We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Taba, we will definitely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Taba
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Taba, we will definitely come back”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed there for the Easter holiday in April 2012 , we arrived to Sharm airport and the hotel taxi was waiting for us , the road trip from Sharm to Taba is magnificent , the desert and the mountains are beautiful , we arrived at night and the sky was so clear the stars were beautiful , we really wanted this road trip to last longer. You reach the hotel and you are immediately welcomed by the staff, they are very professional and welcoming. I stayed in a single room on the third floor with a swimming pool view, the rooms were spotless clean. The food is amazing at the hotel, their buffets have everything, the waiters are very attentive and sharp, especially Abdallah with his warm smile :) . When you go to the beach, first it is very clean thanks to the hotel staff that cleans it periodically and you can enjoy any kind of water activity you can think of. If you stay full board you can enjoy the free snacks and ice cream on the beach , and even if you are not, the prices are very affordable. I would recommend this hotel to any couple who is looking for a retreat, it is perfect for families and I will definitely go stay there for my honey moon :) I will definitely go back .

Room Tip: I like the third floor , it has both views to the swimming pool and the sea. I stayed in 1306 and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Mireille,
we are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay ith us!
Looking forward to your return soon!
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    592
    229
    91
    74
See reviews for
544
1,089
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've recently returned from a week at the Intercontinental and were very happy with everything. First, a tip: do not worry when stepping off the plane. The airport is much higher up than Taba Heights so the temperature is quite a bit lower than it will be when you get to the hotel. Here are a few of our highlights:
The transfer time was actually less than the brochure said (35 mins max)
The hotel lobby and throughout the hotel was very spacious, with lots of natural light and everywhere was very clean and was constantly being cleaned.
Our room was big and the bathroom was very large. Again, clean, and the complimentary room-safe and daily toiletries were nice touches, as were the bathrobes.
We found the food to be very good with more things than we had room for each night. Always of a good quality and the service in the restaurant was extremely good. No waiting for tables to be cleared etc.
We were only there for a week and wanted to totally relax so did not go on any trips. We still went to the Rep's (Andrew) opening meeting however, out of courtesy really, but there were a few tips worth listening to, and what was really nice was that the hotel manager and some of the 'heads of' were there to say a few words. That went down well in our book.
The Rep (Andrew) also did a 10 minute 'departure meeting' which we hadn't had before and thought was a really good idea. Instead of everyone lining up to ask the same questions, he covered everything off in one go, and to top it off the hotel management were there and laid on canapes and cocktails for us. That sort of thing were lovely touches.
Overall we having negative to say. We wanted good weather, a good hotel and good food. We got exactly that and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The higher the better for a good view. We were on the 4th floor and would recommend that if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomRepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort Team!
Great you had a fabulous time! Passed your praise on to Andrew and will be waiting impatiently for your return! Spread the good word!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here March 2012 - what a great hotel - from the free massage whislt checking in to the departure party before we left. The hotel was spotless, staff extremely polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. the pool area was to die for - well it was for me - and the heated pool WAS heated! food was well laid out, plenty to choose from. Managers were about the hotel , always spoke and always listened. Can't rate this high enough.

Room Tip: Most room face the sea, some look out on Mount Sinai, if you're not happy just ask, if they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Colette,
thank you so much for your feedback!
We will do our best to not only keep it up, but keep improving until your next return... hopefully soon!
Best regards from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We went late March for 2 weeks and the temperature averaged about 27C. The evenings were a little cool though. The hotel is in a gorgeous setting sandwiched between the sea and the mountains behind, with Saudi Arabia visible across the gulf. The pool area is well set out and the upper area was heated. It was quiet early on in the holiday but got busier nearer Easter.
However there was still sunbeds available around the lagoon and on the large spacious beach area. Staff brought drinks to your sunbeds if you liked. You cold have a peaceful or noisy day depending on where you choose your sunbed. Their was a pool bar, lounge bar and Arches bar open nights with average entertainment. The resteraunt served a good selection of food and never got too busy whilst we were there. Overall the service was pretty good and even better if you tip a little now and then. The Thomson Rep Andrew was excellent (the best we've ever had) and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Overall we enjoyed the holiday and would return again to this hotel. Just one gripe though about the thomson flights. On a 5 hour 15 min flight we expect a meal and a selection of films to pass the time. You do not get them. The snacks were awful and massively overpriced. A small bacon bagel (with hardly any bacon and soggy) cost £3.50. The coffee tasted like mud. Two vodka & oranges cost £9.90! You cold buy a bottle of vodka for that. Come on thomson airways, buck your ideas up or lose us.

Room Tip: If you have stayed at the hotel before and there are sea view rooms available they give upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZakLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Zak,
thank you for your review. Great to read you enjoyed your stay... tipping should however be only a recognition, not a sole motivator... we are sure the guys will be committed just as much.
We have also shared the great (& constructive feedback) with Thomson for their rep & flight service.
Looking forward having you back for another 2 weeks of relaxation in paradise.
Your Crew of the Intercontinental Taba Heights Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just back from one week in Taba with wife and 9yo daughter, joined by my parents who were 3rd time visitors of Intercontinental. Some thoughts:
- don't know if it's the financial crisis and/or the political instability of Egypt, but the hotel wasn't even half full, which for us was great: room everywhere: on the beach, at the swimming pool, at the bars and restaurant. We visited the other nearby hotels (easy and nice walk on a beach path) and I was happy staying at the Intercontinental (Sofitel looked nice too, not impressed by Hyatt and Marriott, both looked like ghost towns).
- nice surprise: we only arrived at midnight, but a couple of club sandwiches were waiting for us in the room.
- very impressed by the staff: efficient and indeed super friendly, without exception. We really felt treated as very welcome guests.
- also very high marks on the maintenance of the place, everything was kept spotlessly clean.
- large rooms, nicely appointed, no complaints at all
- food was ok to good, lots of choice.
- excellent swimming pools, good entertainment team, active without being intrusive
- disappointed by the impossibility of visiting Saint Catherine's monastery (too dangerous so we were told, because of some recent kidnappings) and the new 'arrangement' for visiting Petra (a rip-off: 18 hour trip, only 1 hour on site and 210 euro per person!). Naturally, this has nothing to do with the hotel.
- unfortunately, the last day left a bit of a sour aftertaste. Our flight was at 22h35, so they picked us up at 19h00. We had to leave our room at noon, so I informed if we could hold the rooms until the evening, Although the hotel was less than half full, they charged us 50$ per room to keep it until 18h00. No problem, but given the occupancy and being return guests, a gesture would have been appreciated. The restaurant opened at 18h30, so we thought we'd have a (very quick/small) bite before leaving at 19h00, along with about twenty other guests who were leaving with us. But then the friendliness turned quite suddenly. Five minutes after ordering and getting our drinks, we were told that everything would now be charged. Why not tell us beforehand? Again, I didn't make a scene or complained (meanwhile, some others were fleeing from the restaurant without paying) and ended up paying €45 for three very simple and small salads. Afterwards, I even noticed that they charged us four meals, while the fourth person was a girlfriend of my dayghter who was staying some more days but wanted to see her a few more minutes... Was this really necessary? Again, a small gesture would have given us a far better feeling.
All in all, a well run and very nice hotel, we enjoyed our stay and we'll probably return, in spite of the unplaisant, rather cold and greedy end.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi slaceb,
Gladly we have shared your great and detailed comments with the team... fabulous feedback for a real hard working crew!
As things have drastically improved over the past weeks we are hopeful that - like the Jerusalem and Petra trips - also St Catherine will be back on schedule soon!
We will certainly be looking into the late check out procedure as suggested in order to be a little more accommodating to everybodys needs & wants.
Greetings from the InterContinental Taba Heights Resort and looking forward having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Spent a week here in March 2012 - went solely for the downtime and to get some R&R.

Great hotel, helpful staff, comfortable rooms. Loved the pool area.

2 years earlier we stayed at the Hilton in Taba, about 20 mins up the road. I gave that 5 out of 5, because their staff were amazingly friendly and I liked the hotel's european feel. The staff at the Intercon weren't quite as spectacular and the Intercon rooms felt a little more basic than the Hilton. The Hilton also has amazing coral right on its doorstep. Having said that, we thought the food and drinks were better quality at the Intercon.

A pleasure to stay there and we came back well rested.

We booked with a company called Peltours in the UK and they were excellent from start to finish.

Just beware of the Thomson Airlines flights to Taba (there's v little choice of airline) - I am just over 6ft and find 4.5 hours jammed into an uncomfortable seat just about bearable, but its not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view rather than a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Hi RM,
great you managed to recharge your batteries! While we are not feeling entirely unhappy about 4points we will be working hard to get that 5th point on your return... hopefully soon!
Do not work to hard to keep some of the R&R over easter!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having spent time in Egypt before in the Cairo / Nile Cruise and encountered problems with the begging etc, I booked a week in the intercontinental with some doubts but I need not have worried. From the greeting with cold drinks to the excellent room and staff this was an excellent chill out week which was exactly what was required.
We had room 1402 which was really good - large spacious very clean and the shower !! We could have had a part in there it was that big.
Pool area was good even though the heating was turned off towards the end of the week - bit chilly ( but it was summer ) and El Shanhat (sure the spelling is wrong the pool man ) and Alaa from the bar really made the week fun.
The BBQ by the Lagoon was a nice night, the food although may not be to everyone's choice but there is always something to eat even if we didn't like everything - however the bread is to die for.
My only little disappointment was the evening entertainment although the animation team worked very hard - sorry Zane I never did make it to the Bingo.
Wife (The Boss) has already said that we will be going back again later in the year. See you all there

Room Tip: For the prefect Red Sea view pick the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just2collect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Your_dedicated_host, General Manager at Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear just2collect,
happy to read that your trail did work out well for you! Thank you for sharing this open feedback. We will be discussing it in our next quality focus meeting!
Wishing you Happy Easter... and give our regards to the "boss"... we like her for wanting to come back!
Your InterContinental Taba Heights Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taba hotels
9.7 mi away
Taba Hotel and Nelson Village
16.8 mi away
Sol Taba Red Sea
Sol Taba Red Sea
#12 of 22 in Taba
482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taba Sands Hotel
Taba Sands Hotel
#8 of 22 in Taba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramar Resort Taba Heights
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Taba Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights

Property: Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights
Address: P.O.Box 10 Taba Heights | Taba Heights, Taba, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#2 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Golf Beach & Golf Resort Taba Heights is part of a premier resort community on the Red Sea coast. Surrounded by desert mountains, white sand beaches and turquoise waters, it offers a wealth of leisure options including golf, water sports, shopping and gaming. A short drive away are Pharaoh s Island, Colored Canyon and the Taba Protected Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Beach and Golf Resort Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Hotel Intercontinental Taba Heights
Intercontinental Hotel Taba Heights
Taba Intercontinental
Taba Heights Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing