waiters were standind there trying to wait on us everyone in the resturant was stearing at us wondering what was going on as this resturant is buffet were you serve yourself all they managed to do was show us up, we didnt want or ask for special service we just wanted the same service as eveyrone else,further more our complaint had gone right round the hotel,so no matter were we went staff in the main hotel were trying to be overnice,if you have ever had fake service you will understand because its actually worse than bad service,In the end we decided to ring thomsons helpline to see i they could help,the lady on the phone was very understanding and said that i shouldnt have to put up with this sort of thing unfortunatly there were no flights home,they only fly out to Taba once a week so we were stuck there but she advised me to consult abta when i got home.
Most of the last 3 days were spent in the room we just wanted to get home.
When we did get home we complained again to Thomsons we advised them of what their travel advisor had said to us on the phone while we were out there, to which they replied that she shouldnt had advised us to contact Abta as Thomsons have to investigate first they also said that she shouldnt have commented as to why we didnt get served and that she should be retrained ,but then they said that they had no record of my cpmplaint to the hotline strange that dont you think,espcially as the call cost me £17.00 and they are suposed to be recorded,anyway he took all the details again and stated that he would pass it straight on for investigation,but it might take 28 days for a reply.
I waited 28 days for my reply but recieved none so i rang up again only to be told that its still being investigated so asked how long do they need and they said it could be another 7 days to which i repied this wasnt good enough but i would wait,,later that day i got a phone call from Thomsoms which was a surprise, she said she needed to discus my compaint,we went over it again and she stated that Thompsoms do no employ the barstaff and that Thompsoms are not reponsible for there actions and that Thompsoms do not as a company tolerate any form of discrimanation within thier company ,which i thought was a strange thing to say because my complaint wasnt about Thompsoms it was about a section of staff at a 5 star hotel which they have on there books.and also i never actually said i was discriminated against ,i just asked for a reason why i wasnt served on the beach ,but obviously they new why i wasnt served,anyway she kept aplogising on behalf of Thomson to which i aked for a reason but i never got one but i did say that im sure Thompsons are sorry ,to which she hung up.
Anyway 2 days later i rang the back to see how my complaint was progressing to which i was told my complaint was closed, because i had excepted there apology,at no point was i avised that thet werent going to give me a reason and that she was going to close my complaint so i stated i wanted a written letter of explanation about my complaint,and they agreed to reopen it
In total i waited 2 months for a simple complaint,
When i got the letter it stated that Thompsoms didnt think i was treated differently from anyone else in the hotel, and that some countries and cultures have old fashioned views with regards to people sexuality, errr yes i was treated differently i wasnt asked i i wanted a drink on 4 days of my holiday when everyone else who was sat on the beach was how is that not being treated differently,as for old fashioned values this was a 5 star continental hotel,the clue is in the title they are there to accomadate international people and us two people were sat on a beach having paid there monies reading there books who just wanted to be asked if they wanted a drink i dont think that is to much to ask,
i contacted Thomsoms again and they said the letter dosent sound right and they flag it up ,and contact me. this was 3 weeks ago and im still wating....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I did loads of research on hotels in Taba before we booked the Intercontinental and they all seemed to have fairly mixed reviews so it was a bit of a gamble. However,we got a really good deal with Thompson's and i'm pleased to say the gamble well and truly paid off. The hotel was much better then we were expecting given some of the recent reviews.
Our room overlooked the golf course and had loads of room and a large bathroom with roomy shower. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch and the guy who cleaned the room kept it spotless each day. There was a great view of the golf course- which we visited twice during our stay. According to my boyfriend it was a great course- i just enjoyed driving the golf buggy! It cost around 50 euros for a twilight round including the buggy. Golf clubs can be hired if you don't want to take your own. The food was fine- the bread in particular is worth a special mention- it was always fresh and there were lots of varieties to choose from at each mealtime. As long as you don't expect English 5 star dining you will always find something enjoyable at each meal and there is enough choice to keep most people happy. Some people will always find fault but i have had much worse in other hotels so don't worry about the food. We didn't eat in any of the other restaurants but we would have gone to the Lagoon Bar if it had been a bit warmer at night- it was too cold for me to sit out- even with a patio heater!
The one aspect this hotel can really be proud of is the service provided by the staff. All the staff we encountered were genuinely friendly and polite. Unlike when we stayed in Sharm- the staff there were only polite after receiving a tip which we found uncomfortable. We prefer to reward good service and not 'buy' it.
The staff at the Intercontinental were helpful, friendly and polite right from the start of our holiday until the very last day. The animation team work tirelessly throughout the day and are great at getting everyone involved without being pushy. Watch out for the Fakir show- to carry three big Russians on your shoulders whilst walking barefoot on broken glass is pretty impressive!
We went to the cocktails and canapes get together which the hotel's management held on our last night and thought it was a really nice touch and a great way to get feedback from the guests on how the hotel is performing. We had such a great time that we really could not fault the hotel but i got the feeling that concerns would be acted upon where possible to improve the customer experience.
If you are put off visiting Taba by the recent events in Cairo then please don't be. Taba is very peaceful and quiet and the people need tourists to visit to maintain the local economy so don't let recent events put you off- go and enjoy a great holiday- we did.

We would definitely love to return to the Intercontinental in the future but wish Thompson's would reinstate the flights from Manchester as Gatwick is a bit far for us to travel from. Hopefully another operator will come in and save the day. Fingers crossed!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilly808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have just returned from this hotel after 2 weeks all inclusive holiday. We had an excellent double room again with a 6 foot bed and huge bathroom/ shower. TV is a bit limited but only really used to keep in touch with world affairs on BBC WORLD SERVICE. You do not go to Egypt for gourmet meals but the quality of meat and fish was very good and the fruit and veg are as good as anywhere. The variety of salads, breads and sweetmeats is excellent. Do not expect any pork or bacon products. Scrambled eggs for breakfast are perfect. The booze is fine but of a local origin, we soon got used to the wine which has been produced in Egypt for centuries. The staff are extremely welcoming and anxious to make your stay as perfect as possible. We are there again in March 2012 for some golf across the road and another 2 weeks of glorious weather without rain.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scblackamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
65 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing